Are you guys watching the ABC (Read 4891 times)
mellie

Are you guys watching the ABC
Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:39pm

Dick Smiths population debate?

I hope so.

Cool

I like Dick Smith.

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Re: Are you guys watching the ABC
Reply #1 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:43pm

mellie wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:39pm:

I hope so.

Cool

I like Dick Smith.

Not yet, only just after 6.30 in Perth.

iamtheman012

Reply #2 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:49pm

perceptions_now wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:43pm:

I hope so.

Cool

I like Dick Smith.

I always thought you were from Adelaide for some reason Perceptions.
Shocked

mellie

Reply #3 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:50pm

I hope so.

Cool

I like Dick Smith.

We recently immigrated a population the size of Tasmania in 12 months.

Then wonder why we're struggling to sustain ourselves.

Cool Go Dick!

It's about time someone had the balls to speak up about it...when our politicians are just too PC to think about it, much less make it an election issue.

...lest we forget their campaign donations, and property developers.

Gillards boyfriend sells apartments to foreign investors, so she would like a big sprawling Australia too.

The bigger the demand for housing, the higher the property prices, and bigger commission for those who flog property.

Cool

« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:14pm by mellie »  

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

mellie

Reply #4 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:04pm

I'm voting for Dick Smith, I agree with him entirely.

Cool

Equitist

Reply #5 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:22pm

Yup, remembered to switch over a few minutes ago...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

mellie

Reply #6 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:39pm

Come on Tony , you need to push out the first population policy.

And fast!

Cool.... This oppose to a mere Gillard endorsed sustainable population minister.

Gillard impressed Dick Smith with her sustainable population slogan, but that's about it.

We need Tony to really get in on this population debate, without pissing off developers too much.

Can it be done?

« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:51pm by mellie »  

Equitist

Reply #7 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:46pm

For those who are intereested, Q&A is on now in the Eastern States...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #8 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:46pm

iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:49pm:

I hope so.

Cool

I like Dick Smith.

I always thought you were from Adelaide for some reason Perceptions.
Shocked

Been there a few times & it's a nice place, Adelaide!

But, Perth has a lot going for it!

mellie

Reply #9 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:53pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:46pm:
For those who are intereested, Q&A is on now in the Eastern States...

Yes I know, it appears Bobs had his vitamins tonight.

Appears a little more alert than he did last time round.

Cool

Equitist

Reply #10 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:55pm

Oh dear, the Libs have sent along their biggest pisspot - and he's definitely off his scone tonight...

mellie

Reply #11 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:56pm

Look, at least we are debating, it's a start!

Cool..  I am pleased they are all involved, and are there having a go.

Where is Miss Gillard and or Mr Abbott?

I wish they were both there too.

Cool

mellie

Reply #12 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:59pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:55pm:
Oh dear, the Libs have sent along their biggest pisspot - and he's definitely off his scone tonight...

ahhaha, yeah, he's a bit full isn't he, but he does make a few sobering points.

Hey, look what Labor sent though, the town sheik Lakemba planer, Mr Burker himself.

He hasn't said much!

Oh look...he's speaking...but is he really saying anything?

Roll Eyes.....  at the end of the day, they are all taking, and it's a start.

But I would have liked to see both Abbott and Gillard there the way Bob Brown  is there as leader of his party.

Look, we have to start taking this seriously, time to get real.

Now, will the really really real Gillard please stand up?

« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:06pm by mellie »  

Equitist

Reply #13 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:06pm

http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/

Live in the Studio 8:20pm - 10:40pm Eastern Australian Time

Q&A Population Debate

* Tony Burke - Minister for Sustainable Population

* Scott Morrison - Shadow Immigration Minister

* Bob Brown - leader of the Greens

* Dr Suvendrini Perera - Curtin University

* John Elliott - former leader of the Liberal Party

Reply #14 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:33pm

Why did they ask him BACK ?
For light hearted entertainment ?

He was a PISSED disgrace on his LAST appearance

mellie

Reply #15 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:33pm

Oh look, they tried to sneak the broadband issue in, no such luck, he's not that pissed.

