Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
HILARIOUS! (Read 5897 times)

HILARIOUS!
Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:13pm

THE crew of a boat carrying 75 asylum seekers phoned West Australian police to warn authorities they were about to arrive at Christmas Island yesterday.
The boat had slipped unnoticed into Australian waters and was five nautical miles northeast of Christmas Island when the crew made three triple-0 calls and were put through to WA police. The caller did not say the boat was in distress.

The vessel was intercepted by the patrol boat HMAS Albany.

Home Affairs Minister Brendan O'Connor said those on board were being taken to the Christmas Island detention centre for initial checks.

"Border Protection Command boarded the vessel after being advised by the Australian Federal Police Operations Centre of calls being made to the triple-0 emergency number in Western Australia," Mr O'Connor said. "Initial indications suggest 75 passengers and two crew on board."

It is the fourth boat to be intercepted since the High Court quashed the federal government's Malaysia people-swap deal on August 21. Since the deal was signed in July, 658 people and 22 crew have been picked up.

It is understood it is not the first time a boat crewman has alerted WA police of an impending arrival and in the past calls have been put through to a range of agencies including customs, the immigration department and the Australian Maritime Safety Authority.

by now I am surprised they are not carrying Australian passports.. Grin Grin

sir prince duke alevine

Re: HILARIOUS!
Reply #1 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm

So clearly they aren't attempting to invade and there is no danger.

What's next on your agenda?

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Reply #2 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:18pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm:

its not my agenda you want to worry about comrade.. its gillards shes got one that says she stopping the boats or have you forgotton..

btw you arent not all that worried about our border protection I see.. they were probably all at lunch funny how the people smugglers have no trouble finding Christmas Island but we cant find them.... maybe we need to send our specialists to Java for a few lessons.. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #3 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:18pm:

its not my agenda you want to worry about comrade.. its gillards shes got one that says she stopping the boats or have you forgotton..

btw you arent not all that worried about our border protection I see.. they were probably all at lunch funny how the people smugglers have no trouble finding Christmas Island but we cant find them.... maybe we need to send our specialists to Java for a few lessons.. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

The fact is, obviously we aren't under threat when the boat arrived and TOLD the police it was coming.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Kytro

Blasphemy: a victimless
crime

Adelaide
Reply #4 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:25pm

It is pretty amusing. There isn't much Gillard can really do at the moment, being a minority government.

Reply #5 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:27pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm:

The fact is, obviously we aren't under threat when the boat arrived and TOLD the police it was coming.

huhummmmmmmmmmm so what are we protecting then why is gillard scared sh1tless about people smugglers. whom she gave permission to to restart up the industry..........why are we floundering under heaps of uninvited people????...comrade I know you have the answer.... did any of these pass through Russia on the way here??? I see where Putin is back to bring back austerity. we might need to get ready for the invasion from Russia.. next!

I can only guess if people were just marching through your home uninvited you wouldnt bat and eyelid. good to know.

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #6 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm

Radar is not too good at picking up small wooden boats cods, never has been particularly if the weather and sea conditions are rough.

Perhaps the foreign criminal people smugglers can give Juliar a call on the batphone from Indonesia, and she can cut to the chase and send a troopship to pick up these prospective dole queue fodder and take them straight to a Centrelink office on the wharf at Christmas Island.
This would speed the process up some.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #7 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:27pm:

huhummmmmmmmmmm so what are we protecting then why is gillard scared sh1tless about people smugglers. whom she gave permission to to restart up the industry..........why are we floundering under heaps of uninvited people????...comrade I know you have the answer.... did any of these pass through Russia on the way here??? I see where Putin is back to bring back austerity. we might need to get ready for the invasion from Russia.. next!

I can only guess if people were just marching through your home uninvited you wouldnt bat and eyelid. good to know.

If a person knocked on my door and requested assistance because they were in danger, of course I would help them. Like any civilised and normal human being would.

As for Gillard, on some level I agree with you. She is engaging in this ridiculous political argument regarding boat people and is aiming to reach the bottom before Abbott.  That's pretty disgusting. But then what would I expect from Gillard and Abbott at the helm?

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #8 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm

Kytro wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:25pm:
It is pretty amusing. There isn't much Gillard can really do at the moment, being a minority government.

And being a dithering blithering incompetent doesn't help at all either.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #9 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:

Radar is not too good at picking up small wooden boats cods, never has been particularly if the weather and sea conditions are rough.

Perhaps the foreign criminal people smugglers can give Juliar a call on the batphone from Indonesia, and she can cut to the chase and send a troopship to pick up these prospective dole queue fodder and take them straight to a Centrelink office on the wharf at Christmas Island.

So, the current 23,000 and ALL past refugees are still dole bludgers are they?

