Re: Debate.
Reply #15 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:32pm

hi james,
thanks for you honesty.
...... If the Rudd government did not move quickly to implement the stimulus package, we would have had a higher unemployment, higher cost of living than it already is, higher inflation, and the interest rates would rise faster than they already are. ........

That's a false supposition. The same did not happen overseas.

I would like the Liberal supporters to tell me how Tony Abbott cutting the NBN, Laptops in Schools, BER and Trade Training Centre's will benefit education and improve education? 

fasrter downloads of porn, outdated laptops and unwanted sheds do not help education.
lack of waste there and spending on teachers help education

James Bluntus

Reply #16 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:44pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:32pm:
hi james,
thanks for you honesty.
...... If the Rudd government did not move quickly to implement the stimulus package, we would have had a higher unemployment, higher cost of living than it already is, higher inflation, and the interest rates would rise faster than they already are. ........

I would like the Liberal supporters to tell me how Tony Abbott cutting the NBN, Laptops in Schools, BER and Trade Training Centre's will benefit education and improve education?  

fasrter downloads of porn, outdated laptops and unwanted sheds do not help education.

I really don't know how to read you Sprint. One minute your Labor, next minute your Lib. Outdated Laptops you say? Are you a recipient of the laptop? I am, and I can tell you, that the laptops have been a huge help for me as a student in the classroom. The BER could have been thought out better by giving the money to the school to spend. I don't believe you said anything about the TTC. If they scrape the NBN, we will be way behind in terms of technology. How do you improve services, if you cut money from those services?

Keep David Harris for Wyong. He gets things done.

Reply #17 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:47pm

Why is it whenever the internet is discussed it "faster porn" NBN or "child porn" filter.
Just a tip for both sides the internet does alot more than aid masturbation. Wink

James Bluntus

Reply #18 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:49pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:47pm:

Why is it whenever the internet is discussed it "faster porn" NBN or "child porn" filter.
Just a tip for both sides the internet does alot more than aid masturbation. Wink

Here, Here. As I have been saying. We would be way behind in terms of technology without it.

Keep David Harris for Wyong. He gets things done.

iamtheman012

Reply #19 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:56pm

James Bluntus wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:49pm:

Here, Here. As I have been saying. We would be way behind in terms of technology without it.

What do you mean 'without it'? Are you referring to the NBN? Please understand only 2, i repeat 2 towns  currently have access and today the first school was connected in Tassie.

The VAST majority of economic hubs are currently services by ADSL2+, in fact Telstra has just upgraded Melbourne to 100mbits/sec and Optus will be upgrading ALL it's FO to 75mbits/sec.

The ALP NBN is NOT necessary and WILL blow over budget. One only needs to compare it to Singapore to understand that.

As for the Computer program, WHAT guarantees do we have from Labor that the program will continue into the future? Will this be a one-off vote buying exercise that will only benefit those how have already or are targeted to receive theirs?

The 'idea' behind the Computer in Schools program was for students to have access to the NBN to create an online learning environment, however it appears the ALP have got things arse about once again.

« Last Edit: Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:24pm by iamtheman012 »  

Reply #20 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:57pm

james - so i assume your laptop survives on the system it has ?
how old is it ?
how has it that  Quote:
.......the laptops have been a huge help for me as a student in the classroom.....
?

I am not trying to disprove you.
we have finite financial resources, and education is to be grasped by the eager, not pushed onto the unwanting.

iamtheman012

Reply #21 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:05pm

James Bluntus wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:44pm:
hi james,
thanks for you honesty.

I really don't know how to read you Sprint. One minute your Labor, next minute your Lib. Outdated Laptops you say? Are you a recipient of the laptop? I am, and I can tell you, that the laptops have been a huge help for me as a student in the classroom. The BER could have been thought out better by giving the money to the school to spend. I don't believe you said anything about the TTC. If they scrape the NBN, we will be way behind in terms of technology. How do you improve services, if you cut money from those services?

James, surely a smarter approach to the BER stimulus program would have been to bring forward the roll-out of the 'TTC's' as part of the overall package, instead of wasting it on COLA's and new for new building?

White Dove

Reply #22 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:06pm

Only the dopey GALP voters in Adelaide and NT want this nonsense.  ADSL2+ is as fast as you need to download movies and watch porn (so they tell me).

Does anyone who wants this NBN really know what it involves? 

To set up an area with "cables" either means "rolling them out" via the telegraph poles or digging to lay them underground .  I suspect that if "cabling" via telegraph poles was feasible that would already have been done.

In my area, they talked about cabling but since all services (phone, electricity, gas, etc) are underground digging to install cable for the Internet wasn't feasible. Too costly, blah blah.  So the local GALP Government has done NOTHING.  It has been up to Telstra and other ISPs who have hijacked the telephone exchanges and made them ADSL2+ .

Besides. Cable is so last decade.  There are many other types of ways to get "fast" internet.  How fast do you want to download porn anyway? 

I find my current ADSL2+ is fast enough to watch movies, if I want. At $49.95 a month for 20 Gigs "free".  I doubt that I get to 3 Gigs a month.

How fast do you vant your email? ROFL

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #23 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:28pm

Telstra and Optus already have cable offering the projected speeds of the white elephant NBN today.  And this cable passes about 2.5 million homes.

The problem they have is getting people to sign up.

If people won't take up the offer now why does the GALP reckon they will do so when they put a replica cable alongside?

