Pages: 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 ... 42
The state of Queensland. (Read 52581 times)

Re: The state of Queensland.
Reply #180 - Dec 7th, 2014 at 1:36pm

Aussie, your link doesn't work.

Reply #181 - Dec 7th, 2014 at 1:51pm

Bam wrote on Dec 7th, 2014 at 1:36pm:
Aussie, your link doesn't work.

Aaaaaaw!  Crap!!  (Hope it does now.  Ta.)

Lobo

Reply #182 - Dec 7th, 2014 at 2:04pm

All better now, mate...

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Reply #183 - Dec 7th, 2014 at 2:38pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 7th, 2014 at 12:28pm:
Abbott and Newmann are copping an absolute pasting up here.

55-45 ALP over LNP and same figures against Newmann is his own seat of Ashgrove.

Yay!

I'm lovin' it.....................

I hope we crush all the neo cons.

Reply #184 - Dec 8th, 2014 at 2:51pm

Was talking to a dyed in the wool, blue rinse brigade LNP supporter and long term Member this morning and during the course of that, this concept occurred to me.  It is reminiscent of the situation some years ago when the Libs went into an election not certain who would be its leader post election.

Given Newmann is in so much personal strife in his own seat, it is entirely likely he will lose it to the ALP......it is still possible the LNP might just hang on to Government.  But, a smart ALP campaign leading into the election will concentrate on leadership, and constantly ask of the LNP........'Who will be Premier if you win, if, in the likely event, Newmann loses his seat?'

It is a ripper, and one they cannot answer without admitting the likelihood Newmann might lose, eroding confidence.....and so......the LNP will go into that election with the voters at large not knowing who will be Premier if the LNP do inch across the line.  Who is going to vote LNP when they have no idea who the Leader/Premier will be post election?

Jolly, wot?

An off shoot of that is the question whether the LNP heirarchy can see that dilemma they truly are facing, and if they do (they are not strategically dumb) will they move against Newmann early....like now.  There is a sign they might.

Bruce Flegg, the sitting LNP Member for Mogull (a seat immediately adjacent to Newmann's Ashgrove) only yesterday lost LNP endorsement after a vote among the Members at Mogull.  An important aspect of that was that the LNP Executive (non local Members of Mogull) were also able to vote in that endorsement secret ballot.  It is speculated that it was the votes of the Executive which saw Flegg lose the race.  Here is the kicker ~ Flegg went onto that vote showing to everyone a letter clearly demonstrating he had the personal support of Newmann and many other sitting LNP Pollies.  He still failed to get Executive support in the ballot.

In other words, in an indirect way, the LNP hierarchy defied Newmann.

Reply #185 - Dec 12th, 2014 at 10:24am

Just to keep things updated:

Newmann now admits possible defeat.

Reply #186 - Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:15pm

Well, I should not be too surprised given this bloke has often attended PUP events.

Palmer United Party (PUP) leader Clive Palmer has announced John Bjelke-Petersen, the son of former Queensland premier Sir Joh, as the party's leader in Queensland ahead of the pending state election.

Mr Bjelke-Petersen, a former Liberal National Party (LNP) member, was endorsed earlier this year as the PUP candidate for Callide, to stand against the electorate's current member and Queensland Deputy Premier Jeff Seeney.

Mr Seeney has held the electorate since 1998.

I hope he takes after his Mother and not his Old Man.

Reply #187 - Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:33pm

Good seat selection.  Seeney is on the nose.  Callide has always been National Party heart land (huge rural area west of Bundaberg, Maryborough and Gympie - including many Aboriginal Communities) but in the last election (2012) Seeney took a swing against hit of 5.45%.  Still held it comfortably, but the interesting thing is that the Katter Party candidate picked up a positive swing of 26%.

So......I reckon Katter will not contest in Callide, leaving Joh's Son as a PUP a clear conservative field against Seeney.  You can bet that Katter and B-Petersen have strong personal ties.

All jolly stuff!

Reply #188 - Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:02pm

Ch. 9 must have the idiots writing the News scripts for today.  They are announcing that John B-Petersen had switched allegiance to PUP to do this.  Sheeeeeeees.....!!!!!!!!!!!  The bloke was the endorsed PUP candidate for the Federal seat of Maranoa in the 2013 Election.

Ferk me, our schmedia is atrocious!

Reply #189 - Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:35pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:02pm:
Ch. 9 must have the idiots writing the News scripts for today.  They are announcing that John B-Petersen had switched allegiance to PUP to do this.  Sheeeeeeees.....!!!!!!!!!!!  The bloke was the endorsed PUP candidate for the Federal seat of Maranoa in the 2013 Election.

I hope they're publishing a correction soon.

Reply #190 - Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:40pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 4:02pm:

All run by sheilas these days - no real idea of very much at all in the real world - even spelling... hold on - that's sppeling..

No idea of doing any research.

Mod.

Reply #191 - Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:43pm

I'll use this Thread to remind Members of FD's request that we not attempt to read a Hacker's Posts.....and this time it clearly is Bambu1.

Reply #192 - Dec 29th, 2014 at 7:16pm

Blaaady hell!  I'd love a dollar for every time we have stuffed around with Secondary School exit results.

In my day, it was an externally run examination.  I.e., every kid doing Senior across the entire State sat for examinations (the same papers/questions) run by the University.  Yeas, lots of pressure on a single week at the end of Year 12.  You swam or sank, no matter what the excuse was.

So.....it is back to the future with this new idea except there is to be a school based influence over the final outcome which will include the results of exactly what we did way back in 1966.

Reply #193 - Dec 30th, 2014 at 12:48pm

Good Thread ~ on Newmann.