Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:45pm:
Thanks to both above.
So how does this sound.

Drain fuel tank/lines/replace fuel filter
Remove plugs, spray WD40 into pistons
Leave for a few days, spray again, crank it over without plugs
Drain sump, replace oil and filter then crank it over

Sounds good.

You sound very intelligent with Bikes Bobby.
Don't know about Religion for you though. Cheesy

I've rebuilt 4 motorcycle engines.
Each one was a perfect job.
One of them was a Honda CB750 cc from 1973.
they are built like a tank and will go forever.
It had 100,000 miles on it and only needed a rebore -
oversize pistons, bearings and a valve grind.
It was a pleasure to ride.

https://handh.blob.core.windows.net/stock/59614-0-medium.jpg

I pulled the head off a 1000c 4cyl DOHC bike, thats about the limits of my mechanical ability I reckon.

Is that an actual photo of your old bike?

Re: Barnfind Motorcycle
Reply #31 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:32pm

Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:53pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:44pm:
Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:41pm:
What made you both get into bikes? Huh

I started on little bikes when I was young and graduated to
much larger and more powerful bikes.
I got addicted to the adrenaline rush.

I see.
...and you Gordo?

Yup loads. This bike is probably a good fit for me now, not crazy powerful and enjoyable to cruise around on.

Reply #32 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:34pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:30pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:23pm:
Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:16pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:48pm:
Thanks to both above.
So how does this sound.

Sounds good.

I pulled the head off a 1000c 4cyl DOHC bike, thats about the limits of my mechanical ability I reckon.

Is that an actual photo of your old bike?

No - both photos I posted were of identical bikes -
same colour - same model - same year.

Reply #33 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:38pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:14pm:
aquascoot wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:11pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:23pm:
Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:16pm:
Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:48pm:
Thanks to both above.
So how does this sound.

Sounds good.

that is a stunning bike bobby

Yes - imagine that on a nice Sunday ride along Beach road in Melbourne.

Get a bike, ride up to Sydney and we can do the next  https://www.gentlemansride.com/

Reply #34 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:45pm

Has it got a starter motor? Another method to get the oil pressure up before starting is to remove the plug leads and turn the engine over a bit, then replace the leads

Reply #35 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:46pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:34pm:
No - both photos I posted were of identical bikes -
same colour - same model - same year.

Here is a better image of what it looked like:

Reply #36 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:48pm

Bias_2012 wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:45pm:
Has it got a starter motor? Another method to get the oil pressure up before starting is to remove the plug leads and turn the engine over a bit, then replace the leads

I think the WD40 down the plugs is a good idea. It may start and be fine, but it needs an oil change and new plugs anyway, so it's no more effort really.

Reply #37 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:00pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:38pm:
Get a bike, ride up to Sydney and we can do the next  https://www.gentlemansride.com/

I don't think my reaction times are as good as when I was in my 20s and 30s plus
I have a bad back now.
I doubt I could ride more than an hour or two.
Bikes are for young people.

Reply #38 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:09pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:00pm:

I don't think my reaction times are as good as when I was in my 20s and 30s plus
I have a bad back now.

I'm sure my reaction times are much worse than my 20s. I've been putting off getting a bike because of that but I think I'm now at a stage where my road aggression levels (desire to ride fast) are now commensurate with my reaction times, and having a street cruiser is just the right kind of bike.

Reply #39 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:13pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:09pm:

I have a bad back now.

I'm sure my reaction times are much worse than my 20s. I've been putting off getting a bike because of that but I think I'm now at a stage where my road aggression levels (desire to ride fast) are now commensurate with my reaction times, and having a street cruiser is just the right kind of bike.

If you take it easy it's OK.

I'm only here today from a reasonable skill level and many split second decisions
that I made while riding - especially on that H2 750.
That bike couldn't even hold a chosen line in fast corner.

Reply #40 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:19pm

aquascoot wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:49pm:
just drain all the fluids and change
be careful and probably use motorcycle oil as the clutch is often combined with the engine lube on bikes
10w 40

clean the air filter (might have a wasps nest in it , lol or mouse poop

Yes make sure you have the right oil. Wet clutches need a specific oil or clutch will slip then you will be replacing it and filling it up again with the right oil.

Reply #41 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:24pm

Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:13pm:
Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:09pm:

I have a bad back now.

If you take it easy it's OK.

I'm only here today from a reasonable skill level and many split second decisions
that I made while riding - especially on that H2 750.
That bike couldn't even hold a chosen line in fast corner.

I had fast, but VERY capable bikes. I once bought 3 brand new bikes in a bit over a year.
I bought a Honda VTR1000, 2cyl V twin, then 6 months later I decided I wanted to be a race boy so traded it for a Fireblade CBR1000RR. After 6 months I realised that was WAY too much bike and was only fun to ride aggressively, so traded it back for another VTR1000.

