Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
Why should the rich not get more tax cuts? (Read 6051 times)
matty

East Sydney
Why should the rich not get more tax cuts?
May 12th, 2016 at 9:43pm

We all know that the left loves demonising the rich, but for the life of me I can't see why. The rich pay more taxes in a year than the dole bludgers ever pay, and that the working class pay in several years. Let's break it down into a very very simple example:

Person A gets an education, goes to uni and becomes a successful (insert profession, insert anything). They pay their tax. Person B goes on drugs, gets a disability pension and pays no money. Person A pays the dole with his taxes, that goes to Person B. Person B is lauded as a hero, whilst Person A is condemned as a selfish, greedy rich bastard for having the temerity to actually want to save the money that he has earned himself through study and hard work.

Nearly half of people in Australia today get their money from people like Person A. Meanwhile, Person A gets not a cent of money after he retires, despite paying more in taxes than the vast majority of others, despite getting no extra benefits than the likes of Person B.

The problem is too, that both major parties now confirm to this view of thinking. How dare people want to put away money for their own retirement? Money that they have earned themselves through hard work? How selfish, how arrogant!

BILL SHORTEN WILL NEVER BE PM!!!!

Re: Why should the rich not get more tax cuts?
Reply #1 - May 12th, 2016 at 9:51pm

it's not about the rich or poor (at least that's what the politicians tell us), it's about he economy

trickle down doesn't work

trickle up does

Give a rich person a tax cut, he may spend it, he may not ... 50/50 chance that if he does spend it, it'll go overseas

give a poor person a tax cut and you can guarantee he'll spend every last cent and contribute towards economic growth

Reply #2 - May 12th, 2016 at 10:01pm

The reason why the rich shouldn't be a priority for tax cuts is that they have already received almost all the tax cuts handed out in the past 33 years while the tax burden for people on low and middle incomes has increased. In 1983 the top marginal tax rate for people on median incomes was 30%. It's now 34.5%. That's not including the effect on the GST which is a further tax burden.

Any future tax cuts should address this as a priority. Increase the tax free threshold to $32,500, scrap the 19% threshold and cut the next tax bracket from 32.5% to 27%.

Remember - the rich would also get this tax cut.
« Last Edit: May 12th, 2016 at 10:17pm by Bam »  

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #3 - May 12th, 2016 at 10:11pm

another rich kid having a whinge.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

tickleandrose

Reply #4 - May 12th, 2016 at 10:19pm

matty wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 9:43pm:
We all know that the left loves demonising the rich, but for the life of me I can't see why. The rich pay more taxes in a year than the dole bludgers ever pay, and that the working class pay in several years. Let's break it down into a very very simple example:

Person A gets an education, goes to uni and becomes a successful (insert profession, insert anything). They pay their tax. Person B goes on drugs, gets a disability pension and pays no money. Person A pays the dole with his taxes, that goes to Person B. Person B is lauded as a hero, whilst Person A is condemned as a selfish, greedy rich bastard for having the temerity to actually want to save the money that he has earned himself through study and hard work.

Nearly half of people in Australia today get their money from people like Person A. Meanwhile, Person A gets not a cent of money after he retires, despite paying more in taxes than the vast majority of others, despite getting no extra benefits than the likes of Person B.

The problem is too, that both major parties now confirm to this view of thinking. How dare people want to put away money for their own retirement? Money that they have earned themselves through hard work? How selfish, how arrogant!

In contrary to your extremist belief.  Not all people on disability support or the dole are druggies.  That is your fallacy.   Everyone of those who is on disability support still have to pay GST.   And those GSTs goes to fund person A's university course that made him a professional, and the hospital that helped bringing him into this world.   And the money will also be there if or when he suffers a series of unfortunate events that make him disabled in the future.  This is called a country, a community. 
« Last Edit: May 12th, 2016 at 10:43pm by tickleandrose »  

Armchair_Politician

Reply #5 - May 13th, 2016 at 6:22am

John Smith wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 9:51pm:
it's not about the rich or poor (at least that's what the politicians tell us), it's about he economy

trickle down doesn't work

trickle up does

Give a rich person a tax cut, he may spend it, he may not ... 50/50 chance that if he does spend it, it'll go overseas

give a poor person a tax cut and you can guarantee he'll spend every last cent and contribute towards economic growth

Oh, you're so very wrong. Don't you remember what nearly everyone did with their $900 cheque's from Rudd (paid for out of borrowed money, by the way)? That's right, it either went into the bank as savings or was used to pay off bills. Virtually none of it went into buying a new TV or DVD player or computer or blender or clothes. It was saved or used to pay the rego.

