Royal children’s hospital …. (Read 1245 times)

Re: Royal children’s hospital ….
Reply #15 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 12:17pm

Sounds like good advice in the last few posts (yes, even yours, aqua).

Can't see what it has to do with being infected with a brain and multiple organ damaging Biosafety Level 3 bat virus that's producing more new vaccine and antiviral evading variants faster (and which now also spread faster) than anything we've seen in the past.

A virus that has killed and continues to kill 33 Australians a day (yes, someone - not me - did the math) since the Federal election last May and 16,264 in total (as of today) since the start of the pandemic.

Not to mention all of the hospitalisations and ICU admissions.

But, still good advice nevertheless.
« Last Edit: Dec 6th, 2022 at 12:24pm by Carl D »  

Reply #16 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:06pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 12:17pm:
Sounds like good advice in the last few posts (yes, even yours, aqua).

Can't see what it has to do with being infected with a brain and multiple organ damaging Biosafety Level 3 bat virus that's producing more new vaccine and antiviral evading variants faster (and which now also spread faster) than anything we've seen in the past.

A virus that has killed and continues to kill 33 Australians a day (yes, someone - not me - did the math) since the Federal election last May and 16,264 in total (as of today) since the start of the pandemic.

Not to mention all of the hospitalisations and ICU admissions.

But, still good advice nevertheless.

I understand that an unusual virus comes along and we have 2 things to help us… either/or vaccines/medication and/or our immune system.
Just as individual we all are… so too are our immunity strength.

Without our immune system… we are all cactus!
So if growing up on farms and amidst animals helps our immune system to strengthen then so be it.
Both hubby and I grew up on farms.
On his farm they had horses pulling ploughs and 3 pet dogs.
On my farm we had chooks, geese, little piglets, foxes, tiger snakes, cats, dogs and one cow!

Anyway I just had a phone call from a friend… she’s feeling stressed… her 82 yr old mother (whom used to be our neighbours yonks ago) is in an elderly village where they are all independent … have all been triple jabbed and… have contracted COVID! Not just the children… the elderly too!
Why my friend is distressed… she’s been invited by her mum to attend a Xmas function with these elderly.
The fact remains they are still all going ahead with the function!
So my friend is worried as she doesn’t want ti catch it… asking me if she should not go as she was looking forward to a bit of cheer and festivity.

I just sighed and said… to consider these things when making up her mind.
They are all vaxxed and have still caught COVID… you are not vaxxed so at least you don’t have that stuff in you …
I also said…. You had a mild form of COVID 3 months ago so you have developed anti bodies naturally.

So it’s not just children right now that COVID has reared its ugly head, it’s with the elderly too!!!

I wonder if because Melbourne had such a cold wet winter… coldest November since the 70s or coldest on record?
And suddenly we have the weekend with 30 plus degrees!
Nice hatch weather of any virus  Angry

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #17 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:20pm

Not just Melbourne's Royal Children's Hospital. Seems like this is happening all over Australia.

https://mobile.twitter.com/loobylouwales/status/1599924788675633152

A family friend had a massive stroke on the weekend, post-Covid.
Still waiting for in ICU bed to become available at Fiona Stanley Hospital before they can attempt life-saving surgery.
There's quite a queue for ICU, apparently.

Thanks heaps @MarkMcGowanMP
@Mark_Butler_MP

(Fiona Stanley Hospital is about 18km south of Perth City for all of our "Eastern Staters").

Also...

Claire 🧠🔥 #pwME
@Naylor007
·
2h
Replying to
@loobylouwales

@MarkMcGowanMP
and
@Mark_Butler_MP
Was told to avoid Royal Perth Hospital by a doctor as they've had experience recently with serious fracture patients sent away with a paracetamol (with bones sticking up through skin, huge swelling. Needed urgent surgery but they're too busy to deal with) #inexcusable #harmful

But, aquascoot seems to believe our hospitals are not being overwhelmed due to Covid cases. He was just telling us that the other day, actually.
« Last Edit: Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:29pm by Carl D »  

Reply #18 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:53pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:20pm:
Not just Melbourne's Royal Children's Hospital. Seems like this is happening all over Australia.

https://mobile.twitter.com/loobylouwales/status/1599924788675633152

A family friend had a massive stroke on the weekend, post-Covid.
Still waiting for in ICU bed to become available at Fiona Stanley Hospital before they can attempt life-saving surgery.
There's quite a queue for ICU, apparently.

Thanks heaps @MarkMcGowanMP
@Mark_Butler_MP

(Fiona Stanley Hospital is about 18km south of Perth City for all of our "Eastern Staters").

Also...