Cool...

Jeeze, Labor really think they're on a winner with their BIG BROADBAND for a BIG AUSTRALIA don't they.

Will they ever shut up about it?

We'd rather have a BIGGER SURPLUS.

Look honestly, with the exception of the piss head and Dick Smith, they are all a pack of fat cat stuffy bureaucrats trying to promote themselves, and their sham-wow cloths (oops, I mean partys/selves).

Dicks right, at last we're talking about it now, they have 9 days to come up with a decent population policy.

I say we restrict immigration until we've figured out whether or not we are indeed capable of sustaining what we have.

This might be a good start.

Cooli
« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:38pm by mellie »  

iamtheman012

Reply #16 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:39pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:33pm:

Why did they ask him BACK ?
For light hearted entertainment ?

He was a PISSED disgrace on his LAST appearance

Because blokes like him represent the Australian Public more so than your mate Bob Brown. Understand Buzz?

Sappho

Reply #17 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:39pm

What I found profoundly disturbing and ethically untenable was that we do not provide the funding to train our own people, be they new or natural australians, to fill the skills shortages but are more than willing to take the best trained from poor and developing countries leaving those countries, who need the skills more than we, with skill shortages. 

It's a double insult. Australia couldn't be bothered with there own people's up skilling needs or the needs of the poorest nations.

"Love is a cunning weaver of fantasies and fables."

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #18 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:42pm

mellie wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:04pm:
I'm voting for Dick Smith, I agree with him entirely.
Cool  

A vote for Dick Smith is a vote for the Greens. He is an avid supporter of their environmental policies.

If you had bothered to listen to Bob Brown you would realise that he has more brains than the lot of them put together - excluding John Elliott of course who is brainless and a died in the wool Liberal drunk.

Jeeze, Labor really think they're on a winner with their BIG BROADBAND for a BIG AUSTRALIA don't they.

Will they ever shut up about it?

We'd rather have a BIGGER SURPLUS.

I think Labor are now doing a good job selling their Broadband surprisingly. I wasn't too keen on it - but it's starting to make sense.

Abbott hasn't a clue as to how the coalition is going to achieve a surplus unless it means higher taxes or cuts to essential services. We won't have a surplus for years from either government.

shampain socialist

Reply #19 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:45pm

Australia's population for its city to regional structure is too high already.
There are no incentives for people to move out of the cities, so increasing the population, without a massive change to planning to get people to other areas, is only going to make life increasingly unbearable in more Australian cities, as it is in Sydney now. If they can't plan, they shouldn't be taking in more people. Australia has enough people in that event.
It was absolutely great living in Australia when the population was a lot less than it is now, there was a real sense of community out in the real world, not just the mirage of one which is presented on the media, there was space, much less crime, full employment, the list goes on...it was brilliant. Now, you have to feel sympathy for young people being born into this mess now, and for people coming from other countries thinking that this is paradise.

Labor Marxist Feministas Unite!&&Take over the World! Nationalise spermbanks! Abolish Men!

Equitist

Reply #20 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:47pm

Sappho wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:39pm:
What I found profoundly disturbing and ethically untenable was that we do not provide the funding to train our own people, be they new or natural australians, to fill the skills shortages but are more than willing to take the best trained from poor and developing countries leaving those countries, who need the skills more than we, with skill shortages.  

It's a double insult. Australia couldn't be bothered with there own people's up skilling needs or the needs of the poorest nations.

Agreed - and throughout the extended boom, that the Howardian Libs presided over, many of today's unemployed and under-employed Aussies could have been funded through education and training to train them up to fill the purportedly unfilled skilled jobs...

Instead, they were shuffled through costly, pointless and counter-productive Welfare to Slavery and Work for the Dole programs...

Sappho

Reply #21 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:49pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:47pm:
Sappho wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:39pm:

Agreed - and throughout the extended boom, that the Howardian Libs presided over, many of today's unemployed and under-employed Aussies could have been funded through education and training to train them up to fill the purportedly unfilled skilled jobs...

