Gordon wrote on Oct 16
th, 2023 at 2:02pm:
I was chatting to my old neighbour a few doors down the other day about his motorcycle, and mentioned I haven't seen him on it for a while. He said he hasn't ridden it for a few years due to health reasons.

Today, when I got home, he bailed me up and gave me the keys and said it's yours if you can get it going and get some use out of it.
It's 13 years old, has only 5000 on the clock. It's got a fewr spots of surface rust on it (ocean air) which I can sort out.
As for getting it started, my plan is to drain the tank, fuel lines and coolant and put in new spark plugs.
It's EFI no carb, reckon I should flush the injectors first or just hope for the best and get them cleaned IF it doesn't start?
I had a fuel injected GPZ 1100 it was the first production bike to crack 10 second quarter mile. 0-100 kph in 2.4 seconds.
Plugs last much longer with EFI as the thing doesn't run rich i doubt it will need new plugs.Oil also lasts longer with EFI as less blowby contaminating it.
Oil and coolant wouldn't hurt being replaced check air filter if it looks ok you can put it back.Fuel filter should be OK no worries if you want to change that.
I would look at giving brake fluid a check. Get some clear plastic hose to put over bleed nipple then bleed until fluid looks good. The fluid in brake caliper goes off so you shouldn't have to bleed whole system. I do this with cars when changing pads it allows the caliper to go heaps longer before needing a rebuild.
Tyres would have gone hard and lost grip so you should replace them even if they have heaps of tread. The rubber would be over 10 years old all tyres lose significant grip after 5.
Stick a new battery in it. Being EFI you should hear fuel pump priming for a few seconds when turned to on to bring up fuel pressure.
If you're going to turn motor over with wd40 make sure you put plugs in lead then earth plug on cylinder head. If it has no lead and coil goes on plug make sure plug is in coil as coil can be damaged if spark has nowhere to go.
I wouldn't use wd i would go to Subaru spare parts and get a can of upper engine cleaner from them around $20. It's a foam spray it down plug hole let it sit for a little while put plugs back in. Subaru use it servicing WRX as turbos run rich on boost it will clean all the crap from combustion chamber and piston crown back to shiny metal.
Good score make it heaps easier going from beach to junction lane splitting with beach traffic.
Looks like decent low to mid range power so should be a good cruiser.