come on agnes where are you (Read 5657 times)

Re: come on agnes where are you
Reply #45 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 8:10am

I have the key board cant stand laptops.

but those air cans are worth the money...we had then where I worked in the olden days....

cant avoid dust   canberra is covered in a layer of dirt and dust 24/7..if you waited too long for a bus you would look like a ghost its that bad.

the Bronchial nation of the future.

Reply #46 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 1:51pm

cods wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 8:10am:
I have the key board cant stand laptops.

but those air cans are worth the money...we had then where I worked in the olden days....

cant avoid dust   canberra is covered in a layer of dirt and dust 24/7..if you waited too long for a bus you would look like a ghost its that bad.

Didn't know Canberra was that dusty...tbh for some reason I always thought Canberra had to be the perfect place to live..maybe because Politicians gather there.so to hear of raging fires and dust really shatters my preconceptions I can tell you cods

My laptop is home..

Reply #47 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 1:54pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 8:02am:
Agnes wrote on Mar 15th, 2017 at 11:20pm:
I get it back tomorrow cods.. a layer of fluff/dust is all /and over heating .. my techy kids not here now so everything costs..  Sad

https://www.jaycar.com.au/dust-remover-spray-can/p/NA1018

Wow thanks Red..that sounds like a great idea thanks..

Mantra the straw idea /will try that next time..to be sure.

I also thought if I use my hairdryer and put it on cool setting at high speed that might also work..

Reply #48 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 2:40pm

Agnes wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 1:51pm:
[quote author=cods link=1489273270/45#45 date=1489615835]I have the key board cant stand laptops.

Didn't know Canberra was that dusty...tbh for some reason I always thought Canberra had to be the perfect place to live..maybe because Politicians gather there.so to hear of raging fires and dust really shatters my preconceptions I can tell you cods

My laptop is home..[/quote]

welcome back treat it with care now...

yes its been awful for years.. we have one particular piece of highway near where I live and they are diggin it again for about the 5th time in just a few years its non stop...... why it wasnt all done at the one time we will never know its the same road...but different parts...of it... I always think of Canberra as another Los Angeles.. surrounded by mountains thats why its under this cloud all the time.. smoke petrol fumes...Canberra is the same... nowhere for the smog to go.. when fires were allowed you could see this brown haze just sitting right under the mountains...it had no escape... and so we eat and sleep in it...as you know rainfall  is not great here either....my car which sits in a carport is covered in poo all the time..... the place  looks posh but you need to live in it..lolol...

Reply #49 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 2:45pm

Agnes wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 1:54pm:
Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 8:02am:
Agnes wrote on Mar 15th, 2017 at 11:20pm:
I get it back tomorrow cods.. a layer of fluff/dust is all /and over heating .. my techy kids not here now so everything costs..  Sad

https://www.jaycar.com.au/dust-remover-spray-can/p/NA1018

Wow thanks Red..that sounds like a great idea thanks..

Mantra the straw idea /will try that next time..to be sure.

I also thought if I use my hairdryer and put it on cool setting at high speed that might also work..

If its a desktop Agnes take the sides off and blast it with one of those cans of compressed air. Dont touch anything inside while blasting as the components are very sensitive to static off your fingers etc.

If its a Lappy just blast air in all the holes etc

Reply #50 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 9:43pm

Thanks Red....I am going to do a monthly air blast through my laptop from now on.. and has to make a difference I think

Reply #51 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 9:51pm

cods wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 2:40pm:
Agnes wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 1:51pm:
[quote author=cods link=1489273270/45#45 date=1489615835]I have the key board cant stand laptops.

My laptop is home..[/quote]

welcome back treat it with care now...

yes its been awful for years.. we have one particular piece of highway near where I live and they are diggin it again for about the 5th time in just a few years its non stop...... why it wasnt all done at the one time we will never know its the same road...but different parts...of it... I always think of Canberra as another Los Angeles.. surrounded by mountains thats why its under this cloud all the time.. smoke petrol fumes...Canberra is the same... nowhere for the smog to go.. when fires were allowed you could see this brown haze just sitting right under the mountains...it had no escape... and so we eat and sleep in it...as you know rainfall  is not great here either....my car which sits in a carport is covered in poo all the time..... the place  looks posh but you need to live in it..lolol...