Instead, they were shuffled through costly, pointless and counter-productive Welfare to Slavery and Work for the Dole programs...

Yep. I agree.

shampain socialist

Reply #22 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:50pm

not quite, sappho, but partially correct. The Australian education system has de-emphasised numeracy and science skills over the decades for a variety of reasons, with the result that there is now a huge shortfall in school students graduating with the subjects or results needed to enter the very professions where there are skills shortages.
If you do not have basic high school mathematics, you cannot enter any of the science or engineering or medical professions. Yet, here we have a school system which encourages students to drop mathematics altogether and concentrate on humanities and arts subjects. So, the country will have plenty of English teachers and librarians and clerks, but nowhere near enough engineers, doctors, pharmacists, and general science-based professionals.
Asking yourself *why* numeracy is not strongly emphasised in the Australian school system, might be a more productive consideration.

« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:57pm by shampain socialist »  

Labor Marxist Feministas Unite!&&Take over the World! Nationalise spermbanks! Abolish Men!

mellie

Reply #23 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:52pm

Could it be that we need a BIG BROADBAND to sustain a BIG AUSTRALIA a Gillard government have planned as our information highways begin to congest even more than they have already?

Cool

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #24 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:53pm

mantra wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:42pm:
A vote for Dick Smith is a vote for the Greens. He is an avid supporter of their environmental policies.

And a vote for the Greens is a vote for the ALP which has announced a nuclear waste dump in the NT, approved a new uranium mine and doubled mining exports to China.

Good old Bob hey?

That what he stands for these days?

shampain socialist

Reply #25 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:58pm

As usual we have the resident communist equitist weighing in to blame everything on those nasty "rich" "conservatives". The school education system in Australia has been highly politicised with left wing labor influences and staff. These influences traditionally do not have a skill or background in science and numeracy, that movement, and the people in it come from a rhetorical, ideological, language-based milieu, and this flows through into the school system which is heavily leftist/Marxist leaning. It is why you are more likely to find a "Labor Lawyer" like the extreme leftist Gillard, rather than a "Labor Engineer", the latter which is almost a contradiction in terms. Labor people think that engineers and people who are good at maths must be quasi-criminal types grounded in that "evil capitalist world".
You see what the country is up against?  You end up having to try recruiting people from other countries because the problems are so entrenched here. (Other countries still require their school students to study maths and science, thank goodness.)

mellie

Reply #26 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:00pm

Mantra, whilst Dick Smith agrees with some of Greens more lucid policies on environmental issues, I think you will find he's pro- the party who is prepared to deliver a responsible (and meaningful)  population policy, be it Liberal or Labor...the greens just aren't going to be key policy makers because they are flat out sustaining their own party as they pick-pocket starving uni-students and demand compulsory student union fees and sell off their preferences to the highest bidder.

Greens have some rather disturbing policies  Mantra wouldn't you agree?

Equitist

Reply #27 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:08pm

shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:45pm:
Australia's population for its city to regional structure is too high already.
There are no incentives for people to move out of the cities, so increasing the population, without a massive change to planning to get people to other areas, is only going to make life increasingly unbearable in more Australian cities, as it is in Sydney now. If they can't plan, they shouldn't be taking in more people. Australia has enough people in that event.
It was absolutely great living in Australia when the population was a lot less than it is now, there was a real sense of community out in the real world, not just the mirage of one which is presented on the media, there was space, much less crime, full employment, the list goes on...it was brilliant. Now, you have to feel sympathy for young people being born into this mess now, and for people coming from other countries thinking that this is paradise.

Methinks that you are now suffering from the shattering of your previous state of ignorant bliss...

For starters, crime rates have been totally misrepresented in recent years - with most categories falling...

As for the loss of the sense of community, perhaps you should consider the impact of the shift in propaganda and marketing, from predominantly social issues to monetary and economic matters - all of which is designed to make us feel inadequate and insecure so that we will wantonly consume in pursuit of happiness...

