NSW Households Face Buying $600 Smart Meter (Read 1935 times)

Re: NSW Households Face Buying $600 Smart Meter
Reply #15 - Mar 12th, 2016 at 4:28pm

freediver wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 2:17pm:
And those resources were owned by the public. We paid for all of this along time ago. It should never have been sold to private scam artists who are only in it to maximize their profits

Are you a communist? I don't think the intention was ever to give people free electricity.

Unless those "people" are privatised power companies...

Reply #16 - Mar 12th, 2016 at 4:30pm

Its time wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 11:19am:
This leaves the households potentially selling electricity to the grid for 6˘ per kilowatt hour but being forced to buy it from their retailer for as much as 30˘.

Can I get a hip hip hooray for privatisation .

All this does is reduce the ROI for batteries to a level where they make it feasible to go off-grid altogether.

It may get to a point where the power companies have to offer 15c just to entice people to stay on grid.

Reply #17 - Mar 12th, 2016 at 4:53pm

Bam wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 4:30pm:
Its time wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 11:19am:
This leaves the households potentially selling electricity to the grid for 6˘ per kilowatt hour but being forced to buy it from their retailer for as much as 30˘.

Can I get a hip hip hooray for privatisation .

All this does is reduce the ROI for batteries to a level where they make it feasible to go off-grid altogether.

It may get to a point where the power companies have to offer 15c just to entice people to stay on grid.

When prices come down to a level where its worth the investment

Reply #18 - Mar 12th, 2016 at 5:09pm

Looking at solar to run home air conditioning.... no connection to the grid.... cuts your bill without all the shenanigans.  If I could I'd happily go stand-alone.

Reply #19 - Mar 12th, 2016 at 5:29pm

freediver wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 2:17pm:
So why don't they make the feedin parity and itemize their so called maintenance and service fees and put that on the bill to be deducted from the net feedin instead of stealing energy from the consumer ?

It is a heavily regulated industry. They probably aren't allowed to. Poor people might not be able to afford the connection fee. It would be a whole different ball game if you had to negotiate with the electricity companies to get them to connect you in the first place, like you have to with phones etc. The sense of entitlement would go straight out the window.

And those resources were owned by the public. We paid for all of this along time ago. It should never have been sold to private scam artists who are only in it to maximize their profits

Are you a communist? I don't think the intention was ever to give people free electricity. Do you think we were paying for them twice over when the government sent you the bill?

Nobody is asking for free anything but what actually was the problem that pollies were trying to solve by privatising electricity assets that were essentially owned by the public ?

What have they achieved by doing this ? What is the payoff to the public other than rising electricity bills and brain dead people knocking at your door offering imaginary discounts to your power bill ?

And what was the payoff in replacing otherwise perfectly working meters with dumb meters ? I just don't get it !!

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #20 - Mar 12th, 2016 at 5:56pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 1:56pm:
longweekend58 wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 10:11am:
anyone who thought that solar cell feedin tariffs would remain higher than normal tarifs forever was an idiot. It was always unsustainable and always going to end up dumped. get solar if you can justify it for your own use and treat any feed-in tariff as a bonus and nothign else.

and you reckon 6 cents a kwh is a great deal for a feedin when the retail value of energy supply is 25 cents per kwh ? You must be completely daft to believe that is a good deal. It's tantamount to theft of energy from gullible consumers Sad

I know you are stupid enough to not realise that the electricity network is NOT FREE. that is why you think getting paid a wholesale amount (6c) is bad when the retail amount is higher.

You dont understand evconomic fundamentals. no wonder your startup never got off the ground. you are an ignorant idiot.

Reply #21 - Mar 12th, 2016 at 5:58pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 2:12pm:
freediver wrote on Mar 12th, 2016 at 1:58pm:
Sounds fair to me. 25c retail for reliable electricity. 6c wholesale for electricity that comes and goes whenever a cloud passes overhead. And the electricity company provides all the resources to manage the transaction.

Try taking some low quality home grown veges into woolies and see if they will pay you 20% of the retail price for them.

So why don't they make the feedin parity and itemize their so called maintenance and service fees and put that on the bill to be deducted from the net feedin instead of stealing energy from the consumer ?

And those resources were owned by the public. We paid for all of this along time ago. It should never have been sold to private scam artists who are only in it to maximize their profits Sad

they do. their maintenance and access costs are 24c/kw/hr.  why do u think it is free?