Kytro

Blasphemy: a victimless
crime

Adelaide
Re: HILARIOUS!
Reply #15 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:55pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:27pm:
huhummmmmmmmmmm so what are we protecting then why is gillard scared sh1tless about people smugglers. whom she gave permission to to restart up the industry..........why are we floundering under heaps of uninvited people????...comrade I know you have the answer.... did any of these pass through Russia on the way here??? I see where Putin is back to bring back austerity. we might need to get ready for the invasion from Russia.. next!

I can only guess if people were just marching through your home uninvited you wouldnt bat and eyelid. good to know.

Gillard isn't so much scared as she has engaged in a political spitting match with the opposition over keeping out the nasty boat people (while ignoring the larger issue of visa over-stayers etc). I highly doubt people smugglers need permission, considering they are smugglers and all.

Australia isn't a house so the analogy does not make much sense, but if you were to extend it would be like having your 20 people come to your house and refuse to leave via the front door while you vehemently complain about the 2 than snuck in the back.

Reply #16 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:07pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm:
chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:
cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:18pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm:
So clearly they aren't attempting to invade and there is no danger.

What's next on your agenda?

its not my agenda you want to worry about comrade.. its gillards shes got one that says she stopping the boats or have you forgotton..

btw you arent not all that worried about our border protection I see.. they were probably all at lunch funny how the people smugglers have no trouble finding Christmas Island but we cant find them.... maybe we need to send our specialists to Java for a few lessons.. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Radar is not too good at picking up small wooden boats cods, never has been particularly if the weather and sea conditions are rough.

Perhaps the foreign criminal people smugglers can give Juliar a call on the batphone from Indonesia, and she can cut to the chase and send a troopship to pick up these prospective dole queue fodder and take them straight to a Centrelink office on the wharf at Christmas Island.
This would speed the process up some.

So, the current 23,000 and ALL past refugees are still dole bludgers are they?

the unemployment rate among refugees is close to 80%. you make your own determination!

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #17 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:10pm

Kytro wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:55pm:
huhummmmmmmmmmm so what are we protecting then why is gillard scared sh1tless about people smugglers. whom she gave permission to to restart up the industry..........why are we floundering under heaps of uninvited people????...comrade I know you have the answer.... did any of these pass through Russia on the way here??? I see where Putin is back to bring back austerity. we might need to get ready for the invasion from Russia.. next!

I can only guess if people were just marching through your home uninvited you wouldnt bat and eyelid. good to know.

Gillard isn't so much scared as she has engaged in a political spitting match with the opposition over keeping out the nasty boat people (while ignoring the larger issue of visa over-stayers etc). I highly doubt people smugglers need permission, considering they are smugglers and all.

I'm not sure what the government can do about visa overstayers even though they are a much larger issue.
I suspect they aren't hanging around at the address they would have given the department.
Perhaps electronic tracking devices could be inserted into the body when they get here?

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #18 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:14pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:07pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:31pm:

its not my agenda you want to worry about comrade.. its gillards shes got one that says she stopping the boats or have you forgotton..

btw you arent not all that worried about our border protection I see.. they were probably all at lunch funny how the people smugglers have no trouble finding Christmas Island but we cant find them.... maybe we need to send our specialists to Java for a few lessons.. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Radar is not too good at picking up small wooden boats cods, never has been particularly if the weather and sea conditions are rough.

Perhaps the foreign criminal people smugglers can give Juliar a call on the batphone from Indonesia, and she can cut to the chase and send a troopship to pick up these prospective dole queue fodder and take them straight to a Centrelink office on the wharf at Christmas Island.

So, the current 23,000 and ALL past refugees are still dole bludgers are they?

the unemployment rate among refugees is close to 80%. you make your own determination!

Talk about trying to misinterpreting statistics.  That figure refers to refugees who have been in the "system" for the past 5 years.  I'm talkin gabout ALL the refugees that have gone through the system. Still want to keep the claim to your 80%?

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Reply #19 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:16pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:30pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm:

The fact is, obviously we aren't under threat when the boat arrived and TOLD the police it was coming.

If a person knocked on my door and requested assistance because they were in danger, of course I would help them. Like any civilised and normal human being would.

As for Gillard, on some level I agree with you. She is engaging in this ridiculous political argument regarding boat people and is aiming to reach the bottom before Abbott.  That's pretty disgusting. But then what would I expect from Gillard and Abbott at the helm?

Blindly trusting people can backfire.....

Police are investigating a violent home invasion in which a 61- year-old woman was restrained for more than an hour while her home was ransacked.

Senior Constable Naomi Smith says a man knocked on the woman's door in Amarillo Drive in Karnup last night saying his car had broken down and he needed to use a telephone.

"As soon as the victim let him inside, two additional offenders armed with screwdrivers, a hammer and a wooden pole also forced their way in," she said.

"The three offenders detained the woman for almost an hour while they searched the home for valuables.

"They also forced open a firearms cabinet, stealing firearms and ammunition."

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #20 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:23pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm:

well surely they have figures out a way to get round that... my god these guys have mobil phones..does that mean they have battery chargers on board... come on....

I am amazed someone hasnt already lined up P.&O to do a stop in Java and save us all this bloody trouble..hey they could take them straight to Malaysia.. now theres a thought???... Julia are you paying attention?

