Can you believe this? (Read 441 times)

Can you believe this?
Sep 5th, 2016 at 8:44pm

As you know, Mate had 60th Birthday last week.  Big Party on last Saturday night.  Non Birthday Mate Gav (71) is dribbling about a band called The Pogues.  Never heard of them, and he expands.

Last Sunday morning, I do the Google.

Wow!

How Shane MacGowan is still alive, I dunno.  I must be a cretin musically as well.  I reckon he is just your average Irish singer droning out your usual Irish stuff, but the music is magical.

I guess it is his addictions played out on stage and everywhere that makes them and him a cut above the rest.  That's all you need.....that bit of difference which works.

If you really want to get poetical, you can read all sorts of messages into the lyrics of that song and others he wrote.

Re: Can you believe this?
Reply #1 - Sep 5th, 2016 at 8:55pm

I was a little taken aback that they did this version:

Ripper.

Reply #2 - Sep 5th, 2016 at 9:00pm

.....and this................

There are no more Aussie related, but the band is great (love that penny whistle.)  Shane is an also ran with that (non musical) difference, and that is what it takes, I guess.

Reply #3 - Sep 6th, 2016 at 8:27am

Shouldn't this have been posted under Music RulesMan?

Reply #4 - Sep 6th, 2016 at 10:33am

Sounds one of those end of the night type kareoke bands