New tools (Read 6219 times)

Re: New tools
Reply #30 - May 24th, 2016 at 9:53pm

I might get myself a lathe , no idea what I will do with it but it will look good next to my hydraulic press , bench grinder and massive vice , all used for a grand total of about 10 mins in 15 years .

Reply #31 - May 26th, 2016 at 8:50pm

my new router table got shipped in today...

I'm all ready to go for this weekend to start wrecking the kitchen...  Smiley

Reply #32 - May 26th, 2016 at 9:14pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 26th, 2016 at 8:50pm:

Before and after shots?????

Reply #33 - May 26th, 2016 at 11:06pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 24th, 2016 at 8:07pm:
Yeah..

get you some of that.. !

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/table%20saw.jpg

another piece to the jigsaw.. Smiley

Top piccie

Lobo

Reply #34 - Jul 12th, 2016 at 9:15pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 9:34pm:
Its time wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 9:06pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 8:06pm:
aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh

https://www.tradetools.com/images/ProductImages/500/RI1200ER.jpg

Any idea what I might use one for ?

I got a makita next to new one from ebay for 200 bucks , havent used it once since i got it , one day i will though

I bought my router from Bunnings for around $60 and it has a 3 year replacement warranty Smiley

I wouldn't mind getting a router table as well but I can't justify it at the moment...

in the mean time i'm using it to adjust my beehive supers.. it'll save me around $300 a box..

If you are doing any amount of work, I'd suggest that you get a second router when you get your router table.

I found it to be a pain in the arse removing the machine from the table every time I wanted to free-hand.

Aldi had a Workzone router, not long back.
Router was half the price of a comparable Ryobi, so I got the lot.
Router, table and bits.
I now have a spare table.
Not real sure of the quality of the bits, but they are doing the job.

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Reply #35 - Jul 12th, 2016 at 9:53pm

Lobo wrote on Jul 12th, 2016 at 9:15pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 9:34pm:
Its time wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 9:06pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 8:06pm:
aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh

https://www.tradetools.com/images/ProductImages/500/RI1200ER.jpg

Any idea what I might use one for ?

I got a makita next to new one from ebay for 200 bucks , havent used it once since i got it , one day i will though

I bought my router from Bunnings for around $60 and it has a 3 year replacement warranty Smiley

I wouldn't mind getting a router table as well but I can't justify it at the moment...

in the mean time i'm using it to adjust my beehive supers.. it'll save me around $300 a box..

If you are doing any amount of work, I'd suggest that you get a second router when you get your router table.

I found it to be a pain in the arse removing the machine from the table every time I wanted to free-hand.

Aldi had a Workzone router, not long back.
Router was half the price of a comparable Ryobi, so I got the lot.
Router, table and bits.
I now have a spare table.
Not real sure of the quality of the bits, but they are doing the job.

yeah I saw those...

aldi has had some good gear over the years..

I did all of my routering table work first up.. from then on in its all been freehand..

the outer edges of draws and doors and also have been cutting the centres out of the cupboard doors to router out and put in panelling..

that craft wood has been something else... a fine saw dust everywhere throughout my garage..

Reply #36 - Jul 12th, 2016 at 10:18pm

Aussie wrote on May 26th, 2016 at 9:14pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 26th, 2016 at 8:50pm:

Before and after shots?????

Oi???

Lobo

Reply #37 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:01pm

Bobby. wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:57pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:50pm:
Bobby. wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:25pm:
I already have heaps of tools but no place to use them.
I am thinking of putting a work bench in my garage & turning it into a workshop.
That means no more garaged car - but maybe it's worth it?

I have a large back room but I don't like all of the dust that gets in there while working with wood...

I'm thinking of getting a workshop bench/trolley that has wheels to work in the garage but then wheel the workshop table back out again into the back room to get the cars back into the garage...

or something like that..

I can't do that - there are a few stairs at the front & back door.

Thing is - very real man needs a workshop with a large bench and vice.

Build yourself a carport at the front of the garage.
If you put it hard up against the front and flash the gap between garage and carport, you can sheet in the sides and install doors on it at a later date.

Reply #38 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:24pm

Lobo wrote on Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:01pm:
Bobby. wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:57pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:50pm:
Bobby. wrote on May 22nd, 2016 at 8:25pm:
I already have heaps of tools but no place to use them.
I am thinking of putting a work bench in my garage & turning it into a workshop.
That means no more garaged car - but maybe it's worth it?

I have a large back room but I don't like all of the dust that gets in there while working with wood...

I'm thinking of getting a workshop bench/trolley that has wheels to work in the garage but then wheel the workshop table back out again into the back room to get the cars back into the garage...

or something like that..

I can't do that - there are a few stairs at the front & back door.

Thing is - very real man needs a workshop with a large bench and vice.

Build yourself a carport at the front of the garage.
If you put it hard up against the front and flash the gap between garage and carport, you can sheet in the sides and install doors on it at a later date.

No - I will just park the car outside & turn the garage into a storage & workshop area.

Lobo

Reply #39 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:31pm

Fair enough.
At our place we have a 2016 Cruze, a 2012 Barina and a 1990 Ford Laser.

Guess which one is kept under cover???

Reply #40 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:32pm

Lobo wrote on Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:31pm:
Fair enough.

The Cruze?

Reply #41 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:34pm

Lobo wrote on Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:31pm:
Fair enough.

The Laser hasn't been stolen yet?

Lobo

Reply #42 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:46pm

The Laser is a project.

A very slow and ongoing project.

But it keeps from hanging around on street corners.

Reply #43 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:51pm

Lobo wrote on Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:46pm:
The Laser is a project.

A Ford Laser is a Mazda 323, yes?

Lobo

Reply #44 - Jul 13th, 2016 at 9:13pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:51pm:
Lobo wrote on Jul 13th, 2016 at 8:46pm:
The Laser is a project.

A Ford Laser is a Mazda 323, yes?

To the best of my knowledge.

Got it free and just did enough to keep rego up, but now have a good mechanic who has really done some work on it.

He has one of his own...Likes working on them.

A bottle of Scotch, at Christmas, keeps me in the good books and rates the odd quick fix, or adjustment.