Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7
A muslim input (Read 23332 times)

A muslim input
Jul 24th, 2007 at 9:42pm

It seems I will be meeting with a muslim guy from work in a few weeks. That is great.
Just him and I in a neutral area, a library.
If anyone would like to ask him some questions, you can ask them here, I will post the reply here word for word.
You just have to trust me on that one.

My catholic friend has some questions she has forwarded, would anyone like her questions and the replies posted here as well ?

I feel really good about doing this.  I'm comfortable with posting anything I may not personally agree with.

Aussie Nationalist

Re: A muslim input
Reply #1 - Jul 24th, 2007 at 9:50pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 24th, 2007 at 9:42pm:
It seems I will be meeting with a muslim guy from work in a few weeks. That is great.
Just him and I in a neutral area, a library.
If anyone would like to ask him some questions, you can ask them here, I will post the reply here word for word.
You just have to trust me on that one.

My catholic friend has some questions she has forwarded, would anyone like her questions and the replies posted here as well ?

I feel really good about doing this.  I'm comfortable with posting anything I may not personally agree with.

Just make sure you are packing a Lueger and cops around the sides.

Total anti-marxist and anti-left wing. The Right is Right.&&&&&&

Reply #2 - Jul 24th, 2007 at 11:22pm

Ausnat - hahahha.
Initially he organised a meeting for me at his place with him and his "colleagues" to "help me with my misunderstanding" of the koran.
Ever been to a meeting where you are outnumbered ? Or on their stamping ground ?

It has taken me 3 weeks of emailing negotiations to get it at a neutral location with just him and I .
If any of his "colleagues happen to turn up", I'll just walk without a word.
It's been a good education for me already.

He absolutely refuses to discuss the Bible. He is terrified of it.

Reply #3 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 10:31am

Why in a few weeks? Why not today? Why in a library, rather than over smoko?

Reply #4 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 11:44am

It's just hard to organise a free tie for both of us freediver. The weeks I have my son/s I cant go.

I did offer a lunchtime meeting in a local park, he did not answer that one.
His idea of a library, apparently you can book private rooms there !!! I never knew that.
he said it would make it a more scholarily atmosphere, sounds ok to me.
Macdonalds is a good place to meet. Can get food thee too. that idea did not appeal to him though.

Reply #5 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 11:52am

It's probably something to do with non halal food. Or he just hates McDonalds. Getting a room in a library sounds like a good idea, but I still don't get why you are making it so formal.

Reply #6 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 1:20pm

i didn't want to meet hm. He wantedt to have  a meeting with me.
To "correct my misunderstandings" of the koran.

maccas or the park would have suited me. They are not too formal are they ?
At his place being outnumbered is not a good way to go. 
better meeting in neutral area .  better not being outnumbered too.

Reply #7 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 1:43pm

By formal I meant the fact that you are organising a time and a place and going into so much negotiation before you even start discussing what you itnended to discuss. Something makes me think you won't actually get round to discussing anything other than who gets to talk and when etc.

skeptic

Reply #8 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 1:55pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 25th, 2007 at 1:20pm:
i didn't want to meet hm. He wantedt to have  a meeting with me.
To "correct my misunderstandings" of the koran.

Interesting, so he approached you to correct ur misunderstanding of the koran? how did he know that u read it, let alone misunderstood it? i'm guessing u approached him and told him about what u thought of the koran. If u did that, then him wanting to meet with you is quite normal.

by the way, is he a practising muslim?

Reply #9 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 3:15pm

freediver - I sort of have a feeling like that too. Unfortunately.
never mind,  who knows what will happen ?

skeptic - yes, he's a practising muslim.
The topic came up when he put a koran quote on the bottom of his work email to me.
I asked him to not send it to me as I don't like the koran.
Yes, wanting to meet is not abnormal. 
We've known each other for a few years, without discussing spiritual matters.

Sort of should not even have any religious stuff in work related emails anyway.
He's been cautioned about it before from IT.  Very PC place here

Reply #10 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 3:19pm

Why don't you invite him here? Written communication often works much better in that sort of situation because it is less confronting. People can relax, take their time, think before posting etc.

skeptic

Reply #11 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 3:22pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 25th, 2007 at 3:15pm:
skeptic - yes, he's a practising muslim.
The topic came up when he put a koran quote on the bottom of his work email to me.
I asked him to not send it to me as I don't like the koran.

no worries, i was just asking since it would be a waste of ur time if he wasn't a practising muslim. so i take it he takes time off to pray, has his beard, islamic clothes, etc?

by the way, what was the quote on the email? was it offensive in any way?

Reply #12 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 3:58pm

haven't seen him praying, another person said they heard him praying for a while one day.
yep, he has a beard, normal clothes.

"Truly, it is by the Remembrance of Allah that hearts find rest." Quran 13:28
was the quote. not offensive at all

Like all spiritual things, should not be pushed onto others.  esp with such a specifically religious quote. ie, general "nice" sayings are ok.

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #13 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 7:24pm

freediver wrote on Jul 25th, 2007 at 3:19pm:
Why don't you invite him here? Written communication often works much better in that sort of situation because it is less confronting. People can relax, take their time, think before posting etc.

Somehow i dont think he'll feel very comfortable here mate!
I aint gunna quieten down! in fact i'll get much much LOUDER.

Total anti-marxist and anti-left wing. The Right is Right.&&&&&&

Reply #14 - Jul 25th, 2007 at 10:09pm

Freediver - I had never considered that.

Have now considered it, will do it.  I agree, wrirtten things do have advantages over the spoken word.
As a moderator, I try to be more neutral than I would be otherwise.
This is a part of that.

I have tried to find muslim chat rooms but can't seem to find any !

"You will travel most safely in the middle of the road."
Dr Bancroft, 1900s I believe.

Who wants to live a safe life ?

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7