The cost of royalty. (Read 2981 times)

The cost of royalty.
Mar 15th, 2020 at 9:23pm

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/14/europe/european-royal-families-intl/index.htm...

US$107 million  per annum for the British royals yet they own $billions in property.

Looks like they don’t need to do a Centrelink test to check their assets.
Yet people on new start = no start, get called bludgers.

Go figure?

chimera

armidale
Re: The cost of royalty.
Reply #1 - Mar 16th, 2020 at 4:29am

Captain Cook gave your house and Centrelink building to Elizabeth and Charlie. Their army could make you work on Qld cotton pickin' farms.

Reply #2 - Mar 16th, 2020 at 9:12am

I guess in the case of the British royal family most of the British seem happy to have them so good luck to them I guess.

Also I think the Queen brings a lot of value to the British economy indirectly through tourism etc.

Reply #3 - Mar 16th, 2020 at 9:18am

Some figures here

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/4950897/queen-money-economy-monarchy-2017/

A leading consultancy firm found that the Royals contributed £1.766 billion to the economy in 2017.

Maintaining the monarchy costs around £292 million - £4.50 per person.

Brand Finance measured the monarchy's value as if it were a business and said it was worth £25.5 billion.

This included the Crown Estate, the Duchies of Lancaster and Cornwall and the jewels and art that comprise the Royal Collection.

They estimate the Royals will bring in a further £42 billion to the UK economy over the next few years.

The report also estimates the monarchy generated £550million for tourism this year, the largest single contribution to the economy.

Reply #4 - Mar 16th, 2020 at 11:45am

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 9:18am:
Some figures here

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/4950897/queen-money-economy-monarchy-2017/

A leading consultancy firm found that the Royals contributed £1.766 billion to the economy in 2017.

Maintaining the monarchy costs around £292 million - £4.50 per person.

Brand Finance measured the monarchy's value as if it were a business and said it was worth £25.5 billion.

This included the Crown Estate, the Duchies of Lancaster and Cornwall and the jewels and art that comprise the Royal Collection.

They estimate the Royals will bring in a further £42 billion to the UK economy over the next few years.

The report also estimates the monarchy generated £550million for tourism this year, the largest single contribution to the economy.

I don't care.
They are so wealthy that they can support themselves.

Reply #5 - Mar 16th, 2020 at 11:47am

a lot of rubber neckers will be attending the funerals of Phillip and Elizabeth

Reply #6 - Mar 16th, 2020 at 11:56am

John Smith wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 11:47am:

Booby will be there no doubt!  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #7 - Mar 16th, 2020 at 12:13pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 11:56am:

Booby will be there no doubt!  Grin Grin Grin Grin

he'll be the one sobbing the loudest ... after cods

Reply #8 - Mar 25th, 2020 at 7:47am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 15th, 2020 at 9:23pm:
US$107 million  per annum for the British royals yet they own $billions in property.

Looks like they don’t need to do a Centrelink test to check their assets.

Go figure?

Its her money, Bobby. Its even got her picture on it so no one gets any ideas.

Bring back absolute monarchy. Sell the port of Darwin to the Chinese? Off with their heads! Give military contracts to the French? Off with their heads! Allow entry without of visa? Off with their heads!

chimera

armidale
Reply #9 - Mar 25th, 2020 at 8:20am

British government is a gentleman's agreement that monarchs self-isolate. King Edward VII used to make diplomatic missions overseas. Charles is trying to influence policy. It must be tempting to try it on, to declare a royal law , such as : money is royal , gimme 10% year.

Reply #10 - Apr 9th, 2020 at 1:25pm

would you?

seriously?

who'd pay to travel to attend their funerals unless it meant a short drive or unless they were obliged by office to attend?

They're in the gutter now.  They're done.  Too much dirt exposed.  Also exposed is their failure to address the dirt as it's emerged

Respect for them has dived

and continues to plummet

They're seen for what they are

and it's not pretty

If the UK really wanted to gain revenue

they'd put an ordinary family in the palaces for a year

and televise it

just pick them via a lottery or something

It would provide interest
and novelty

change-over every year to keep it fresh and entertaining

And if a bogan family won the lottery and were televised warts and all

that bogan family would STILL outdo the current bogan-royals in decency, integrity, etc.

way things are going, they're going to have to pay crowds to attend the funerals of Phil or Betty or Chuck or Andy or Harry

Reply #11 - Apr 11th, 2020 at 7:14am

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 9:12am:
I guess in the case of the British royal family most of the British seem happy to have them so good luck to them I guess.

Also I think the Queen brings a lot of value to the British economy indirectly through tourism etc.

that is correct red   one of the main reason  people go to England is to gawk at the Palace and hope they catch a glimps of at least one of them.....where else does that go on??...

when in Copenhagen  I went to see the Royal Family..  you remember Mary??..it was the Queens birthday and every year she comes out on the balcony   [its a courtyard effect  a little nondescript with Fred and Mary living next door.]..but the people all come and sing happy birthday to her.. then she and Mary and Fred got into a carriage and drove away.......her Husband Henrik was alive then but there was no sign of him  why because the Danes hated him..... that was the extent of it.  the royals I mean...you cant beat the Brits for pomp and ceremony.....

I got a lot of looks because I was the only one in the crowd waving an ozzie flag.....I shouted out Happy Birthday from red.... Smiley

Reply #12 - Apr 11th, 2020 at 10:15am

PZ547 wrote on Apr 9th, 2020 at 1:25pm:
would you?

seriously?

not in two lifetimes

cods wrote on Apr 11th, 2020 at 7:14am:
people go to England is to gawk at the Palace and hope they catch a glimps of at least one of them.....where else does that go on??.

people would go to gawk at palaces regardless of if the queen was dead or not. Palace of old monarchies in Italy and France for example,  are full of tourists, and they've had no monarchies for eons

Reply #13 - Apr 11th, 2020 at 10:19am

I did but see her passing by,

and yet I shall love her till I die.

Reply #14 - Apr 11th, 2020 at 10:32am

cods wrote on Apr 11th, 2020 at 7:14am:
I got a lot of looks because I was the only one in the crowd waving an ozzie flag.....I shouted out Happy Birthday from red....

Thanks cods I knew you would have done that!