Aussie wrote on Dec 15
th, 2025 at 6:28pm:
Okay, all good points. But nothing that cannot be solved with strict control of any removal of a gun from a Club arsenal. Any gun gets out of a Club arsenal, off Club property, a red flag alert goes to law enforcement. Receipt of said gun at destination must be mandatory.
I have already agreed rural gun owners can hold them on property but they may not be removed from that property.
Guns have no place in cities.
I don't have all the details worked out...it is the concept which I reckon is workable.
You haven't thought about this rationally you're having a knee jerk reaction to Islamic terrorism.
The father let his son touch his rifles which isn't allowed under our laws we have reports of him hunting while unlicensed.
Gun clubs don't have significant arsenals the majority are privately owned.
Gun clubs (hunting) don't meet everyday once a week maybe once a month your proposal isn't going to work.
Police minister said greater than 97% of all gun crime is done by criminals with illegal guns with over 2 million licensed gun owners your idiocy will bog the police down with nonsense flagging them everytime they want to use their guns.
When police do rego check on your car it pops up if you're licensed gun owner they do ask if you have any in the car.
Malcolm Turnbull had a Category C semi auto rimfire when he owned his farm he had to leave it on his farm when his Point Piper mansion had Federal Police protecting him.
His PP mansion had far greater security for that rifle it's absurd he couldn't keep it there.
With Category C shotguns owned by farmers they can only use it on their farm where it has to stay.
If Farmer wants to shoot clay targets at a club to keep his eye in he has to buy another Cat B shotgun for that which means he now owns 2 shotties.
Change the law to allow a registered firearm to be used for any lawful purpose and you will reduce the number of guns people own.
It's stupid making people keep guns on a property they might not be at we even had a MP charged with fail to prevent loss of theft of a semi auto Cat C rifle because he couldn't take it to his home.
People who live in cities also own rural properties where they shoot legally so claiming people in cities don't need guns is absurd.
In Sydney we have Anzac rifle range 5 minute drive from Sydney airport we also have Hornsby rifle range.
Two of the biggest NSW rifle ranges are in Sydney city we also have numerous smalller ranges for shorter distances.
Maybe it's ignorance or Hoplophobia why you claim guns have no place in cities Target shooting is an Olympic sport many hunters also live in cities.
What you should be looking at is what can disqualify you from legally owning a gun.
If domestic violence (AVO) disqualifies you for 10 years and a good behaviour bond with no conviction recorded for 5 then surely having any friends-links to terrorist groups should disqualify you for life.
It would also pay to look the 97% of gun crime that is done with illegal guns and what laws could stop that which is something no politician does.
We have drive by shootings nearly every week in Sydney nothing you have proposed will reduce that.
Would you be OK with mandatory 1 year jail for having an unregistered gun?
The Remington 870 shotgun the father used is Category C he wasn't a Primary Producer that shotgun was illegal, it also had longer tubular magazine holding more than 5 rounds making it Category D which only those employed for pest control can have.
Where did he get that from?