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #24 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 10:35pm

James Bluntus wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 9:20pm:
The government has been a responsible government in terms of looking after the older section of the population. They provided a $30.00 increase in the single aged pension. This is more than what a coalition would have done.

The GALP gave with one hand and took away with the other as they always do.

As you know Jules was opposed to the increase because, it was claimed, she reckoned old people don't vote Labor.

And why would they?

When the GALP increased the single pension they slashed the ratio for couples from 167% to 150%.  Effectively reducing the increased amount to couples.

They also lifted the tax rate for earnings above the sepcified amount making pensioners who earn extra income over that amount the highest taxed people in the country.

Don't believe a word of the GALPs.  They are very deceptive and they always punish those least able to pay.  They care only for themselves and their union mates.

mozzaok

Reply #25 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:15pm

The ALP NBN is NOT necessary and WILL blow over budget.

I am sick of hearing uninformed opinion about the NBN, ALL the people with any knowledge, and expertise in the field, understand that fibre optics is the only way to deliver fast, "RELIABLE" broadband, that will meet the needs of the country for the foreseeable future, that meaning, for at least several decades to come.
Copper is 19th century technology, and only the Libs would be stupid enough to suggest we stick with it as our infrastructure to go into the future with in the 21st century.

The cost blowout lie being spread by Liberals is politely described as misinformed, by people who work in the industry, who expect the NBN to actually be able to be delivered significantly cheaper than expected, due to Telstra getting involved and allowing it's cable carrying systems to be used, which will save billions.

Now whilst I do not think Labor's NBN is perfect, it is a "REAL" plan, delivering "REAL" infrastructure, which will deliver "REAL" results, unlike the Libs bullshite scheme to tinker with the copper., which will deliver nothing better than we already have.

Why does the Liberal party hate Australia so much that it refuses to invest money HERE?
They preferred to send the tens of billions of aussie dollars overseas to be swallowed up by a US investment fund, just before the big crash.
Great financial managers who do not like investing in Australia, yep, that sounds like the Libs to me.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

iamtheman012

Reply #26 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:32pm

mozzaok wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:15pm:

I am sick of hearing uninformed opinion about the NBN, ALL the people with any knowledge, and expertise in the field, understand that fibre optics is the only way to deliver fast, "RELIABLE" broadband, that will meet the needs of the country for the foreseeable future, that meaning, for at least several decades to come.
Copper is 19th century technology, and only the Libs would be stupid enough to suggest we stick with it as our infrastructure to go into the future with in the 21st century.

The cost blowout lie being spread by Liberals is politely described as misinformed, by people who work in the industry, who expect the NBN to actually be able to be delivered significantly cheaper than expected, due to Telstra getting involved and allowing it's cable carrying systems to be used, which will save billions.

Now whilst I do not think Labor's NBN is perfect, it is a "REAL" plan, delivering "REAL" infrastructure, which will deliver "REAL" results, unlike the Libs bullshite scheme to tinker with the copper., which will deliver nothing better than we already have.

Why does the Liberal party hate Australia so much that it refuses to invest money HERE?
They preferred to send the tens of billions of aussie dollars overseas to be swallowed up by a US investment fund, just before the big crash.
Great financial managers who do not like investing in Australia, yep, that sounds like the Libs to me.

Actually moron i have extensive experience within the field, hence the reason I said the 'ALP NBN' is NOT necessary, NOT FO is not necessary. Clearly it's YOU who doesn't have ANY industry knowledge given you've been sucked in by the spin; either that or you lack comprehension skills.

Do some research before opening your ignorant mouth again. I bet YOU think the 'Computers in Schools' is on budget? LOL.

And FYI, I don't support either plan as they are both flawed.

« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:21am by iamtheman012 »  

iamtheman012

Reply #27 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:41pm

mozzaok wrote on Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:15pm:

FYI moron, a VERY good percentage of the Telstra Network is due for upgrade anyway, but i suppose YOU think FO last forever?

LOL.

How about offering something of VALUE in future instead of your usual misinformed bias rubbish.

Equitist

Reply #28 - Aug 11th, 2010 at 11:58pm

Those of you, who are saying that we don't need substantially faster internet, appear to be ignorant of the trends in online marketing that are consuming ever larger amounts of data and increasingly-impacting upon load times...

With 3 regular internet users in my household (2 being techno hungry adolescents), we are finding that we are starting to regularly breach our monthly 12GB allocation - which, incidentally, is about double our maximum usage in the preceeding year...

For obvious reasons, I have been under increasing pressure over the past few months, to fork out to upgrade our plan...

My 15YO just scoffed at a comment he heard on Lateline about the Libs' claims that the speeds under their plan were adequate...

Either way, I reckon that the Libs have severely underestimated the nature and extent of the trends in both corporate and household internet usage - and therefore the unpopularity of their terribly counter-intuitive and counter-productive proposal...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

shampain socialist

Reply #29 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:01am

have you ever thought about telling your expensive adolescents "NO", they cannot have more internet access, instead of letting them feed on their own expectations. That isn't the labor way though is it.
Here you go, I can do it for you, get them to read this post: "No, you spoilt left wing ingrate, you can't have any more internet access, and what's more, you're going to have it reduced - unless you would like to get off your butt and go out and get a job to help pay for your own pastimes."

Labor Marxist Feministas Unite!&&Take over the World! Nationalise spermbanks! Abolish Men!

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 9