Homeless Turning To Crime In Hope Of Prison (Read 1388 times)
Sir Crook

Homeless Turning To Crime In Hope Of Prison
Feb 12th, 2016 at 7:30am

Perth's homeless turn to crime to get prison bed and meal   
WA Today
Febuary 11

Some of Perth's homeless are committing crimes in the hopes of being sent to prison where they can have a bed and a meal, a West Australian homeless man has revealed.

Josh Serafini, who has been sleeping rough for about seven months, said the number of homeless people in the city had increased to about 300 in February, with an increasing number of those people turning to crime or committing suicide.   Sad

He said government funding needed to be redirected to provide more direct assistance to the homeless instead of being spent on "wages for support workers".

"We've got $22 million in the sector and by the time any of that gets to the homeless person, they see nothing," Mr Serafini said.

He said housing was a basic human right and people couldn't be expected to get a job to lift themselves out of poverty without having a home.   Sad

"To move forward into the workforce, I think for myself, I'd have to have secure accommodation where I know I can rest... or eat, or store food, or make my lunch, change my clothes, wash my clothes, have a shower, brush my teeth," he said.

Mr Serafini said he has been homeless for periods of time since he was about 15 years old.

In 2015, he moved out of a community housing group home because he claimed its management was harassing him and that he had been sexually abused by another resident while he was sleeping.

Since returning to the street, he claimed he had 11 friends die in the past seven months, most from suicide.   Sad

He said he also knew of people committing crimes to try and get a bed in a prison. 

"That was the breaking point for me," Mr Serafini said.

"That's how critical it is in the state. Why are you going to go and commit a crime when we've got all these agencies to help us?

"But I understand why they want to do it because these agencies aren't helping."   

Shelter WA executive officer Chantal Roberts agreed homelessness seemed to be getting worse in the CBD but said continued funding of social workers was crucial to reduce the number of people sleeping rough.

"In the majority of cases, not all, there are issues and reasons why people find themselves homeless, it's just not a matter of unaffordable housing," she said.

"What we've found is, people need support to try to address the issues that led to their homelessness in the first place."

Ms Roberts said part of the solution could be making it easier for people living in short-term crisis accommodation or hostels to transition to private housing.

"The thing that's missing now is exit points where people can exit from those types of places," she said.

"We definitely need more housing that is affordable but also more supportive accommodation that people can link into get into to get the support they need at the same time as being housed."

Re: Homeless Turning To Crime In Hope Of Prison
Reply #1 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 2:38pm

A disgraceful indictment against our failed government.

Reply #2 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:36pm

it doesnt say a lot for West Australians either..

when ever I pass the buskers or boxes collecting for the homeless I always contribute..even if its 3 times in a week..... everyone need to put in NOT JUST THE GOVT..

thats the trouble with lefties they think everything is a govt problem..

and NO IT ISNT>.. its everyones problem..

the homeless get govt money just like the jobless....

some folks dont want to fit in and conform....after all they all lived in a house at one stage... Angry

Reply #3 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:43pm

Kat wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 2:38pm:

I wade through these front bottoms everyday - they are the failures, not anyone else. 

Maybe if they didn't drink till they pass out on the street, or scrounge together their beggar bucks and spend it on ice that they smoke in the laneways, they'd have a place to stay.

Reply #4 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:50pm

cods wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:36pm:
it doesnt say a lot for West Australians either..

when ever I pass the buskers or boxes collecting for the homeless I always contribute..even if its 3 times in a week..... everyone need to put in NOT JUST THE GOVT..

thats the trouble with lefties they think everything is a govt problem..

and NO IT ISNT>.. its everyones problem..

the homeless get govt money just like the jobless....

some folks dont want to fit in and conform....after all they all lived in a house at one stage... Angry

Wrong again, but that's no surprise.

Like most of your slurs aimed at the Left, you're way off the mark.

For example, I REGULARLY donate to help the homeless, and have several
times put the odd one up for a night or two.

My late brother (who was FAR further to the left than I'll ever be) used to
donate to help the homeless EVEN WHEN HOMELESS HIMSELF. And while
he, himself, got sod-all assistance apart from his pension.

And what's the point of the off-topic jobless comment? That one's wearing
tiresomely thin.

Reply #5 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:52pm

... wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:43pm:
Kat wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 2:38pm:

I wade through these nice people everyday - they are the failures, not anyone else. 

Maybe if they didn't drink till they pass out on the street, or scrounge together their beggar bucks and spend it on ice that they smoke in the laneways, they'd have a place to stay. 

You, as usual, are full of it.

Time for a flush, I reckon.

Reply #6 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:55pm

They all hang around my work, passing out hugging a bottle, shitting in shop doorways, growling and yelling at passers by and yes, smoking ice in the laneways.

I see it with my own eyes every day, whereas  you read an article.  Getdaphukouttahere.

