My View On Gun Control (Read 553 times)

My View On Gun Control
Dec 15th, 2025 at 4:20pm

Well, Albanese has to react and not just with flags at half mast, and the perfunctory 'thoughts and prayers,' wreath laying.

So, here is my solution.

1.  Farmers.  May have guns on their farm.  And they stay on their farms, and they are kept a very close intel eye on.

2.  Hunters.  Right.  Join a Licensed Hunter's Club. All your weapons must be kept at a very very secure, regulated and inspected Club Arsenal.  You can get them when you are on a Club organised shoot.

3.  Range shooters.  Same as Hunters.

Re: My View On Gun Control
Reply #1 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 4:41pm

Yes Aussie,
I don't see why people living in a city need to have any guns at their home.
They can be stored in club rooms.

tallowood

Израиль Навсегда

Reply #2 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 5:08pm

It may come as a shock to learn there are more guns in Australia now than there were before the Port Arthur massacre in 1996.

https://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/gun-ownership-is-rising-in-australia-heres-why/ldde2tb0g

עַם יִשְרָאֵל חַי

Reply #3 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 5:12pm

I went to a small bore rifle club when I was a kid and
all the .22 rifles were stored there.
It wasn't a problem – none ever got stolen.
Personally – after going there a couple of times I found it boring and
I don't see why other people think it's such a good hobby.
To me it's not worth the risk of having firearms in the city and
I don't understand why people think it's so great?
Farmers and professional pest eradicators need them for sure
but someone living in a city having 6 guns at home?
It's time we got rid of guns.

Reply #4 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 5:22pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 4:20pm:
Well, Albanese has to react and not just with flags at half mast, and the perfunctory 'thoughts and prayers,' wreath laying.

So, here is my solution.

1.  Farmers.  May have guns on their farm.  And they stay on their farms, and they are kept a very close intel eye on.

2.  Hunters.  Right.  Join a Licensed Hunter's Club. All your weapons must be kept at a very very secure, regulated and inspected Club Arsenal.  You can get them when you are on a Club organised shoot.

AnAl should act perhaps banning those who ASIO investigates from owning firearms is a good start.
Kyle Sandilands was denied a firearms license because he has a few suspect friends they should use the discretion they already have to revoke licenses from everyone who lives in a house with suspected terrorist.

1. It's not just farmers who need guns rural landowners have a legal obligation to eradictate feral pests by any lawful method under the Rural Lands Protection Act.

I have a farmer friend who leaves his guns in my safe when he leaves property. Leaving guns on a property in the middle of nowhere with nobody around is asking for them to get stolen it's pure idiocy.

2. Hunters don't have to join a club if they have written permission to shoot on a property.

What should change is allowing Hunters to participate in Target shooting without having to list Target shooting as a genuine reason. Then the clubs can report suspect people.

More idiocy from you it makes these gun safes a target for thieves the clubs don't have these facilities.

3.Range shooters travel around they don't only shoot at one range. Target shooting clubs will become a target for thefts.

What happened at Bondi was a failure of NSW Police and ASIO in allowing the older person to have a gun license when his son was investigated and friends with convicted Islamic terrorist.
(3)  A licence must not be issued unless—
(a)  the Commissioner is satisfied that the applicant is a fit and proper person and can be trusted to have possession of firearms without danger to public safety or to the peace, and

https://legislation.nsw.gov.au/view/html/inforce/current/act-1996-046#sec.11

These terrorists had Islamic state flags in their car the son was investigated by ASIO which shows our laws could have taken their guns away yet for some reason they didn't.

Sydney is the drive by shooting capital of Australia we have around 40 houses shot up in drive by shootings every year it's not being done by licensed firearm owners they're being done by middle eastern organised crime.
Your proposal will do nothing to reduce these drive by shootings.

Bondi isn't the first beach shooting this year there was one in Brighton le Sands earlier in the year with middle eastern organised crime gang.

Here is former NSW Police minister saying greater than 97% of all gun crime in NSW is done by criminals with illegal guns at 1 min 15.
How does your proposal have any impact on gun crime by criminals with unregistered guns?

