Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 17
Another COVID-19 wave is coming (Read 13609 times)

Re: Another COVID-19 wave is coming
Reply #90 - Dec 9th, 2023 at 3:13pm

You should have rubbed it in Carl.

I still wear a mask whenever I enter a bank.

Black Orchid

Reply #91 - Dec 9th, 2023 at 3:47pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 9th, 2023 at 3:05pm:
Black Orchid wrote on Dec 9th, 2023 at 2:45pm:
I've never seen anyone telling anyone else to take their mask off.

You should have been with me and my elderly aunt when I took her to see her GP a year ago shortly after mask mandates were dropped.

The lady on reception looked at both of us in our masks and the first thing she said was "You don't need to wear those anymore".

Being the polite person I am all I said was "Actually, I think we'll keep them on, thanks" and she said "Oh, OK".

Good thing she didn't say the same thing when I went to the same medical practice a few weeks later to see my GP. She was one of 3 ladies on the reception desk and one of the other two was clearly sick - coughing and sneezing everywhere. Unmasked of course same as everyone else there apart from a couple of the GP's.

I might not have been quite so polite if I'd been told "you don't need to wear that mask anymore" that day.

I've heard/seen similar stories from other people too.

I'd be finding a new medical practice if that's the case.

Reply #92 - Dec 9th, 2023 at 9:07pm

Black Orchid wrote on Dec 9th, 2023 at 3:47pm:
I'd be finding a new medical practice if that's the case.

Yes, I did think about that for a while.

Unfortunately, finding a medical practice and GP where masks are enforced would be like looking for a needle in a haystack these days.

I strongly suspect that after government imposed mask mandates were scrapped last year medical practices and GP's were worried that if they continued to require patients and staff to wear masks they could lose patients (paying customers) and maybe staff to those who didn't - which was most of them.

All about money as usual. And our governments and business (deliberately) 'selling' masks as restrictions rather than protections to a gullible population.

« Last Edit: Dec 9th, 2023 at 9:52pm by Carl D »  

Reply #93 - Dec 9th, 2023 at 9:35pm

The priority of the Medical World being of most importance around the world, during the Covid (Corona Virus) Pandemic has been brushed under the carpet by the priority of emergence of all things Military heading for a World War to say that the Military is of more importance than anything Medical (and Media, its 'ally'). Even the 'medically/Covid' Democrats are being shoved aside by the people of the USA and their hopeful reindorsement of Donald Trump come later as Sir Donald Trump as bestowed in gratitude by Great Britain. What an amazing Political story he has become that will go down in History as someone who knew better for the USA than their own Governments - he who conquered 'both' Parties.

Now we see, with more Viruses emerging in much the same devastating way (like a Computer compromised by Viruses... because Androids of the future can die from 'viruses' too, beyond 'repair') - the World and enslaved Media no longer pay attention to such things and the World is thus compromised now, to face the Pandemics that are coming to us now, with little more than our 'immunity' to protect us and isolate us from its effects - but not as how this Continent is 'isolated' and became the most virulent region on the world.
You got to 'outsmart' these Viruses with knowledge more-so though. Wink

Reply #94 - Dec 10th, 2023 at 3:30pm

I see Annastacia has resigned as Queensland Premier.

Is she the last of the rats to desert the sinking ship SS Australia as a Covid tsunami engulfs the country?

Like the rest of the Premiers who resigned I get the impression she knows what's coming - an eventual Covid Royal Commission (after the upcoming sham of a Covid inquiry).

But, bailing out won't save her from being held accountable for her part in the 23,000 Australian Covid deaths so far (3,375 in Queensland), same as the present and former Prime Minister and Premiers.

The WA Premier, Roger Cook has also paid tribute to Annastacia.