Oh, and this could have something to do wth the facts that mothers are denigrated if they stay home to raise their own kids and the majority of kids are no longer raised by large extended families...

What kinds of kids are we currently churning out - now that they and are increasingly being farmed off into unnatural production-line child handling prisons from infancy...!?

Equitist

Reply #28 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:19pm

shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:58pm:
As usual we have the resident communist equitist weighing in to blame everything on those nasty "rich" "conservatives". The school education system in Australia has been highly politicised with left wing labor influences and staff. These influences traditionally do not have a skill or background in science and numeracy, that movement, and the people in it come from a rhetorical, ideological, language-based milieu, and this flows through into the school system which is heavily leftist/Marxist leaning. It is why you are more likely to find a "Labor Lawyer" like the extreme leftist Gillard, rather than a "Labor Engineer", the latter which is almost a contradiction in terms. Labor people think that engineers and people who are good at maths must be quasi-criminal types grounded in that "evil capitalist world".
You see what the country is up against?  You end up having to try recruiting people from other countries because the problems are so entrenched here. (Other countries still require their school students to study maths and science, thank goodness.)

LOL...trust a linear Conservative mind to lack the capacity to appreciate the respective influences of nature and nurture...

Someone who has a natural strength will tend to gravitate towards that skill and avoid those things that they are not good at...

A individual person's inherent strengths and weaknesses in IQ (and EQ) are actually fairly consistent throughout their development - and the tendency for one to become, say, an Engineer or a Writer is typically predetermined by natural aptitudes and weaknesses...

It is very rare that someone, who lacks basic mathematic abilities at the age of about 10, will ever be able to achieve the success in maths as someone who is ahead in maths at the same age - regardless of any intensive tutoring maths...

mellie

Reply #29 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:21pm

For starters, crime rates have been totally misrepresented in recent years - with most categories falling...

Misrepresented you're not wrong, like Rudd closing the gap figures, of which were very telling, and contrary to what his government had promised, not unlike their promised education revolution.

Labor restricted funding to ABS  www.abs.gov.au/ of which has lead to some rather interesting lack-of statistics.

Our crime figures have soared, though due to ABS cut-backs, we wont know how much until Liberal get in.

Don't kid yourself, our prisons are overfull.

Check this out... if you have the time or bother...

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/08/09/2978079.htm?section=justin
&

http://www.cla.asn.au/0805/index.php/articles/2009/indigenous-prison-rate-scars-...

shampain socialist

Reply #30 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:29pm

it is not a matter of intensive tutoring to achieve mathematical skill. If the general culture of an education system emphasises language skills over numeracy skills, the tragedy is going to be, as it is already in Australia, that students who might have an innate numeracy ability are overlooked, simply because those who run the system do not themselves have that skill and cannot recognise or nurture it.
The fact that the education system in Australia is now politicised and full of people who have labor leanings has given rise to a "language, humanities-based" perspective, not a numeracy one. The labor side of politics, where most school teachers are from in Australia are big on the talk side of education, but they are crap at mathematics - just look at the labor government as well - can't balance the books, just all talk and credit cards. It's the same malaise in the Australian education system. You people have ruined this country and squandered its innate human skills because of your own blinkered political outlook.

The message given to school students in Australia today, from very early ages, unless the student is an absolute stand-out in maths, is along the lines of "oh, don't worry too much about maths, you won't really need it anyway, you can get enough points to get through without having to go through that".  Students then take the easier humanities subjects and do not *develop* ANY level of numeracy.
Maths has to be worked at and a skill developed to the best of one's ability over the years. It should be mandatory today as it used to be, not dropped simply because there aren't enough labor teachers today who can actually understand it themselves. How pathetic, but worse than that, it de-skills and dumbs down the population and results in industry not being able to recruit enough of the right skills sets.
The laborised Australian education system has seriously failed this country.
« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:37pm by shampain socialist »  

shampain socialist

Reply #31 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:43pm

I have actually seen HSC graduates who cannot hold down a job in retail simply because they cannot give change to customers!!  I mean, what sort of education system does this country now have that it produces absurd situations like that by the tens of thousands every year. That student would have passed all the exams and got a winky dinky good report from their lefty teacher and got an HSC - and can't bloody well add up at 17 years of age!!
Probably votes labor though, because they're told that they're the only ones who are going to "help" them.

