Water filters/reverse osmosis (Read 1059 times)

Re: Water filters/reverse osmosis
Reply #15 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:49pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 3:56pm:
Sophia wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:08am:
Has anyone had one installed, under sink or whole house?

The problem with filters is that people don't replace them often enough so
they build up mold and bacteria inside them.
In most cases you're safer without them.

Not if you live in a city where the town water has chlorine & fluoride in it.... especially fluoride.

Reply #16 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:53pm

Gnads wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:49pm:

Not if you live in a city where the town water has chlorine & fluoride in it.... especially fluoride.

I replaced one at work once as the water pressure went down.
It had had been left on for over year and no one was tasked with replacing it
on a regular basis.
I opened it up and it was filthy.
I am surprised we all weren't dying of water poisoning.

Forget water filters - people forget to replace them.

Reply #17 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:04pm

Gnads wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:47pm:
Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 2:25pm:
I want a 20,000L iron rainwater tank.

This could irrigate the orchard at least partly. Just the roof of the garage would fill it. Also be a fire fighting reserve.

Then maybe a 4000L iron rainwater tank close to the kitchen and some narrow iron rainwater tanks along the east side of the house. I would paint these black, provide frost/cold protection at night.

Why would you buy iron(galvo) water tanks that rust out?

Gal                   Poly
Lifespan      25-30+ years      10-20 years
https://premierwatertanks.com.au/galvanised-steel-vs-poly-water-tanks/

Reply #18 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:08pm

This could irrigate the orchard at least partly. Just the roof of the garage would fill it. Also be a fire fighting reserve.

Then maybe a 4000L iron rainwater tank close to the kitchen and some narrow iron rainwater tanks along the east side of the house. I would paint these black, provide frost/cold protection at night.

Iron won’t burn if hit by an ember in a bushfire emergency. Iron lasts OK.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!

Reply #19 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:39pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:53pm:

on a regular basis.

Gnads is right, I prefer a filter than straight out fluoride or/and chlorine.
A test was done in the Mornington peninsula and found those contents were 2.5 times higher in concentration coming out of tap water.
I can’t stand the smell coming out of tap water when I go there and my kids buy casks of noble water to consume.
We will be diligent changing filters even if it’s $500 a year… better than that toxic stuff.
But I do know what you mean Bobby, since it’s a work place, no one pays attention or to the timing of how long filters have been in the unit for.
Maybe there should be a calendar with a reminder note during the 12th month as “warning, change water filter”

Reply #20 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:44pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:53pm:

on a regular basis.

So you were a janitor?

Reply #21 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:44pm

Gnads wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:46pm:
Sophia wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 1:42pm:
Thanks for the replies folks. I’ve since found out that reverse osmosis is very slow to filter and would feel like the pressure in house is bad.
So just filtered system looks best.
Quotes on average for whole house is $4500 to $5500
I found a mob in Brisbane that have a special for just over $2600
So I will be ordering it for a present for my son’s house. I reckon his eczema should improve.
Filter replacement per annum is $249 to $449 depending on model.
There’s a filter system for tank water/bore water too.
But gee… all my 71 years of life being on rain tank water with no filter to date. Why would I bother now  Grin

All those prices you've quoted are for what? reverse osmosis for your sons house ... not yours.

Otherwise I'd say they are ridiculously over priced.

And even for Reverse Osmosis they are over priced.

Good news is I’m getting it for just over $2600 including delivery and plumber/installation.
First quote we got was $4,600
Second quote was $4500 to $5000
Third one had 30% sale

As for reverse osmosis, I was told it’s a slow process with RO and it lowers water pressure of house.
So I’m getting straight out water filtration system and it removes forever chemicals too.

Reply #22 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:45pm

Sophia wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:39pm:
A test was done in the Mornington peninsula and found those contents were 2.5 times higher in concentration coming out of tap water.
I can’t stand the smell coming out of tap water when I go there and my kids buy casks of noble water to consume.
We will be diligent changing filters even if it’s $500 a year… better than that toxic stuff.
But I do know what you mean Bobby, since it’s a work place, no one pays attention or to the timing of how long filters have been in the unit for.
Maybe there should be a calendar with a reminder note during the 12th month as “warning, change water filter”

Google AI

AI Overview

You should typically change a water filter every six to twelve months, but always check the manufacturer's guidelines for your specific filter. Factors like high water usage, hard water, or a noticeable change in water taste or smell may require more frequent replacements. A significant drop in water pressure can also indicate a clogged filter.

General Guidelines
Standard Timeframe: Many experts recommend a 6 to 12-month replacement schedule for standard residential systems.
Check Manufacturer Recommendations: Always refer to the specific instructions provided by the filter manufacturer for your model.

Factors That May Require More Frequent Changes
Water Quality: If your water contains high levels of sediment or other contaminants, your filter will clog and lose effectiveness faster.

Water Usage: High household water usage can exhaust a filter's capacity more quickly.
Hard Water: Hard water contains minerals that can build up in the filter, leading to clogs.

Signs Your Filter Needs Replacing
Altered Taste or Smell: A change in your water's taste or odor can be a sign that the filter is exhausted.
Reduced Water Flow: A noticeable decrease in water pressure or flow rate indicates a clogged filter.
Visual Cues: In some systems, you may see small particles or sediment in the water.
Bacterial Growth: Leaving a filter in place for too long, especially after the disinfectant stage,
can create a breeding ground for bacteria and biofilms.

Best Practices
Create a Schedule: Mark your calendar for filter changes to ensure you don't forget.
Monitor Your Water: Pay attention to changes in your water's taste, smell, or flow, as these are key indicators that the filter needs attention.