Hey, aquascoot... here's Tim the ex virologist's reply. Perhaps you could "shoot off a quick email" to your hero and show it to him (he doesn't have a Twitter account and probably just as well for him).

https://nitter.net/LettersfromTim/status/1733691551065477269#m

QLD was kept safe by Dr Jeannette Young

@AnnastaciaMP then appointed John “Lex Luthor” Gerrard who’s failed herd immunity experiment has killed thousands

Here's another reply with a very appropriate image.

https://nitter.net/_marching_Ents_/status/1733711947533873218#m

She retires as a Labor villain, and only as a champion for Queensland's Level 3 SARS-CoV-2 virus variants that will have dire, long term consequences for Public Health.

"scribbler Of Oz " is a lady, by the way.

You're welcome.

Edit: and...

https://nitter.net/LettersfromTim/status/1733700418100961479#m

Running for cover like @MarkMcGowanMP and @DanielAndrewsMP

The reckoning is coming and they don’t have the stomach to face the consequences of their actions - their failure to protect the public

Yep. Spot on!
« Last Edit: Dec 10th, 2023 at 6:23pm by Carl D »  

Reply #95 - Dec 11th, 2023 at 8:01am

Yes, I'm sure they would.

Trouble is, as I've said many times... governments (assisted by the media) have shot themselves in the foot by making everyone believe Covid isn't anything to worry about nowadays "it's just a cold".

‘We keep throwing vaccines out, I’d rather get them into arms’

Doctors and pharmacists are seeing a surge in requests for COVID-19 vaccines ahead of the Christmas break amid concerns about higher rates of the virus and visiting vulnerable loved ones.

Indicators such as sewage monitoring, test positivity rates and hospital activity suggest the virus has been circulating at higher levels since the start of November.

The pharmacy also has a waitlist of people wanting to receive the new monovalent – or “XBB.1.5-containing” – vaccines, which are better targeted to current variants of the virus. The federal government has said these new vaccines will be available from this week.

Santos said many of the people seeking a vaccine were not being urged to by the latest advice but wanted to receive it anyway before travelling or visiting vulnerable family at Christmas.

Santos said the recommendations had become confusing for the public to follow.

“The sad thing is, we keep throwing vaccines out. I’d rather get them into arms.”

Information provided by the federal government to pharmacies in its community pharmacy COVID-19 vaccination program stated the final doses of the Moderna bivalent vaccine ordered into Australia will expire on December 20.

My advice - don't get another Covid vaccination before December 20th because the 'old' bivalent vaccines are almost useless at protecting against the latest variants.

Mind you, there's emerging evidence that the JN.1 variant even evades the new monovalent vaccine.

https://nitter.net/maarlev95759/status/1733770177039282637#m

Furthermore, JN.1 shows a robust resistance to monovalent XBB.1.5 vaccine sera🔥 These results suggest that JN.1 is one of the most immune-evading variants to date. S:L455S can contribute to increased immune evasion, which partly explains the increased Re of JN.1. 7/7

Bad news: the rapidly rising/already dominant
sublineage JN.1 seems to be very highly immune-evading!
The recent monovalent XBB.1.5 vaccine doesn`t seem
to give much protection against JN.1 !
Protect yourself and others around you by wearing
a FFP2/3 (=KN95/98) mask, if possible!

As for Australia? "No worries - she'll be right mate".  Roll Eyes

Reply #96 - Dec 11th, 2023 at 7:09pm

There was a discussion here some time ago about the perspex screens used in the supermarket checkouts and whether or not they made any difference to the spread of Covid (or the flu for that matter).

They didn't of course but the conclusion was that they at least provided a measure of security for the checkout staff... protecting them from abusive customers.

Can't remember if it was a separate thread or it was discussed in another thread?

Anyway, I've noticed that Woolworths have removed the perspex screens from their checkouts a few weeks ago. Not sure if Coles have done the same yet but if they haven't I'm certain they will follow very soon.

Same as those pointless 'keep a 1.5 meter distance' stickers that were on the floors in the supermarkets and other shops (Red Dot always used to make me laugh with their 'one way' stickers on the floor at each end of their aisles - an arrow at one end and No Entry at the other in alternate aisles - which most people ignored anyway, same as the 1.5 meter signs). They're all gone too although I suspect most of them simply wore off from foot traffic.

