Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11
Tim Flannery reveals AGW SCAM (Read 45394 times)
Equitist

Re: Tim Flannery reveals AGW SCAM
Reply #60 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:00pm

How can you suggest that a Carbon Tax is all (or even mostly) about 'money'/revenue!?

Kindly elaborate upon your gross revenue and expenditure assumptions...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #61 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:11pm

Equitist wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:00pm:
How can you suggest that a Carbon Tax is all (or even mostly) about 'money'/revenue!?

Kindly elaborate upon your gross revenue and expenditure assumptions...

You really need someone to explain it to you?????

WOW....

Ok, here's the translation...ANY business that faces a 'small' or 'medium' increase in production costs will simply pass those costs onto the consumers, correct?? E.G...if the price of milk from producers( the people who actually milk the cows) increases by 0.02c per litre...then the price of milk to the consumer increases by 'AT LEAST' 0.02c per litre....

So WHY if the cost of producing a MW of electricity increase by $X dollars per MW, won't the cost per MW to the electricity consumer also rise by $X dollars per MW????

Net result, the government 'collects' the $X dollar tax on Carbon, and the company simply passes the 'tax' on to the consumers...

There is zero incentive to any producer (like a steel manufacturer or an electricity maunfacturer) to spend millions or billions of dollars to rebuild or modify their infrastructure when they can simply up the price and recover the extra tax from the downstream consumers....

And so, the 'polluters' still pollute, the Government gets extra money and poor suckers, like US, pay the difference....
« Last Edit: Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:16pm by gizmo_2655 »  

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #62 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:21pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 12:36pm:
Prevailing wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 12:33pm:
In a scientific dictatorship, the regime becomes a legitimate target being outlaw murderous gagsters as per NAZI Germans and Stalinist Russia. Cool

I condemn all outlaws and murderers of the innocent. Tongue

Were you at the rally????

One placard held directly behind Abbott's head read: ''UN IMF global government. Agenda 21 Genocide''. That, if you are wondering, is the cry of the fruit loops who believe the United Nations and the International Monetary Fund have hatched a fiendish scheme to abolish democratic nation states, and that the UN's Agenda 21 for sustainable world development is, yes, a plot to kill us all.

Agenda 21 is a blue print for scientific dictatorship and genocide - these people are dangerous extremist maniacs.

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

Reply #63 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:51pm

Prevailing wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:21pm:
In a scientific dictatorship, the regime becomes a legitimate target being outlaw murderous gagsters as per NAZI Germans and Stalinist Russia. Cool

One placard held directly behind Abbott's head read: ''UN IMF global government. Agenda 21 Genocide''. That, if you are wondering, is the cry of the fruit loops who believe the United Nations and the International Monetary Fund have hatched a fiendish scheme to abolish democratic nation states, and that the UN's Agenda 21 for sustainable world development is, yes, a plot to kill us all.

Agenda 21 is a blue print for scientific dictatorship and genocide - these people are dangerous extremist maniacs.

Reply #64 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:56pm

philperth2010 wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 9:28am:
I see the right attack the man and not the science.....Flannery was honest and did a great job in conveying the need to act on climate change....I see no argument from the right that contradicts the science!!!

Against criticism a man can neither protest nor defend himself; he must act in spite of it, and then it will gradually yield to him.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749 - 1832)

and it doesnt concern you that almost every word he sprouts is proved wrong? every prediction he has made for the near future has failed miserably.

Reply #65 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:59pm

freediver wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 11:25am:
If you put a carbon tax on Australian manufacturers of carbon intensive products - such as steel for example - but you don't place any carbon related restriction on imported carbon intensive products from countries which don't have any controls - how is that beneficial to either Australia or the environment?

That is not the plan.

Taxing the     21,000,000 in Australia will not reduce global warming

Yes it will, and the polkicies of our government take the global situation into account.

do you SERIOUSLY believe that?

Reply #66 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:03pm

Equitist wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 11:35am:
Encore: -

......"Anti-climate-change opinion gets a lot of gut level support by confusing the planet with our world. The planet is 4.6 billion years old; heavy industry started 200 years ago. "Two hundred years versus four and a half billion years and we have the conceit to think we are a threat," joked the late US satirist, George Carlin. He's right: our carbon emissions won't kill the planet. But human-caused climate change will alter the world we depend on for survival. (It's worth remembering that the so-called "climate-change controversy" is in the press, not the academic journals.)

On the opposite side, sustainable living is painted as a duty that's "good for the planet". No, the planet's fine. It's good for us. It's not a moral issue, but a survival issue, and that should galvanise us."

".....talking about the world not the planet changes how we see our role here. In "saving the planet", humanity gives itself the role of custodian. It implies that the planet is ours to use. And that's exactly the attitude that got us into this mess.
If we want to save our world, then we need to remember that it is many communities, not just of human beings, but of plants and animals (ecosystems). Instead of behaving like citizens, we've behaved like consumers. Even the projects to change our behaviour still frame us as consumers.

