Labor MP's Undeclared $2.31 Million Property (Read 3983 times)

Re: Labor MP's Undeclared $2.31 Million Property
Reply #30 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:04pm

John Smith wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 8:01am:
Bobby. wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 7:57am:
What's the address of the property?

We could go here & see the history of any property:

http://www.onthehouse.com.au/

there's a link on the article ... can't you people read?

I read the article - there is no actual address.

forgiven

namaste

Lobo

Reply #31 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:12pm

Bobby. wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:04pm:

forgiven

namaste

Who gives a sh!t what the address is?
Other than yourself, that is.

Makes no never mind, the fact is that he didn't declare it.

Lots of other pollies will be doing a double check on their own portfolios.

If he HAS breached parliamentary rules, I'm sure Turnbull & Co will see to it that he is hung, drawn and quartered.

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Reply #32 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:14pm

Lobo wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:12pm:

forgiven

namaste

If he HAS breached parliamentary rules, I'm sure Turnbull & Co will see to it that he is hung, drawn and quartered.

How rude of you.
A proper enquiry means checking the facts - not just trusting some journalist.

forgiven

namaste

____

Reply #33 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:14pm

John Smith wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 4:29pm:
____ wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 4:26pm:
Neither old party wants corruption to end.

so what was corrupt about failing to declare?

was it stupid? yes, was it negligent? maybe ... but corrupt?  Cheesy Cheesy

Yes.
Unfortunately, all in the duopoly will protect the crooks.

Reply #34 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:18pm

Redmond Neck wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 3:32pm:
Nothing new in this, happens every couple of moths to someone in either party!

Hardly a hanging offence!

Pat the perpetrator on the back ... of course not.

Vote Greens for a national ICAC.
Let's weed out corruption.

That's like voting for a wage rise at 7/11 store, it isnt going to happen

Reply #35 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:22pm

____ wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:14pm:
John Smith wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 4:29pm:

so what was corrupt about failing to declare?

was it stupid? yes, was it negligent? maybe ... but corrupt?  Cheesy Cheesy

Yes.
Unfortunately, all in the duopoly will protect the crooks.

where was the corruption dopey?  was their any gain?

Reply #36 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:24pm

forgiven

namaste

there's a link to the Domain page that showed the property when it was for sale ... and don't tell me it's not there, I have already used it

Reply #37 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:25pm

John Smith wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:24pm:

forgiven

namaste

there's a link to the Domain page that showed the property when it was for sale ... and don't tell me it's not there, I have already used it

here you go Booby

http://www.domain.com.au/172-clarke-street-northcote-vic-3070-8956369

Lobo

Reply #38 - May 18th, 2016 at 5:29pm

Bobby. wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:14pm:

forgiven

namaste

How rude of you.

forgiven

namaste

Love me, love my dog....

The facts are already there.
Knowing the address does NOT add to the underlying fact that the property was NOT declared.

Satisfying your prurient interest??
Now, that's a 'fact' of a different colour.***

***Like the way I did that, Scoot???  Wink

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Reply #39 - May 18th, 2016 at 7:07pm

John Smith wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:25pm:
John Smith wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:24pm:

forgiven

namaste

here you go Booby

http://www.domain.com.au/172-clarke-street-northcote-vic-3070-8956369

OK - thanks

http://www.onthehouse.com.au/7041467/172_clarke_st_northcote_vic_3070?status=off...

Property History
Rented : $700/week
29 JAN 2016 Source: Online Listing - Agent

Listed for Rent : $700 per week
20 JAN 2016 Source: Online Listing - Agent

Sold : $2,310,000
09 DEC 2013 Source: Government

Calculated Estimate
Low $1.7m

Low accuracy  $2,164,760

High $2.5m

____

Reply #40 - May 19th, 2016 at 6:34am

Could 'double-dipping' David Feeney derail Labor's campaign?

Every Monday to Friday I'll be delivering a personally-curated newsletter. Call it the double espresso of news – the morning news kickstart for busy people who want to know what they need to know before they get going.

1. David's double-dipping

There's no doubt David Feeney, a right-wing Labor party powerbroker, is in deep political trouble after forgetting that he owned a $2.3 million house which he failed to declare to Parliament. This earned him a strong admonishment from Labor Leader Bill Shorten but no sacking. Feeney is a critical ally of Shorten's in Victoria, so no surprise.

But Shorten will continue to face pressure. In politics the worst thing that can happen with any sort of scandal is that they keep rolling. Think Bronwyn Bishop and the helicopter - the story just didn't die down and it killed her political career.

Today there are fresh sparks in Feeney's case. His wife Liberty Sanger owns a house through her trust in Canberra where Feeney lives during Parliamentary sitting weeks, and, you guessed it, claims $270 per night from the taxpayer. 

This practice, enjoyed until now most prominently by former Joe Hockey, also the husband of an extremely wealthy wife, is by no means illegal or wrong. In fact Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull, the multi-millionaire used to claim the allowance each night he stayed in his Canberra waterfront apartment owned by - you guessed it, his wife Lucy.

But it doesn't look good to the public. It didn't for Turnbull, nor Hockey and neither does it for Feeney. And it ensures his forgetfulness rears its head into the opposition's campaign for another day and a day Labor wants to be focussed on health policy.

For a funny side to this story, although I doubt many in Labor are laughing, the tenant in Feeney's forgotten house is urging his neighbours to vote Green.

Feeney's seat of Batman is one the Greens are aggressively targeting. You can read the ABC's esteemed election analyst Antony Green on their prospects here.

http://blogs.abc.net.au/antonygreen/2016/05/liberal-preferences-and-green-prospe...

Reply #41 - May 19th, 2016 at 7:50am

Someone who could forget a $2m dollar house is either a pathological liar or has dimensia.
Either way not a fit person for parliament.

Reply #42 - May 19th, 2016 at 8:03am

bogarde73 wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 7:50am:
Someone who could forget a $2m dollar house is either a pathological liar or has dimensia.

but shortarse isnt going to disciplin him

probably kn ows he isnt the only one.....ho hum    the labs dont want to be know as investors do they... Grin Grin Grin Grin... isnt that un laborish..

Reply #43 - May 19th, 2016 at 8:13am

Lobo wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:29pm:
Bobby. wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 5:14pm:

forgiven

namaste

How rude of you.

forgiven

namaste

Love me, love my dog....

The facts are already there.
Knowing the address does NOT add to the underlying fact that the property was NOT declared.

Satisfying your prurient interest??
Now, that's a 'fact' of a different colour.***

***Like the way I did that, Scoot???  Wink

All i'd say is , if you were listing your assets for centrelink , to work out your pension , and you just "forgot" you had a 2.3 million dollar property, you would probably be sitting in your lawyers office now, crying that you dont want to go to jail for fraud  Wink

Reply #44 - May 19th, 2016 at 8:32am

cods wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 8:03am:
bogarde73 wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 7:50am:

but shortarse isnt going to disciplin him

probably kn ows he isnt the only one.....ho hum    the labs dont want to be know as investors do they... Grin Grin Grin Grin... isnt that un laborish..

You'd think so wouldn't you but Labor is a party of forgiving.
Look at Martin Ferguson even after the things he said. Oh no, he hasn't been forgiven.
Well look at Mark Latham. Oh they haven't forgiven him either.

Well maybe they don't mind rich people after all.
In which case they should love Turnbull.