Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 
Why should the rich not get more tax cuts? (Read 6094 times)
crocodile

Re: Why should the rich not get more tax cuts?
Reply #60 - May 14th, 2016 at 8:04am

BigOl64 wrote on May 14th, 2016 at 5:34am:
Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 6:36pm:
BigOl64 wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 1:55pm:
John Smith wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 1:44pm:
crocodile wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 1:32pm:
Miners build their own roads or the fuel is used in fixed plant. It isn't a subsidy it is a rebate because they don't make use of the infrastructure that the tax was supposed to be raised for.

really? I think that's a fallacy

I used to see hundreds of tucks full or coal or ore going up and down Pircton Rd and Mt Ousley Rd every day on their way to the Port Kembla steelworks ... miners didn't pay for those roads although the trucks certainly caused the most damage on them. Sire, miners might build the roads (or rail) around the mine, but the ports or refineries they ship to are usually a long way away from the mines

The miner will rail to a port before trucking it there you are talking millions of tonnes of product per year and as for the Port Kembla, I dare say it was the steelworks doing the trucking, not the miner.

In some case they may use public roads, but it will be 'normal' trucks doing the work and they also get  tax concessions for fuel just like every other truckie in Aus.

Depends on whether or not the excise exempt (generic name producer) fills the trucks.... dun'it?  I never got fuel excise privilege when I was operating commercially... though I got 'essential services' fuel when things were really bad....

Show me where truckies ordinaire get fuel excise exemption..... I've been out of the loop for a while.. but I thought they paid for excise at the pump like everyone else.

Did you not claim you fuel as a business expense?

I would assume it would be an operational expense therefore claimable.

Exactly the point I made earlier on. Swings and roundabouts.

Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes.

crocodile

Reply #61 - May 14th, 2016 at 8:12am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 14th, 2016 at 1:13am:
crocodile wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 11:58pm:
Grapples, I see that you do not really understand productivity. That's OK, not so many really do. It is real and labour productivity has been growing steadily for about 200 years.

You will find that productivity is no more than output divided by hours worked. That is, increased production per labour input. It is due entirely to the march of technology. It's easy to visualise. I can make the guy with a shovel more productive by buying him a bulldozer.

I can tell you that labour productivity is due to investment in capital equipment or the tools that the workers use to produce the goods and services that we consume.

Given that labour productivity continues to rise makes your assumption that business has stopped investment quite untrue. In fact with capital productivity falling while labour is growing simply means that each increment of labour productivity is provided by increasing capital cost. Basically, less bang for the buck per investment dollar.

But hang on, labour productivity is growing. Therefore investment is still occurring but with higher financial impositions. That is the reason why wages growth is falling.

Buy yourself a decent macro textbook. It's actually quite interesting.

So now extend your reasoning to incorporate economic factors such as market forces, transport and such, costs of production..... and let us see why there is some argument over the cost of wages here and now....

'investment' does NOT have to increase to incorporate increased labour productivity - all that is required is to establish a datum and then operate on that basis - and the problems begin when the market forces, including all costs of production and distribution, do not permit a profit under the existing approach.

So - UNLESS there is major investment in genuine infrastructure, and not in short term fixes - there is no outcome other than destruction of the organism that generates opportunity for profit for both worker and investor - and thus ALL lose from declining productivity in inappropriate investment.

As an example - if I run a household, and wish to make it more 'productive' - do I invest in passive  investments such as insulation (etc), or do I invest in an avenue that will recoup positive revenue for my family and home, such as getting a second job, given that the 'opportunity cost' of each is the same (measure that as you will)?

These are the kinds of decision that 'board members' (other than government ones) face every day....

Now - if I am a 'rich person' with all the avenues to minimise my tax and shuffle it off into other avenues and thus reap the benefit...  INCLUDING what I have already mentioned - the ability of the 'business' to offload its running costs that a family does not have...   how then do I decide which avenue for investment is the most appropriate to ensure the ongoing prosperity of myself AND those who do the work required to ensure that prospertity?

By playing 'the bottom line' at all times?

What you are arguing for here is a totally controlled economy, based on imposition, and not on free choice and market forces...

This is your dilemna.... without the input and social productivity of the ordinary person  = the worker, and the organisation itself, no organisation  as a whole can prosper...

The reality is that the prosperity of a company or a nation relies on the prosperity of its people..... and forcing those people to work for lesser conditions is NOT prosperity - it is slavery, and no slave works as well as a willing participant.

