Hey You, Get Out Of The Disability Car Park (Read 355 times)
whiteknight

Hey You, Get Out Of The Disability Car Park
Sep 13th, 2026 at 9:59am

Bunnings called out after SUV blocks disabled spots in viral video
A disabled businessman said he had to drive his car to Bunnings’ front door before staff acted on an SUV blocking several disabled parking spaces.

News.com.au
September 9, 2026

A Gold Coast businessman living with a disability has shared a brazen Bunnings customer’s illegal park across several disabled spots, saying he had to make a scene before staff acted.   Sad

Kyle Wilmington, who runs a business setting up short-term rentals, has a rare nerve disorder called Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease that affects his movement and muscles.

He uses his large social media presence to raise awareness for disability issues and the difficulties he has faced with his condition, which requires him to wear leg braces.

When he arrived at Southport Bunnings about 7am on Friday morning he was staggered to see a large SUV with a jet ski attached taking up four disabled parking spaces near the front entrance.   Shocked

“I went straight inside to tell the staff. He just said to me ‘what they want me to do about it?’,” he told news.com.au.

“I went outside, I took a video and then moved my car right up in front of the front doors at Bunnings. And then he came out and told me off.

“And the other staff caught wind of it and then decided to actually take action and call the guy (the SUV owner) over the PA and got him moved.”

An SUV blocking multiple disabled car spots at a Gold Coast Bunnings.

It was also towing a jet ski which blocked two spots alone.

Mr Wilmington shared the video he took with his 63,000 Instagram followers, since viewed millions of times, tagging Bunnings in the post captioned “this is out of control”.

“I’ve pulled to Bunnings this morning and this guy is quite literally parked across all of the f***ing disabled spaces,” he said. “All of them.

“Yes there’s some over there, but they’re taken (by) other people attending Bunnings this morning.

“I’m here, I’m disabled. And that’s not even the f***ing point of this video.

“This is just out of this f***ing world that someone would think this is completely acceptable.”

Mr Wilmington told news.com.au on Tuesday there was not enough said about the way people wrongly took up disabled parking spots “on the daily”.

Kyle Wilmington said he usually had a good experience at Bunnings. 

He runs a company setting up short-term-rentals.

He previously made a video with his gym after noticing large SUVs and super cars using the spots, believing it was because they are wider than usual parking spaces.

“People just say ‘it’s a car space’. But what it is, is actual accessibility for the person that needs it,” he said.

A Bunnings spokesperson said a site manager at Southport Bunnings acted immediately when made aware of the blocked disabled car spaces.

“An announcement was made over the PA and the vehicle was moved within 10 minutes,” the statement read.

“We take accessibility seriously and expect everyone to respect accessible parking spaces.

“When we’re made aware of misuse, we will take action to ensure these spaces remain available for people with disability or mobility restrictions.”

Mr Wilmington said Bunnings staff made the announcement about five minutes after he raised the issue but not before he made the point of driving his car up to the front door.

He visited Bunnings regularly and wanted to stress he usually found the staff to be “amazing”.

The 38-year-old hoped his viral video would bring attention to the issue and made people think about the impact they have when planning to use a disabled spot to pop into a shop.

whiteknight

Re: Hey You, Get Out Of The Disability Car Park
Reply #1 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 10:04am

These car parks are for people with a disability.  Also stop putting supermarket trolleys in the disability car parks, that I have seen several times.   Sad    

Reply #2 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 10:29am

The disabled will become more disabled by notchallenging themselves.

Just like going to the gym is hard work and painful and a struggle but makes you fitter.

My opinion is disabled carparks should be as far from the shop as possible.

This would allow the disabled person the wonderful opportunity to push struggle sweat and overcome a challenge.

As such , they become more mentally strong, higher self esteem and can become a superior man.

Indeed , a person on crutches who climbed Mt Everest deserves more respect then an able bodied person.

A disability is a great thing if you accept it fully and  don't let it define you

Sir Eoin O Fada

New England, NSW
Reply #3 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 11:06am

aquascoot wrote on Sep 13th, 2026 at 10:29am:

Just like going to the gym is hard work and painful and a struggle but makes you fitter.

This would allow the disabled person the wonderful opportunity to push struggle sweat and overcome a challenge.

As such , they become more mentally strong, higher self esteem and can become a superior man.

Indeed , a person on crutches who climbed Mt Everest deserves more respect then an able bodied person.

A disability is a great thing if you accept it fully and  don't let it define you

That’s a good one, got any more jokes?

Self defence is a right.

Reply #4 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 11:35am

whiteknight wrote on Sep 13th, 2026 at 10:04am:
These car parks are for people with a disability.  Also stop putting supermarket trolleys in the disability car parks, that I have seen several times.   Sad    

Wouldn't be people with disabilities leaving their trolley there now would it?

Reply #5 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 11:38am

Now you're really pushing the envelope of credibility Scoot.

Heaven forbid you develop a debilitating condition or have a stroke - even fit people can have those.

You're just being mean here. Roll Eyes

Reply #6 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 11:41am

I think the entire population of Australia is disabled.
The UAE can build an entire nation in a desert that attracts the world's wealthiest which generates more income and pride in its citizens.

While Australians can only hug the Coastlines, like holding onto a life raft at sea.

Reply #7 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:26pm

Gnads wrote on Sep 13th, 2026 at 11:38am:

Now you're really pushing the envelope of credibility Scoot.

Heaven forbid you develop a debilitating condition or have a stroke - even fit people can have those.

You're just being mean here. Roll Eyes

Being " mean " is an interesting concept.