Can't have anything left to remind people of the Covid pandemic now, can we? Even if the pandemic is still raging and probably getting worse.

Reply #97 - Dec 11th, 2023 at 8:41pm

Hey, look... here's some more of that awesome "personal responsibility" I keep hearing about.

Flying Soon? From Mirella Sarah, PhD

HCWs have informed me privately in recent days of patients who are Covid positive with plans to fly both domestically and internationally, despite being very ill

Because of this, you should strongly consider using a snug fitting N95 mask on flights & avoid meals

Yes, you should. But 99.9% of people won't.

Make sure you read the replies as well.

(HCW = Health Care Worker, by the way).

And... from the esteemed Dr. David Berger.

Yes, I am absolutely sure there is (read the replies there too, especially this one).

And many more would be infected by the end of the flights... including some or all of the airline crew... and then the airlines and passengers wonder why so many flights are being delayed or cancelled these days due to staff shortages.
« Last Edit: Dec 11th, 2023 at 9:31pm by Carl D »  

Reply #98 - Dec 12th, 2023 at 5:19am

hay carl

i get your anger

you trusted the authorities who said " this all goes away when we get enough jabs in arms "

i must have heard dan and gladys say it 1000 times

smart people like aquascoot knew this was a lie

we preached "personal responsibility" which is actually what your beloved authorities are now telling you .

and you hate personal respoonsibility because it requires you to grow a spine and not be treated like an infant

but if you would just accept reality you could use this as an opportunity to man up

i know dr berger (now discredited) has taken over the role of your mummy and daddy and promises to keep you safe.

he cant

in the end you have to realise that its on YOU to act like a man

Reply #99 - Dec 12th, 2023 at 8:26am

"hay" aquascoot  Roll Eyes

Yes, that's all very well but I'm wondering what your thoughts are about people who travel interstate and overseas (in and out of the country) in sealed metal tubes while knowingly infected with a virus called SARS-CoV-2 which is still classed as a Level 3 Biohazard (one level above the flu and one below Ebola) and in at least one case apparently couldn't care less?

A virus which has caused 23,000 deaths in Australia so far and millions of deaths worldwide not to mention all of the sickness and millions of current and future Long Covid cases.

Of course, my guess would be that most or all of them couldn't care less and the airlines obviously don't ($$$$ again).

And, again... a large part of this is caused by the almost total lack of information being provided about Covid cases, hospitalisations and deaths by governments (and the media) these days which, once again, makes a mockery of governments (and others) telling people to "use personal responsibility" and "assess your own risk" with Covid.

No wonder the flu has been running rampant around the world for the best part of the last century and now we have SARS-CoV-2 joining it and that will probably be here for at least the next century, if not forever seeing as it is constantly mutating and no attempts are being made to slow or stop it anymore.

I'm wondering how long it will be before it mutates into a variant with something like a 50% fatality rate and I also wonder if our useless governments will finally make some attempt to do something about it if it does?

Oh, and...

aquascoot wrote on Dec 12th, 2023 at 5:19am:
you trusted the authorities who said " this all goes away when we get enough jabs in arms "

Actually - no, I didn't.

I knew that wasn't going to happen right from the start but governments and big business either deliberately or unintentionally lied to everyone (I'm still going with the first one) for the sake of the economy. Just like what happened - and is still happening - in the UK.
« Last Edit: Dec 12th, 2023 at 9:04am by Carl D »  

Reply #100 - Dec 12th, 2023 at 10:42am

If you're not worried and taking precautions like wearing a mask when there's a lot of people around then you should be.

https://nitter.net/drclairetaylor/status/1733832839777452504#m

If you input the @StatCan_eng data into @DavidSteadson graph you get
14.6%  first infection get long Covid
38% by 3rd infection
- the modelling curves were correct.
This is literally insane.

This is for Canada but it would apply equally to Australia and the rest of the world.