It gets very hot out here ..well with that comes burst water pipes that swell when its hot and burst and the roads all around this area are dug up with sometimes huge trenches taking up half the road.. and it happens every year, isnt there a good quality water pipe they can fit that can cope with the heat?Do it once do it right. Just sick of it..that problem with polluted air in Canberra..well there is something else I wouldnt have thought of...?

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #52 - Mar 17th, 2017 at 3:51am

Agnes wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 9:51pm:
It gets very hot out here ..well with that comes burst water pipes that swell when its hot and burst and the roads all around this area are dug up with sometimes huge trenches taking up half the road.. and it happens every year, isnt there a good quality water pipe they can fit that can cope with the heat?Do it once do it right. Just sick of it..that problem with polluted air in Canberra..well there is something else I wouldnt have thought of...?

That's been happening in my area for years too AG. Finally they've just replaced the water pipes in my street. After putting up with smelly, dirty water that you couldn't drink the first lot of clean water came through the other day. They've put in massive concrete pipes so perhaps they won't burst anymore.

Still there is no curb or guttering and every time a car goes past it throws up a cloud of dust.

I'll be picking up one of those air cans too. I've tried the vacuum cleaner at times, but it's not very effective.

I am also surprised Canberra is so dusty.

Reply #53 - Mar 17th, 2017 at 6:50am

mantra wrote on Mar 17th, 2017 at 3:51am:

That's been happening in my area for years too AG. Finally they've just replaced the water pipes in my street. After putting up with smelly, dirty water that you couldn't drink the first lot of clean water came through the other day. They've put in massive concrete pipes so perhaps they won't burst anymore.

Still there is no curb or guttering and every time a car goes past it throws up a cloud of dust.

I'll be picking up one of those air cans too. I've tried the vacuum cleaner at times, but it's not very effective.

its always had this image... because when it was all govt managed.. guess what... the streets were cleaned ALL THE TIME....a whopping bit truck came round and swept the gutters and took it all away to some place posh people didnt want to know about.. it was called the TIP...shhh....water sprinkled all the green grassy bits..... no restrictions...pollies like looking at green...

do you know even trucks were not allowed on our roads.....omg... they had to go through Queanbeyan...lol.... and then one day the rules changed   and we got our own little fiefdom ..no more washing and sweeping...no more sprinkling..and lots and lots of trucks......with lots and lots of poo on their back....and its gone down hill ever since...

but they are trying.. they have stopped shopping trolleys ending up all over the place..  Roll Eyes Roll Eyeswe now have to put our dollar in  the slot to hire the trolley....

the other day filthy hot... went to the trolley bay and not one trolley in the thing from woollies.....not happy JAN....had to cross to the next lane to find one....pushing a trolley through rows of cars.. is not funny.....

but its good to see our rates working..

Reply #54 - Mar 17th, 2017 at 1:58pm

cods wrote on Mar 17th, 2017 at 6:50am:

its always had this image... because when it was all govt managed.. guess what... the streets were cleaned ALL THE TIME....a whopping bit truck came round and swept the gutters and took it all away to some place posh people didnt want to know about.. it was called the TIP...shhh....water sprinkled all the green grassy bits..... no restrictions...pollies like looking at green...

do you know even trucks were not allowed on our roads.....omg... they had to go through Queanbeyan...lol.... and then one day the rules changed   and we got our own little fiefdom ..no more washing and sweeping...no more sprinkling..and lots and lots of trucks......with lots and lots of poo on their back....and its gone down hill ever since...

but they are trying.. they have stopped shopping trolleys ending up all over the place..  Roll Eyes Roll Eyeswe now have to put our dollar in  the slot to hire the trolley....

the other day filthy hot... went to the trolley bay and not one trolley in the thing from woollies.....not happy JAN....had to cross to the next lane to find one....pushing a trolley through rows of cars.. is not funny.....

Now that is just plain wrong and most likely happens in all cities now..you have to pay to hire a trolley..what next?  Shocked

Pay for bags but they say they it is for the environment , but now they sell them...revenue raising..not for the environment at all. I do take my own carry bag now, but I have forgotten it a few times ..they can make completely bio degradable plastic now..so whey don't they use them..wouldn't mind paying for bio bags actually..