Equitist

Reply #32 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:44pm

shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:29pm:
it is not a matter of intensive tutoring to achieve mathematical skill. If the general culture of an education system emphasises language skills over numeracy skills, the tragedy is going to be, as it is already in Australia, that students who might have an innate numeracy ability are overlooked, simply because those who run the system do not themselves have that skill and cannot recognise or nurture it.
The fact that the education system in Australia is now politicised and full of people who have labor leanings has given rise to a "language, humanities-based" perspective, not a numeracy one. The labor side of politics, where most school teachers are from in Australia are big on the talk side of education, but they are crap at mathematics - just look at the labor government as well - can't balance the books, just all talk and credit cards. It's the same malaise in the Australian education system. You people have ruined this country and squandered its innate human skills because of your own blinkered political outlook.

The message given to school students in Australia today, from very early ages, unless the student is an absolute stand-out in maths, is along the lines of "oh, don't worry too much about maths, you won't really need it anyway, you can get enough points to get through without having to go through that".  Students then take the easier humanities subjects and do not *develop* ANY level of numeracy.
Maths has to be worked at and a skill developed to the best of one's ability over the years. It should be mandatory today as it used to be, not dropped simply because there aren't enough labor teachers today who can actually understand it themselves. How pathetic, but worse than that, it de-skills and dumbs down the population and results in industry not being able to recruit enough of the right skills sets.
The laborised Australian education system has seriously failed this country.

So, remind us again what Howard's excuse was for chronically  underfunding science education, training, research and development - including the CSIRO - throughout an unprecedented period of national prosperity!?

shampain socialist

Reply #33 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:46pm

no, how about you not do lefty tap dances around the subject and explain why your side of politics has politicised the education system in Australia and produced generations of illiterate and innumerate "graduates". Is that how you produce labor voters is it? Dumb everyone down and then hold yourselves up as heros. You are disgusting hypocrits.
You do not deserve funding, dear, you people need to be sacked right out of the system in the interests of the nation's future.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #34 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 7:17am

deepthought wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:53pm:
mantra wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:42pm:

And a vote for the Greens is a vote for the ALP which has announced a nuclear waste dump in the NT, approved a new uranium mine and doubled mining exports to China.

You know full well that was a deal stitched up by the coalition with the World Nuclear Association before the 2007 NATO meeting.

no, how about you not do lefty tap dances around the subject and explain why your side of politics has politicised the education system in Australia and produced generations of illiterate and innumerate "graduates". Is that how you produce labor voters is it? Dumb everyone down and then hold yourselves up as heros. You are disgusting hypocrits.

You do not deserve funding, dear, you people need to be sacked right out of the system in the interests of the nation's future.

Don't blame one particular party for this poor excuse of an education system - both parties are to blame for dumbing down our kids.

They started using calculators in schools a couple of decades ago - and even some teachers today have to be taught how to spell.

My children went to school during the Howard era and maths just took a back seat on the curriculum - it wasn't considered essential. I taught them Maths and English. Those who were educated during the 60's and 70's were the lucky ones. Teachers were professional educators and physical discipline was used - not only by the schools but by the parents.

I agree with Equitist and Sappho - training needs to start here NOW and we don't need any more skilled labour. Many of them lie on their resumes anyway as corporations have discovered over the years.

Reply #35 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 8:24am

I've never really had an opinion either way on a big or small population, is not a political thing, the likes of Costello and Rudd agreed big was best but Gillard thinks small is best, so there are opinions both sides thats why its hard for a party to have a policy on it.
But, after watching the program last night, I'm now a believer,everything Dick said made sense. Dick Smith would have made a great politician, problem is he's  to honest.