Consider a TDS Meter: Some users find a Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) meter helpful for tracking water quality and knowing when it's time to replace a filter.

Reply #23 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:49pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:45pm:
Sophia wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:39pm:

Google AI

AI Overview

You should typically change a water filter every six to twelve months, but always check the manufacturer's guidelines for your specific filter. Factors like high water usage, hard water, or a noticeable change in water taste or smell may require more frequent replacements. A significant drop in water pressure can also indicate a clogged filter.

General Guidelines
Standard Timeframe: Many experts recommend a 6 to 12-month replacement schedule for standard residential systems.
Check Manufacturer Recommendations: Always refer to the specific instructions provided by the filter manufacturer for your model.

Factors That May Require More Frequent Changes
Water Quality: If your water contains high levels of sediment or other contaminants, your filter will clog and lose effectiveness faster.

Water Usage: High household water usage can exhaust a filter's capacity more quickly.
Hard Water: Hard water contains minerals that can build up in the filter, leading to clogs.

Signs Your Filter Needs Replacing
Altered Taste or Smell: A change in your water's taste or odor can be a sign that the filter is exhausted.
Reduced Water Flow: A noticeable decrease in water pressure or flow rate indicates a clogged filter.
Visual Cues: In some systems, you may see small particles or sediment in the water.
Bacterial Growth: Leaving a filter in place for too long, especially after the disinfectant stage,
can create a breeding ground for bacteria and biofilms.

Best Practices
Create a Schedule: Mark your calendar for filter changes to ensure you don't forget.
Monitor Your Water: Pay attention to changes in your water's taste, smell, or flow, as these are key indicators that the filter needs attention.

Consider a TDS Meter: Some users find a Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) meter helpful for tracking water quality and knowing when it's time to replace a filter.

My son will keep his eye on it as he’s wanted one for a while. I’m buying it as a present for him (and his wife) there’s just the 2 of them and both work full time hardly home.
It will be low water usage but checking it at 6 and 12 months is a good idea.

Reply #24 - Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:52pm

Sophia wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:49pm:
My son will keep his eye on it as he’s wanted one for a while. I’m buying it as a present for him (and his wife) there’s just the 2 of them and both work full time hardly home.
It will be low water usage but checking it at 6 and 12 months is a good idea.

I have the Microsoft Outlook email client
and it has a calendar reminder feature.

That would be good to use -
and just replace it every 6 months and it should be OK.

Reply #25 - Oct 1st, 2025 at 8:58am

Setanta wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:04pm:

Gal                   Poly
Lifespan      25-30+ years      10-20 years
https://premierwatertanks.com.au/galvanised-steel-vs-poly-water-tanks/

Yes in an agricultural/farm context - but in residential the poly is far more practical & cheaper.

I've seen poly tanks that are well over 20 yrs old and still alright.

Myself & mate went and bought a second galvo tank each from a bloke - both had been empty for a while but had the food grade liners - both leaked.

Being that once used it needs to remain moist or it will crack.

Also the food grade liner is also made from polyethylene or polypropylene plastic.

So despite them being fire resistant - if they're not full and have a fire close by them it will damage the plastic liner and they will then leak. Smiley

Reply #26 - Oct 1st, 2025 at 9:00am

Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:08pm:

Iron won’t burn if hit by an ember in a bushfire emergency. Iron lasts OK.

No iron wont burn, but as I said to Set if the fire came up close to the tank the inner plastic liner can be damaged and it may leak.

Reply #27 - Oct 1st, 2025 at 9:05am

Yeah, may leak and will eventually rust etc.

I am 78 years old, think I won’t have to worry about the tank rusting out. Meanwhile, this area is rated a high fire danger and AGW makes that worse over time.

Reply #28 - Oct 1st, 2025 at 9:24am

Sophia wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 8:44pm:
Gnads wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 7:46pm:
Sophia wrote on Sep 30th, 2025 at 1:42pm:
Thanks for the replies folks. I’ve since found out that reverse osmosis is very slow to filter and would feel like the pressure in house is bad.
So just filtered system looks best.
Quotes on average for whole house is $4500 to $5500
I found a mob in Brisbane that have a special for just over $2600
So I will be ordering it for a present for my son’s house. I reckon his eczema should improve.
Filter replacement per annum is $249 to $449 depending on model.
There’s a filter system for tank water/bore water too.
But gee… all my 71 years of life being on rain tank water with no filter to date. Why would I bother now  Grin

All those prices you've quoted are for what? reverse osmosis for your sons house ... not yours.

Otherwise I'd say they are ridiculously over priced.

And even for Reverse Osmosis they are over priced.

Good news is I’m getting it for just over $2600 including delivery and plumber/installation.
First quote we got was $4,600
Second quote was $4500 to $5000
Third one had 30% sale

As for reverse osmosis, I was told it’s a slow process with RO and it lowers water pressure of house.
So I’m getting straight out water filtration system and it removes forever chemicals too.

$2,600 for filters to remove chlorine? but if not RO it will not remove fluoride.

Yes RO lowers pressure and wastes water 3 parts to 1 part filtered.

You can buy a 3 stage water filter system from Bunnings for $181 with sink tap. Just have to get a plumber to fit.

With what you're buying is it going to filter every tap in the house? Bathroom, toilet, the lot - even outside taps?

That would explain the high costs ... yes?

Reply #29 - Oct 1st, 2025 at 9:25am

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 1st, 2025 at 9:05am:
Yeah, may leak and will eventually rust etc.

I am 78 years old, think I won’t have to worry about the tank rusting out. Meanwhile, this area is rated a high fire danger and AGW makes that worse over time.

Grin Going good until you got to there.