RACISM (Read 31139 times)
AUShole

Re: white supremacists
Reply #135 - Apr 3rd, 2007 at 4:53pm

ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Apr 2nd, 2007 at 6:57pm:
[quote]
Italians are largely 'whiter' in the northern Italian area. Venice etc...
In the south, Rome etc, they largely look 'meditteranean.' The reason of the physical differences between Italians I'd imagine would be the movements of people between Switzerland and Italy in the north, and the movement of people between 'North Africa' and Italy in the south. This may have played a part in Hitlers thinking, as well as the fact that Northern Italy is the more 'sophisticated' area of Italy.

Italy is more like a grouping of states, than a country. The reason that southern Italians look different has little to do with the Swiss influence in the north, or Africans.

Most of the southern 'darker' features are in the region of the Sicilia and Napoli. Sicilians were initially darker because they have Phonecian ancestry. Napolese are largely Greek and Phonecian. The mainland of Italy is largely Greek, with some ancestry relating to northern European conquests.

Further darkening would have occured while the southern states were ruled by Arab emirs for the last 300 years of the first millenia. The emirs also controlled northern Africa. The emirs were Arabs (present Saudi), not Africans.

Hitler was also obsessed with history, and acknowledged the fact that the Romans created a massive empire, hence the master race thing...

The only Romans who were 'pure' were the ruling class (from which the Caesar was elected). All other Romans were a hotchpotch of races, because the method of conquest was to absorb local culture to ensure conformity. So the Romans were in fact the first multicultural society.

Which means that Hitler acknowledged that a master race was multicultural!  Wink

AUShole

Reply #136 - Apr 3rd, 2007 at 4:57pm

Gavin wrote on Apr 3rd, 2007 at 4:35pm:
muslims occupying Greece for 400 years?
at what point in history did that happen?

Ottoman (Turkish) empire. 1400 to 1800.

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #137 - Apr 3rd, 2007 at 5:14pm

Which means that Hitler acknowledged that a master race was multicultural!

Haha. Very clever Aushole. I see someones been reading up on Roman history.

Wasn't it 'multiculturalism' that destroyed the Roman empire in the end?  Wink

PS. I'm talking about multiculturalism, not racialism.

Tolerance is the virtue of men who no longer believe in anything
&&-- G.K. Chesterton

AUShole

Reply #138 - Apr 3rd, 2007 at 5:48pm

ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Apr 3rd, 2007 at 5:14pm:
Which means that Hitler acknowledged that a master race was multicultural!

Haha. Very clever Aushole. I see someones been reading up on Roman history.

Most of Italian and Roman history I picked up while I was travelling there. It is much more intereting than the white supremacy story!  Wink

Wasn't it 'multiculturalism' that destroyed the Roman empire in the end?

PS. I'm talking about multiculturalism, not racialism.

You know what, I dont think the Roman Empire was ever really destroyed it just went into decline over a number of years. The Western Empire was already losing its relevance, and Rome was eventually sacked by the Goths (while listening to The Cure on their iPods). Constantine I just took up where the Caesars left off, controlling the Eastern Empire (Byzantine). The Western Empire was regained from the Goths a century or so later, and held for 1000 years, until those pesky Ottomans decided to invade and conquer all of Byzantium in the 1400s.

I think that part of the problem was the multicultural element... in that Germanic tribes were able to infiltrate and blend in with the Romans, making the final goth invasion much easier. But it was mostly due to poor political and economic management. Which is how the empire came to be split between East and West in the first place.

At the end of the day, most of the plebs (like us) just let the ruling parties fight it out amongst themselves.

« Last Edit: Apr 3rd, 2007 at 5:55pm by AUShole »  

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #139 - Apr 3rd, 2007 at 7:21pm

I had a really good, long reply planned for you aushole, but my smacking a-hole computer decided to delete it for some reason.  Angry

Oh well... wasn't exactly contributing to the topic, anyway.

Tolerance is the virtue of men who no longer believe in anything
&&-- G.K. Chesterton

aloof boof

the roving ear

outback
Reply #140 - Apr 4th, 2007 at 2:23pm

Going back to the OP,Gav i reckon you wasted your time even talking to that idiot.Ignorance may well breed fear but total avoidence is better for my blood pressure.White Supremists are by their views mental midgets and should be shunned by every other human being on earth. Angry

constantly surrounded by mt beer cans

Gavin

Sydney, Australia
Reply #141 - Apr 4th, 2007 at 2:59pm

It was just small talk, we had to talk about something while we were on a break.
basically, i was at a conference, and i just needed to pass the time.

aloof boof

the roving ear

outback
Reply #142 - Apr 4th, 2007 at 9:59pm

No worries Gav,wasn't judging you mate,just sort of wondering "why".I would prefer to chuck rocks at people like that,to pass the time Cool

constantly surrounded by mt beer cans

Reply #143 - Apr 5th, 2007 at 8:36am

The latino thing can be explained by the numbers. There is a much higher proportion of natives in South America than Australia. He would probably regard a pureblood spanish living in South America as white. I doubt he would care much either way.

