The SA govt. is appalling scum. (Read 4639 times)
Innocent bystander

Re: The SA govt. is appalling scum.
Reply #15 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:01pm

And then theirs the unemployed person with the un rego'd car that just needs to pop down to the corner store to get supplies in order to survive and the SA governments nazi police force is there waiting to pounce on him and destroy whats left of his life with a massive fine completely out of all proportion to his crime.
Remember folks, before you go to bed tonight pray that minister John Rau gets cancer and dies a long slow agonising death because he aint human.

Reply #16 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:02pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:01pm:
What change of heart?, I've always looked out for the poor hence my outrage over our arsehole government using them to fix their broken budget.  Angry

Tax the rich instead, they have more money.  Wink

However, you do have a point that is worthy of discussion. I do not agree with such a hike for the reasons you stated.

We should look a little deeper. The SA state government has recently abolished registration stickers. Victoria did the same this year. They detect unpaid registration with technology that recognises number plates that queries a registration database. I do not know the details of the technology but can make an educated guess as to its likely function which I give below.

1. Camera attached to a computer takes photograph of car (could be a real-time video feed)
2. Computer scans the image to find number plates and read them  (which is likely to be quite accurate due to the use of standard fonts and fixed positions)
3. Computer logs the number plate and filters out recent duplicates (a car passing by a camera will be captured several times in quick succession)
4. Computer uses the best guess of the number plate to construct an SQL query to a registration database and obtain the registration status of the vehicle
5. If the car is unregistered it is logged with location, date and time so an infringement notice can be issued

We should find out a few details. What is the cost of this technology? How is it being funded? Where is it being used - police cars, motorways, intersections?

I think the purpose of the tax hike is to act as a strong deterrent against driving an unregistered vehicle. No doubt there's underlying reasons for increasing the penalty for this particular offence. Maybe there's an increase in infringements since the abolition of registration stickers?

Innocent bystander

Reply #17 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:03pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:55pm:
Innocent bystander wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:46pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:36pm:
Innocent bystander wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:35pm:
Do you have any comments on the appalling SA governments attempts to rape the poor Greg or are you just going to turn this thread into yet another outlet for your repressed memories. 

Renew your registration on time = no problem.

Next!

Just typical from the so called compassionate left, if you are an old aged pensioner with a bit of a memory problem and you forget to register your vehicle then the government of SA is going to rape you out of all proportion to your crime and greg will be there to smear on the vaseline.

Old age pensioners with memory problems shouldn't be on the road.

Next!

Yet the country should be flooded with unemployed boat people that have come here to retire on centrelink, what in the f#ck is a matter with you?, you're f#ckin deranged!

Reply #18 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:03pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:01pm:
And then theirs the unemployed person with the un rego'd car that just needs to pop down to the corner store to get supplies in order to survive and the SA governments nazi police force is there waiting to pounce on him and destroy whats left of his life with a massive fine completely out of all proportion to his crime.

Tell 'em to walk.

It might get rid of some of that 'coke and chips' fat.

Next!

Innocent bystander

Reply #19 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:08pm

Bam wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:02pm:

You f#ckin idiot!, are you aware that there is only one rich person to every 100 poor people?, do you really think they are going to be able to carry the can for everyone?, for f#cks sake how did society become so f#ckin dumb that it thinks Smacking over 1% of the population will provide salvation ... faaark!

Reply #20 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:17pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:55pm:
Innocent bystander wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:46pm:
Do you have any comments on the appalling SA governments attempts to rape the poor Greg or are you just going to turn this thread into yet another outlet for your repressed memories. 

Next!

Just typical from the so called compassionate left, if you are an old aged pensioner with a bit of a memory problem and you forget to register your vehicle then the government of SA is going to rape you out of all proportion to your crime and greg will be there to smear on the vaseline.

Old age pensioners with memory problems shouldn't be on the road.

Next!

only an old-age pensioner like yourself could possible have such an attitude.  the rest of us live in a world that is increasingly the province of severe fines for trivial offences some of which we are not even aware of.  And since car registration does nothing other than proved revenue the least they can do is make the fines appropriate.

Reply #21 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:18pm

Remember folks, before you go to bed tonight pray that minister John Rau gets cancer and dies a long slow agonising death because he aint human.

at the same time that uninsured drongo does JUST THAT and causes $8000 damage to my care which my insurance company and excess has to pay for.  They should be fined - just not this severely and certainly not for being a few days overdue.

Reply #22 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:20pm

Bam wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:02pm:
Innocent bystander wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 6:01pm:
What change of heart?, I've always looked out for the poor hence my outrage over our arsehole government using them to fix their broken budget.  Angry

However, you do have a point that is worthy of discussion. I do not agree with such a hike for the reasons you stated.

