Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12
Dump The baby bonus ???? (Read 46626 times)
imcrookonit

Re: Dump The baby bonus ????
Reply #45 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:57pm

Only an idiot would think this is why people have kids.

If my wife doesnt return to work until our oldest hits schools, we have forgone well over $350k in wages in that time, and that not factoring in further kids.

Yeah, we did it for the $5k.
That is all well and good for you, but what about the unemployed, and the low income workers on $570 gross a week?.  Yes maybe ( SOME DID IT)  for the $5k.   Sad            

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #46 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:01pm

We,have to give every Australian an equal welfare wage so there is no inequality between races and class then we can all be happy and no complaints.  Too many people are greedy. Smiley

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

Reply #47 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:01pm

Maybe I'm just getting old but as I said I see NO ADVANTAGE to the duel income family except for tax revenues & as Wes pointed out the Corporate Elite.
Bring back the days where 1 man or women's wage is enough to cover a mortgage/car/shop/holiday.
Of course to do this we all must go thru something even worse than the Great Depression of the 30's.

Reply #48 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:06pm

Bring back the days where 1 man or women's wage is enough to cover a mortgage/car/shop/holiday.
Of course to do this we all must go thru something even worse than the Great Depression of the 30's

Or stop living beyond your means.

Verge

Reply #49 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:09pm

If my wife doesnt return to work until our oldest hits schools, we have forgone well over $350k in wages in that time, and that not factoring in further kids.

That is all well and good for you, but what about the unemployed, and the low income workers on $570 gross a week?.  Yes maybe ( SOME DID IT)  for the $5k.   Sad                

Bullshit.  $5k is ten weeks worth of the minimum wage.

And what about my wife who now doesnt even have a wage mate?

$5k is a spit in the Ocean when you have to raise a family for and a child for a minimum of 18 years, and the current trend appears to be even more.

To even suggest the $5k is a motivating factor shows such ignorance and naivety.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #50 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:10pm

skippy. wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:06pm:
Of course to do this we all must go thru something even worse than the Great Depression of the 30's

No Skip we are well past the stage of personal choice.
When your mortgage is $350K (small to average by todays standards) that requires over $2000 p/month just to service that, at today's rates.

Reply #51 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:10pm

If everybody stopped living beyond their means, it would bring about a great depression, seeing as how so much of our society/industry/commerce is based on the 'consume consume consume' ethic.

Verge

Reply #52 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:11pm

The days smithy is referring to was when a family home cost 3 times the annual income.

Its now 8.

I dont think its a case of living within your means, more so now days the cost of means is just blowing out at an unsustainable rate.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #53 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:11pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:01pm:
Maybe I'm just getting old but as I said I see NO ADVANTAGE to the duel income family except for tax revenues & as Wes pointed out the Corporate Elite.
Of course to do this we all must go thru something even worse than the Great Depression of the 30's.

It might take that to do it. It used to be enough for one parent to work, then we needed both to work, now I know situations where both parents work and do extra jobs or overtime to make ends meet. What next? send the kids out to work?

Is that what the pollies mean when they say working families.....the WHOLE family.

Even if we went through the great depression mark II, would we be happy when we come out the other side, would we learn a lesson never to be greedy again?

Reply #54 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:12pm

Verge wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:11pm:

The days smithy is referring to was when a family home cost 3 times the annual income.

Its now 8.

I dont think its a case of living within your means, more so now days the cost of means is just blowing out at an unsustainable rate.

And really not that long ago 70's to about 85 I'd say

Reply #55 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:13pm

And weren't we told that the recent GFC was 'worse than the great depression'?

hearing that really made me question whether the great depression was great at all.

Verge

Reply #56 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:13pm

That is all well and good for you, but what about the unemployed, and the low income workers on $570 gross a week?.  Yes maybe ( SOME DID IT)  for the $5k.   Sad                

Quite possibly the stupidest comment Ive read from you to date and thats saying something.

Thats about 9 weeks of the average wage mate, what about the other 17 years, 43 weeks you have to support the kid for?

Verge

Reply #57 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:15pm

... wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:13pm:

hearing that really made me question whether the great depression was great at all.

That was a retarded Treasurer ramping up his so called efforts stopping a recession.

What kind of a wanker says its worse than the great depression when we didnt even get a recession?

Reply #58 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:22pm

Verge wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:15pm:
... wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:13pm:

That was a retarded Treasurer ramping up his so called efforts stopping a recession.

What kind of a wanker says its worse than the great depression when we didnt even get a recession?

I just get more & more depressed everytime I see or have to think about
Swan/Gillard/Abbott.
Is this really the best we've got????
Seriously is this going to be our choice come 2013?
Someone run me a warm bath , I'm going to buy some Lenord Cohen & razor blades Sad

« Last Edit: Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:27pm by Dsmithy70 »  

Reply #59 - Apr 28th, 2011 at 4:23pm

Verge, are you not forgetting that some of these young girls have no comprehension of the next 18 years. It doesn't enter their frame of reference.
And it's no accident when there's one or two in the stroller and another one on the way.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12