Yes    
  8 (47.1%)
No    
  9 (52.9%)

Total votes: 17
« Created by: Maqqa on: Jan 26th, 2012 at 11:54pm »

Should we end the chase? (Read 3968 times)
FriYAY

Re: Should we end the chase?
Reply #15 - Jan 27th, 2012 at 1:14pm

CRAP PRESS:

Police have come under fire after a man avoiding a police RBT unit later claimed the life of a mother and her 2 children when the car he was driving swerved into the other car, 2 hours after he evaded the breath test.

Do to stupid wowsers the police could not chase the driver when he sped off from the road-side RBT.

………………

Verge

Reply #16 - Jan 27th, 2012 at 2:01pm

freediver wrote on Jan 27th, 2012 at 12:55pm:
Like this guy did?

I have been present when a couple of young blokes were boasting that the rules about 12 years ago within the police force was once they ran more than 2 or 3 red lights the chase had to be abandoned, and if the police continued to pursue after this it was tantamount to an illegal arrest.  I remember sitting there with my jaw open.

I dont like the idea of making laws that prevent them from doing their job.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #17 - Jan 27th, 2012 at 5:32pm

Verge wrote on Jan 27th, 2012 at 2:01pm:
freediver wrote on Jan 27th, 2012 at 12:55pm:
Like this guy did?

I have been present when a couple of young blokes were boasting that the rules about 12 years ago within the police force was once they ran more than 2 or 3 red lights the chase had to be abandoned, and if the police continued to pursue after this it was tantamount to an illegal arrest.  I remember sitting there with my jaw open.

I dont like the idea of making laws that prevent them from doing their job.

Yeah, but young blokes say things about laws that are wrong all the time....

In NSW it's based on the speed of the pursuit, not the number of red lights....

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #18 - Jan 27th, 2012 at 6:40pm

If you lead them into areas where there's plenty of pedestrians and/or heavy traffic then they will break off the chase - always have, actual policy or not. They'll attempt to second guess you as to where you will pop out of the area and either re-engage the chase or simply tail you at a distance until you stop/get caught in traffic etc.

Late at night in a built up area and they'll stick to you like glue and you see more and more flashers heading in your direction - especially up ahead so as to modify your path of travel. Do it during busy daylight hours and you've only got about 60 to 90 seconds to evade them before the chase is broken off.

Unless your plate(s) aren't visable or you're driving a stolen vehicle, you will get done. For starters the cops are going to be waiting for you when you get home.
« Last Edit: Jan 27th, 2012 at 6:51pm by Life_goes_on »  

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #19 - Jan 27th, 2012 at 8:15pm

Yes, but with exceptions.

blackadder

Reply #20 - Jan 27th, 2012 at 8:20pm

Chase the real crooks but don’t risk the misdemeanours.

You really have NO idea.

The trouble with quotes on the internet is that it's difficult to determine whether or not they are genuine - Abraham Lincoln

Life_goes_on

Reply #21 - Jan 27th, 2012 at 8:23pm

perceptions_now wrote on Jan 27th, 2012 at 8:15pm:

Yeah, gun down a few people and they might just be a bit more determined.

I'm speaking from experience as someone who used to go out and bait them.

(yes, I eventually got done for it.)

Num num num num.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #22 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 12:57am

Life_goes_on wrote on Jan 27th, 2012 at 8:23pm:
perceptions_now wrote on Jan 27th, 2012 at 8:15pm:

Yeah, gun down a few people and they might just be a bit more determined.

I'm speaking from experience as someone who used to go out and bait them.

(yes, I eventually got done for it.)

LOl ahh yes, Bear baiting.....I remember that....I gave up when it got too expensive in fines..

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

Bobbythebat

Emma

OZ
Reply #23 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 2:03am

Funny as it may seem, I too have experience of car freaks who accept no rules.

Done > 100 miles per hr ( thts miles) around Canberra.  Which is, by the way, a great place for car freaks who love speed ---probably why the Summer Nats are held there every year.

Seems to me..  the 'chase' is all about the cops getting a bit of fun as well!!

So? people die on the roads everyday,  and  seems to me the Police should NOT be adding to the Toll/carnage.   Not their brief , like.   Yeah?

So, get the number, follow (discreetly) if poss, if not comm ahead... not that hard surely in this age of IT. Stolen cars?? 
Same deal - far as I can see.
Just needs a bit of  IT pro and no need for car chases to the death.!!

No fun in that tho.

live every day

NBNMyths

Reply #24 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 6:02pm

Yes, there are concerns for innocent bystanders. There needs to be some discretion used when deciding to start and continue pursuits and alternatives should be used wherever possible. But this already happens. Chases are often called off. Helicopters are regularly called in to take over. Road spikes are deployed. etc etc.