Reply #10 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:35pm

Make way for jetset asylum seekers

September 22, 2011

About 9000 applications were lodged by air arrivals in the past 18 months - more than triple the number of refugee claims made by boat people.

ASYLUM claims by people who fly to Australia have doubled in the past five years, figures show.

About 9000 applications were lodged by air arrivals in the past 18 months - more than triple the number of refugee claims made by boat people

China was the biggest source of applicants, followed by Fiji, Pakistan and Iran, according to an Immigration Department report.

Monash University associate researcher Adrienne Millbank said it was virtually impossible for genuine asylum seekers to come by plane because of strict vetting of visa applicants by immigration authorities.

Ms Millbank said most people who arrived by air and then made refugee claims were manipulating the system to extend their stay in Australia.

"You can certainly say that these people are untruthful because they have to declare when they get a visa that they're not intending to apply for asylum," she said.

"They are no more deserving than the people who pay for people smugglers because in one case they are manipulating the system and in the other case they are trying to break in illegally"

About 6000 air arrivals lodged claims last year, compared with 3190 in 2005-06, said the report Asylum Statistics Australia 2010-11.

More than 90 per cent of Iranians, Afghanis and Iraqis were successful in 2009-10, while Chinese had a 42 per cent success rate, Lebanese (33.7 per cent), Fijians (16 per cent) and Indians (12.9 per cent).

Asylum Seeker Resource Centre spokesman Pamela Curr said the department did not publish figures on the number of people turned around at Australian airports before they had a chance to make refugee claims.

Ms Curr said some people on visitor and student visas made asylum claims in a bid to prolong their stay in Australia, but many air arrivals had genuine reasons for seeking refugee status.

"With the recent trouble in North Africa and the Arab world, we are seeing applicants from countries like Syria, Egypt and Bahrain," she said.

"We are also seeing more Iranians because of the unrest in Iran two years ago."

The report said there were 2172 asylum claims lodged by boat people last year, compared with 228 in 2008-09 and 21 in 2007-08.

In the first six months of 2010-11, the biggest number of refugee claims came from Afghanistan (1118). Then followed Iran (809), stateless persons (655), Iraq (405) and Sri Lanka (251).

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/make-way-for-jetset-asylum-seekers/st...

Reply #11 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:37pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:
cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:27pm:

If a person knocked on my door and requested assistance because they were in danger, of course I would help them. Like any civilised and normal human being would.

As for Gillard, on some level I agree with you. She is engaging in this ridiculous political argument regarding boat people and is aiming to reach the bottom before Abbott.  That's pretty disgusting. But then what would I expect from Gillard and Abbott at the helm?

no comrade... they are not knocking on your door asking for assistance they are marching straight in... if they were knocking on your door they would do so before they arrived and not after..sorry but all the fussy nicey doesnt work...

the people smugglers are choosing who comes here.. no one else.

Reply #12 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:

well surely they have figures out a way to get round that... my god these guys have mobil phones..does that mean they have battery chargers on board... come on....

I am amazed someone hasnt already lined up P.&O to do a stop in Java and save us all this bloody trouble..hey they could take them straight to Malaysia.. now theres a thought???... Julia are you paying attention?

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #13 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:37pm:
no comrade... they are not knocking on your door asking for assistance they are marching straight in... if they were knocking on your door they would do so before they arrived and not after..sorry but all the fussy nicey doesnt work...

But they are knocking on the door when they call the WA police.  If they didn't, then I'd agree that they are marching in.

Reply #14 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:47pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:37pm:

buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:23am:
THIS will be one to keep an eye on ...

Smuggling challenge sent to higher court

September 12, 2011

A CHALLENGE to Australia's people smuggling laws based on the rights of asylum seekers to enter the country will be referred to Victoria's highest court.

Lawyers for an accused people smuggler had asked the Victorian County Court to halt his case while a challenge to the law was heard by a higher court.
Today, Victorian County Court chief judge Michael Rozenes ruled the questions of law should be considered by the Victorian Court of Appeal.
The court heard similar questions have been referred to the Northern Territory's highest court for consideration.
Judge Rozenes joked it would be a race between the courts to see who could decide the matter first.
He said the Victorian Court of Appeal may decide it does not want to hear the case given the question of law is already before a Northern Territory court.

Last month, a lawyer for accused people smuggler Jeky Payara, 20, argued
under international law
, asylum seekers are permitted to come to Australia and make a claim for asylum

To prove a charge of people-smuggling, prosecutors must argue a person had no right to come to Australia, the lawyer Saul Holt said.

Mr Payara has pleaded not guilty to
aggravated people-smuggling, a new criminal offence created last
year that carries a mandatory five-year jail sentence

A ruling on the question of law would set a precedent that could affect 33 trials in Victoria and many more across Australia

http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/smuggling-challenge-sent-to-higher-court/st...

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5