Poll Poll
Question: How should Pokies be Legislated?

They shouldnt    
  4 (33.3%)
Make pokies illegal    
  6 (50.0%)
Set a limit on them (same for everyone)    
  0 (0.0%)
Set a limt on them (according to affordability)    
  0 (0.0%)
Change the machines to only accept so much    
  0 (0.0%)
Mandatory pre-commitment    
  2 (16.7%)
Other    
  0 (0.0%)

Total votes: 12
« Last Modified by: Sir Spot of Borg on: May 14th, 2012 at 3:45pm »

How should Pokies be Legislated? (Read 3488 times)

How should Pokies be Legislated?
May 14th, 2012 at 3:45pm

The problem is that they are treating EVERYONE like a "problem gambler" and it isn't going to work anyway. Gamblers will just nominate a higher limit. It doesn't address the big money games like roulette and blackjack @ all. It inconveniences one-off gamblers. Its just a stupid idea.

Its coming up again.

adelcrow

everywhere
Re: How should Pokies be Legislated?
Reply #1 - May 14th, 2012 at 3:50pm

Im about as anti pokies as you can get so I would just ban the bloody things.
That being impossible, $1 max bets will have to do.

Go the Bunnies

Reply #2 - May 14th, 2012 at 3:55pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 3:50pm:

Why are you so anti-pokies? Had a problem or someone close to you had a problem? My flatmate has a problem i think. So far he pays his rent though so i cant really say anything. Sometimes he will spend 12 hours @ the casino. If there was mandatory pre-commitment he would just commit to some really high number he would never reach anyway.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #3 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:02pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 3:55pm:
adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 3:50pm:

Why are you so anti-pokies? Had a problem or someone close to you had a problem? My flatmate has a problem i think. So far he pays his rent though so i cant really say anything. Sometimes he will spend 12 hours @ the casino. If there was mandatory pre-commitment he would just commit to some really high number he would never reach anyway.

I know people that have had their lives ruined by the introduction of pokies in SA but apart from that they have stuffed many live music venues, pubs and sports clubs all over the country.
On top of that I cant see the point of the bloody things except to part people from their hard earned money as quickly as possible without providing anything in return.

Go the Bunnies

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #4 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:19pm

The Greens and the ALP force Gambling, drugs, pornography ect on us to destroy our families, our people and our culture while they invade our country and sell it, then they have the gall to say "we" have a problem...the drug pusher says the adict has the problem...The Greens and ALP are lovely people aren't they...

World Wide Working Class Struggle

Reply #5 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:23pm

corporate_whitey wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:19pm:
The Greens and the ALP force Gambling, drugs, pornography ect on us to destroy our families, our people and our culture while they invade our country and sell it, then they have the gall to say "we" have a problem...the drug pusher says the adict has the problem...The Greens and ALP are lovely people aren't they...

Really mate? I thought it was obama that forced all this immorality on us poor aussies with his pro-gay stance.

Reply #6 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:24pm

how about seat belts and crash helmets.??

what about no phones whilst driving them...

what about no smoking,drinking,eating,walking on the grass,

gosh there is all sorts of things they can do.. to make life not worthwhile..

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #7 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:26pm

cods wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:24pm:

They are all separate issues

Go the Bunnies

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #8 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:28pm

Why not bring back asbestos mining and thalidomide for morning sickness?

Go the Bunnies

Reply #9 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:29pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:26pm:
cods wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:24pm:

They are all separate issues

dill I was referring them to being legislated to the pokermachines.. the more rules maybe will put people off... you have no sense of humour..

strewth!!!

Reply #10 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:29pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:28pm:

would that work with poker machines???????DUH!

Reply #11 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:30pm

adelcrow wrote on May 14th, 2012 at 4:28pm:

Well wouldn't have to worry about another generation of problem gamblers.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #12 - May 14th, 2012 at 4:31pm

Condom machines, injection rooms and free Gunja in all primary schools?

Go the Bunnies

Reply #13 - May 14th, 2012 at 5:02pm

They reckon counseling for gamblers is a waste of money. Dunno what they want to replace it with.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-05-14/counselling-for-gamblers-a-27waste-of-mone...

Doctor Jolly

Reply #14 - May 14th, 2012 at 5:23pm

Pokies have no upside, and plenty of downside.

Get rid of them.  WA gets along just fine without them.
Victoria used to as well.