Does Labor waste money? (Read 395 times)
whiteknight

Re: Does Labor waste money?
Reply #45 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:16pm

Wasting $368 billion on submarines will not solve our crisis.  Well said Bobby, Where's the money coming from?.   Sad

Reply #46 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:18pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:12pm:
Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 5:25pm:
Except under Howard and Costello we owed no money -
the economy was much better -
house prices were much lower -
all prices were much lower -
we were better off.

the changes to CGT that fueled the property boom was HOWARDS doing dumbarse ..

Mass, uncontrolled immigration caused high demand on housing - you halfwit.

Reply #47 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:20pm

whiteknight wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:16pm:
Wasting $368 billion on submarines will not solve our crisis.  Well said Bobby, Where's the money coming from?.   Sad

Money printing like Venezuela.

Reply #48 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:21pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:18pm:
we were better off.

you need to stop drinking the cool aid. Property has been booming since Howard. Are you claiming he was importing mass migrants?  Cheesy I know many owners of multiple properties ..one has 50 in his portfolio. None are migrants.

Isn't it time you learnt to think for yourself?

Reply #49 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:52pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:21pm:
we were better off.

you need to stop drinking the cool aid. Property has been booming since Howard. Are you claiming he was importing mass migrants?  Cheesy I know many owners of multiple properties ..one has 50 in his portfolio. None are migrants.

Albo is bringing them in by the millions
with nowhere to live for them.

Reply #50 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 9:13pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 11:56am:
thegreatdivide wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 11:50am:
Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 11:46am:
TGD,
I vote Labor

We all know that.   Roll Eyes

And that's supposed to count as a considered reply to my post?

Yeah well then don't tell me how good Labor is.

Twice in my life I lost my job -
each time in a large company and
each time a mass retrenchment of many workers.

Both times Centrelink refused to pay me even one penny towards the dole.
Both times Labor was in power.
I'll never forgive them.

Centrelink has never refused the pay me unemployment benefits whenever I had lost a job, Bobby.  I have lost 5 jobs over the decades, usually because of Liberal, "belt tightening," policies which directly affected my employment.  I used to work exclusively for Universities, doing various research jobs.  Invariably, I was sacked because I was low-down on the totem poll and academics ran out of money to employ me.  I hated the Libs for their antics and almost always voted Labor as a consequence.  I was quite happily employed when Labor was in power.  I wasn't when the Libs were in power.  I was always looking over my shoulder.  Tsk, tsk, tsk... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

It seems that I have upset a Moderator and are forbidden from using posting to the general forum now. So much for Freedom of Speech. Tsk, tsk, tsk...   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #51 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 9:24pm

Brian Ross wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 9:13pm:
Centrelink has never refused the pay me unemployment benefits whenever I had lost a job, Bobby.  I have lost 5 jobs over the decades, usually because of Liberal, "belt tightening," policies which directly affected my  Smileyemployment.  I used to work exclusively for Universities, doing various research jobs.  Invariably, I was sacked because I was low-down on the totem poll and academics ran out of money to employ me.  I hated the Libs for their antics and almost always voted Labor as a consequence.  I was quite happily employed when Labor was in power.  I wasn't when the Libs were in power.  I was always looking over my shoulder.  Tsk, tsk, tsk... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

So you were a total parasitic drongo all your 'working' life.

Ta.

Reply #52 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 9:58pm

we were better off.

During a world wide ecanomic boom. The problem was that Howard and Costello unafordable tax cuts meant that we could not survive any downturn. Howard had geared to economy to not survive a GFC. In this boom Australian government income was a a record 200 year level. When Howard left office our economy required to 200 year record level to continue in order to just pay the bills. As soon as the numbers returned to normal Australia was screwed.

we were better off

We finished up much worse off because of Howards incompetance in the boom period.

They geared the economy to fail. They needed record ecanomic conditions just to break even after their unafordable tax cuts.

