Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Andrew Bolt does what Gillard asks us - start with (Read 8721 times)
chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Re: Andrew Bolt does what Gillard asks us - start with
Reply #30 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 11:51am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 10:52am:
progressiveslol wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 10:32am:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 10:25am:
culldav wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 10:22am:
cods wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 10:03am:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 9:55am:
how do you know?
I don't need to be told the reasons for a tax on polluters, it's self evident to me.

so what was the cause say a million years ago when all the ice melted and the world flooded..

what was the cause of the dinosaur disappearing..

sweet mysteries..

we can argue till  forever.. but it isnt a given that man is to blame.. and a TAX will be the cure.. it really isnt..

if the boom does a bust... well it could and it will..

what then with this TAX?.. what then for the planet?

its a circus as far as I am concerned and I believe industry is improving itself..

my god when a govt has to drag up pictures of Power Stations that went out of business years ago... something isnt quite right for me.

You cannot blame Gillard or the Government anymore, its the stupid people that agree to being taxed for nothing that are the problem.

Lets see how much of this carbon tax money actually gets spent on renewable sustainable energy; reckon the majority will go to paying back the nations debt.  

Aussies really are the stupidest people on the planet right now, Rudd failed to introduce a mining tax and now gillard is just about to introduce a carbon tax that will help NOTHING.  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Looking at whats happening now and the drastic fall in the IQ's of Australians we are so glad we sent out kids to get a proper education in Europe, and not be educated by backward hillbillies.  Embarrassed Embarrassed

Im not being taxed polluters are
I have to pay to pollute every 3 months when my council rates come in
ie garbage collection.
Why should companies be able to dump for free & not me?

So you dont buy food, groceries, machinery, petrol ect?. Well good for you, but most of Australians do.

I know what your trying to push that a carbon price will push up prices so no one but the Murdochs & Packers can eat.
It will add virtually nothing & unless an industry decides to act like a cartel(Richard Pratt big Liberal supporter BTW) some will always under cut others so prices will rise bugger all & that's not even going into the compensation package you seem to always forget about, I know I try to as well there should be none, let the poor starve they are just a burden anyway, filthy bludgers GET A JOB Angry
As for the pensioners they are sending the country broke with their medical expenses so culling a few of those parasites off won't hurt & what about those ones that don't even know where they are whats the point of feeding them FFS.

Your a hard man smithy. Smiley

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Reply #31 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 11:59am

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 11:48am:
culldav wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 10:40am:
skippy. wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 10:26am:
Looking at whats happening now and the drastic fall in the IQ's of Australians we are so glad we sent out kids to get a proper education in Europe, and not be educated by backward hillbillies
LOL the same Europe that already has a carbon tax. Grin Grin Grin

Do some personal research into some of those European countries like Sweden; you will find their carbon tax is "nothing" like the one Gillard/greens have proposed. You will also find other European countries who have a carbon tax and individual States within the USA that their carbon tax is nothing like Gillards.   Grin Grin Grin Grin

Do some research and find out for yourself, this carbon tax is nothing more than a replacement for the failed mining tax and some blind Aussies cannot see past their own nose.  

For Pete's sake people just put your valid concerns for the environment aside and look at the structure and meaning of the TAX!!  Wink Wink

The British PM stated recently that to meet the non binding 2050 targets that were previously agreed to, would effectively mean turning out the lights in England to meet the stated target.
He also stated that wrecking Englands economy to meet those targets isn't going to happen, as the UK's Co2 input into the atmosphere is only 2% of the total.
I took from that the reality check of what they readily agreed to has kicked in.

I think anyone with half a brain can tell that Conservative Governments all over the world are not interested in protecting the environment......When it comes to profit over conservation the all mighty dollar wins every time.....If the 100 odd countries that produce carbon reduced their emissions the impact would be far less on any individual economy......The way the Tories and Tony Abbott carry on you would think our two countries are the only ones who will be affected.....Doing nothing has never achieved anything...Someone should tap Abbott and Cameron on the shoulder and ask them what they will do not what they won’t do to save out planet from global warming???

Never let the future disturb you. You will meet it, if you have to, with the same weapons of reason which today arm you against the present.
Marcus Aurelius Antoninus (121 AD - 180 AD), Meditations, 200 A.D.

Angry

Reply #32 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 12:09pm

culldav wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 11:50am:
But Smithy, has not your argument always been that the sooner businesses change over to renewable sustainable sources the better for the planet? Wouldn't Abbott's option fundamentally work better that Gillards in achieving what YOU want?

Maybe its you who wants his cake and eat it too?

But Abbott will not achieve his reductions as he has capped the amount to be spent on direct action.....The Coalition has budgeted $15 dollars a tonne for its direct action policy.....Experts have calculated for Abbott's plan to be achievable he would need to spend $69 a tonne.....Abbott will be $54 a tonne short for every tonne of carbon we must reduce......Not to mention 60% of Abbott's reductions will not be counted as it currently stands because storing carbon in soil is not recognized towards targets.....Anyone who thinks Abbott's policy will achieve anything accept enable Australia to keep polluting is an idiot!!!

