Pages: 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 ... 32
Your amazing cat & dog stories here (Read 67539 times)

Re: Your amazing cat & dog stories here
Reply #345 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 5:47pm

Aww Bengi 😢

Hutchy was a brave dog that would fight to the finish, one foot tall he was with an eight foot attitude! So we kept him safe in back yard with ring lock lining the parallel bar fence.
He had his own big yard and comfy lounge room.
So he was restricted yet free.
We had signs on the back gate “beware of dog” too.

I have a sad dog story, our little chiwawa cross jack russell, Pepsi.
We could never open a door and whoosh she was out!
Running off and had to go chase after her, zigging and zagging as she did.
What a pain that dog was.
That mad jack russel part. Lucky we were on acreage so there were no busy roads near for her to run on.
Well after trying to keep her safe all those years, 8 years in fact. She had a nice double insulated house, near the sliding glass door so we could see her.

She had a wall around and yet always escaped, she would run into next doors property where they had 2 horses,
One horse was a mean one, and as she ran and zigged, the horse tried to stomp on her, I would freak.
If I called her she would stop still and look so I had to refrain ... she makes it back safe.
I’m annoyed a lot.
That stress of Pepsi always taking off like a mad critter!!
One day, she climbed over the even higher wall surrounding her dog house, I yelled at her, she looked at me, then took off.

Now what happens is she always comes back and we see her at the door.
She didn’t come back. We go out yelling out her name. Nothing.
Next day, I go around with my daughter asking all the neighbouring properties if they saw her.
Nothing.
Before nightfall, I looked at those 2 horses, and noticed one kept looking back at a certain area, like as if it achieved something, or making certain it didn’t move?
I read that horses body language.
I said to hubby and daughter. We need to go into next doors paddock, near our fence line.....and we sadly found her on her side, motionless.
I says, turn her over, and we found a bloodied head wound on the other side. Horse stomped her. This time she never made it back.😞
The reason Pepsi was attracted to going next door was to run around with the chooks!!

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #346 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 5:59pm

Demi was the same! sneaky bitch dug a little tunnel under the fence from the side of the house to the main side fence. Hammered in a couple tomato stakes.

One time I was in and out the back gate with sand for a path I was making. Demi was in the backyard, totally uninterested in me—then I opened the gate—and the bitch was charging through at her top speed! Imagine the timing! Split second error she would have hurt herself.

Mum and myself independently found that if we chased her we were soon metres from busy Marion Road! So we ignored her, just left the gate and doors open. Demi knew where her food dish was and would be back 10m minutes later. I had resigned myself to Demi dying under the wheels of a car in one of her escapes, she died from her other vice, eating anything even remotely resembling food.

RIP Demi. Never forgotten!

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #347 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 6:35pm

Back in the Bundy days.....there was Sax.  The female Dobberman.  The absolute best dog I or my Family ever had.

I was living with my parents at the time...in a separated Flat sort of area.  They went off to Victoria to visit elder Brother at Puckapunyal.  Came back after two weeks and the Old Man said he had taken over Sax from a neighbour of Brother, as neighbour had been assigned an overseas post and could not take her.  She was, I reckon, nine months old.  Mum and Dad get back and tell me about it.

So, we build a big wide and shallow box which fitted neatly into the back of my brand new Toyota Celica Hatchback and off we go to Brisbane airport to pick her up.  There she was.  Amazing.  Black and tan with that never-ending sheen on the black.  Beautiful looking dog.

In she gets into the box and sleeps all the way back from Brisbane to Bundy, a four-hour drive.

The Old Man walked her around the boundary of the half-acre block we lived in and she learned, pissed out her markers.  Those were the days when dogs still were allowed to roam free in the neighbourhood, and I wish those days came back.

Thing is....while Sax, as she grew, knew what the Home Boundaries were, they were not for her, just for other pooches.  She would greet any human arriving with great delight (I put that down to the time the Old Man spent with her telling her that people are okay) and while she would give a woof in a notification for us, she would then lick the crap out of the human visitor.

But, she did have one vice.

Bloody chooks.

A short distance neighbour had chooks and Sax treated that place as her smorgasbord, and it cost my Old Man plenty in reparations replacing chooks she had.....umm......encountered and despatched.  So, ultimately, the Old Man got her, somehow to leave the bloody chooks alone.

She was great.  Call her, she would come instantly.  Kids could crawl all over her whatever and she loved it. 

But.

She knew, as I said, what was her zone.  One boundary of the property was a creek.  On the other side of that creek was a potential intruder.....pooch.  Mongrel bitsa and a tad bigger than Sax.  She always had an eye on that bloke.

He had balls. No matter how many times he came into the Sax territory and she beat him off with his tail between his legs, and until she died at 14, they kept the game going.  He would cross the creek, she would attack, she belted him, off he went, rinse and repeat.

One day, she walked into the House, lay down on the carpet beside the Old Man then sitting in his chair, and went to sleep.

