Pages: 1 2 3 ... 13
Why Labor deserves a second term (Read 23867 times)
mozzaok

Why Labor deserves a second term
Aug 3rd, 2010 at 9:58am

quote author=Verge link=1280789792/0#4 date=1280791103]Since business also gets the benefits out of mothers returning to work, why shouldnt they pay for the costs as well instead of just the taxpayer, as is the case with Labors paid maternity leave scheme? [/quote]

Now this is a perfect example of the utter hypocrisy of the fanboy attitude to politics.

This poster is intelligent, well read, and well able to comprehend the policy he is advocating, and in this case, adding his tick of approval to it.

Now change one fact, one tiny detail, which has no bearing in any way whatsoever on the effect of this "levy" on the country, and the economy, change it to being proposed by Labor, instead of Liberals, and we can most certainly agree the views expressed by this poster would reverse 180 degrees.

Now do the same for Skippy, imagine Labor had proposed this, and not Abbott, then he would be singing it's praises.

Most of us are guilty of such hypocrisy, to varying degrees, but we really should take an honest look at what Labor has achieved so far, in trying to decide if they deserve a second term.

I am open in my long term dislike of the Liberal party, but I am also not foolish enough to not respect the good work they have done, and do not think the world will end if they win office again, just that they will enable the big end of town to reneg on paying it's fair share again, and they will not show any faith in Australia, by actually investing in it.

It is the Liberals constant lack of investment in infrastructure that annoys me the most. Before the GFC, we saw the greatest economic resource boom in our country's history, and the Libs squandered all that on middle and high class welfare, and refused to invest in developing infrastructure to build a better country

Now Labor if re-elected, will no doubt have some more stuff ups, but the fact that they sheltered us from the Global Financial Crisis, so effectively, should be appreciated by all for the great feat of economic management that it was, and therefore they should be the party given the go ahead to go forward and complete the tasks it has started, which are investing in Australia, which are providing infrastructure, which are providing opportunities for a better and fairer future.

We will see a better Health system, a better Education system, a world class Broadband system and we will see more investment by Australian government in Australia.

What Labor is doing is like a family investing in their home, by doing renovations, which will improve their enjoyment of their home, and improve it's value.

Why the Libs always refuse to do anything like that when in power is a mystery to me, it is what governments should do.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Verge

Re: Why Labor deserves a second term
Reply #1 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:12am

mozzaok wrote on Aug 3rd, 2010 at 9:58am:
quote author=Verge link=1280789792/0#4 date=1280791103]Since business also gets the benefits out of mothers returning to work, why shouldnt they pay for the costs as well instead of just the taxpayer, as is the case with Labors paid maternity leave scheme?

Now this is a perfect example of the utter hypocrisy of the fanboy attitude to politics.

This poster is intelligent, well read, and well able to comprehend the policy he is advocating, and in this case, adding his tick of approval to it.

Now change one fact, one tiny detail, which has no bearing in any way whatsoever on the effect of this "levy" on the country, and the economy, change it to being proposed by Labor, instead of Liberals, and we can most certainly agree the views expressed by this poster would reverse 180 degrees.
[/quote]

I support the Labs paid maternity leave scheme as well.

I acknowledge that the Libs is more generous, hence why Im happy to see the more generous program supported by business.

Im one of the few Liberals that think major businesses shouldnt be given a free ride.  With banks making over $2billion in an economic (near) recession, I wouldnt mind seeing them contribute a bit more.

Not all us Liberals are one eyed supporters Mozz.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #2 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:19am

Now do the same for Skippy, imagine Labor had proposed this, and not Abbott, then he would be singing it's praises

I'm not pro Labor Mozz, I'm pro GREEN, and anti extreme far right neo con, hence anti Liberal party.
I dont think Abbotts plan to increase business tax is the best plan though, I think the mining companies that rape our lands need to pay their fair share for the product that comes out of our soil only ONCE.

bwood1946

Reply #3 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:19am

Verge wrote on Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:12am:
quote author=Verge link=1280789792/0#4 date=1280791103]Since business also gets the benefits out of mothers returning to work, why shouldnt they pay for the costs as well instead of just the taxpayer, as is the case with Labors paid maternity leave scheme?

I support the Labs paid maternity leave scheme as well.

I acknowledge that the Libs is more generous, hence why Im happy to see the more generous program supported by business.

Im one of the few Liberals that think major businesses shouldnt be given a free ride.  With banks making over $2billion in an economic (near) recession, I wouldnt mind seeing them contribute a bit more.

Not all us Liberals are one eyed supporters Mozz. [/quote]

you can expect a Labor voter, to understand that
they are all built like Cyclops

TPI  VETERAN
bwood1946 bwood1946  

Cyberman

Reply #4 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:23am

I think the mining companies that rape our lands need to pay their fair share for the product that comes out of our soil only ONCE.

Thy do and it is collected by the states who own it, not the federal govt who have no claim to it because they would use it to prop up the useless states who couldn't generate a dollar if they tried

Reply #5 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:28am

Cyberman wrote on Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:23am:
I think the mining companies that rape our lands need to pay their fair share for the product that comes out of our soil only ONCE.

Thy do and it is collected by the states who own it, not the federal govt who have no claim to it because they would use it to prop up the useless states who couldn't generate a dollar if they tried

They need to pay more.
Mines are not a normal business what they produce comes out ONCE,,,,when its gone its gone for good, we need to treat the mines different to other business.

laborfornever

Reply #6 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:35am

sheltered us from the GFC??

