First Laws Targeting Supermarket Price Gouging (Read 1400 times)
whiteknight

First Laws Targeting Supermarket Price Gouging
Jun 26th, 2026 at 12:48pm

Woolworths and Coles face world-first laws targeting supermarket price gouging 
A world-first ban has been announced aimed at stopping price gouging from Australia’s two largest supermarkets.   Smiley

News.com.au
June 26, 2026

Supermarket giants Woolworths and Coles will face new world-first laws as the Australian government cracks down on price gouging.

From July 1, 2026, Australia will become the first country to bring in such laws targeting supermarket price gouging even though its own report last year found there was no evidence of such a practice by the two supermarket giants.

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) says it will use these new laws to keep Woolworths and Coles in check.

The crackdown will be aimed at Woolworths and Coles, as they are the only two supermarkets that qualify in Australia as a “very large retailer” making more than $30bn in revenue.

Aldi turnover in 2025 was $13.3bn and Metcash, which runs IGA, posted revenue of $10.5bn.

The ban will exclusively hit Woolworths and Coles.

The new rules will fall under “excessive price prohibition”, but there is no fixed threshold for what is an excessive price for a grocery product.

The ACCC identifies price gouging as selling items for an amount that is “significantly excessive when compared to the cost to the very large retailer of the supply, plus a reasonable margin”.

But don’t expect grocery prices to fall due to the changing regulation.

The ACCC will monitor supermarket pricing information and consider all relevant circumstances to determine if a grocery product is excessively priced.

It will prioritise its monitoring on a select group of products chosen by consumers and supplier reports as well as information obtained from supermarkets on prices, margins and sales revenue.

ACCC acting chair Catriona Lowe said the new rules come in as grocery prices are a key concern for Aussie households.

The ACCC says it hopes the new rules will promote competition.

“We will focus our attention on products where excessive pricing is likely to cause the most harm to consumers,” Ms Lowe said.

“We encourage consumers and suppliers to make a report to the ACCC if they have concerns that a supermarket may have excessively priced a grocery product. These reports will help us identify products that may warrant further investigation.”

Ms Lowe said it was just one of many tools the ACCC could use to promote competition in the supermarket sector.

“Our initial focus for the prohibition will be on monitoring Coles and Woolworths’ pricing information to ensure they comply with their obligations,” she said.

The ACCC said it would publish the products that it would examine more closely.

“We recognise that there is significant public interest in the ACCC’s ongoing work to ensure supermarkets act in accordance with the law,” Ms Lowe said.

Supermarket hits out a new laws

In a statement to NewsWire, Coles said for every $100 spent at the supermarket it made $2.43 in profit or less than 3 cents for every dollar spent.

Coles also pointed out multiple inquiries found no evidence of price gouging and said higher grocery prices were being driven by rising costs such as energy, fuel, insurance, production, freight and distribution.

“At Coles, we know that cost of living remains front of mind for Australians, particularly with the challenges of higher interest rates and the price at the bowser,” a Coles spokesperson said.

“We urge the government to tackle the real drivers of higher grocery prices for Australian families.”

“Increasing regulation is likely to put upward, not downward, pressure on prices. At a time when the focus should be on easing cost-of-living pressures, these regulations risk doing the opposite.”

Meanwhile, Woolworths says it remains focused on delivering low prices to Australians and points out how it now faces stronger laws than the rest of the world.

Grappler Racist Filth

Re: First Laws Targeting Supermarket Price Gouging
Reply #1 - Jun 26th, 2026 at 1:44pm

Just thinking on that - the 'special' price for my 1kg coffee remained the same - oh, well said I - not going to get any lower - picked up a bag ... feels light - read 700g not 1kg.... same price - 30% rise in cost.

Was just wondering who to lodge a complaint with..... maybe get some advice on where to get a second mortgage to get some ground coffee and some fuel - even though the Terr-uh-tree runs at nearly 13 km litre/litre town/country mix due to fuel conditioner use (they say about 9.8/100 highway use!), Nulon in the oil, and gentle driving.. range is always over 900 km on a 74 litre tank.

I do my bit - time for them to do theirs... Free The Coffee Bean!!  Stop the Genocide of coffee drinkers!!

Reply #2 - Jun 30th, 2026 at 7:23am

The ACCC identifies price gouging as selling items for an amount that is “significantly excessive when compared to the cost to the very large retailer of the supply, plus a reasonable margin”.

So the ACCC can just pluck a number out of thin air and declare coles and woolies, and only those two supermarkets, to have broken the law?

WK, do you get paid to post this stuff? Why do you often seem to be promoting ALP policy before they turn it into law?

Reply #3 - Jun 30th, 2026 at 7:46am

Hi sir Crook  aka  White Knight of the round table,

there is no doubt that supermarkets are price gouging -

can the Govt really stop them?

Any fines they get will be paid for by increasing prices more.   Shocked

Grappler Racist Filth

Reply #4 - Jun 30th, 2026 at 11:23am

Argh, aye - out of control 'socialists' control prices ... out of control capitalists control all the cash and thus all the prices and rules ... out of control governments control both... welcome to our socialist form of Neo-Feudalism... on a global arena so reduction of the peasantry under the despotism of poverty becomes easy..

