I shouldn't but I will.
Flathead. Best caught 'spearfishing' or 'snorkling'.
Why 'skim the surface' when you can get
and totally
Get down even deeper and you get

Anyway, I snorkel/spear around where I live often.
I can actually come up to a Flathead, gently/slowly slide my hand under them and lift them. Sometimes they shoot off, most times they stay for about a minute at most.
In this period, place the other hand 'cupped' over their front/head ...stay away from all their nasty spines. If really lucky, they open their mouth enough to get a better grip in. They will wiggle and waggle, but just hang on firmly for a bit and they will cease and ...into the bag they go! Unharmed and unspoiled!!

Where I do this - a young fella caught an Australian record Tailor a month n' abit ago.
Where I do this - heaps of large Mullet go a belly slappin after baitfish.
Few days ago, took the young neighbour out for a spearfish. We mostly aimed for looking at a wreck, so I just bothered with a hand-spear. Anyway, besides finding two 'old coins'. I chanced upon about 20 large/big fish in a gutter. At first I thought it was schooling shark (Svengali came to mind

) because of their tails and behaviour. Then I realised it was Jewfish - BIG JEWFISH!!
Because of the way I approach things, they weren't scared off and I knew I had time to bring the young fella over to make the hit with his gun.
BANG!
He hit behind the head (good) but to the side from above (not good) and once he got it to the surface I knew it would rip itself off before...
...too late!

1m long BIG JEWFISH (aka Dinner!) got away.

Superstition has it though that its good luck for the 'first' Big fish to get away and it was the young fella's first big one.
Alas, I was made so hungry by the sight of that delicious Jewy, that I headed for the Fish n' Chips once back to shore and ute.
Alas, like most 'Fish n Chip' shops along the NSW coast - they don't really put the type of fish on their boards because
'ironically' - they are selling BASA (SE-Asian Catfish), now under 'other names' to hide the fact.
Yep - here I am just off the beach, eating an 'imported catfish', in a Coastal town, just after losing a JEWFISH.
*sigh 
They even over-cooked the chips!
Basa is cheaply bought but sold at a price like any other type of better quality fish. Sums up most Asian made products when sold in Australia to undercut Australian made products.

Stupid Effin Govts!

Maybe plain gutless too!?

Flathead? Meh ...over-rated for taste and its a bit of a peck through all those bones.
The Fishing Scene only go on and harp about how good Flathead & Snapper is because it's mostly what they catch ...by Line/Boat (up there on the surface).
My mate a few days even earlier caught a good batch of fish spearing, but alas - the local Great White came along and stole his catch (dragged him 20m before he unhooked).
Even spearing has it's disadvantages to surface Fishing.

Ok. You may all resume your positions of rotting in hell as a bunch of pussy-whipped males to those female members from that PA Forum that come here to cause trouble and get people banned for looking at their tits that they wobble around in front of everyone.
I'm always interested in what you have to say Jasin.