Grapples, there are too many points to construct a simple answer. Firstly, you need to get the definition correct. You are determining output in terms of profit. That is not correct. Labour productivity is concerned only with the output of production per unit of labour input. Output of production is not profit, it is the actual goods and services.

Liken it to the guy with the shovel. He may dig a hole a day. With a bob cat he may dig 10 holes a day. His labour productivity has grown by a factor of 10.

matty

East Sydney
Reply #62 - May 19th, 2016 at 1:27am

John Smith wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 9:51pm:
it's not about the rich or poor (at least that's what the politicians tell us), it's about he economy

trickle down doesn't work

trickle up does

Give a rich person a tax cut, he may spend it, he may not ... 50/50 chance that if he does spend it, it'll go overseas

give a poor person a tax cut and you can guarantee he'll spend every last cent and contribute towards economic growth

But then where is the incentive for the rich person to do well, when they just have to give up all their money for bludgers and others who don't work? Why should anyone strive to do well when they get nothing in pension and others who contributed less to the Australian economy get around $20000 a year?

BILL SHORTEN WILL NEVER BE PM!!!!

matty

East Sydney
Reply #63 - May 19th, 2016 at 1:28am

sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 10:11pm:
another rich kid having a whinge.

No, raising a valid point about the lack of fairness towards the rich in our society.

matty

East Sydney
Reply #64 - May 19th, 2016 at 1:30am

tickleandrose wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 10:19pm:
matty wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 9:43pm:
We all know that the left loves demonising the rich, but for the life of me I can't see why. The rich pay more taxes in a year than the dole bludgers ever pay, and that the working class pay in several years. Let's break it down into a very very simple example:

Person A gets an education, goes to uni and becomes a successful (insert profession, insert anything). They pay their tax. Person B goes on drugs, gets a disability pension and pays no money. Person A pays the dole with his taxes, that goes to Person B. Person B is lauded as a hero, whilst Person A is condemned as a selfish, greedy rich bastard for having the temerity to actually want to save the money that he has earned himself through study and hard work.

Nearly half of people in Australia today get their money from people like Person A. Meanwhile, Person A gets not a cent of money after he retires, despite paying more in taxes than the vast majority of others, despite getting no extra benefits than the likes of Person B.

The problem is too, that both major parties now confirm to this view of thinking. How dare people want to put away money for their own retirement? Money that they have earned themselves through hard work? How selfish, how arrogant!

In contrary to your extremist belief.  Not all people on disability support or the dole are druggies.  That is your fallacy.   Everyone of those who is on disability support still have to pay GST.   And those GSTs goes to fund person A's university course that made him a professional, and the hospital that helped bringing him into this world.   And the money will also be there if or when he suffers a series of unfortunate events that make him disabled in the future.  This is called a country, a community. 

1. I never said all were. The bloke on Q & A was though.
2. Everybody pays the GST.

matty

East Sydney
Reply #65 - May 19th, 2016 at 1:31am

Vic wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 8:54am:
We all know that the left loves demonising the rich, but for the life of me I can't see why. The rich pay more taxes in a year than the dole bludgers ever pay, and that the working class pay in several years. Let's break it down into a very very simple example:

Person A gets an education, goes to uni and becomes a successful (insert profession, insert anything). They pay their tax. Person B goes on drugs, gets a disability pension and pays no money. Person A pays the dole with his taxes, that goes to Person B. Person B is lauded as a hero, whilst Person A is condemned as a selfish, greedy rich bastard for having the temerity to actually want to save the money that he has earned himself through study and hard work.

Nearly half of people in Australia today get their money from people like Person A. Meanwhile, Person A gets not a cent of money after he retires, despite paying more in taxes than the vast majority of others, despite getting no extra benefits than the likes of Person B.

The problem is too, that both major parties now confirm to this view of thinking. How dare people want to put away money for their own retirement? Money that they have earned themselves through hard work? How selfish, how arrogant!

Person D bludges off his parents for his education and lifestyle.   Person D's parents put earnings in trust funds and overseas tax havens so that to the ATO they are only earning  25K a year. They then also claim all benefits they can from Centrelink, whilst driving the Audi to the supermarket.   Person D then berates the lower class for not paying enough tax, whilst being given a free ride throughout his life by the very people he turns his nose up at.

This is just garbage.

matty

East Sydney
Reply #66 - May 19th, 2016 at 1:33am

Here, ladies and gentlemen. Here is your "working class Aussie battler legend".

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/media/broadcast/the-truth-about-my-fath...