Once took six months for load of peasants to arrive across great waters .... now a few hours and thousands arrive...

Reply #5 - Jun 30th, 2026 at 11:54am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 30th, 2026 at 7:46am:
Hi sir Crook  aka  White Knight of the round table,

there is no doubt that supermarkets are price gouging -

can the Govt really stop them?

Any fines they get will be paid for by increasing prices more.   Shocked

It's their business model.

It's basic capitalism.

And it's not just supermarkets.

Airlines and hotels are two of the worst culprits.

Reply #6 - Jun 30th, 2026 at 12:51pm

Grappler Racist Filth wrote on Jun 26th, 2026 at 1:44pm:
Just thinking on that - the 'special' price for my 1kg coffee remained the same - oh, well said I - not going to get any lower - picked up a bag ... feels light - read 700g not 1kg.... same price - 30% rise in cost.

Was just wondering who to lodge a complaint with..... maybe get some advice on where to get a second mortgage to get some ground coffee and some fuel - even though the Terr-uh-tree runs at nearly 13 km litre/litre town/country mix due to fuel conditioner use (they say about 9.8/100 highway use!), Nulon in the oil, and gentle driving.. range is always over 900 km on a 74 litre tank.

I do my bit - time for them to do theirs... Free The Coffee Bean!!  Stop the Genocide of coffee drinkers!!

Yeah Graps saw a Woolies  "special" ad for Segafredo/Zanetti coffee beans - for $30 - went in and it's only 700grams.

Was surprised at the number of brands that are now only in 500g & 700g bags.

I bought a Grinders Crema 1kg $32.

Had a gutful of this downsizing for the same money & more.

Some of these roasters are asking $60 to $70 for 1kg bag.

They can get stuffed.

A good backstop is Aldis Lazzio coffee beans -

they have 2 types

cheap one is $17.99 Lazzio medium roast

I bought the Lazzio Luxe Blend Premium for $29.99(30)

Reply #7 - Jun 30th, 2026 at 12:59pm

Went into Woolies on Sunday - they are definitely gouging.

Western Star Spreadable Butter Blend Tub Supersoft 500g has jumped from $7.50 to $8.50 in one go.

I wouldn't buy it at Woolies at $7.50 when I could get it at other supermarkets for $5.90 to $6.50.

Coles prices are about the same as Woolies.

Reply #8 - Jun 30th, 2026 at 1:16pm

Today -  Coles premium steak is $81.82 per kilo:

It was also that price on the 14th May 2026.

https://www.coles.com.au/product/coles-finest-carbon-neutral-beef-eye-fillet-ste...

Reply #9 - Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:04am

Grappler Racist Filth wrote on Jun 26th, 2026 at 1:44pm:

I decided a long time ago to never buy another jar of coffee after I got my jar of coffee and it's refill bag. But having gone through a reasonably hot, dry summer, it was difficult to drink any of my coffee at all. This winter weather has been pleasant. And my morning coffees have been very good. But, as soon as the weather goes back to warming up, I will be switching to drinking tea.

Reply #10 - Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:07am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 30th, 2026 at 1:16pm:

https://www.coles.com.au/product/coles-finest-carbon-neutral-beef-eye-fillet-ste...

This afternoon, I am going to be frying up a $29/kg rump steak that I bought for $17. How anyone can justify paying $80/kg or more for steak is unbelievable.

Reply #11 - Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:11am

Gnads wrote on Jun 30th, 2026 at 12:59pm:
Went into Woolies on Sunday - they are definitely gouging.

Western Star Spreadable Butter Blend Tub Supersoft 500g has jumped from $7.50 to $8.50 in one go.

I wouldn't buy it at Woolies at $7.50 when I could get it at other supermarkets for $5.90 to $6.50.

Coles prices are about the same as Woolies.

I had this feeling that the cost of buying groceries was getting out of hand back in the day when we were on lockdown for covid. It was only for the generosity of the taxpayer doubling my Centrelink payment that I figure it was not worth complaining. A few years later, the prices of a grocery shop has fluctuated. Looking at the price of cheese, I figured that it has almost gone up 50% in cost. But, then again, so too has my hourly wage.

Reply #12 - Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:28am

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:07am:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 30th, 2026 at 1:16pm:

This afternoon, I am going to be frying up a $29/kg rump steak that I bought for $17. How anyone can justify paying $80/kg or more for steak is unbelievable.

It's communism -
only high up party members get good food.

Reply #13 - Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:43am

The rump steak that I buy for $29/kg is really good. You should not buy any steak that costs more than $40/kg. Mr Acton's family might like you. But you are doing yourself no favours by buying expensive meats.

Reply #14 - Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:50am

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 1st, 2026 at 11:43am:
The rump steak that I buy for $29/kg is really good. You should not buy any steak that costs more than $40/kg. Mr Acton's family might like you. But you are doing yourself no favours by buying expensive meats.

I buy cheaper cuts and I also go to the butchers for better prices.