This is unsurprising, since we've reframed the whole idea of citizenship as a commercial relationship. There's a crucial difference between being a "taxpayer" (a consumer) and a citizen, a member of society, contributing. Governments referring to its citizens as "clients" is equally wrong: a government is not a service provider in the same sense. This consumer approach to democracy encourages passive citizenship"

http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/45632.html\

We won't kill the planet, just our world

oh how strange .. one minute its all about the planet.. it cant sustain this carbon .. then the next its only humans that willl suffer..

why didnt you say so in the first place?.

changes the whole thing for me at any rate.

heres me thinking oh gawd the sun is going to start fires that we cant put out..not only that the ice is melting at such a rate it will swallow us up in leaps and bounds we will all be heading for the Himalayas. in wheelbarrows.

but no its not the planet that is doomed its just the people.. well thats a relief.

well somethings going right looks like the monsters running NSW have been got rid of, only took 16 years but never mind at last the greedy monster is dead. god save NSW even if it is only for a little while...lol.

wasnt there a song about Beds burning.

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #67 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:05pm

There is a familiar smell about agenda 21, the Greens, Bob Brown, Juliar and the carbon economy - its the smell of death.  How can people claim to be pacifists, against violence and war out of one side of their mouth and out of the other call for assassinations, illegal invasions based on lies to steal energy resources?

... Cool

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

Reply #68 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:08pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:51pm:
Prevailing wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 3:21pm:

http://www.babble.com/CS/blogs/strollerderby/Certifiably_Insane___Blank_by_Mearu...

smithy it has long been my belief that to be a little mad is the only way to be on this planet to be honest...

its the completely insane that have the best of this world.

you know if ever I end up in a home for whatever I hope i am out of my mind..otherwise to be in there would be hell on earth. how I feel for those that have their minds but not their energy

Reply #69 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:09pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 1:06pm:
BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 12:49pm:
Mate, I would walk straight out of Harvey norman if I got you!

Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Grin Grin Grin Wink

You're a joke!

Make a nice change to being thrown out for shop-lifting though won't it?

lol good one andrei..

nichy

Reply #70 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:12pm

Monday, February 14, 2011 at 03:35pm

If you’re trying to sell a new tax that even its paid supporters admit will hurt ordinary families, should your number one salesman be someone who is already rich – and who will receive $720,000 in taxes to spread a pro-tax message?

A couple of months ago, author and dinosaur bone specialist Tim Flannery told a Sydney audience that “within this century the concept of the strong Gaia will actually become physically manifest … this planet, this Gaia, will have acquired a brain and a nervous system. That will make it act as a living animal, as a living organism.”

Evidently this declaration of faith pleased the great earth spirit, for last week Flannery was rewarded by being named as the head of Prime Minister Julia Gillard’s climate change commission.

The commission – its full title is an anagram of “A Climactic Immense Hogs-On”, which seems about right, seeing as it will chew through $5.6 million of your taxes over the next four years – aims to convince a dubious public that we’ll all be better off with a carbon tax.

To that end, Flannery and his team of Gillardian carboneers will travel Australia like old-timey evangelists, preaching of climate terrors to come unless we sacrifice our economy. All male members of this tax-funded hogs-on are bearded academics, by the way, which gives you some idea of the sheer electrifying charisma we can expect to light up town halls across the nation.

“I’m delighted to take up this challenge. I think it’s a very timely one,” Flannery, a paleontologist, said at the announcement of Gillard’s Gaiathon. “I will be trying to lead discussion on what climate science has to offer us.”

Let’s start with a discussion on what climate science offers Flannery. Plenty, as it turns out. Flannery will pull down a $180,000 annual salary (paid by you) over four years for his leadership of the climate change commission; not bad considering that his main task is to tell people that they should pay more taxes. Thanks for the advice, rich guy.

The really cute part is that Flannery will only work three days per week for his $180,000, allowing him to continue his roles with Macquarie University, the Siemens Sustainability Advisory Board and the Prince of Monaco’s Foundation. And he’ll probably write another book or two. His $1153 per working day in Labor carbon cash comes on top of that.

(Incidentally, during the launch Flannery had this to say about the government’s Queensland flood tax: “From a personal perspective could I just say I’m happy to pay my levy.” Right decent of him. Let’s hope he can afford it.)

Flannery interrupted the filming of his third publicly-funded ABC documentary series (Two Men Spend Your Money, I think it’s called) to attend last week’s announcement. That’s yet more of Australia’s collective earnings headed Flannery’s way. No wonder this bloke likes taxes. He’s received so much of them.

The Tweed Daily News happened upon Flannery and his documentary partner John Doyle earlier this month during filming at Point Danger on the Gold Coast. For a pair of dedicated anti-carbonists, they’re leaving a decent-sized carbon footprint. “They have been drag racing [and] ridden in a helicopter over the Snowy Mountains,” said assistant producer James West.