Reply #55 - Mar 17th, 2017 at 3:03pm

Agnes wrote on Mar 17th, 2017 at 1:58pm:

Now that is just plain wrong and most likely happens in all cities now..you have to pay to hire a trolley..what next?  Shocked

Pay for bags but they say they it is for the environment , but now they sell them...revenue raising..not for the environment at all. I do take my own carry bag now, but I have forgotten it a few times ..they can make completely bio degradable plastic now..so whey don't they use them..wouldn't mind paying for bio bags actually..

you mis understand you get it back but you have to find a compatible trolley so you can plug into it which returns your coin....thats what the little chain is for...

but it is also a very small slot only takes $1 coins...so when your clumsy and have stubby fingers you are in trouble right away...

yes I also resent having to hite the trolley one of the reasons I steer clear of ALDI.. you have to return the
trolley to the bays.. which is all well and good for the fit and able...

anyway thats my whinge for the day..lol

Reply #56 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 12:03am

cods wrote on Mar 17th, 2017 at 3:03pm:
Agnes wrote on Mar 17th, 2017 at 1:58pm:

you mis understand you get it back but you have to find a compatible trolley so you can plug into it which returns your coin....thats what the little chain is for...

but it is also a very small slot only takes $1 coins...so when your clumsy and have stubby fingers you are in trouble right away...

yes I also resent having to hite the trolley one of the reasons I steer clear of ALDI.. you have to return the
trolley to the bays.. which is all well and good for the fit and able...

anyway thats my whinge for the day..lol

Well we don't have to worry about such things in our small town..as long as you don't walk them home and some do n'all..  I like going to the big smoke about 3 times a year..for a concert or to visit family as well.  They all want me to move there but it isn't so easy as just up and going..there is planning and stuff...but thinking eventually I will just go and stop messing around.. I have some family here and I dont want to leave them behind either.. but cant have all my own way.. Roll Eyes

If you get your $1 back I guess that is ok cods.. some coles and woolies car parks have young boys employed to gather up all the trollies..why arent they everywhere I say..give a job to some young ones and help a few people like your self out..

I knew of this funny character in a woolies carpark who used to collect trollies.. he gave a lot of people laughs because  he thought he was a bumble bee  ( spittle flying everywhere ) and used to buzzzzzzzz as he ran and collected them and returned them to the bay..I dont think he does that anymore he was about 40ish..and very energetic.. he was pretty eccentric.. but sweet in his own way,,his name was Eric. lol
« Last Edit: Mar 18th, 2017 at 12:23am by Agnes »  

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #57 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 7:41am

Cods - ask at the counter of the supermarkets for a little key ring with a disc in it for the trolleys. They give them to regular customers, but charge some people. Keep it with your car keys.

There's always a bit of a walk from the car to the supermarket unless I'm lucky. Usually it's easier carrying 6 bags of heavy groceries than pushing a wonky trolley over rough ground for a 100 metres or so. Where I mainly park - there's no trolley rack.

I always have a lot of groceries, although most of them are for other people and animals. Sometimes when I'm carrying all these heavy bags a bit of a distance I wonder why I'm still doing this. I buy too much though. If something is on special - I might buy a couple of weeks worth of the product, but then forget about it. By the time I need it - it's out of date. I probably throw out half of what I buy.

Reply #58 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 8:35am

mantra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 7:41am:
Cods - ask at the counter of the supermarkets for a little key ring with a disc in it for the trolleys. They give them to regular customers, but charge some people. Keep it with your car keys.

There's always a bit of a walk from the car to the supermarket unless I'm lucky. Usually it's easier carrying 6 bags of heavy groceries than pushing a wonky trolley over rough ground for a 100 metres or so. Where I mainly park - there's no trolley rack.

I always have a lot of groceries, although most of them are for other people and animals. Sometimes when I'm carrying all these heavy bags a bit of a distance I wonder why I'm still doing this. I buy too much though. If something is on special - I might buy a couple of weeks worth of the product, but then forget about it. By the time I need it - it's out of date. I probably throw out half of what I buy.

yes I know about them thanks mantra.. but my point is... you still have to get the tag back...and thats not always easy for oldies who look for disabled parking places...lololol...when its raining its even worse.. or 40 deg...I know I am whinging about trivia...but on the first day of the change....and I couldnt find a woollies trolley to get my money back.. I was pretty cranky it was about 36 and grocery shopping doesnt exactly put me in a good mood to start with...lolol

god help the trolley boys..

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #59 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 8:59am

I know it is hard for some people Cods.

Shopping can be a real chore at times. Supermarkets basically cater to the demography of the area. If you are outside of that, then you have to adapt and it can be a nuisance.

I haven't seen a trolley boy in my area for years. The customers do that job now.