Angry

Reply #33 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 12:21pm

culldav wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 11:50am:
But Smithy, has not your argument always been that the sooner businesses change over to renewable sustainable sources the better for the planet? Wouldn't Abbott's option fundamentally work better that Gillards in achieving what YOU want?

Maybe its you who wants his cake and eat it too?

Hey I'm all for the fast rip of a band aid instead of the slow pull.
Bring it on, but it's Labors genuine concern for middle to lower incomes & the liberals faux concern for lower incomes & genuine concern for company profits that is stopping that.

FriYAY

Reply #34 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 12:35pm

philperth2010 wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 11:59am:
.Someone should tap Abbott and Cameron on the shoulder and ask them what they will do not what they won’t do to save out planet from global warming???

Never let the future disturb you. You will meet it, if you have to, with the same weapons of reason which today arm you against the present.
Marcus Aurelius Antoninus (121 AD - 180 AD), Meditations, 200 A.D.

Angry

LOL, you really think OZ and THE UK can save the planet! That;s as deluded as it get right there.

For me, it is far better to grasp the Universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring.
Carl Sagan

Armchair_Politician

Reply #35 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 12:50pm

Lets forget, for a moment, that little (if any) change is likely to happen with regard to the global climate as a result of an Australian carbon tax, one of my greatest concerns is the fact that a very large percentage of the money this tax raises will go offshore, with little of it to be spent here in Australia on helping to reduce pollution. Add to that the increased cost of our electricity and numerous other expenses and the job losses and this is a tax I cannot see usbeing able to afford.

Reply #36 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:00pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 12:50pm:
Lets forget, for a moment, that little (if any) change is likely to happen with regard to the global climate as a result of an Australian carbon tax, one of my greatest concerns is the fact that a very large percentage of the money this tax raises will go offshore, with little of it to be spent here in Australia on helping to reduce pollution. Add to that the increased cost of our electricity and numerous other expenses and the job losses and this is a tax I cannot see usbeing able to afford.

Lets remember for a moment the imediate changing of climate is not the goal, nor has it ever been sold as that, that line is just a furphy from the climate change denial lobby. The goal of the price on carbon is to encourage polluters to use more enviromently friendly options so as to reduce the continued pollution and EVENTUALLY maybe start to halt it, this will take many years, you and I will no doubt be dead, but for the sake of the planets future and our childrens future surly it is worth it. Though, I know many  prefer to think of their own hip pocket than that of the planet or childrens future, we will never be able to change the minds of the stupid or the  selfish cretins.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #37 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:05pm

skippy. wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:00pm:

Lets remember for a moment the imediate changing of climate is not the goal, nor has it ever been sold as that, that line is just a furphy from the climate change denial lobby. The goal of the price on carbon is to encourage polluters to use more enviromently friendly options so as to reduce the continued pollution and EVENTUALLY maybe start to halt it, this will take many years, you and I will no doubt be dead, but for the sake of the planets future and our childrens future surly it is worth it. Though, I know many  prefer to think of their own hip pocket than that of the planet or childrens future, we will never be able to change the minds of the stupid or the  selfish cretins.

It's hard to see how businesses will be able to employ more environmentally friendly technologies when they are being taxed into oblivion, especially given the simple fact that such technology is considerably more expensive and far less reliable...

Reply #38 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:10pm

You have to separate the outcomes.
Look if my goal was to reduce global temperatures only I'd be with you guys & that intellectual heavy weight Angry Anderson,
"Were doin nuffin until those Chinks in China do"

Fortunately my take on the whole thing is a more positive outlook.
Changing our supply of energy from finite resources with ever increasing costs as supply dwindles to renewable is good.
Changing from finite polluting resources to Clean renewable can only be good.
Stuff what China's doing, Stuff what America's doing if they want to breath dirty air & pay through the nose for ever reducing resources(not to mention most of the resource just makes their enemies in the M/E richer) well more fool them.

Reply #39 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:16pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:05pm:
skippy. wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:00pm:

It's hard to see how businesses will be able to employ more environmentally friendly technologies when they are being taxed into oblivion, especially given the simple fact that such technology is considerably more expensive and far less reliable...

1 business is not being taxed into oblivion, that's a lie.
2- such technology runs much of NSW ever heard of the snowy mountains scheme? its just confusionalist bulllsh it to run that line.

culldav

Reply #40 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:37pm

This is where Gillards; the Greens and many of their supports arguments for the carbon tax falls apart. Scientists on both sides of the debate have came to a common consensus and that is: no one knows what percentage of carbon dioxide that has been man made is contributing to global environment and what percentage of carbon dioxide is made by nature that contributing to the global environment. 