Unfortunately, nothing has yet replaced the good old Mark 1 eyeball cods, unfortunately few advances have been made with radar since the old chrystal sets of the thirties.
Wood is simply a material that doesn't reflect well for radar to get a signal back from, particularly old rotten porous worm eaten wood.
And unfortunately our good old Mark 1 eyeball can only see as far as the horizon which is approximately 20 km give or take.
A search plane would have greater sighting range being higher in the air than a ships bridge, but still the eyes can only see to the horizon albeit in a 360 degree fashion.
The governments not quite ready to have ships stationed 20km apart between Christmas Island and Indonesia, we wouldn't have enough anyway for a 24/7 arrangement.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Kytro

Blasphemy: a victimless
crime

Adelaide
Reply #21 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:44pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:10pm:
I'm not sure what the government can do about visa overstayers even though they are a much larger issue.
I suspect they aren't hanging around at the address they would have given the department.
Perhaps electronic tracking devices could be inserted into the body when they get here?

The point was that in general people don't really care about the overstayers as much because it isn't high profile. All people who come here / stay here without a valid visa are small numbers compared to legitimate migration. 

I'm not saying we ignore the problem, but I am saying as a nation we have bigger fish to fry and other priorities that will affect our quality of life.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #22 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:47pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:10pm:
Kytro wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:55pm:

... Would you accept an electronic tracking device be inserted into you if you went travelling?

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

culldav

Reply #23 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:56pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:41pm:
cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:37pm:
no comrade... they are not knocking on your door asking for assistance they are marching straight in... if they were knocking on your door they would do so before they arrived and not after..sorry but all the fussy nicey doesnt work...

the people smugglers are choosing who comes here.. no one else.

But they are knocking on the door when they call the WA police.  If they didn't, then I'd agree that they are marching in.

Good to see you finally admit that all the other asylum seekers/refugees that didn’t tell any one they were coming to Australia “ARE JUST MARCHING IN”.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #24 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:08pm

culldav wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:56pm:
no comrade... they are not knocking on your door asking for assistance they are marching straight in... if they were knocking on your door they would do so before they arrived and not after..sorry but all the fussy nicey doesnt work...

But they are knocking on the door when they call the WA police.  If they didn't, then I'd agree that they are marching in.

Good to see you finally admit that all the other asylum seekers/refugees that didn’t tell any one they were coming to Australia “ARE JUST MARCHING IN”.

Grin Grin I must admit, you did a nice play on word there.

Too bad it means nothing considering it's all coming from a person who is so void of reality that it actually believes there are no problems being faced by refugees and children in danger in Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.

Grin  What a nuff.  

This is why travelling is so important for the bogans. So they can get a bit of education. Just a tad. And not become a cullnuff, who is advocating for keeping children in danger for its own selfish purpose of keeping its xenophobia at bay.
« Last Edit: Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:15pm by sir prince duke alevine »  

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #25 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:41pm

aww nuffy ran off.  Perhaps because it can't face reality.

progressiveslol

Reply #26 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:00pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 2:08pm:
culldav wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 1:56pm:

Grin Grin I must admit, you did a nice play on word there.

Too bad it means nothing considering it's all coming from a person who is so void of reality that it actually believes there are no problems being faced by refugees and children in danger in Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.

Grin  What a nuff.  

This is why travelling is so important for the bogans. So they can get a bit of education. Just a tad. And not become a cullnuff, who is advocating for keeping children in danger for its own selfish purpose of keeping its xenophobia at bay.

I dont think you are void of reality. Dont be so hard on yourself. You were probably dropped on your head as a kid is all. Chin up.

Reply #27 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:28pm

split hairs comrade split hairs its all youve got.and I am not interested in debating crap.

Reply #28 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:31pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 12:47pm:

buzzanddidj wrote on Sep 28th, 2011 at 8:23am:
THIS will be one to keep an eye on ...

Smuggling challenge sent to higher court

September 12, 2011

A CHALLENGE to Australia's people smuggling laws based on the rights of asylum seekers to enter the country will be referred to Victoria's highest court.

Lawyers for an accused people smuggler had asked the Victorian County Court to halt his case while a challenge to the law was heard by a higher court.
Today, Victorian County Court chief judge Michael Rozenes ruled the questions of law should be considered by the Victorian Court of Appeal.
The court heard similar questions have been referred to the Northern Territory's highest court for consideration.
Judge Rozenes joked it would be a race between the courts to see who could decide the matter first.
He said the Victorian Court of Appeal may decide it does not want to hear the case given the question of law is already before a Northern Territory court.

Last month, a lawyer for accused people smuggler Jeky Payara, 20, argued
under international law
, asylum seekers are permitted to come to Australia and make a claim for asylum

To prove a charge of people-smuggling, prosecutors must argue a person had no right to come to Australia, the lawyer Saul Holt said.

Mr Payara has pleaded not guilty to
aggravated people-smuggling, a new criminal offence created last
year that carries a mandatory five-year jail sentence

A ruling on the question of law would set a precedent that could affect 33 trials in Victoria and many more across Australia

http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/smuggling-challenge-sent-to-higher-court/st...

are they going to take into account who can pay the most for a place on the boat?????...its got nothing to do with asylum rights and we all know that..I could go over there and pay top dollar and get a spot on the next boat whos kidding whom?

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #29 - Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:36pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2011 at 3:28pm:

split hairs comrade split hairs its all youve got.and I am not interested in debating crap.

You're not interested in debating crap, and YET you are happy to keep talking about this nonsense issue that has been hyped up specifically for political reasons only to make governments look like they are acting on sommmeethingg? 

Ok... Looks like you have no idea. But I guess I should've guessed. After all, it's cods. What's new?