Hitler also allied with Muslims and is credited with bringing a far more militant verions of anti semitism to the middle east.

example, Ten years ago if you spoke out against Freud you were considered a nutcase.

I did tertiary level psychology about ten years ago and the professor acknoledged that Freud was pretty much wrong. He has been considered wrong (or whatever the equivalent is in psychology) for a long time.

The Egyptians. Well, I think a possible answer for that would be that they didn't have a continuing influence on the World, whereas people like the Italians did.

What makes you think that?

Another reason for southern Italians being darker is that they are closer to the equator.

zoso

Reply #144 - Apr 5th, 2007 at 10:56am

freediver wrote on Apr 5th, 2007 at 8:36am:
I did tertiary level psychology about ten years ago and the professor acknoledged that Freud was pretty much wrong. He has been considered wrong (or whatever the equivalent is in psychology) for a long time.

Funny, I think 99% of psychology is either wrong or far enough off the mark to be counted as such. For one, you don't solve most psychological problems through medication, a good psychologist usually acknowledges this, but they still seem to just medicate medicate medicate. For another, any 'doctor' who runs tens of thousands of volts through a persons brain and then claims that it helps but they don't know why is not fit to be calling themselves a doctor or claiming any scientific merit to their behaviour whatsoever.

The day psychologists stop using shock treatment is the day I will begin to consider their point of view as relevant.

Reply #145 - Apr 5th, 2007 at 11:57am

For one, you don't solve most psychological problems through medication, a good psychologist usually acknowledges this, but they still seem to just medicate medicate medicate.

That's psychiatry, psychologists aren't allowed to prescribe drugs, and 'chemical solutions' are not given any detail in psych courses, except as a philosophy or approach. Psychologists tend to acknowledge the lack of scientific avenues for research and teach different approaches to the same problem, one being Freudian.

zoso

Reply #146 - Apr 5th, 2007 at 4:11pm

freediver wrote on Apr 5th, 2007 at 11:57am:
For one, you don't solve most psychological problems through medication, a good psychologist usually acknowledges this, but they still seem to just medicate medicate medicate.

That's psychiatry, psychologists aren't allowed to prescribe drugs, and 'chemical solutions' are not given any detail in psych courses, except as a philosophy or approach. Psychologists tend to acknowledge the lack of scientific avenues for research and teach different approaches to the same problem, one being Freudian.

Allright fair enough... Tongue Grin

I do however think that both are undermined by the fact that they rely largely on the honesty of the patient... I have known plenty of people who have worked the system easily just to get cheap drugs to get high. "oh doctor I'm so depressed about everything, I just want to die *sob*"

AUShole

Reply #147 - Apr 7th, 2007 at 9:56pm

freediver wrote on Apr 5th, 2007 at 8:36am:
Another reason for southern Italians being darker is that they are closer to the equator.

FD, that is a crazy statement!  Huh

Italy was largely populated by Greeks. Southern Greece is slightly closer to the equator than Italy, so why arent the Greeks the same colour, or darker, than southern Italians?

As before, Phonecians are the main reason of the dark skin colouring, as are the Arabic influences.
« Last Edit: Apr 7th, 2007 at 10:26pm by AUShole »  

AUShole

Reply #148 - Apr 7th, 2007 at 10:02pm

zoso wrote on Apr 5th, 2007 at 4:11pm:
I have known plenty of people who have worked the system easily just to get cheap drugs to get high. "oh doctor I'm so depressed about everything, I just want to die *sob*"

Either your friends are lying, or you are being loose with your argument. Drugs prescribed for depression cannot get you high. If you are not depressed, they won't work!
« Last Edit: Apr 7th, 2007 at 10:27pm by AUShole »  

zoso

Reply #149 - Apr 9th, 2007 at 2:31pm

AUShole wrote on Apr 7th, 2007 at 10:02pm:
Either your friends are lying, or you are being loose with your argument. Drugs prescribed for depression cannot get you high. If you are not depressed, they won't work!

Ever taken zoloft and smoked a little weed? Yes I was being loose with my argument, but the point stands I did have friends that would have anti depressants prescribed then take a ton of them with alcohol and other things. Its amazing what cocktails kids can dream up.

I had a few friends that used to lie to get ritalin prescribed to them, then crush it up and inject it. And yes I had friends who would abuse their anti depressants, enough of anything will do something... I used to know a certain person who would sell their children's ADD drugs too.

Pages: 1 ... 8 9 10 11