Black Orchid

Reply #101 - Dec 12th, 2023 at 11:03am

Carl D wrote on Dec 12th, 2023 at 8:26am:
"hay" aquascoot  Roll Eyes

Yes, that's all very well but I'm wondering what your thoughts are about people who travel interstate and overseas (in and out of the country) in sealed metal tubes while knowingly infected with a virus called SARS-CoV-2 which is still classed as a Level 3 Biohazard (one level above the flu and one below Ebola) and in at least one case apparently couldn't care less?

A virus which has caused 23,000 deaths in Australia so far and millions of deaths worldwide not to mention all of the sickness and millions of current and future Long Covid cases.

Of course, my guess would be that most or all of them couldn't care less and the airlines obviously don't ($$$$ again).

And, again... a large part of this is caused by the almost total lack of information being provided about Covid cases, hospitalisations and deaths by governments (and the media) these days which, once again, makes a mockery of governments (and others) telling people to "use personal responsibility" and "assess your own risk" with Covid.

No wonder the flu has been running rampant around the world for the best part of the last century and now we have SARS-CoV-2 joining it and that will probably be here for at least the next century, if not forever seeing as it is constantly mutating and no attempts are being made to slow or stop it anymore.

I'm wondering how long it will be before it mutates into a variant with something like a 50% fatality rate and I also wonder if our useless governments will finally make some attempt to do something about it if it does?

Oh, and...

aquascoot wrote on Dec 12th, 2023 at 5:19am:

Actually - no, I didn't.

I knew that wasn't going to happen right from the start but governments and big business either deliberately or unintentionally lied to everyone (I'm still going with the first one) for the sake of the economy. Just like what happened - and is still happening - in the UK.

But if you wear a mask you're protected right?

Reply #102 - Dec 12th, 2023 at 12:32pm

Did a report really say masks don’t help prevent the spread of COVID?

A study published by the Cochrane Library earlier this
year, which appeared to raise questions about the efficacy
of masks, has also been thrown into the limelight.

The report, published in January, included trials which
compared medical/surgical masks versus no masks in
the prevention of the spread of viral respiratory illness.

The results from those trials indicated that "wearing
masks in the community probably makes little or no
difference
to the outcome of influenza‐like illness
".

However, the report’s conclusion urged caution and said
there was "a high risk of bias in the trials, variation in
outcome measurement, and relatively low adherence with
the interventions during the studies hampers drawing
firm conclusions".

Reply #103 - Dec 12th, 2023 at 1:46pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 12th, 2023 at 10:42am:
If you're not worried and taking precautions like wearing a mask when there's a lot of people around then you should be.

https://nitter.net/drclairetaylor/status/1733832839777452504#m

If you input the @StatCan_eng data into @DavidSteadson graph you get
14.6%  first infection get long Covid
38% by 3rd infection
- the modelling curves were correct.
This is literally insane.

This is for Canada but it would apply equally to Australia and the rest of the world.

carl, i'm calling BS on 14.6 % of people getting long covid.

some people just like to get around in their pyjamas and covid is a good excuse.

i know 100's of people that have had it and not one suffered this "social contagion"

Reply #104 - Dec 12th, 2023 at 2:36pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 12th, 2023 at 1:46pm:
carl, i'm calling BS on 14.6 % of people getting long covid.

some people just like to get around in their pyjamas and covid is a good excuse.

i know 100's of people that have had it and not one suffered this "social contagion"

https://nitter.net/lisa_iannattone/status/1733236471207772211#m

StatCan just dropped a bombshell report on LC. This is the most important figure. It highlights that the risk of long term symptoms is cumulative, it increases with increasing number of infections. By 3+ infections, 38% report long term symptoms — that’s 1 in every 2.6 people. 🤯

https://nitter.net/lisa_iannattone/status/1733237143596642447#m

Right now 1 in every 9 Canadians has long covid. 80% have symptoms for longer than 6 months and 50% just never recovered.

Full report here: https://www150.statcan.gc.ca/n1/pub/75-006-x/2023001/article/00015-eng.htm

As I said... it would be almost exactly the same for Australia and the rest of the world.

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 17