Yes    
  7 (28.0%)
No    
  18 (72.0%)

Total votes: 25
« Created by: greggerypeccary on: Oct 9th, 2017 at 6:09pm »

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10
The Dole Sink-Holes in Australia ... (Read 11695 times)

Re: The Dole Sink-Holes in Australia ...
Reply #90 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:44pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:34pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:22pm:
I was talking of going on a pension prior to reaching the age eligibility.

even disability pensioners don't need to have worked to be eligible.

Most haven't. The criteria for disability is that you can't work.

Many disabilities are congenital. People with intellectual disabilities usually apply when they're old enough. Mind you, many work in sheltered workshops on the side for about $2 an hour.

Blindness is one disability where you automatically qualify - even if you earn another income. This is an extension of the old "blind pension", established after WWI.

Reply #91 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:53pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:36pm:
I think mine is 67.

Not sure who to blame.

Islam?

Depends on when you were born.

The pension age increased to 65 and a half on July 1st this year. It will increase to 66 on July 1st, 2019 then to 66 and a half on July 1st, 2021 and finally 67 on July 1st, 2023.

I was born in August, 1957 so I can't get the age pension until I'm 67. But, I'm planning on taking my super (as a pension so it doesn't get taxed) when I turn 61 next year and dropping down to one day a week at work.

And this will eventually drop to zero once I know I have enough super left to get me through to the age pension.

If I could have got the age pension at 65 I'd be retired on my super already.

There's also rumours starting to go around that the government want to increase the pension age to 70 in 6 month steps every 2 years starting from 2025. I'll be long retired by then, thank goodness.

Reply #92 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:54pm

Karnal wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:38pm:
mothra wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 12:56pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 12:54pm:
Of course, removing the stigma for welfare is a step beyond us as a species just yet.

Pure assumption.

The DSP is a complete other matter .... & that could happen to someone early in there working life or later on ... much to do with compensation cases.

besides it's also another benefit open to rorting by dole blugers ... & those with alcohol & drug habits.

The DSP is nearly impossible to rort. A Centrelink doctor has to agree with your GP that you can't work 12 hours a week for the next 5 years. The onus is on the applicant to prove it. Drug and alcohol problems can't be used as a reason - detox or maintenance is the treatment for this. Payments are medically reviewed every 5 years.

I could be wrong, but I believe Herbie's application was knocked back. Many are.

Ah.

I hope the GP wasn't tinted.

Reply #93 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:09pm

Carl D wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:53pm:
I think mine is 67.

Not sure who to blame.

Islam?

Depends on when you were born.

The pension age increased to 65 and a half on July 1st this year. It will increase to 66 on July 1st, 2019 then to 66 and a half on July 1st, 2021 and finally 67 on July 1st, 2023.

I was born in August, 1957 so I can't get the age pension until I'm 67. But, I'm planning on taking my super (as a pension so it doesn't get taxed) when I turn 61 next year and dropping down to one day a week at work.

And this will eventually drop to zero once I know I have enough super left to get me through to the age pension.

If I could have got the age pension at 65 I'd be retired on my super already.

There's also rumours starting to go around that the government want to increase the pension age to 70 in 6 month steps every 2 years starting from 2025. I'll be long retired by then, thank goodness.

Unless you are a politician.

Then you get your welfare cash from any age you can fulfill the lax requirements.

Its a well known fact that many many politicians count down from the day they are elected to when they can retire.

Some famously did this in their early thirties and forties

These are the true parasites.

never having contributed anything of any worth in their entire lives.

Massive pension for life
Free health care for life
Free travel for life

Bring on the revolution.

Reply #94 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:23pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 1:12pm:
mothra wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 1:06pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 1:04pm:
Answer me this: if you don't work your entire life, are you still entitled to the Age Pension when you reach retirement age?

I think we need a new classification for those people, Greg. Bludgers just seems so mean.

I'm guessing the answer to my question is 'yes'.  Yes?

So, one can never work a day in their life, and then receive the Age Pension when they reach retirement age.

Is this correct, Gnads?

If so, how have they paid?

And it's relevance to my point about those who have worked is?

You & Mothballs are certainly peas in a pod ...

even if that pod is a repetitious trolling one size fits all knowall over opinionated pod of shyte.

You are selective on what you respond to ... emphatically.

Yet fail to read what's written in toto.

Tag team twerps.

Reply #95 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:25pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:30pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:29pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:27pm:
People who have contributed by holding down a job  then qualifying for a pension on reaching retirement age & are eligible don't see it as being on welfare ...