Unfortunately you can't simply have a blanket ban on chases, because then all anyone wanting to escape apprehension needs to do is flee. Killed a security guard during an armed robbery while driving a stolen car, or with stolen plates? No worries, just exceed the speed limit, and the Police will let you go. How many others will die or be traumatised by that escapee in the future as a consequence of them never being pursued?

Debunking the FUD on the NBN

Emma

OZ
Reply #25 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:45pm

Well - I didn't say let them go!!

I said - with a bit of smarts..  i 'd say again.. there are better ways.   
(QLD has NO POLICE helicopter'S!! 'cept on the G C - which have just been agreed to!!) Roll Eyes

And obviously,  Most Chases don't involve major crims.!!
Unless  they're duh dumb!
But yes It does happen as we know which would likely be one of the 'exceptions' to any 'no chase' regulation.  Huh

live every day

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #26 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:51pm

Emma wrote on Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:45pm:

(QLD has NO POLICE helicopter'S!! 'cept on the G C - which have just been agreed to!!) Roll Eyes

But yes It does happen as we know which would likely be one of the 'exceptions' to any 'no chase' regulation.  Huh

Yes, but it's not generally major crims that drive like nutters and lose control is it??
They drive sedately so as not to be noticed...

It's the boy racers, drunks and unlicensed/unregistered and 'indestructable' youngsters that need to be chased and caught....

Bobbythebat

Emma

OZ
Reply #27 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 11:45pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:51pm:
Emma wrote on Jan 28th, 2012 at 10:45pm:

Yes, but it's not generally major crims that drive like nutters and lose control is it??
They drive sedately so as not to be noticed...

It's the boy racers, drunks and unlicensed/unregistered and 'indestructable' youngsters that need to be chased and caught....

Well that is ALMOST my point after all......  did u not get that?

NO  Better to say  'need to be caught.!' ....... Not chased first.!
Need to be caught,  NOT killed, NOT chased in a stupid and unnecessary game.

Guess  'da fuzz just aren't smart enough to manage obtaining ID on large numbers of 'hoons' properly,  .despite numerous attempts ( anecdotal) by witnesses,  who ph, pic AND video the dickheads,  and send to police this info  .....and the fuzz agrees they're there at regular events.. its just that ...' they move a lot ... '.???  so they bring out "the Russian Roulette"'!!

I mean really.!!Its just not necessary. !!   Its not as if they  (hoons) don't kill themselves regularly. Happens every day here.
Don't know why the cops bother...  Cool  Wink

AND   there are as many innocent victims resulting from police chases, as there are from hoons - unchecked.!!
(well pretty damn close I reckon.)

But IT (bleeps)  ME to hear the burning tyres .. and drive the graffiti'ed roads, full of circles and burnouts.
The young , and not so young, swine who think this is heaps fun,  need to be wrapped around a power pole.!!!
BUT  - let them do it to themselves. Cool

live every day

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #28 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 11:52pm

Guess  'da fuzz just aren't smart enough to manage obtaining ID on large numbers of 'hoons' properly,  .despite numerous attempts ( anecdotal) by witnesses,  who ph, pic AND video the dickheads,  and send to police this info  .....and the fuzz agrees they're there at regular events.. its just that ...' they move a lot ... '.???  so they bring out "the Russian Roulette"'!!
I mean really.!!Its just not necessary. !!   Its not as if they  (hoons) don't kill themselves regularly. Happens every day here.
Don't know why the cops bother...  Cool  Wink

What good is it 'getting an ID' if the only thing you use it for is to work out which of the 3 cars in the burning pile of wreckage is the hoon???

Would it be a lot of comfort to you if the police came to notify you of a loved ones death in a traffic accident and said "Sorry, your loved one died in a crash with a hoon, but we wrote down his rego number yesterday for dangerous driving and speeding and he'll get a ticket in 3 weeks time"....

Bobbythebat

Life_goes_on

Reply #29 - Jan 28th, 2012 at 11:56pm

They've just announced that the national road toll for 2011 is the lowest since 1946.... based on that I can't see the hoons, the unlicensed, the unregoed and the pissed to be anywhere close to the "most wanted list". Certainly not worth putting others at risk simply to teach them a lesson.

Lowest road toll in 65 years

More people died on NSW roads in 1970 than nationally last year.

The national road toll last year fell to its lowest level since 1946, when Australia’s population was one-third the size it is today and the three-point seatbelt was still more than a decade away.

According to figures released by the Department of Transport there were 1292 deaths recorded on Australian roads, a decrease of 10.9 per cent over the past five years and down 4.4 per cent compared with 2010.

http://smh.drive.com.au/roads-and-traffic/lowest-road-toll-in-65-years-20120127-...
« Last Edit: Jan 29th, 2012 at 12:05am by Life_goes_on »  

Num num num num.