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #36 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 11:41am

skippy. wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 8:24am:
I've never really had an opinion either way on a big or small population, is not a political thing, the likes of Costello and Rudd agreed big was best but Gillard thinks small is best, so there are opinions both sides thats why its hard for a party to have a policy on it.
But, after watching the program last night, I'm now a believer,everything Dick said made sense. Dick Smith would have made a great politician, problem is he's  to honest.

No matter what both major party's say, they are still inclined to the big is beautiful idea (at this time), because they are influenced by big business & Economists, who are convinced that Exponential Growth is not only possible, but that it must happen or the world will end, as was evidenced by the reactions from John Elliott & the big business representative on Q & A last night.  

As Dick Smith repeatedly pointed out, we live on a planet with finite resources, which means that there are limits and we are now approaching many major limitations, as demonstrated by Dr Albert Bartlett in the following series of video's -

1) There is a maximum sustainable Population, for both countries & the planet.
2) The greater the Population, the faster Essential Resources, such as Energy, Food & fresh Water will be used.
3) Population & Energy Growth/Decline ARE DIRECTLY RELATED TO CLIMATE CHANGE.

We are already at Peak Oil, which means that, in all likelihood, the next 20-30 years, will see increasing Demand because the Population is still rising, whilst the great Economic Enabler (oil) will be in terminal decline, as already started in 2005.

The decline of available Supply & the rising Price of our Energy Future, will directly & severely lessen our capacity to sustain our current Global Population, let alone continue to Exponentially increase it!  

In fact, I would suggest the POPULATION/ENERGY problem is not so much a Population Puzzle, it is more a GORDIAN KNOT, which will prove intractable and will finally result in the end of the current Political & Economic paradigm!

Trust me, I'm not a Politician, Economics & Politics can survive without a GROWTH Economy.

However, Economics & Politics will need to adapt, because the human race will not survive any attempt at Extended Exponential Growth!

Btw, VIDEO 3 COMPARES US (HUMANS) to BACTERIA, IT IS APPLICABLE!
« Last Edit: Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:05pm by perceptions_now »  

Reply #37 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:10pm

I haven't got time to watch the videos right now, but at least I know they will still be there tomorrow (unlike yahoo message boards) where important stuff disappeared in the blink of an eye.

Maybe we need a Great Depression of epic proportions, to knock the socks off the 'exponential growth is good' brigade. Perhaps the only way to learn will be the hard way. We will not do it of our own free will. People will not be prepared to give up the 'good life', two generations of 'me- me- me' will be a hard habit to crack.

When the stimulus stops and the housing bubble bursts, we will realise that we are not the rich country that we thought we were.

I really think this is but a short phase in history, and we will regress to past lifestyles that were so much easier on the planet.

Reply #38 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:22pm

Maybe we need a Great Depression of epic proportions, to knock the socks off the 'exponential growth is good' brigade

The likes of Elliot would still sing the praises of greed is good.

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #39 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:45pm

Reply #40 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:49pm

skippy. wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:22pm:
Maybe we need a Great Depression of epic proportions, to knock the socks off the 'exponential growth is good' brigade

I looked up the history of that Elliott guy, he's a common criminal, ripped off investors then declared bankruptcy when ordered to pay it back. What a jerk!!!!

Reply #41 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:51pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:49pm:
skippy. wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:22pm:

I looked up the history of that Elliott guy, he's a common criminal, ripped off investors then declared bankruptcy when ordered to pay it back. What a jerk!!!!

Thats correct.
BUT, you left out the best bit, John Elliot was also the president of the federal LIBERAL PARTY for quite a few years.

Sappho

Reply #42 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 1:35pm

shampain socialist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:50pm:
not quite, sappho, but partially correct. The Australian education system has de-emphasised numeracy and science skills over the decades for a variety of reasons, with the result that there is now a huge shortfall in school students graduating with the subjects or results needed to enter the very professions where there are skills shortages.
If you do not have basic high school mathematics, you cannot enter any of the science or engineering or medical professions. Yet, here we have a school system which encourages students to drop mathematics altogether and concentrate on humanities and arts subjects. So, the country will have plenty of English teachers and librarians and clerks, but nowhere near enough engineers, doctors, pharmacists, and general science-based professionals.
Asking yourself *why* numeracy is not strongly emphasised in the Australian school system, might be a more productive consideration.

