Pages: 1 ... 62 63 64 65 66 ... 488
What Are You Listening To? (Read 792920 times)
Soren

Re: What Are You Listening To?
Reply #945 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 7:31pm

NorthOfNorth wrote on Nov 11th, 2011 at 7:05am:
Soren wrote on Nov 10th, 2011 at 10:15am:
NorthOfNorth wrote on Nov 10th, 2011 at 2:47am:
Soren wrote on Nov 9th, 2011 at 10:21pm:
You are goddam grown ups, stop acting like adolescents - and retarded adolescents at that. Your youth is gone. Fair f***ing dinkum. What hope is there for your children when their parents and grandparents are still living in fantasy land? You are feeding your minds with artless sh!t and in all probability are ramming the same effluent down the throats of your offsprings. How smacking awful for them to have parents who can't move on from their teenage sensibilities. They deserve better than such god-awful low, artless, mindless, stodgy tripe in music and sensibility. It reveals their mother's and granddad's inner not-even-shallowness.
I hope to god they are rebellng. I am.

You tell 'em, Pop.

http://beatlephotoblog.com/photos/2010/08/0011.jpg http://beatlephotoblog.com/photos/2010/09/62-300x249.jpg

The brain rotting, emotionally degraded qualities of pop and rock aretrue. Artistic, musical junk food of the worst kind and feeding it to the souls and minds of the young is even worse that feeding them junk food.

Those damnable and outrageous rambunctious fuggledoobian snodgrippers, eh pop..
http://beatlephotoblog.com/photos/2010/08/0011.jpg

Not arsebandit Kenny Everett of 1971 as your cultural compass??? What horror. That does date you even more than your attachment to wock 'n woll and popp crapp. All I remember about him is his catchcry 'Let's press the button marked idiot and see what comes out".

And sure enough, 30 years on, it's still a sneering defender of mind-rotting musical fast food from the 70s.

barnaby joe

euchareena
Reply #946 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 8:22pm

Grey wrote on Nov 11th, 2011 at 11:48am:
NorthOfNorth wrote on Nov 10th, 2011 at 7:52am:
Sappho wrote on Nov 10th, 2011 at 7:38am:
I'm not a fan of Borat and just had that reaffirmed.... but Kaufman... now he was funny.

Yeah Borat really had the cringe factor...

Check this out for human vocals

This delighted me, Slovenia has a great choral tradition. The intro was brilliant.

yesss... slovenia has such a great choral tradition. oh my god you pseudo intellectual bongbrain.

Equitist

Reply #947 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 8:58pm

Grey wrote on Nov 11th, 2011 at 11:48am:
I'm not a fan of Borat and just had that reaffirmed.... but Kaufman... now he was funny.

This delighted me, Slovenia has a great choral tradition. The intro was brilliant.

Ditto - totally awesome!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

BatteriesNotIncluded

MediocrityNET: because
people died for this!

Reply #948 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 9:12pm

*Sure....they're anti competitive as any subsidised job is.  It wouldn't be there without the tax payer.  Very damned difficult for a brainwashed collectivist to understand that I know....  (swaggy) *

Soren

Reply #949 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 9:16pm

Makes Eurovision look like the goddam Beyreuth Festival.
Check out the guy doing the drumming sound effects. Just too bloody awful for words.

Here's something worth listening to if you want to hear singing

Soren

Reply #950 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 9:19pm

Soren

Reply #951 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 9:23pm

Grey

Reply #952 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 10:03pm

barnaby joe wrote on Nov 11th, 2011 at 8:22pm:

[/quote]

yesss... slovenia has such a great choral tradition. oh my god you pseudo intellectual bongbrain. [/quote]

Smiley Well it does and if you were intersted enough in music to listen to the music show you'd know that. But it's not me that that's the pseud, it's your little blonk pal Soren. He's the one perpetually trying to convince himself how elevated his taste is.

Soren - I happen to be a big fan of Cecillia Bartoli so thanks for that, I enjoyed it. Now if you want to discuss art, tell us what you think the point of it is?