Then the whole crew flew out for further tax-funded antics. The series airs in September and will be worth watching for those Flannery drag-racing scenes alone.
Presumably Flannery competed in a hybrid Toyota Prius, such as the shiny new one given to him by the car company two years ago in return for some public speaking engagements and the world’s most embarrassing YouTube ad: “I’m always in and out of airports and in and out of planes. It’s just one of the things you have to do these days if you want to be effective in the environmental movement.”

It’s also something that the environmental movement wants to stop you and I doing, because air travel is so bad for the environment (but not for environmentalists). Anyway, Toyota got a good deal. Flannery previously boasted of charging American corporations $US50,000 for a single speech, back in the days when US corporations had that kind of dough to toss about.

So this is the guy Labor is sending around the country to tell people who don’t earn $50,000 in a whole year that they should happily cop a carbon tax. The millionaire appeared on the ABC’s Lateline last Thursday – where he was billed as “chief climate commissioner” – to open his tax sales pitch.

There was a bunch of cuddly $180,000-per-year hog talk about “greater understanding in the community” and “socially beneficial action”, but this exchange is all most people needed to hear:

TIM FLANNERY: “Any price on carbon will come with a cost.”

TONY JONES: “The cost being increased electricity prices for ordinary folk.”

TIM FLANNERY: “That’s right.”

Remember Julia Gillard’s words during the election campaign: “There will be no carbon tax under the government I lead.” Not only is a carbon tax now imminent, but she’s handing over millions to Team Flannery so they can flog it. Still, at least it’s only going to hurt “ordinary folk”. Meanwhile, rich Labor luvvies like Flannery will become vastly wealthier.

"He who does not value life does not deserve it." -- Leonardo da Vinci&&&&

Reply #71 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:12pm

freediver wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 10:16am:
you cant have human caused climategate one day.. and no it isnt human casued the next.

Cods, you misunderstood it to. He is not changing his mind. Try reading again what he actually said, rather than letting your imagination go wild with what you think he said.

Of course humans have some sort of impact on climate, but taxing the living daylights out of people and then compensating others will not change anything except to send the country broke.

Fortunately our economists stick to reality. A tax will have an impact on our emissions, and it will do less harm to our economy than any other mechanism.

It must be a big disappointment therefore discover that the ETS inEurope operating at around $22/tonne has had ZERO effect on emissions. our carbon tax will probably be at $10 a tonne.

expecting big things from our carbon tax then????

Reply #72 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:13pm

Prevailing wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:05pm:
There is a familiar smell about agenda 21, the Greens, Bob Brown, Juliar and the carbon economy - its the smell of death.  How can people claim to be pacifists, against violence and war out of one side of their mouth and out of the other call for assassinations, illegal invasions based on lies to steal energy resources?

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_49Bcbuc6ngM/SwlIE31_4iI/AAAAAAAAAio/NjME75Z_Zto/s1600/... Cool

prevail I hate to do this but if I have too I will report you these pictures are bad in fact they are horrible and an invasion of I would think are human rights..

you have no right to publish these pictures on a forum like this it is very very disrespectful.

if you cant help yourself go to another forum your mind needs looking at seriously it does. if I see anything like this again I will report it.

nichy

Reply #73 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:14pm

Labor has a bizarre preference for playing people out of position. We currently have economist Ross Garnaut advising the government on climate. Catherine Deveny, who previously mocked “spastics” and “brainless retards” in her Melbourne Age columns, is now a federally-appointed disabilities ambassador. And ex-PM Kevin Rudd, whose diplomatic skills are so advanced that his own party fired him, is Australia’s most senior diplomat.

You’d think Labor might have learned its lesson after putting spaz dancer (to use a Deveny-approved phrase) Peter Garrett in charge of home insulation. If Australia’s World Cup cricket campaign were run by Labor, Cate Blanchett would open the batting and wickets would be kept by a people smuggler.

But Gillard’s appointment of Tim Flannery as our cashed-up countrywide carbon tax conversationalist tops the lot. The next time this government needs someone to promote an immense tax-enlarging hogs-on, try finding someone who doesn’t seem quite so hoggish.

NOW WE KNOW WHO WE WILL BE PAYING THE CARBON TAX TO !!!!!!!

nichy

Reply #74 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:17pm

cods wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:13pm:
Prevailing wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 4:05pm:
There is a familiar smell about agenda 21, the Greens, Bob Brown, Juliar and the carbon economy - its the smell of death.  How can people claim to be pacifists, against violence and war out of one side of their mouth and out of the other call for assassinations, illegal invasions based on lies to steal energy resources?

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_49Bcbuc6ngM/SwlIE31_4iI/AAAAAAAAAio/NjME75Z_Zto/s1600/... Cool

prevail I hate to do this but if I have too I will report you these pictures are bad in fact they are horrible and an invasion of I would think are human rights..

you have no right to publish these pictures on a forum like this it is very very disrespectful.

if you cant help yourself go to another forum your mind needs looking at seriously it does. if I see anything like this again I will report it.

Cods, I agree with you -  I believe prevailing is an Extremist too and is doing more harm than good. 

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11