We cannot “stuff” what China, the USA, India or other countries who don’t have a carbon tax.  These countries are the biggest polluters on the planet, and if they are NOT ONBOARD in SERIOUSLY reducing pollution, then Australia reducing its little piss-ant amount of 0.00004% over the next 18 will mean absolutely nothing…BECAUSE: each country doesn’t live under its own separate domes with our own individual air supplies, we all breath the same air.

This is my point: Australia introducing a carbon tax on its people is NOT going to shame massive economies like China, emerging India, the USA, and Europe into imposing carbon taxes on its citizens just because one insignificant little pillow-biter like Bob Brown wants it so.

This carbon tax is not a Labor policy - the Labor policy was the emissions trading scheme. This carbon tax is a simplistic Greens Party policy, and that’s why Labor took four months to re-write the thing. Labor is simply being forced to introduce this unconditional tax as a pay back to Brown for his help in Getting Labor elected to Parliament.  Nothing more nothing less.  Its simplistic in content and simplistic in nature.

Reply #41 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:42pm

Its simplistic in content and simplistic in nature.
True, and to quote a famous Australian politician, " If you want to put a price on carbon the simplest way to do so is a tax" .Tony Abbott 2009. He was right then, I don't know why he has changes his mind now and wants to introduce an option that will cost ALL OF US DOUBLE for MUCH LESS OUTCOME.

culldav

Reply #42 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:48pm

skippy. wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:42pm:
Its simplistic in content and simplistic in nature.
True, and to quote a famous Australian politician, " If you want to put a price on carbon the simplest way to do so is a tax" .Tony Abbott 2009. He was right then, I don't know why he has changes his mind now and wants to introduce an option that will cost ALL OF US DOUBLE for MUCH LESS OUTCOME.

You and everyone else knows my thought about the Mad 'monk' Abbott

Reply #43 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 2:23pm

culldav wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 1:37pm:
This is where Gillards; the Greens and many of their supports arguments for the carbon tax falls apart. Scientists on both sides of the debate have came to a common consensus and that is: no one knows what percentage of carbon dioxide that has been man made is contributing to global environment and what percentage of carbon dioxide is made by nature that contributing to the global environment.  

We cannot “stuff” what China, the USA, India or other countries who don’t have a carbon tax.  These countries are the biggest polluters on the planet, and if they are NOT ONBOARD in SERIOUSLY reducing pollution, then Australia reducing its little piss-ant amount of 0.00004% over the next 18 will mean absolutely nothing…BECAUSE: each country doesn’t live under its own separate domes with our own individual air supplies, we all breath the same air.

This is my point: Australia introducing a carbon tax on its people is NOT going to shame massive economies like China, emerging India, the USA, and Europe into imposing carbon taxes on its citizens just because one insignificant little pillow-biter like Bob Brown wants it so.

This carbon tax is not a Labor policy - the Labor policy was the emissions trading scheme. This carbon tax is a simplistic Greens Party policy, and that’s why Labor took four months to re-write the thing. Labor is simply being forced to introduce this unconditional tax as a pay back to Brown for his help in Getting Labor elected to Parliament.  Nothing more nothing less.  Its simplistic in content and simplistic in nature.

As I said it's how you view the argument and the outcomes you wish to achieve.
Your right their is no consensus between scientists as to the actual effect of the CO2 we emit(there is consensus however that it is effecting)
So I don't bother with that argument.
Your right unless the major polluters are involved nothing will happen.
Again I don't bother with that argument.

The argument I do get involved with is when I started driving in 1987 petrol was approx 49.9 cents p/litre its now $1.49.9 on cheap days which now change instead of being Tuesday as the oil companies wish us to never know & pay top dollar.
Petrol jumps 16 cents p/litre every school & public holidays, no matter the $exchange not matter the geo political situation.
Our power station are 35 to 40+ years old & frankly we've just been lazy the technology got to a point 40 years ago & we as a nation said good enough & thats were we've stayed, governments have then compounded that laziness by not doing regular house keeping on the 40 year old grid & you lot wonder why your cost have doubled even before a carbon tax but you only seem worried about the extra 6% not the 50% that came before.
Why cant we now 50 years on & god knows how many times advanced thru technology are we afraid of doing another Snowy Mountains scheme only with renewables instead of hydro?

No your arguments against are shaped by vested interests & people to timid to dream of a better future.

Reply #44 - Oct 10th, 2011 at 2:28pm

The problem with Abbott supporters is none of them will debate the Coalitions direct action policy.....They carry on about the carbon tax without accepting the Coalition's climate policy is a very bad joke that has no chance of achieving our targets.....Until we start dealing with reality and debate the Coalitions alternative policy we are allowing Tony Abbott to avoid scrutiny....The carbon tax may not be perfect but it is decades ahead of Abbott's no action policy.....Only the very stupid would accept Abbott's policy has any chance of success!!!

Angry

The real distinction is between those who adapt their purposes to reality and those who seek to mold reality in the light of their purposes.
Henry Kissinger (1923 - )

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6