Claire 🧠🔥 #pwME
@Naylor007
·
2h
Replying to
@loobylouwales

@MarkMcGowanMP
and
@Mark_Butler_MP
Was told to avoid Royal Perth Hospital by a doctor as they've had experience recently with serious fracture patients sent away with a paracetamol (with bones sticking up through skin, huge swelling. Needed urgent surgery but they're too busy to deal with) #inexcusable #harmful

But, aquascoot seems to believe our hospitals are not being overwhelmed due to Covid cases. He was just telling us that the other day, actually.

our hospitals are overwhelemed with obese people, old people, diabetics. drug and alcohol and tobacco related diseases and cancers and dementia.

covid is the least of our worries.

the ill health of our citizens is the major issue .

with a quadrupling of the population over 80 , it will soon be neccessary to refuse admissions from nursing homes to make room for young people with fractures.

this is , after all, what hospitals should be treating.

Reply #19 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:57pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:20pm:

Well he's wrong, actually.

Hospitals everywhere are short staffed because of COVID.

"Hospitals across the country are grappling with widespread staffing shortages, complicating preparations for a potential Covid-19 surge as the BA.5 subvariant drives up cases, hospital admissions and deaths.

"Long-standing problems, worker burnout and staff turnover have grown worse as Covid-19 waves have hit health care workers again and again — and as more employees fall sick with Covid-19 themselves."

Reply #20 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:27pm

Sophia wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:50pm:
I rang hubby at work to tell him something and he was all flustered!

Maybe try not RINGING him, so often,
if he's got work to do ?

Reply #21 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:51pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:53pm:
With a "quadrupling of the population" over 80 , it will soon be necessary to refuse admissions from to nursing homes to make room for young people with fractures.
This is, after all, what hospitals should be treating ?

Yes, it is EXACTLY what hospitals should be treating.
But
aged care facilities aren't hospitals

What is needed is some pretty big increases in taxation to support an aging population

What we DON'T NEED is every party harking "and tax cuts for all" every time an election is announced

Reply #22 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 5:17pm

Adelaide now.

https://mobile.twitter.com/AdlEmergStatus/status/1599989480370339842

Emergency Departments

All Adult EDs in Adelaide are critically overcrowded (>125% of their capacity)!

This dangerous situation requires urgent action

Definitely not good.

Reply #23 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:18pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:27pm:
Sophia wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:50pm:
I rang hubby at work to tell him something and he was all flustered!

Maybe try not RINGING him, so often,
if he's got work to do ?

You’re a piece aren’t you  Roll Eyes

I do not phone him often but this was work related and important to do with a part for the fork lift ….
We’ve been married nearly 47 years so I hardly feel the need to call for lovey dovey talk  Kiss
The fact he was flustered is because he’s only supposed to work part time… yet everyone else is falling apart with COVID, car accidents, and the fact they are waiting for Phillipino mechanics with a heap of bs red tape taking forever!!

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #24 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:48pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 5:17pm:
Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

This thread is about children's Hospital
If I was the Minister for health I would move stuff from the adult hospital to the children's hospital as children are more important
Things like fractures would be given priority
The elderly would just have to wait

As an older person myself I'm fine with that

I would consider it a scandal if I was seen before a child with possible meningitis was seen

I would consider that as disgusting as taking a spot on a lifeboat in front of a child

What happened to common decency

Reply #25 - Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:01pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:48pm:
If I was the Minister for health I would move stuff from the adult hospital to the children's hospital as children are more important

Good thing you're not the Minister for Health then, isn't it?

https://mobile.twitter.com/TheRMH/status/1600284275387293696

If you have seen the news lately, hospitals around Melbourne are under pressure from staff off sick with COVID-19. On top of this, our ED is very busy with people coming in, also sick with COVID-19, respiratory illnesses, trauma and other conditions.

That's if it was even mentioned in the news.

And not just "around Melbourne".

Reply #26 - Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:06pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:01pm:

If you have seen the news lately, hospitals around Melbourne are under pressure from staff off sick with COVID-19. On top of this, our ED is very busy with people coming in, also sick with COVID-19, respiratory illnesses, trauma and other conditions.

so carl, driverless cars are going to have to be programed to make some harsh decisions.

should the software tell the car to run over the 90 yo or the toddler, assuming the car is going to hit one of them

Reply #27 - Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:23pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:01pm:

If they drop the vaccine mandate for health care workers they might not have a problem with being understaffed.

We have known the vaccines don't prevent transmission since August 2021 there was no scientific justification for vaccine mandates.

Reply #28 - Dec 7th, 2022 at 11:22pm

How it started
(left)

and...

How it's going
(right)

Health ministers to meet on virus surge

But... no one could have foreseen this, right?  Roll Eyes

FjV3M5rUUAE1hhZa.jpg (133 KB | 9 )
FjV3M5rUUAE1hhZa.jpg

Reply #29 - Dec 7th, 2022 at 11:29pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 5:17pm:
Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

This thread is about children's Hospital

As an older person myself I'm fine with that

I would consider it a scandal if I was seen before a child with possible meningitis was seen

I would consider that as disgusting as taking a spot on a lifeboat in front of a child

What happened to common decency

What happened to looking after both?