Barnfind Motorcycle (Read 6136 times)

Re: Barnfind Motorcycle
Reply #45 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:16pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm:
Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:36pm:
I had a fuel injected GPZ 1100 it was the first production bike to crack 10 second quarter mile. 0-100 kph in 2.4 seconds.

Plugs last much longer with EFI as the thing doesn't run rich i doubt it will need new plugs.Oil also lasts longer with EFI as less blowby contaminating it.

Oil and coolant wouldn't hurt being replaced check air filter if it looks ok you can put it back.Fuel filter should be OK no worries if you want to change that.

I would look at giving brake fluid a check. Get some clear plastic hose to put over bleed nipple then bleed until fluid looks good. The fluid in brake caliper goes off so you shouldn't have to bleed whole system. I do this with cars when changing pads it allows the caliper to go heaps longer before needing a rebuild.

Tyres would have gone hard and lost grip so you should replace them even if they have heaps of tread. The rubber would be over 10 years old all tyres lose significant grip after 5.

Stick a new battery in it. Being EFI you should hear fuel pump priming for a few seconds when turned to on to bring up fuel pressure.

If you're going to turn motor over with wd40 make sure you put plugs in lead then earth plug on cylinder head. If it has no lead and coil goes on plug make sure plug is in coil as coil can be damaged if spark has nowhere to go.

I wouldn't use wd i would go to Subaru spare parts and get a can of upper engine cleaner from them around $20. It's a foam spray it down plug hole let it sit for a little while put plugs back in. Subaru use it servicing WRX as turbos run rich on boost it will clean all the crap from combustion chamber and piston crown back to shiny metal.

Good score make it heaps easier going from beach to junction lane splitting with beach traffic.

Looks like decent low to mid range power so should be a good cruiser.

Good advice.
WD40 is good enough if you spray plenty in and leave it for 2 days.
It's just to make sure that rings are not rusted solid to the bores.
yes - brake fluid soaks up moisture so can boil on a hot day leaving no brakes -
replace it.
Tyres must be replaced but OK for a slow ride just for testing.
Fuel and oil  filters can block up with a white sediment from reaction to moisture.
Replace them.
Always earth the plugs when turning over without plugs.

The thing to do is to start it up and listen for the sounds from the top end of the motor -
if it sounds like a metal banging factory switch it off.

It has only been 2 years and dry in Sydney. That said environment can differ old damp shed with dirt floor or sealed garage with concrete floor.

The Subaru upper engine cleaner is fantastic stuff it's the only thing i would use. Gets rid of all carbon buildup from piston crowns and frees up sticking rings.I have used it to fix cars with idle fluctuations others misdiagnosed as worn valve guides needing head rebuild.

Old tyres in the dry are OK it''s wet or damp roads where you will really notice it.
Perfect time to do a few burnouts just before replacing back tyre.  Wink

EFI is really good much easier than rebuilding carbs. There is also a gauze filer on fuel pump inlet with EFI which can block you will notice it dies just off idle when gunning it.

Fuel goes off with time when you open mower fuel cans and hear it when opening can that is all the high octane aromatics bleeding off.

Reply #46 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:31pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:16pm:
It has only been 2 years and dry in Sydney. That said environment can differ old damp shed with dirt floor or sealed garage with concrete floor.

The Subaru upper engine cleaner is fantastic stuff it's the only thing i would use. Gets rid of all carbon buildup from piston crowns and frees up sticking rings.I have used it to fix cars with idle fluctuations others misdiagnosed as worn valve guides needing head rebuild.

Old tyres in the dry are OK it''s wet or damp roads where you will really notice it.

EFI is really good much easier than rebuilding carbs. There is also a gauze filer on fuel pump inlet with EFI which can block you will notice it dies just off idle when gunning it.

Fuel goes off with time when you open mower fuel cans and hear it when opening can that is all the high octane aromatics bleeding off.