Reply #5 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 5:31pm

Over 2 million licensed firearm owners with over 6 million registered firearms in Australia.
Page 63- https://www.acic.gov.au/sites/default/files/2020-08/crimtrac_ar_2015-16_final_07...

This terrorist was known to ASIO with islamic state links the Police Commissioner already has the power to revoke his license for some reason they didn't.

Interim AVO gets license suspended if AVO is granted you lose firearms license for 10 years.

It's absurd allowing people linked to Islamic state to legally own firearms

Reply #6 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 5:48pm

So, here is my solution.

This is not about gun control.

If is about Mohammedan control.

Stop evading the *vcking jihadi elephant in the country.

Reply #7 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 6:28pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 5:22pm:

So, here is my solution.

AnAl should act perhaps banning those who ASIO investigates from owning firearms is a good start.
Kyle Sandilands was denied a firearms license because he has a few suspect friends they should use the discretion they already have to revoke licenses from everyone who lives in a house with suspected terrorist.

1. It's not just farmers who need guns rural landowners have a legal obligation to eradictate feral pests by any lawful method under the Rural Lands Protection Act.

I have a farmer friend who leaves his guns in my safe when he leaves property. Leaving guns on a property in the middle of nowhere with nobody around is asking for them to get stolen it's pure idiocy.

2. Hunters don't have to join a club if they have written permission to shoot on a property.

What should change is allowing Hunters to participate in Target shooting without having to list Target shooting as a genuine reason. Then the clubs can report suspect people.

More idiocy from you it makes these gun safes a target for thieves the clubs don't have these facilities.

3.Range shooters travel around they don't only shoot at one range. Target shooting clubs will become a target for thefts.

What happened at Bondi was a failure of NSW Police and ASIO in allowing the older person to have a gun license when his son was investigated and friends with convicted Islamic terrorist.
(3)  A licence must not be issued unless—
(a)  the Commissioner is satisfied that the applicant is a fit and proper person and can be trusted to have possession of firearms without danger to public safety or to the peace, and

https://legislation.nsw.gov.au/view/html/inforce/current/act-1996-046#sec.11

These terrorists had Islamic state flags in their car the son was investigated by ASIO which shows our laws could have taken their guns away yet for some reason they didn't.

Sydney is the drive by shooting capital of Australia we have around 40 houses shot up in drive by shootings every year it's not being done by licensed firearm owners they're being done by middle eastern organised crime.
Your proposal will do nothing to reduce these drive by shootings.

Bondi isn't the first beach shooting this year there was one in Brighton le Sands earlier in the year with middle eastern organised crime gang.

Here is former NSW Police minister saying greater than 97% of all gun crime in NSW is done by criminals with illegal guns at 1 min 15.
How does your proposal have any impact on gun crime by criminals with unregistered guns?

Okay, all good points.  But nothing that cannot be solved with strict control of any removal of a gun from a Club arsenal.  Any gun gets out of a Club arsenal, off Club property, a red flag alert goes to law enforcement.  Receipt of said gun at destination must be mandatory.

I have already agreed rural gun owners can hold them on property but they may not be removed from that property.

Guns have no place in cities.

I don't have all the details worked out...it is the concept which I reckon is workable.

Reply #8 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 6:31pm

Frank wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 5:48pm:

So, here is my solution.

This is not about gun control.

If is about Mohammedan control.

Stop evading the *vcking jihadi elephant in the country.

Rubbish.  You want to use this event to bash.  I want to use this event to get better control of guns and still allow for their legitimate use.

You got any guns, Soren?

MeisterEckhart

Reply #9 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 6:44pm

I knew someone whose house was burgled. They broke into his secure gun safe. The safe was empty, but he reported it to the cops anyway. They were at his house within 10 minutes to investigate and have him confirm in person that there were no guns in the safe.

Reply #10 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 6:57pm

MeisterEckhart wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 6:44pm:
I knew someone whose house was burgled. They broke into his secure gun safe. The safe was empty, but he reported it to the cops anyway. They were at his house within 10 minutes to investigate and have him confirm in person that there were no guns in the safe.