I'd say delayed us from it effects which are now really starting to be seen.

Look around you shops for lease every where, record numbers of mature age applicants for TAFE and Uni, record number of mortgage defaults, true rate of UP probably 25% Huge numbers of people classified as under employed who can only get part time work. The tourims in FNQ is down 25% the gold coast 20%.

Record number of job applicants for advertised jobs, job advertisments at lowest level in 6 years. Every shop you walk past has some sort of major discounts on stock, Restaurants closing by the day.

People aren't going anywhere or spending money, Why?? cause they have no job certainty are broke and the cost of living is meaning people can't afford jack. How is building a few school halls going to stimulate the economy or putting insulation in ppls roofs. if the gov really wanted to stimulate the economy create jobs ensure prosperity it would lower interest rates to 2% reduce income tax, rather than borrow billions that will burden us for decades to come.

What would you prefer, a $100 a week cut in your mortgage costs and a $20 a week tax cut?? or a school hall in a school about to be closed, rate cuts would see imediate increase in expediture ensuring business (remember those they're the things that employ ppl) survive and are able to employ people leading to less centrelink payments increase in income tax for the gov etc.

The stimulus payments delayed the inevitable

Yep labor sure saved us. They haven't got a dam clue.

Now here is the complete absudity of the situation, with all these factors the RBA still has interest rate rises on the horison because inflation might touch 3.5%.

Well bugger me dead petrol goes up rent goes up food goes up we spend more so it causes inflation, the debtors now have to charge more to produce the same or make the same profit, so up goes food rent etc, then up goes inflation up goes rates and we go around in circles day after dam day.

Reply #7 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:41am

You need a little lay down and a bex sweetie, you keep this up and you;ll cark it before the election, bit like Abbott, burn out.

ellis

Reply #8 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:43am

I do not agree that labor should have another term what a ridiculous mentality to hold based on your post.

It is very clear labor lost their way and in a very very big way and to some how think that because the coalition didn't focus on infrastructure at a critical point when our debt left by Keating was 92 billion.

I would sooner have a conservative government any day over one that is lets face it hopelessly addicted to spending and laughs at the waste.

But again I stress just look at each government based on performance nothing else and the coalition make this latest labor government look like the fools they are.

laborfornever

Reply #9 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:46am

old mate skippy again just dismesses out of hand any point in my post, all are valid.

However as it shows labor as the fools they ar eits best to just move along and pretend everything is fine.

labor have no economic credibillity and by defending what they do shows your lack of intelligence.

Reply #10 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 11:08am

Now do the same for Skippy, imagine Labor had proposed this, and not Abbott, then he would be singing it's praises.

Most of us are guilty of such hypocrisy, to varying degrees, but we really should take an honest look at what Labor has achieved so far, in trying to decide if they deserve a second term.

I am open in my long term dislike of the Liberal party, but I am also not foolish enough to not respect the good work they have done, and do not think the world will end if they win office again, just that they will enable the big end of town to reneg on paying it's fair share again, and they will not show any faith in Australia, by actually investing in it.

It is the Liberals constant lack of investment in infrastructure that annoys me the most. Before the GFC, we saw the greatest economic resource boom in our country's history, and the Libs squandered all that on middle and high class welfare, and refused to invest in developing infrastructure to build a better country

Now Labor if re-elected, will no doubt have some more stuff ups, but the fact that they sheltered us from the Global Financial Crisis, so effectively, should be appreciated by all for the great feat of economic management that it was, and therefore they should be the party given the go ahead to go forward and complete the tasks it has started, which are investing in Australia, which are providing infrastructure, which are providing opportunities for a better and fairer future.

We will see a better Health system, a better Education system, a world class Broadband system and we will see more investment by Australian government in Australia.

What Labor is doing is like a family investing in their home, by doing renovations, which will improve their enjoyment of their home, and improve it's value.

Why the Libs always refuse to do anything like that when in power is a mystery to me, it is what governments should do. [/quote]

That was a badly named post. you spent the entire time bemoaning one-eyed politics and at the end found a few highly debatable 'reasons' to vote labor. and the myth that howard ignored infrastructure is frequently repeated and never supported. the same with the middle class welfare nonsense which ignores that LOW income welfare increased massively.

Reply #11 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 11:10am

skippy. wrote on Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:28am:
Cyberman wrote on Aug 3rd, 2010 at 10:23am:

They need to pay more.
Mines are not a normal business what they produce comes out ONCE,,,,when its gone its gone for good, we need to treat the mines different to other business.

do you know what farmers do who export food?? they are actually exporting TOPSOIL - a finite resource. they should be taxed for the same reason.

our car exporters are using a FINITE resource and should be taxed for this crime as well.

Reply #12 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 11:13am

Don't reckon a 'super tax' on banks would attract any criticism.  At least miners provide employment and resources...banks just get rich from holding your money.

vegitamite

Reply #13 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 11:15am

would sooner have a conservative government any day over one that is lets face it hopelessly addicted to spending and laughs at the waste.

===================

with respect.

Can you tell  me how or what you think Abbott should or will do if we hit another bout in the GFC.?

Reply #14 - Aug 3rd, 2010 at 11:18am

would sooner have a conservative government any day over one that is lets face it hopelessly addicted to spending and laughs at the waste.

===================

with respect.

Can you tell  me how or what you think Abbott should or will do if we hit another bout in the GFC.?

You mean another imagined crisis?

Well, I'm sure he'd do fine.

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 13