It's up to Gordon now.
Once going there is more to check:
swingarm bushes -
steering yoke bushes -
shockers
spoke tensions -
brake pad wear -
oil pressure if he has a gauge.
Check all nuts are tight and
check the chain tension and rear wheel alignment.

He's going to love that bike.

Reply #47 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:43pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:31pm:
Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:16pm:

It's up to Gordon now.
Once going there is more to check:
swingarm bushes -
steering yoke bushes -
shockers
spoke tensions -
brake pad wear -
oil pressure if he has a gauge.
Check all nuts are tight and
check the chain tension and rear wheel alignment.

He's going to love that bike.

It only has 5000ks it's not a clapped out heap.

I used Motul chain lube on the kart i raced. Direct drive 18,500 rpm 2 stroke it stayed on just about every other brand ended up on right shoulder of race suit.

Reply #48 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:01pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:43pm:
It only has 5000ks it's not a clapped out heap.

I used Motul chain lube on the kart i raced. Direct drive 18,500 rpm 2 stroke it stayed on just about every other brand ended up on right shoulder of race suit.

It's easy enough to check for play in the front wheel and the swingarm.
Some bikes have quality phosphor bronze bushes and
others have cheap, piss poor nylon ones.
Chains need some lube.

Reply #49 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:49pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm:
This is my model bike 👇

You can double me on that one. Lol.

Reply #50 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:53pm

My first and only (motor) bike experience was as a 5 year old being doubled on a small kids bike by a 10 year old.
He went straight into a ditch and flipped.
I never knew that flying ahead like a human bullet with an over-sized helmet could take me far in life. Embarrassed

Reply #51 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:55pm

Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:49pm:
This is my model bike 👇

Lisa tried to get involved in secret men's business.  Embarrassed

Reply #52 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:57pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:55pm:
This is my model bike 👇

Do you think she would get pulled over by Inspector Underwear?

Reply #53 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 11:11pm

Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:57pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:55pm:
This is my model bike 👇

Do you think she would get pulled over by Inspector Underwear?

It's Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance.   Wink

Reply #54 - Oct 17th, 2023 at 12:33am

Read it and like it.  Grin

Reply #55 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 2:44pm

Here's where I'm up to.

2 days ago I sprayed WD40 into the pots.
Today I drained the tank (most of the fuel must have evaporated) sloshed some clean fuel around until it ran clear.

Hooked it up to my car, tried to kick it over but the bike engine hardly turned, just a few cranks but not turning over. I can hear the fuel filter doing it's thing.

One of my jumper leads actually melted. Any ideas?

Reply #56 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 3:11pm

Guess you have to return it to him.
Yours 'if' you got it started.

Reply #57 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:53pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 2:44pm:
Here's where I'm up to.

Today I drained the tank (most of the fuel must have evaporated) sloshed some clean fuel around until it ran clear.

Hooked it up to my car, tried to kick it over but the bike engine hardly turned, just a few cranks but not turning over. I can hear the fuel filter doing it's thing.

"tried to kick it over but the bike engine hardly turned"

with or without the plugs?

Reply #58 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:57pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:53pm:
Here's where I'm up to.

Both, sounds like the starter motor is rooted.
I also tried to bump start it just to see if that loosened something up.

Reply #59 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 5:21pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:57pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:53pm:
Here's where I'm up to.

Both, sounds like the starter motor is rooted.
I also tried to bump start it just to see if that loosened something up.

It should have been easy to turn it over without the plugs in.
At least it turns over - it's not seized.

Is your jumper cable faulty?
It shouldn't melt - usually they melt at poor quality connections
where the wire joins the end of the clips.

Engine not starting -
check that the spark plugs have a healthy blue spark - when earthed outside the motor.

Check that fuel is really getting into the motor.
I assume you have carburetors?
if so spray "engine start" or petrol into the carby intakes and try again.
You'll need to take the air cleaners off.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8