Maybe.

It's still welfare, though.

Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Why?

Don't you think they earned it & contributed to it ...

despite you harping on that it's still welfare because that's what the system now says.

Why?  Because it's welfare.

Earned it?  Sure.

I'm not bagging pensioners.

D1ckhead ... it wasn't always welfare.

Reply #96 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:25pm

Oooooh Gnads, you do get so cross.

Look, it's simple. The pension is welfare. There are no more worthy welfare reciepients than others. There are not degrees. They are all people fully entitled to what they get.

The only solution to your problem, Gnads, is to accept that and adjust your thinking so you can live with the fact okay.

Reply #97 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:27pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:25pm:

of course it is.

welfare
ˈwɛlfɛː/Submit
noun
the health, happiness, and fortunes of a person or group.
"they don't give a damn about the welfare of their families"
synonyms:      well-being, health, good health, happiness, comfort, security, safety, protection, prosperity, profit, good, success, fortune, good fortune, advantage, interest, prosperousness, successfulness
"local authorities have a duty to promote the welfare of children"
statutory procedure or social effort designed to promote the basic physical and material well-being of people in need.

Reply #98 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:27pm

Stop beating around the variable bush

Pensions are not pensions Sol.

Ferk me you & peccar must not have been circumsied

coz there's no end to you pr1cks.

Reply #99 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:29pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 1:23pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 1:11pm:
People have to meet certain assessment criteria do they not?

criteria they must meet is age, value of assets, residency status

past employment history has nothing to do with it.

The assessment criteria for that would be varied, involve doctors etc. etc.

And my point has been about how the pension for retirees was separately funded & how that has been done away with & lumped all under one banner of social welfare.

People who have contributed by holding down a job  then qualifying for a pension on reaching retirement age & are eligible don't see it as being on welfare ...

they believe they earned it.

The other scenarios being thrown up are not the same.

You & Peccarhead ... if you don't have Super .... will have your working life extended to 70 yrs old to qualify.

Good old LNP.  Roll Eyes

My eligibility has been extended to 66.5 yrs old thanks to Kevin Rudd.

Politicians ey  Angry

I think mine is 67.

Not sure who to blame.

Islam?

Proves you are solely here as a trolling knob.

Reply #100 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:30pm

Karnal wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:38pm:
mothra wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 12:56pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 12:54pm:
Of course, removing the stigma for welfare is a step beyond us as a species just yet.

Pure assumption.

The DSP is a complete other matter .... & that could happen to someone early in there working life or later on ... much to do with compensation cases.

besides it's also another benefit open to rorting by dole blugers ... & those with alcohol & drug habits.

The DSP is nearly impossible to rort. A Centrelink doctor has to agree with your GP that you can't work 12 hours a week for the next 5 years. The onus is on the applicant to prove it. Drug and alcohol problems can't be used as a reason - detox or maintenance is the treatment for this. Payments are medically reviewed every 5 years.

I could be wrong, but I believe Herbie's application was knocked back. Many are.

I already know that Karamel.  Roll Eyes

Reply #101 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:31pm

Have a bit of a research people.

You will find income tax was deigned to help people who live beyond working age, just like super.

Then the grubberment got more and more greedy.

Now they are reneging on that deal and want you to pay for your own retirement.

But be warned

They have their eyes on your super.

Eventually they will confiscate it and give it back to you a little bit at a time.

Then they will start giving back less.

then they will give everybody the same back no matter how much you pay.

Then they will want you to pay for your own retirement and the cycle starts again.

Reply #102 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:33pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:27pm:
Pensions are not pensions

Okaaaaaay     Roll Eyes

Reply #103 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:33pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:27pm:

Stop beating around the variable bush

Pensions are not pensions Sol.

Ferk me you & peccar must not have been circumsied

coz there's no end to you pr1cks.

of course not. One pension is for the tinted folk .... bad, the other pension is for you. Good.

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #104 - Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:36pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 6:25pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:30pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:29pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 11th, 2017 at 2:27pm:

Maybe.

It's still welfare, though.

Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Why?

Don't you think they earned it & contributed to it ...

despite you harping on that it's still welfare because that's what the system now says.

Why?  Because it's welfare.

Earned it?  Sure.

I'm not bagging pensioners.

It's welfare today.

Did you know that you don't have to have an employment history in order to qualify for the Age Pension?

That's right - you can never work a day in your life, and never pay income tax, and still receive the Age Pension when you reach retirement age.

That's a pretty good welfare system we have.

Oh, and 'welfare' isn't a dirty word.

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10