Reply #53 - Nov 16th, 2025 at 11:50pm

Centrelink has never refused the pay me unemployment benefits whenever I had lost a job, Bobby.  I have lost 5 jobs over the decades, usually because of Liberal, "belt tightening," policies which directly affected my employment.  I used to work exclusively for Universities, doing various research jobs.  Invariably, I was sacked because I was low-down on the totem poll and academics ran out of money to employ me.  I hated the Libs for their antics and almost always voted Labor as a consequence.  I was quite happily employed when Labor was in power.  I wasn't when the Libs were in power.  I was always looking over my shoulder.  Tsk, tsk, tsk... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Wow - you must have been down to your last $5.   Shocked

Reply #54 - Yesterday at 8:12am

Frank wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 9:24pm:
Centrelink has never refused the pay me unemployment benefits whenever I had lost a job, Bobby.  I have lost 5 jobs over the decades, usually because of Liberal, "belt tightening," policies which directly affected my  Smileyemployment.  I used to work exclusively for Universities, doing various research jobs.  Invariably, I was sacked because I was low-down on the totem poll and academics ran out of money to employ me.  I hated the Libs for their antics and almost always voted Labor as a consequence.  I was quite happily employed when Labor was in power.  I wasn't when the Libs were in power.  I was always looking over my shoulder.  Tsk, tsk, tsk... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

So you were a total parasitic drongo all your 'working' life.

Ta.

Anytime, Soren.  I am glad you are glad I was often doing jpbs that you were incapable of.  Tsk, tsk, tsk... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

It seems that I have upset a Moderator and are forbidden from using posting to the general forum now. So much for Freedom of Speech. Tsk, tsk, tsk...   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #55 - Yesterday at 9:15am

John Smith wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 7:21pm:
we were better off.

You DO know you are talking to high school dropout Booby? “Think” is not something he does much.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #56 - Yesterday at 9:24am

Albo can't manage money.

Many posters here voted for him:
Smith,
Monk,
Brian,
Greggy
TGD

the usual suspects.   Roll Eyes

Reply #57 - Yesterday at 9:28am

I am not on the electoral roll so could not vote for anyone, you drongo!

I am sure you and Aussie have looked through the electoral rolls for Tassie trying to find my address.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #58 - Yesterday at 9:35am

Jovial Monk wrote Yesterday at 9:28am:
I am not on the electoral roll so could not vote for anyone, you drongo!

I am sure you and Aussie have looked through the electoral rolls for Tassie trying to find my address.

Monk,
you're a dyed in the wool Labor voter.  Roll Eyes

thegreatdivide

Australian Politics<br
/>

Reply #59 - Yesterday at 10:13am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 16th, 2025 at 6:23pm:
TGD,
YOU apparently want even less government spending  -
meaning more government 'austerity'  -
which will mean more poverty amid increasing inequality.

The Govt creating unnecessary jobs in the public service
with borrowed money will not solve our crisis.

Mythology: the government isn't creating "unnecessary jobs" in the public service, though it is funding necessary new jobs in the age, health and childcare sectors; you are confusing the public sector workforce required to maintain government functions, compared  with publically funded sectors liike age care, child care, and education.

But the question is: why isn't the private sector creating jobs?

Wasting $2 billion on a climate conference will not solve our crisis.

Yet today the climate council asked for honesty from all sides of government: electricity prices are going to rise over the next decade regardless of Labor's 'net zero by 2050' or the Coalition's 'technology agnostic' policy, because the entire aging Oz  coal fleet will have to be replaced in the next decade.

The Coalition's 'cheaper prices' policy is a fraud (just as Labor's infamous pledge of $275  off electricity bills was ill-judged).

Now, if AGW/CO2 climate change is real, obviously we need to replace new coal with new renewables.

btw, I heard today Oz gas is increasingly expensive because all easily available reserves have already been exploited. Even  gas prices in WA are rising, despite that state's  10% gas reservation scheme.   

Meaning the Oz government will have to subsidize elecricity prices, to keep Oz businesses and low income consumers afloat; and eg supporting the Whyalla steel works against overseas competition, otherwise Oz becomes a non-manufacturing backwater.

Wasting $368 billion on submarines will not solve our crisis.

It might delay Taiwan's reversion to full China sovereignty....

They don't have the money for any of that so it gets printed.

Which the US are doing quite successfully, creating the fastest growing economy in the G7. 
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 10:28am by thegreatdivide »