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

mozzaok

Reply #953 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 10:15pm

I think it may be Soren appearing in this little clip, at the 51 second, and 1:06 marks.  Grin Grin Grin

Anyone who can deride all popular music as musical junk food, has obviously had a how to have fun bypass performed upon them.
While much of the classical music he values is inspirational and beautiful, it also has it's share of the boring and mundane as well, and a great deal even worse than that. Just because the people that wrote it and liked it are long dead, does not automatically elevate it to deserving our attention, or praise.

Check out Rickie Lee, not a great voice, nor a great technician, but people with hearts and souls connect to the emotions she does have the talent to convey.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

BatteriesNotIncluded

MediocrityNET: because
people died for this!

Reply #954 - Nov 11th, 2011 at 10:48pm

This guy does heaps of stuff ............  Wink

*Sure....they're anti competitive as any subsidised job is.  It wouldn't be there without the tax payer.  Very damned difficult for a brainwashed collectivist to understand that I know....  (swaggy) *

mozzaok

Reply #955 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 8:04am

Soren - I happen to be a big fan of Cecillia Bartoli so thanks for that, I enjoyed it. Now if you want to discuss art, tell us what you think the point of it is?
-Grey

Pretty fair question there, I think.

I cannot help but wonder if Soren had been alive at the time of Mozart, and  Beethoven, if he would have derided them as populist panderers, and opted for deceased composers from an earlier, and personally conceived, "golden" era?

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Grey

Reply #956 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 9:01am

mozzaok wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 8:04am:

-Grey

Pretty fair question there, I think.

I cannot help but wonder if Soren had been alive at the time of Mozart, and  Beethoven, if he would have derided them as populist panderers, and opted for deceased composers from an earlier, and personally conceived, "golden" era?

I think there's a lot to be said for perusing the archives. It's only the cream that rests on top let's face it. I wish Tony Vivaldi could see this, I think he'd get a real blast out of it Smiley whereas friend Soren...

Grey

Reply #957 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 9:36am

Does the fact of Michelangelo make Tracy Emin worthless? I don't think so, though it might make Warhol worthless, but that's just my opinion. In fact we can see from this doc. that Michelangelo was as much a product of his time as his work.

I like to say that the point of art is to convey as much as possible as simply as possible. But if that were the case then the only art of merit is Japanese and everything else is just excrement. I don't believe that in the least and in fact have a strong preference for European art.

So... all barriers are artificial, it doesn't matter if its minimalist or exuberant, ancient (let's not forget lascaux) or modern, it's as good as its effect. That of the past has been selected by time, that's nice but it takes some of the fun out of it. The fun, the joy, is everything.  

Soren

Reply #958 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 11:53am

mozzaok wrote on Nov 11th, 2011 at 10:15pm:
While much of the classical music he values is inspirational and beautiful, it also has it's share of the boring and mundane as well, and a great deal even worse than that. Just because the people that wrote it and liked it are long dead, does not automatically elevate it to deserving our attention, or praise.

WHich, of course, is not what I have said anywhere. But you and grey and co have this stupid pat answer at the ready, regardless what anyone says. Beethoven is not gereat because he is dead.

Pop and wock 'n woll are crap as music or art because:
musically they are primitive
emotionally they are fake
intellectualy they are dumb
fun-wise they are repetitious and very basic, like a Luna Park.

They are almost invariably made and performed for money and chicks and fame and more money and more shagging. There isn't anything wrong with a lot of money and a lot of shagging. But my definition of art is not "whatever gets you laid and pays a lot".

NorthOfNorth

Reply #959 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 12:18pm

Soren wrote on Nov 11th, 2011 at 7:31pm:
Not arsebandit Kenny Everett of 1971 as your cultural compass??? What horror. That does date you even more than your attachment to wock 'n woll and popp crapp. All I remember about him is his catchcry 'Let's press the button marked idiot and see what comes out".

And sure enough, 30 years on, it's still a sneering defender of mind-rotting musical fast food from the 70s.

The image is the result of an image search... Looked funny, I thought...

1971? I'd bet you remember more of Kenny Everett than you're letting on!

Conviction is the art of being certain

Pages: 1 ... 62 63 64 65 66 ... 488