Yes I agree that this too is a serious issues... and it seems that this lack of skill in maths and science has bipartisan approval since neither side of politics does nothing to resolve this problem.

Such a despicable thing it is to discourage our own in areas of knowledge that are... lets face it... expensive to deliver, yet mine for minds in poor countries, stripping them of their science/maths based resources.

How are poor nations expected to improve if the means of improvement are always being denied them. How are affluent nations expected to grow their cutting edge, if their people are being dumbed down and their brightest, resulting from their education systems or from the poaching of others, are kept as a scarce resource in high demand.

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #43 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 1:50pm

mantra wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 7:17am:
You know full well that was a deal stitched up by the coalition with the World Nuclear Association before the 2007 NATO meeting.

That was overturned and the legislation repealed.

The Greens/ALP coalition are planning their own nuclear dump.

Nuclear waste dump is a duty: Ferguson

Mr Ferguson announced last week that the Howard government's Commonwealth Radioactive Waste Management Act would be repealed, and that a new bill, stipulating scientific and environmental processes to be carried out, would go before the Senate.

<snip>

While it is understood the federal government has agreed to pay the Ngapa clan $12 million in trust for volunteering the land, NLC chief executive officer Kim Hill said the group hoped the deal would be renegotiated once the scientific and environmental assessment processes were completed.

Five clan groups are connected to five different dreaming sites on Muckaty Station, which covers an area of about 1200 square kilometres.

The Ngapa clan have volunteered about four square kilometres of their land for the nuclear dump, which would occupy a one-square-kilometre parcel of that area.

Link

Reply #44 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:01pm

Are you expecting a GREENS/Labor coalition ,deepy? Grin Shocked

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #45 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:02pm

skippy. wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:01pm:

Are you expecting a GREENS/Labor coalition ,deepy? Grin Shocked

Not in government

mellie

Reply #46 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:08pm

We are the highest growth nation in the world, and are sprawling into metropolis urban slums, of what's been coined by demographer's as the  'Manhattanization' of Australia's cities.

And it's not something our current Labor government went into blindfolded when they preceded to mass-immigrate and place tremendous strains on our buckling infrastructure.

Take a look at this article, the report is due....when?

http://www.fig.net/news/news_2008/sydney_oct_2008.htm

Commission 3 at the 9th Congress of Metropolis
Trends in Megacities – Metropolis Congress 2008
Sydney, Australia, 22-25 October 2008

The working group has published the results of questionnaires and visits in its Stage 1 Report. Various members of the working group are currently undertaking the review of existing published information and their findings will be progressively reported as they become available. The working group will use all this information to prepare its final report due in 2010.

Where's the 2010 report?

vegitamite

Reply #47 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:09pm

no, how about you not do lefty tap dances around the subject and explain why your side of politics has politicised the education system in Australia and produced generations of illiterate and innumerate "graduates
===========================

Gee, blame the government.

Oh boy , sure, this is going to be seen as here say. But I here say it anyway.

My sons went to school in an area I am sure classes as  a  'lower social ' area. In the public system. I watched one of my sons who either got encourage for asking questions OR in trouble for it. The teacher that encourage it he seemed to do well at that subject. Maths was one of these subjects.
When he started High school he was in Maths 4 by year 10 he was in Maths 1 by year 12 he was coming 1st in maths 1 sometimes out done  by a girl.

For me, they system is what the system is. It's up to the child the teachers and the parents to help put the proiorties of education in place.
I have a brother whose son is illiterate and he always blames the government, the school and the education  ' Fuuny tho He also NEVER took any time effort or insight into his sons education.Other wise he would have KNOWN his child couldnt spell or read by the time he was out looking for work after finishing school.

I know where the problems lay. yes the government isnt doing a perfect job BUT  there is also another cobrate.  ........!