GordyL

Hate Town
Reply #6 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:02am

I heard an economist on ABC radio yesterday saying the bottom 3rd of the population pays just about no tax, even with GST when you factor in family benefits, medicare, education and pensions.

He most defiantly wasn't a righartd, his position was  NOBODY pays enough tax to fund the handouts we're so accustomed to.
« Last Edit: May 13th, 2016 at 8:10am by GordyL »  

On the Ning Nang Nong
Where the Cows go Bong!
and the monkeys all say BOO!

Sir Crook

Reply #7 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:05am

The rich want more tax cuts.  Wait while I get my violin out.   Cry

Reply #8 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:06am

GordyL wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 8:02am:
I heard an economist on ABC radio yesterday saying the bottom 3rd of the population pays just about no tax, even with GST when you factor in family benefits, medicare, education and pensions.

We most defiantly wasn't a righartd, his position was  NOBODY pays enough tax to fund the handouts we're so accustomed to.

exactly.....when they are too gutless to raise the GST....... then we deserve what we get....the GST is about the only TAX that affects everyone the same...there is no distinction...

we are too stoooopid to see it.

Sir Crook

Reply #9 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:10am

The Victorian Premier Mr Andrews has made it very clear.  He does not support an increase in the GST.   Smiley

GordyL

Hate Town
Reply #10 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:13am

cods wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 8:06am:

We most defiantly wasn't a righartd, his position was  NOBODY pays enough tax to fund the handouts we're so accustomed to.

exactly.....when they are too gutless to raise the GST....... then we deserve what we get....the GST is about the only TAX that affects everyone the same...there is no distinction...

I'm not into a GST increase. I think hitting the really high earners wold be a start, winding back fuel subsidies for mining.

On the Ning Nang Nong
Where the Cows go Bong!
and the monkeys all say BOO!

Reply #11 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:38am

The Victorian Premier Mr Andrews has made it very clear.  He does not support an increase in the GST.   Smiley

funny thing that.... YET HE WHINES HE WANTS MORE MONEY HE DOESNT HAVE ENOUGH>>>

I wonder if he would take it if they did increase it....

hahaha

of course he wouldnt hes against it isnt he???..

Reply #12 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:39am

If you live in australia in 2016 , you should fall to the ground every morning, weeping tears of joy that you live in australia in 2016.

You are one of the MOST BLESSED and LUCKIEST people ever to be born in the history of mankind.

If you live in australia in 2016 and your mindset is one of envy, jealousy and self pity.
If you sit around and complain ...

Help

Help

Help me.

will somebody please help me.
When i was a child if i had a problem , my mummy would fix it for me.

Are you my mummy?

Please help me.
I have learned helplessness.

You are a pitiful loser.

this goes for rich and poor alike.

if you are rich and complain you pay too much, work harder and earn more and stop being a pussy.
if you are poor and complain you dont have enough, radically change your personal philosophy.

this is the path of the superior man

Reply #13 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:40am

GordyL wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 8:13am:
cods wrote on May 13th, 2016 at 8:06am:

I'm not into a GST increase. I think hitting the really high earners wold be a start, winding back fuel subsidies for mining.

so if you were earning $79.000 a year and your next increase wopuld put you into the higher tax bracket....

where would that leave you???>.. would you knock back that promotion....because you would be working only for the govt???...

if you tax people to the point where they wont bother achieving......doesnt that defeat everything in the end..?

Reply #14 - May 13th, 2016 at 8:54am

matty wrote on May 12th, 2016 at 9:43pm:

Person D bludges off his parents for his education and lifestyle.   Person D's parents put earnings in trust funds and overseas tax havens so that to the ATO they are only earning  25K a year. They then also claim all benefits they can from Centrelink, whilst driving the Audi to the supermarket.   Person D then berates the lower class for not paying enough tax, whilst being given a free ride throughout his life by the very people he turns his nose up at.

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5