Golliwog (Media corrupts another fact) (Read 8997 times)

Golliwog (Media corrupts another fact)
Sep 8th, 2018 at 8:49pm

I just found this and it all made sense.
But thanks to the Media and how it 'corrupts' everything, especially 'other nations histories'...
...like horns in Viking Helmets.
...like Piracy being a kiddie-friendly attraction and novelty
...like stealing movies from other nations and making their own versions.

Anyway, the idea of Golliwog to me was, via the Media - a derogatory term used for 'Black People' apparently and thus why it has been banned as 'Racist' by the Media.

Such a stupid world we live in sometimes.  Roll Eyes
God help me if I call someone from those two West African nations of Ni***ger***ia and Ni***g***er ...a Ni***gg***er...
like a Nip from Nippon, an Aussie from Australia, etc.

About time we void the 'filter' on the N > word.

Re: Golliwog (Media corrupts another fact)
Reply #1 - Sep 9th, 2018 at 2:09am

You can't say that word, JaSin. FD won't let you.

He's too scared of the Muselman, you see.

Thanks for an interesting read though. Gone are the days we could use harmless terms like wogs, dagos and You Know What.

Now you have to call them Boongs.

Reply #2 - Sep 9th, 2018 at 10:36am

Even though the word Coon is a justified term of self description by Aboriginal peoples (Koori is just 'one' tribe, from VIC, I think).
Thanks to the Media and its 'cotton woolling' of Black people, we can't even say that.
Soon they will ban towns from being called
Coonamble, Coonabarabran & Coonawarra, etc.

FD is wrong. That word is a justified description of those people of West Africa. It should not be banned and it should not be a term to bully white people with.

Khaffirs come from Khafferia (based on 'caffeine' trade).
Nips from Nippon/Nihon (only wank Media calls it Japan).

Media bans anyone from calling a Spade & Spade
Probably why they can't cope with Trump.
The Media is a FAKE.
Soon we'll have to call a
Spade
a ...transdental product of epistemological soil penetration.  Roll Eyes

Reply #3 - Sep 9th, 2018 at 3:31pm

The real history of the Golliwog doll is recounted here.   It makes considerably more interesting reading than JaSin's bullshit explanation in the OT of this thread.   Roll Eyes

Reply #4 - Sep 9th, 2018 at 3:48pm

Florence Kate Upton?

She capitalized on the real history as Jasin posted.

Florence made money out of it

Reply #5 - Sep 9th, 2018 at 4:15pm

Since it was a doll that people loved I can not see how they were racist. A black child liking a white doll isn't ?

Or is it ?

Reply #6 - Sep 10th, 2018 at 10:15am

Jasin wrote on Sep 9th, 2018 at 10:36am:
Even though the word Coon is a justified term of self description by Aboriginal peoples (Koori is just 'one' tribe, from VIC, I think).
Thanks to the Media and its 'cotton woolling' of Black people, we can't even say that.
Soon they will ban towns from being called
Coonamble, Coonabarabran & Coonawarra, etc.

FD is wrong. That word is a justified description of those people of West Africa. It should not be banned and it should not be a term to bully white people with.

Khaffirs come from Khafferia (based on 'caffeine' trade).
Nips from Nippon/Nihon (only wank Media calls it Japan).

Media bans anyone from calling a Spade & Spade
Probably why they can't cope with Trump.
The Media is a FAKE.
Soon we'll have to call a
Spade
a ...transdental product of epistemological soil penetration.  Roll Eyes

I like how people have taken these terms on - queers, negros, wogs. When I'm in Thailand, I'm called a farang. They only say this behind your back as it has negative connotations. I believe it was originally Thais trying to pronounce the word French - for the French in indochine. I'm happy to call myself a farang.

There's no negative term for white Australians in Australia. The Greeks tried calling us skips, but this never took off. We're still just Aussies.

In some ways this is good - you have to make your insults specific. White trash, bogans, yobs - these describe people who are uncouth and bad mannered, not white.

I like the term for white women in South India: Madama. This was the term domestics used to address their masters. It now describes a useless white woman who can't do anything for herself.
« Last Edit: Sep 10th, 2018 at 10:21am by Mattyfisk »  

miketrees

Reply #7 - Sep 10th, 2018 at 8:33pm

That reminds me of prince Philip describing some shoddy work as "It looks like it was build by an Indian"

Reply #8 - Sep 10th, 2018 at 9:56pm

miketrees wrote on Sep 10th, 2018 at 8:33pm:
That reminds me of prince Philip describing some shoddy work as "It looks like it was build by an Indian"

Well, good point. Unless it's a temple, Indian buildings last about 20 years, if that.

Reply #9 - Sep 11th, 2018 at 1:22am

I think you mean the word Phalung (Thai) which is 'Foreigner' - its the tone and presentation, which decides wether it is insult or compliment.

Many Aussies can be broken down into their own variations.
Drongo, Yobbo, Wanker, Ocker, Strine
along with Queenslanders being Wallys and Cane Toads.
'Westies' in Western Sydney (Pre 2000AD) but now its 'Housos' (as they are 'everywhere' now).
Boguns from Melbourne.
Hipsters (gay rich descendents of Hippies)

...Dilligafs: yep, we've all worked with a few of them too. Roll Eyes

Should we 'ban' all these names too, for being 'racist'?
Huh Tongue

Reply #10 - Sep 11th, 2018 at 10:29am

Don't hear people whining about white dolls

How come ?

Reply #11 - Sep 11th, 2018 at 11:06pm

PZ547 wrote on Sep 11th, 2018 at 10:29am:
Don't hear people whining about white dolls

How come ?

Now now, PZ, that's racist.

Reply #12 - Sep 11th, 2018 at 11:18pm

Jasin wrote on Sep 11th, 2018 at 1:22am:
I think you mean the word Phalung (Thai) which is 'Foreigner' - its the tone and presentation, which decides wether it is insult or compliment.

Many Aussies can be broken down into their own variations.
Drongo, Yobbo, Wanker, Ocker, Strine
along with Queenslanders being Wallys and Cane Toads.
'Westies' in Western Sydney (Pre 2000AD) but now its 'Housos' (as they are 'everywhere' now).
Boguns from Melbourne.
Hipsters (gay rich descendents of Hippies)

...Dilligafs: yep, we've all worked with a few of them too. Roll Eyes

Should we 'ban' all these names too, for being 'racist'?
Huh Tongue

Exactly. I mean, what's wrong with calling these people C00ns? They eat cheese, don't they? Who doesn't?

Or how about Curry-Shtters? Don't they eat curry? Don't they enjoy shtting on the street?

Or tree-Monkies - haven't they just come out of the jungle?

I mean, get real. If these people can't accept simple common sense, they don't deserve to live among decent white people, JaSin.

Let's face facts. FD started this board for a reason. If you can't categorise your racial inferiors, what hope have you got to preserve your species?

Reply #13 - Sep 11th, 2018 at 11:18pm

PZ: They do if its Barbie.

Karnal: Yep, apparently its illegal to call a Spade a Spade. thankfully Trump might change that, we'll see.

Some people just need some 'thick' skin

Reply #14 - Sep 12th, 2018 at 9:38pm

Is Serena Williams a gollywog?

Yes or no?