Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8
Food (Read 10516 times)

Re: Food
Reply #60 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:44pm

Are great. Make sure to soak in brine overnight, remove the membrane from the back of the ribs, bit of work but not that much. Soak in whatever marinade you like (cumin powder rubbed on, mix of sweet chili and soy sauces etc then put in hot smoker and cook over a few hours at 105°C.

The sausages: feral boar has good flavor but stuff all fat so to 1500g feral pork add 500g pork back fat.

Mince—coarse, medium or fine. I add lots of fennel bulb and ground fennel seed.—Oh, I use a Tefal mincer/sausage stuffer. Put the sausage spout on the machine (remove the cutting blade etc, really big time jams if you don’t) and start the pig gut.

I like natural and if I can eat pork, bacon and ham plus boil a pighead for stock I reckon I can cope with pig gut as sausage skin. Feels rude pushing all that pig gut onto the spout tho Grin

Make sure to pull the pig gut off the spout so snags can be formed afterwards.

FGS, get stuck into spice! Yes, yes, chili is hot (poor baby, here is a fire extinguishers) but fennel or ginger or cumin is great, tumeric is good for you and bulks out a curry powder. Smoked paprika is to die for.

Reply #61 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:47pm

Hmmm as well as feral pork I reckon lamb snags are great.

Lamb + rosemary + semidried tomatoes + garlic be OK.

Lamb korma—in a snag?

Reply #62 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:49pm

Lamb korma—in a snag?

Why bother putting it in a skin?

Reply #63 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:50pm

Won’t be a snag without that gut, Aussie.

Reply #64 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:50pm

Did you harvest the pig?

Reply #65 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:51pm

No, but I would like to some day!

Reply #66 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:53pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:51pm:

One day I'll take up shooting,  would love a fresh deer.

Reply #67 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:56pm

I find deer just tastes like inferior mutton. I like the wild piggies! Or goats!

Reply #68 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:40pm

Have eaten sashimi oysters, now for some sashimi kingfish.Yum!

Reply #69 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:42pm

Gordon wrote on Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:53pm:

Overrated.

I had it in Austria once, from a friend's backyard, and it didn't impress me.

Give me Western Australian beef any day.

Reply #70 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:55pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:42pm:

Overrated.

Didn't like the gamey taste?

Reply #71 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:57pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:55pm:

Overrated.

Nah.

I had a lot of goose in Austria too, which wasn't my thing.

I'm a beef boy (Booby, settle down).

Reply #72 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 8:03pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:57pm:
Gordon wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:55pm:

Overrated.

Nah.

I had a lot of goose in Austria too, which wasn't my thing.

I'm a beef boy (Booby, settle down).

There's a reason why we raise so many cattle....they're bloody delicious!

I had some venison back strap with a red wine reduction last time I was in NZ and it was orgasmic.

Goose is mkay, used to eat it once a week in Vietnam.

Reply #73 - Aug 4th, 2017 at 12:45am

Going to make pizza tomorrow, make the dough in the morning and let it ferment for 8 hours.

Looking through the Ken Forkish “Elements of Pizza” just saw one I will DEFINITELY make soon! Involves frying some leeks in butter until they get some color, add some non-hoppy (not bitter) beer* reducing that then covering the leeks and let them cook. In another pan over high heat fry some pork belly lardons or pieces of pancetta. Roast a yellow potato then crumb it (reduce to crumbs) and assemble and bake the pizza!

Brekky tomorrow: toasted bagels, cream cheese and either smoked salmon with capers or pastrami.

Sounds OK to me!

* Ken suggests a Belgian Farmhouse Ale or a Saisson. Good choices but if I can’t locate one  a Tripel or a wheat beer will do. At a pinch: Coopers Pale Ale.

Just for Sprinty:
Heh, I brewed a saison. Farmhouse ales were rustic and the farmer–brewers opportunistic so I added a bit of a mix of ingredients (including, so help me, chunks of what were called belgian candy sugar  Smiley  ) spelt and oats. Brewed it (lengthy process of a cereal mash stepped through 15 minutes at 32°C (degrade the gums in the oats) then heat to 50°C and keep at 50°C to degrade some of the voluminous proteins in the oats and spelt, 15minutes at 65°C to let the enzymes degrade what starch they could then a boil of the mash for 10 minutes, tip into the main mash, let that stand etc. Made a big starter of saison yeast. Had a LOT of yeast left over in the primary fermenter (the saison fermented another month in secondary) what to do. I bottled the yeast, 2 swing cap bottles, made 2 part mash saison Packs and sold the Packs with the yeast a mere $5 extra. Waste not want not!
« Last Edit: Aug 4th, 2017 at 12:37pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #74 - Aug 4th, 2017 at 9:08am

Pizza dough made, bagels toasted, filled and eaten. Life is good.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8