We should look a little deeper. The SA state government has recently abolished registration stickers. Victoria did the same this year. They detect unpaid registration with technology that recognises number plates that queries a registration database. I do not know the details of the technology but can make an educated guess as to its likely function which I give below.

1. Camera attached to a computer takes photograph of car (could be a real-time video feed)
2. Computer scans the image to find number plates and read them  (which is likely to be quite accurate due to the use of standard fonts and fixed positions)
3. Computer logs the number plate and filters out recent duplicates (a car passing by a camera will be captured several times in quick succession)
4. Computer uses the best guess of the number plate to construct an SQL query to a registration database and obtain the registration status of the vehicle
5. If the car is unregistered it is logged with location, date and time so an infringement notice can be issued

We should find out a few details. What is the cost of this technology? How is it being funded? Where is it being used - police cars, motorways, intersections?

I think the purpose of the tax hike is to act as a strong deterrent against driving an unregistered vehicle. No doubt there's underlying reasons for increasing the penalty for this particular offence. Maybe there's an increase in infringements since the abolition of registration stickers?

yeah... the govt would only increase these fines massively for altruistic reasons... are you serious???  this is the same govt that has put huge numbers of speeding cameras around including on DOWNHILLs on freeways.  funnily enough it has a $2B deficit this year.

Innocent bystander

Reply #23 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:22pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:03pm:

Tell 'em to walk.

It might get rid of some of that 'coke and chips' fat.

Next!

What if they are on disability Greg?, like almost every fake refugee thats ever graced our shores, as a lefty I realise you have no real compassion for white anglo saxons but think of all those poor boat people that have come here to escape certain death only to have their aussie holiday ruined by corrupt labor politicians and their humongous fines. 

Innocent bystander

Reply #24 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:25pm

longweekend58 wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:18pm:

at the same time that uninsured drongo does JUST THAT and causes $8000 damage to my care which my insurance company and excess has to pay for.  They should be fined - just not this severely and certainly not for being a few days overdue.

Don't disagree that there should be a penalty, destroying peoples lives because you have blown the budget is not the answer though.

Reply #25 - Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:49pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:25pm:
longweekend58 wrote on Dec 23rd, 2013 at 7:18pm:

Don't disagree that there should be a penalty, destroying peoples lives because you have blown the budget is not the answer though.

at the same time tho, if you cant afford rego then you cant afford to drive. 'blowing the budget' is not an excuse.  I've had to do the very tough times when unemployed. I chose to go without so that I could pay those essentials like car rego.  so can everyone else.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #26 - Dec 24th, 2013 at 5:46am

Next!

Agreed... and also don't drive an unregistered/uninsured vehicle. I don't want to get into an accident with someone when it's their fault and they're not registered or insured. I don't know about SA but here in NSW you can register your vehicle for six months or quarterly if you're strapped for cash and can't afford a 12 month rego.

Reply #27 - Dec 24th, 2013 at 7:00am

yep, quite true, commonest cause for incarceration of aboriginal youth in NT is non payment of traffic fines related to unlicenced driving.  i suppose there arent too many driving instructors in kakadu.  just lots of rich fly in/ fly out white lawyers  (maybe not so many after tonys sensible cuts) Wink

Armchair_Politician

Reply #28 - Dec 24th, 2013 at 7:08am

aquascoot wrote on Dec 24th, 2013 at 7:00am:
yep, quite true, commonest cause for incarceration of aboriginal youth in NT is non payment of traffic fines related to unlicenced driving.  i suppose there arent too many driving instructors in kakadu.  just lots of rich fly in/ fly out white lawyers  (maybe not so many after tonys sensible cuts) Wink

Amazing... a decision by the SA government and you manage to drag Abbott into it despite him having SFA to do with it. Roll Eyes

Reply #29 - Dec 24th, 2013 at 7:38am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Dec 24th, 2013 at 7:08am:
aquascoot wrote on Dec 24th, 2013 at 7:00am:

Amazing... a decision by the SA government and you manage to drag Abbott into it despite him having SFA to do with it. Roll Eyes

Like innocent, i have a real soft spot for the poor.  imagine some poor single mum trying to get her kids to the doctors and the rego is expired.  $2500 , let the punishment fit the crime.
i have NO time for those who build their careers around "controlling the poor'  . from my experience leftie do-gooder scum are notorious for this.  its why they want to stick their greedy little fat fingers into every vulnerable group they can find.

disadvantaged youth
assylum seekers
the disabled
aboriginals in outback

look at these groups and you will ALWAYS find rich lefites fleecing the government programs they helped establish.

far better that these vulnerable people were looked after by volunteer groups who really did want to help them, not just line their own pockets.