Yes, a Club arsenal would be an obvious target.  That is why I said they must be secured at whatever it costs.

Guns owners need to cough up and pay for the privilege of having something which has no use other than to kill, or get pointless jollies hitting a target.

Leroy

Reply #11 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 7:01pm

We can ban guns, even though it will be people that are 99% good people that have their guns banned.

We could ban religion, even though it will be 99% good people that have their religion banned.

One is the root problem and one is a symptom.

Trump derangement syndrome
Fareed Zakaria defined the term as "hatred of President Trump so intense that it impairs people's judgment"

Lets check in at 5pm on 23rd July 2025 then at 5pm on 30th July

Reply #12 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 7:26pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 6:28pm:
Okay, all good points.  But nothing that cannot be solved with strict control of any removal of a gun from a Club arsenal.  Any gun gets out of a Club arsenal, off Club property, a red flag alert goes to law enforcement.  Receipt of said gun at destination must be mandatory.

I have already agreed rural gun owners can hold them on property but they may not be removed from that property.

Guns have no place in cities.

I don't have all the details worked out...it is the concept which I reckon is workable.

You haven't thought about this rationally you're having a knee jerk reaction to Islamic terrorism.

The father let his son touch his rifles which isn't allowed under our laws we have reports of him hunting while unlicensed.

Gun clubs don't have significant arsenals the majority are privately owned.
Gun clubs (hunting) don't meet everyday once a week maybe once a month your proposal isn't going to work.

Police minister said greater than 97% of all gun crime is done by criminals with illegal guns with over 2 million licensed gun owners your idiocy will bog the police down with nonsense flagging them everytime they want to use their guns.
When police do rego check on your car it pops up if you're licensed gun owner they do ask if you have any in the car.

Malcolm Turnbull had a Category C semi auto rimfire when he owned his farm he had to leave it on his farm when his Point Piper mansion had Federal Police protecting him.
His PP mansion had far greater security for that rifle it's absurd he couldn't keep it there.

With Category C shotguns owned by farmers they can only use it on their farm where it has to stay.
If Farmer wants to shoot clay targets at a club to keep his eye in he has to buy another Cat B shotgun for that which means he now owns 2 shotties.
Change the law to allow a registered firearm to be used for any lawful purpose and you will reduce the number of guns people own.
It's stupid making people keep guns on a property they might not be at we even had a MP charged with fail to prevent loss of theft of a semi auto Cat C rifle because he couldn't take it to his home.

People who live in cities also own rural properties where they shoot legally so claiming people in cities don't need guns is absurd.

In Sydney we have Anzac rifle range 5 minute drive from Sydney airport we also have Hornsby rifle range.
Two of the biggest NSW rifle ranges are in Sydney city we also have numerous smalller ranges for shorter distances.

Maybe it's ignorance or Hoplophobia why you claim guns have no place in cities Target shooting is an Olympic sport many hunters also live in cities.

What you should be looking at is what can disqualify you from legally owning a gun.
If domestic violence (AVO) disqualifies you for 10 years and a good behaviour bond with no conviction recorded for 5 then surely having any friends-links to terrorist groups should disqualify you for life.

It would also pay to look the 97% of gun crime that is done with illegal guns and what laws could stop that which is something no politician does.
We have drive by shootings nearly every week in Sydney nothing you have proposed will reduce that.

Would you be OK with mandatory 1 year jail for having an unregistered gun?

The Remington 870 shotgun the father used is Category C he wasn't a Primary Producer that shotgun was illegal, it also had longer tubular magazine holding more than 5 rounds making it Category D which only those employed for pest control can have.
Where did he get that from?

Reply #13 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 7:34pm

Leroy wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 7:01pm:
We can ban guns, even though it will be people that are 99% good people that have their guns banned.

We could ban religion, even though it will be 99% good people that have their religion banned.

They should only allow Christians to immigrate to Australia.

Reply #14 - Dec 15th, 2025 at 7:43pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 7:34pm:
Leroy wrote on Dec 15th, 2025 at 7:01pm:

They should only allow Christians to immigrate to Australia.