Vale, Sax, best of them all.

Reply #348 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 6:59pm

Nice story. Too many cars for dogs to roam free.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #349 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 7:31pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jun 29th, 2020 at 6:59pm:
Nice story. Too many cars for dogs to roam free.

If your Mum was not so frail, you ought get one.  It would love Tassie, and your capacity to train.  They are sponges on learning stuff.

Reply #350 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 7:39pm

I may do that. Not even a Jack Russell would try to kill a Doberman.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #351 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:03pm

I have read—only read mind—that Jack Russells do not tolerate other pets, will kill any cat or dog you may have. Also read that a Jack can tackle a dog four times its weight—over-muscled aggro dogs trained to go down a fox earth and drive the fox back to the surface so the “Hunt” can go on.

Look:

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #352 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:25pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jun 29th, 2020 at 7:39pm:

I had a Great Dane try ... sort off

I used to walk my doberman, Ceasar, past a house with a Great Dane every day as part of his daily walk. This Dane lived about 300m up the road from me. Every day, the Dane who was double the size of my Ceasar, from behind the safety of his fence, would go off his rocker as we went by. My dog would look but keep walking (only because he had a leash on).

One day, as usual, we went by and the Dane, in usual fashion, went nuts. We kept walking ... a few minutes later, as we were approaching my front yard, I hear the pitter-patter of running claws on bitumen at about the same time my dog did. It was the Dane, he must have gotten out and had run down the road after us. As soon as my dog heard the pitter patter, he turned around and lunged at the Dane who was by this stage about to bite my dog on the rump. My dog was harmless to people, but did not like other dogs. The Dane, upon seeing my dog lunge, turned tail and ran all the way home with his tail between his legs. I'm still not sure why he went to all that effort to race down the road after us if he was just going to turn tail and run without even trying.

From that day on, whenever we walked past that house, the Dane would sit there quietly, not a peep out of him anymore. The thing was the size of a small horse, but all bluff and bluster.

Reply #353 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:32pm

There needs to be a lot more control on dogs, it's a free for all,
a ridge back with an ice freak owner is allowable.

sit_fido_sit.JPG (55 KB | 21 )
sit_fido_sit.JPG

Reply #354 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:34pm

Ridgebacks are too aggressive. I wonder what the breeders had in mind? Hmmm

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #355 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:36pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:34pm:
Ridgebacks are too aggressive. I wonder what the breeders had in mind? Hmmm

They were bred to kill lions.

Reply #356 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:40pm

Yeah? Would need more than one Ridgeback!

Sad truth for dogs is: they have only got their teeth. Cats have teeth and claws. And a lion is really strong!

Can you tell us more?

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #357 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:48pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:40pm:
Yeah? Would need more than one Ridgeback!

Sad truth for dogs is: they have only got their teeth. Cats have teeth and claws. And a lion is really strong!

Can you tell us more?

Yes, they hunt in packs.

Reply #358 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:59pm

Here is a Youtube about Rhodesian Ridgebacks.

I haven’t watched it—just trying to get some discussion going!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #359 - Jun 29th, 2020 at 9:09pm

John Smith wrote on Jun 29th, 2020 at 8:25pm:
Jovial Monk wrote on Jun 29th, 2020 at 7:39pm:

I had a Great Dane try ... sort off

I used to walk my doberman, Ceasar, past a house with a Great Dane every day as part of his daily walk. This Dane lived about 300m up the road from me. Every day, the Dane who was double the size of my Ceasar, from behind the safety of his fence, would go off his rocker as we went by. My dog would look but keep walking (only because he had a leash on).

One day, as usual, we went by and the Dane, in usual fashion, went nuts. We kept walking ... a few minutes later, as we were approaching my front yard, I hear the pitter-patter of running claws on bitumen at about the same time my dog did. It was the Dane, he must have gotten out and had run down the road after us. As soon as my dog heard the pitter patter, he turned around and lunged at the Dane who was by this stage about to bite my dog on the rump. My dog was harmless to people, but did not like other dogs. The Dane, upon seeing my dog lunge, turned tail and ran all the way home with his tail between his legs. I'm still not sure why he went to all that effort to race down the road after us if he was just going to turn tail and run without even trying.

From that day on, whenever we walked past that house, the Dane would sit there quietly, not a peep out of him anymore. The thing was the size of a small horse, but all bluff and bluster.

Doberman dogs have had the aggression bred out of them but they are still liable to win any dogfight they get involved in!

I told some idiot exercising his two doberman dogs right by a playground that there was a dog park not far away and his dogs could really run there. Moron needed convincing and his two Dobermanns ran at me. I stood my ground.

Haven’t seen the moron since.

I did see a kid get bitten by some mutt. So did the boy’s father, bet quite a bit of money changed hands. This happened on the other side of the same damn playground!

Why are some people such idiots? Take your dog to the dog park. Give it more exercise than that dog obviously got!

Topics in the right MRB!

Pages: 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 ... 32