Reply #7 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:09pm

He said housing was a basic human right....

It ought to be.  Here is an irony.  A mate of mine (met when I got into the Cab ownership) about whom I've probably posted before, Max.  Max is 'homeless' and lives 'rough.' 

In about 2012, his last surviving relative, an Aunt died and left him an Estate worth about $850,000.00 cash.  The Aunt appointed the Public Trustee as the Executor and Trustee of her Will/Estate.  In March 2013, while it was resisted by Max and Lawyers I arranged to help him, the Public Trustee managed to convince a thing known up here as QCAT (I know it as a Mickey Mouse Court) to appoint it to have ongoing management of those funds.

AFAIAC, Max ought to have had it to do with what he pleased.  But, that was not to be.

So Max continued to live 'homeless' and 'rough' even though I had organised for the Public Trustee to pay him $600.00 per week.  It is his money, after all.  Max pisses that up against a wall, probably hands out cash to his associates, and blows whatever is left on Keno in local Pubs.

He is one smart Dude.  He cooks on the street, he keeps his booze cold on the street, he showers on the street, he sleeps on the street....(literally....but he showers at the Showgrounds which he sneakily accesses.....he sleeps where there are CCTV facilities) but.....he has a close association with a house.  He hangs out there every day, drinking and socialising with the people who live there.   He 'runs' errands for them.  It is the glue of his World and he is happy in all respects other than that the Public Trustee controls his money.

So.....one day on October 2015, Max sees that the Landlord/Owner of that House has put it on the market.  He gets straight onto me, yadda yadda yadda, I do some assessments of value and Max makes an offer to buy.  His offer is accepted. 

Because I knew it was inevitable the Public Trustee would need to be involved, I asked that the contract be made subject to Public Trustee approval.

Off we go to the local Office of the Public Trustee and hand them a copy of the Contract.  'Oh great,' they say to Max...."We support you buying a Home."

Max is happy.  Not much will change in his daily World, but he will be able to do 'officially' as owner what he does now.  It will be his Home Base and principal place of residence, and the occupants stay on as Boarders, paying Max what he will lose out of the aforesaid $600.00.

The Public Trustee arranges for a valuation, and because I had done my homework, the valuation came in $5000.00 above the agreed purchase price.  Great!

So, we are all (including the very patient Vendor) sitting on our thumbs waiting for the Public Trustee to get the thing firmed up.

Two months later, they let Max know they want a Meeting.  Max contacts me.  He wants me with him.  No worries and off we go.

At that meeting, they announce they want Max to be examined by an Occupational Therapist and a Doctor to ensure the purchase ought go ahead.

More than a month later, and as I type, the Bastards will not tell either me or Max why they need that.  All Max wants to do, in his words, is to 'buy that house.'

Is housing really a basic human right?

Reply #8 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:11pm

... wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:55pm:
They all hang around my work, passing out hugging a bottle, shitting in shop doorways, growling and yelling at passers by and yes, smoking ice in the laneways.

I see it with my own eyes every day, whereas  you read an article.  Getdaphukouttahere.

Yes, I see it every day too.

And some of the men are just as bad.

Reply #9 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:12pm

I see it with my own eyes every day, whereas  you read an article. 
Getdaphukouttahere

Please. After you...

Reply #10 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:17pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:11pm:

Yes, I see it every day too.

And some of the men are just as bad.

I've seen 5 or 6 fights amongst the bums, but surprisingly, on every occasion it was women.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #11 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:38pm

Kat wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:50pm:

My brother would never find himself homeless, because I would give him somewhere to live and not expect the friggen taxpayer to look after him, you socialist are un-friggen-believable.

Do NOT expect others (especially the taxpayers) to do what you yourself are not willing to do.

You should have made sure your brother was not homeless.

innocentbystander.

Reply #12 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 7:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:11pm:
I just as bad.

Indeed.  Roll Eyes

innocentbystander.

Reply #13 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 7:27pm

Kat wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:12pm:

I see it with my own eyes every day, whereas  you read an article. 
Getdaphukouttahere

Please. After you...

You may not be homeless but you are brainless.  Cheesy

Well you are probably homeless too as you would likely be renting some other bastards home, too stupid to be a home owner, thats for certain.   Grin

Reply #14 - Feb 12th, 2016 at 7:32pm

BigOl64 wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 6:38pm:
Kat wrote on Feb 12th, 2016 at 5:50pm:

My brother would never find himself homeless, because I would give him somewhere to live and not expect the friggen taxpayer to look after him, you socialist are un-friggen-believable.

Do NOT expect others (especially the taxpayers) to do what you yourself are not willing to do.

You should have made sure your brother was not homeless.

For your information, I had a bedsitter at the time, with no room and a no-stayovers rule.

And yes, I did sneak him in on several occasions.

As for your socialist slur - choke on it.

Better to die a socialist than live as a fascist.