Reply #42 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:36pm

Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:02pm:
I was chatting to my old neighbour a few doors down the other day about his motorcycle, and mentioned I haven't seen him on it for a while. He said he hasn't ridden it for a few years due to health reasons.   Cry

Today, when I got home, he bailed me up and gave me the keys and said it's yours if you can get it going and get some use out of it.

It's 13 years old, has only 5000 on the clock. It's got a fewr spots of surface rust on it (ocean air) which I can sort out.

As for getting it started, my plan is to drain the tank, fuel lines and coolant and put in new spark plugs.

It's EFI no carb, reckon I should flush the injectors first or just hope for the best and get them cleaned IF it doesn't start?

I had a fuel injected GPZ 1100 it was the first production bike to crack 10 second quarter mile. 0-100 kph in 2.4 seconds.

Plugs last much longer with EFI as the thing doesn't run rich i doubt it will need new plugs.Oil also lasts longer with EFI as less blowby contaminating it.

Oil and coolant wouldn't hurt being replaced check air filter if it looks ok you can put it back.Fuel filter should be OK no worries if you want to change that.

I would look at giving brake fluid a check. Get some clear plastic hose to put over bleed nipple then bleed until fluid looks good. The fluid in brake caliper goes off so you shouldn't have to bleed whole system. I do this with cars when changing pads it allows the caliper to go heaps longer before needing a rebuild.

Tyres would have gone hard and lost grip so you should replace them even if they have heaps of tread. The rubber would be over 10 years old all tyres lose significant grip after 5.

Stick a new battery in it. Being EFI you should hear fuel pump priming for a few seconds when turned to on to bring up fuel pressure.

If you're going to turn motor over with wd40 make sure you put plugs in lead then earth plug on cylinder head. If it has no lead and coil goes on plug make sure plug is in coil as coil can be damaged if spark has nowhere to go.

I wouldn't use wd i would go to Subaru spare parts and get a can of upper engine cleaner from them around $20. It's a foam spray it down plug hole let it sit for a little while put plugs back in. Subaru use it servicing WRX as turbos run rich on boost it will clean all the crap from combustion chamber and piston crown back to shiny metal.

Good score make it heaps easier going from beach to junction lane splitting with beach traffic.

Looks like decent low to mid range power so should be a good cruiser.

Reply #43 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:36pm:
I had a fuel injected GPZ 1100 it was the first production bike to crack 10 second quarter mile. 0-100 kph in 2.4 seconds.

Plugs last much longer with EFI as the thing doesn't run rich i doubt it will need new plugs.Oil also lasts longer with EFI as less blowby contaminating it.

Oil and coolant wouldn't hurt being replaced check air filter if it looks ok you can put it back.Fuel filter should be OK no worries if you want to change that.

I would look at giving brake fluid a check. Get some clear plastic hose to put over bleed nipple then bleed until fluid looks good. The fluid in brake caliper goes off so you shouldn't have to bleed whole system. I do this with cars when changing pads it allows the caliper to go heaps longer before needing a rebuild.

Tyres would have gone hard and lost grip so you should replace them even if they have heaps of tread. The rubber would be over 10 years old all tyres lose significant grip after 5.

Stick a new battery in it. Being EFI you should hear fuel pump priming for a few seconds when turned to on to bring up fuel pressure.

If you're going to turn motor over with wd40 make sure you put plugs in lead then earth plug on cylinder head. If it has no lead and coil goes on plug make sure plug is in coil as coil can be damaged if spark has nowhere to go.

I wouldn't use wd i would go to Subaru spare parts and get a can of upper engine cleaner from them around $20. It's a foam spray it down plug hole let it sit for a little while put plugs back in. Subaru use it servicing WRX as turbos run rich on boost it will clean all the crap from combustion chamber and piston crown back to shiny metal.

Good score make it heaps easier going from beach to junction lane splitting with beach traffic.

Looks like decent low to mid range power so should be a good cruiser.

Good advice.
WD40 is good enough if you spray plenty in and leave it for 2 days.
It's just to make sure that rings are not rusted solid to the bores.
yes - brake fluid soaks up moisture so can boil on a hot day leaving no brakes -
replace it.
Tyres must be replaced but OK for a slow ride just for testing.
Fuel and oil  filters can block up with a white sediment from reaction to moisture.
Replace them.
Always earth the plugs when turning over without plugs.

The thing to do is to start it up and listen for the sounds from the top end of the motor -
if it sounds like a metal banging factory switch it off.

Reply #44 - Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm

This is my model bike 👇

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8