If you are an army officer with men under your command, is it mean to make them do 20 mile marches with full packs.
If you are a hospital subjecting a trainee surgeon to brutal study and  examination before passing him , is that mean.
If you are a police recruiter and recruits have to scale a wall and do a beep test and be tasered, is that mean.

I think separating out car parks feeds into the subtle prejudice of low expectations.

Oh your disabled, we are labelling you as that, you are different from us .
You aren't up to doing what we can do.
We consider you inferior.

Just get your little DSP  and get some government NDIS  worker to come and cook your meals and take you shopping because we think you are so piss weak,  you couldn't do it for yourself.

It's very similar to the subtle racism of low expectations we put on the aboriginal community.

It is going to make the object of our fake compassion weaker and less resilient and make them lack legitimate self esteem .

I'm all for helping the disabled do awesome things like climb a mountain or sky dive.

I'm not for telling them to identify with their disability and become takers who get more " stuff" the more they are taught ( by governments) to " complain"

Reply #8 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:38pm

Well, if this is anything like the shopping centres here in Perth then you will probably have to just put up with selfish, ignorant people (which seems to be most people these days) parking in disability bays without a permit.

Especially tradies and delivery people ("I'm only going to be 5 minutes") who are renowned for this sort of thing.

And then you have the able bodied ones who "borrow" a permit from a disabled family member or friend so they can use the disability bays. Lots of those around too, I'll bet.

Because, if you complain to the shopping centre management they will say "sorry, we can't do anything about it, you'll have to talk to the council or the police".

Which does seem a little odd (lazy more like it) because shopping centre carparks are private property owned by the shopping centre. At least here in WA they are.

And, if you follow that advice you'll get the same run around from the council/police.

Nobody wants to take responsibility for anything these days which is half of the reason why society is in the mess it is in.

Disgraceful stuff.
« Last Edit: Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:53pm by Carl D »  

Reply #9 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:49pm

Jasin wrote on Sep 13th, 2026 at 11:41am:
I think the entire population of Australia is disabled.
The UAE can build an entire nation in a desert that attracts the world's wealthiest which generates more income and pride in its citizens.

While Australians can only hug the Coastlines, like holding onto a life raft at sea.

That makes me wonder also!
I’ve noticed in last few years and more recently how fill up disabled car parking is at all times.
In fact shopping centre carparks seem filled up more often than not!
There’s “senior car parking” available to more able bodied ones but I can hardly get to find one of them available! Must be too many old people! Not me…no… I’m not old  Grin
Just would be nice to have a little special parking spot since I’ve reached senior age but looks like too much competition…so many retirees with nothing better to do than go to shops!

I don’t mind parking further away, and walking… in fact I prefer to park away from the madness…keep my car from being dinged. But that doesn’t work either….I came out and saw my rear rhs tail light busted!
Two women approached me with rego number of vehicle and their phone numbers as witnesses.
Anyway the guy that did it owned up to it and paid me for a new tail light.
It was less than the insurance excess so not worth going through insurances.

So my quest for shopping car parks…. is that I do not wish to have a new or updated car because of scrapes and dings …. them disabled car spots are so wide… I wish all the normal parking spots were too!

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #10 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:51pm

Carl D wrote on Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:38pm:
Well, if this is anything like the shopping centres here in Perth then you will probably have to just put up with selfish, ignorant people (which seems to be most people these days) parking in disability bays without a permit.

Especially tradies and delivery people ("I'm only going to be 5 minutes") who are renowned for this sort of thing.

Because, if you complain to the shopping centre management they will say "sorry, we can't do anything about it, you'll have to talk to the council or the police".

Which does seem a little odd (lazy more like it) because shopping centre carparks are private property owned by the shopping centre. At least here in WA they are.

And, if you follow that advice you'll get the same run around from the council/police.

Nobody wants to take responsibility for anything these days which is half of the reason why society is in the mess it is in.

Disgraceful stuff.

Don’t they have parking inspectors checking for permits attached to windscreen if it’s there, or if it’s still within date?

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #11 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:55pm

There should be different levels of disability stickers,
Level 1: Wheel-chair - park out the front
Level 2: People have difficulty walking - 1 row back
Level 3: people who have lifestyle induced disabilities (didn't look after their meat wagon) -  back of the carpark

Reply #12 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:59pm

Sophia wrote on Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:51pm:
Don’t they have parking inspectors checking for permits attached to windscreen if it’s there, or if it’s still within date?

Possibly. But, I've never seen any in my visits to shopping centres. Someone would have to call the council to get the inspectors to come to the centre and I get the impression that's way too much trouble (there's that laziness again).

Oh, and then the Council will probably say "That's private property so we can't do anything, talk to the shopping centre management" (and there's that run around again).

As for the "security" staff. Well, the ones that I've seen are usually too busy wandering around the inside of the centre doing what appears to be as little as possible (when they're not leaning on the customer service desk trying to chat up the ladies working there).
« Last Edit: Sep 13th, 2026 at 1:08pm by Carl D »  

Reply #13 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 1:21pm

Gordon wrote on Sep 13th, 2026 at 12:55pm:
There should be different levels of disability stickers,
Level 1: Wheel-chair - park out the front
Level 2: People have difficulty walking - 1 row back
Level 3: people who have lifestyle induced disabilities (didn't look after their meat wagon) -  back of the carpark

Now that's a very good idea.
How many times have we seen Current Affair style programs catching very abled people with entitled disability official markers exploit those front of the shop spots? Decades later we all still see them.
Sort the wheat from the chaff WhiteKnight.

Reply #14 - Sep 13th, 2026 at 2:23pm

Bunnings usually has a number of trailer spots, which is what the jetski guy needed. But idiots in hybrids keep parking in them.