Customers Stunned At $7.20 Tim Tam Price Tag (Read 1185 times)

Re: Customers Stunned At $7.20 Tim Tam Price Tag
Reply #45 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 9:10pm

Misogyny

Misogyny is the hatred, dislike, contempt, or ingrained prejudice against women and girls, rooted in patriarchal systems that position men as dominant and women as subordinate, manifesting in discrimination, belittling, controlling behaviors, and violence, often disguised as "jokes" or societal norms, but fundamentally aiming to keep women "in their place". It's more than just sexism (sex-based discrimination) and includes deep-seated hostility, objectification, and the enforcement of harmful gender roles, impacting mental health and fueling abuse.

Reply #46 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 9:11pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 9:01pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 7:16pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 7:08pm:
aquascoot wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 7:03pm:
Or you are so sexy deprived , all you can do is fantasize about trumps wife

Lol   Grin

I don't think there's anyone on the planet fantasising about a smelly old gold-digging ex-prostitute who looks like a department store mannequin who just sucked on a lemon.

Misogyny writ large -

Greggy must apologise.

No problem.

I'm sorry that there are people out there who think that Trump's Botox-filled mail-order bride who has slept with half the population of Ljubljana is somehow something worth fantasising about.

I'm sorry that they've never seen a real woman.

[url]https://images.newscientist.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/29134800/g
ettyimages-119515513_web.jpg[/url]

Greggy has misogyny in his brain.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #47 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 9:22pm

In  2024- 2025 over one billion Tim Tam sold annually, around 35-40 million packs.
There are 11 biscuits per pack which means half the Tim Tam packs are missing.

High cholesterol costs Australia billions annually (around $3.9B) and this adds value to each delicious fatty suicide toxic waste.

Reply #48 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 9:40pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 9:09am:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 7:40am:
Thanks sir brave Crook,

the link is here:

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/food/eat/customers-stunned-at-720-tim-tam-pric...

yes - they rip people off.

Don't buy them, and the price will eventually come down.

I'm pretty sure people will survive without chocolate biscuits.

That’s exactly what I’ve been doing! Totally avoiding biscuits and chocolates!
I used to love buying a block of cadburys chocolate for around $3 or $4 max, but now it’s bloomin $8  Shocked
What the heck happened with prices going up like that almost overnight, sneaking up on us?

So biscuits, and chocolate are only rubbish food so best avoid it, best thing happened prices ballooning so we cut out the junk. I only buy if I’m making something and required choc ripple biscuits or chocolate to grate on cakes as decoration.

As for Tim Tams, eons ago I went to a seminar to hear a talk about chemicals in our foods.
Tim Tams were the worst!
So I’ve avoided them.
There were similar biscuits at the time by Players with a lot let chemicals. But Lo abd behold, nowhere to be seen anymore!

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #49 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 10:05pm

Flip

Reply #50 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 10:06pm

I miss a nice little white 2c paper bag of lollies Embarrassed

Reply #51 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 10:41pm

Jasin wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 10:06pm:
I miss a nice little white 2c paper bag of lollies Embarrassed

Grin it was halfpenny for moiye!

If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand.

Milton Friedman

Reply #52 - Dec 30th, 2025 at 11:41pm

Ohh you're like from another time period Sophia.  Cheesy
Grapps beats you, from when they used beads and shells to buy lollies.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #53 - Dec 31st, 2025 at 6:04am

A cafe had to owned by people with names like Megoletraton Constanchrisopoulos with cobwebs on the wooden display board holding rows of chocolates. Milk shakes in steel cans, a stack of ice cream cones and coke signs. Long echoing entrance on cracked tiles and smell of coffee...

Reply #54 - Dec 31st, 2025 at 11:04am

Just back from Moles. Tim Tam originals for $9 and the shelf was empty.
Heaps of Tourists in need I guess.
They could have sold them for $15.

Reply #55 - Dec 31st, 2025 at 11:07am

Jasin wrote on Dec 31st, 2025 at 11:04am:
Just back from Moles. Tim Tam originals for $9 and the shelf was empty.
Heaps of Tourists in need I guess.
They could have sold them for $15.

Tim Tams normally sell for $6 at Coles and Woolies here in Melbourne.
I'll buy a packet when they are on special for $3.50.

Leroy

Reply #56 - Dec 31st, 2025 at 11:17am

Jasin wrote on Dec 30th, 2025 at 11:41pm:
Ohh you're like from another time period Sophia.  Cheesy
Grapps beats you, from when they used beads and shells to buy lollies.

When I was 7-9yrs old I would go to the local swimming pool which was 14ft deep at the diving board end and dive down scouring the bottom. I would often find coins, sometimes up to 60c which I would then use to buy lollies from the shop. I could buy 8 orbit lollies for 1c. One particular day I found a 50c coin and then bought 400 orbit lollies. I don't know why but I kept them is the freezer, probably to hide them from my siblings. The parents of a good friend of mine owned one of the local pubs and on Saturday mornings we would check all the splash trays on the bottom of the bars collecting coins always having enough to buy icecreams, coke and a big bag of lollies.

Trump derangement syndrome
Fareed Zakaria defined the term as "hatred of President Trump so intense that it impairs people's judgment"

Lets check in at 5pm on 23rd July 2025 then at 5pm on 30th July

chimera

Armidale
Reply #57 - Dec 31st, 2025 at 11:27am

We used to swim at the pool at daybreak and walk back past a bakery. They sold hot bread and kids bought a 1/2 loaf each and ate it before breakfast.

Reply #58 - Dec 31st, 2025 at 2:46pm

In Mt Druitt, as kids, we used to steal the abo kid's easy sit down money.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #59 - Dec 31st, 2025 at 2:49pm

So it's a lifetime thing with you?