Reply #67 - May 19th, 2016 at 1:42am

matty wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 1:28am:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 10:11pm:
another rich kid having a whinge.

No, raising a valid point about the lack of fairness towards the rich in our society.

Let me get this right... the rich are disadvantaged?  So they need protection in recouping their millions from the poor?

I'm kinda lost here ....

Reply #68 - May 19th, 2016 at 2:21am

matty wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 1:31am:
Vic wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 8:54am:

Person D bludges off his parents for his education and lifestyle.   Person D's parents put earnings in trust funds and overseas tax havens so that to the ATO they are only earning  25K a year. They then also claim all benefits they can from Centrelink, whilst driving the Audi to the supermarket.   Person D then berates the lower class for not paying enough tax, whilst being given a free ride throughout his life by the very people he turns his nose up at.

This is just garbage.

Sounds right to me... I was one of the three highest IQs in my school  I'm only 67 but I have struggled and fought and worked form every iota of my existence.

Nobody ever gave me one thing.

No parent organised a private school education for me.... even though I was 'short-listed' for THE most prestigious school.

Now - I'd like someone to tell me how they - as the scions of some well-to-do family - somehow 'deserve' better than what anyone else with the same qualificataions and ability has.

I have a cousin - she was the only child - her parents owned their home, and had massive super etc... her husband was paying off his home.... she inherited the lot and married a 'clerk of the court' in NSW who is now a 'Deputy Commonwealth DPP' - without having done one thing of genuine value to this country......

SO!   TELL ME what is worth anything in his country?

I've flogged my guts out day and night for something better and have put in 18+ hours a day to do that......... and have been abused almost on daily basis, at every step of the way by the same kinds of people I am now discussing.

My ex - for whom I am 100% carer - is a descendant of the line of Miles Franklin.

What more does this country want from its people?

Let's cross the Rubicon..   I am a retired Major/acting Lieutenant Colonel in British 22 SAS... as an Australian I've  been seconded to operations in seven 'combat zones', including my personal 'shufti' ,meaning the issue I am most personally attached to - of a mission to liberate 're-education camps' near Saigon in 1978.

Those who know me know me, and I know what I know.

crocodile

Reply #69 - May 19th, 2016 at 6:48am

matty wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 1:27am:
it's not about the rich or poor (at least that's what the politicians tell us), it's about he economy

trickle up does

Give a rich person a tax cut, he may spend it, he may not ... 50/50 chance that if he does spend it, it'll go overseas

give a poor person a tax cut and you can guarantee he'll spend every last cent and contribute towards economic growth

But then where is the incentive for the rich person to do well, when they just have to give up all their money for bludgers and others who don't work? Why should anyone strive to do well when they get nothing in pension and others who contributed less to the Australian economy get around $20000 a year?

If the poor fella gets a tax cut, the rich guy automatically gets one as well.

Lobo

Reply #70 - May 19th, 2016 at 7:34am

The rich want more tax cuts.  Wait while I get my violin out.   Cry

I'm still waiting for the $550 that Abbott promised.

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Lobo

Reply #71 - May 19th, 2016 at 7:39am

Armchair_Politician wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 6:22am:

trickle up does

Oh, you're so very wrong. Don't you remember what nearly everyone did with their $900 cheque's from Rudd (paid for out of borrowed money, by the way)? That's right, it either went into the bank as savings or was used to pay off bills. Virtually none of it went into buying a new TV or DVD player or computer or blender or clothes. It was saved or used to pay the rego.

Have you got the stats on that?
Are you saying that all the complaining, by RWNJs, about the money being spent on those flat screens, etc was lies?

Interesting....

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Sir Crook

Reply #72 - May 19th, 2016 at 7:45am

Well said Froggie, yes where has the $550 a year gone?.  How about you Mr Turnbull, can you explain this?.   Sad 

Reply #73 - May 19th, 2016 at 7:59am

matty wrote on May 19th, 2016 at 1:27am:

trickle up does

What a load of rubbish. The incentive is still there to do well. Are saying that if you have the potential to make $200k, but the govt. taxes you $80k, the $120k balance isn't enough and you'll just go on the dole? this is the lamest excuse I've ever heard anyone give.

Melanias purse

Reply #74 - May 19th, 2016 at 9:49am

I agree, Matty. Your parents keep their money in offshore real estate.

Why shouldn't we subsidize this? It's a net benefit to Australia.

You get to go to Dunedin and Rhode Island to avoid the carbon tax.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5