Poll closed Poll
Question: Should workers be at home or in the office?
*** This poll has now closed ***

Home    
  2 (66.7%)
Office    
  1 (33.3%)

Total votes: 3
« Last Modified by: Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM on: May 26th, 2025 at 11:21pm »

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 23
Work from home ends bludgers threaten to quit (Read 5974 times)
Daves2017

Re: Work from home ends bludgers threaten to quit
Reply #30 - May 22nd, 2025 at 10:41pm

I just jumped into this thread and all I want to share is my boss works from home and I wonder if she ever sleeping!

I’m part of a very successful business and while I’m always working away from home.
I know my boss has my back 24/7 from her home.

Just saying

I’ll just keep dancing at the Pink Pony Club

Reply #31 - May 23rd, 2025 at 12:12am

greggerypeccary wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 7:05pm:
Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 7:47am:
Let's look at it simply - if they are not happy to work to the rules - they are not the kind of people you want working for you.  Their departure will fall in line with the banks' push to get rid of staff... let them walk into a jobless market.

People are not paid to work from home - they are paid to be on deck and available at a moment's notice to deal with anything that comes up - no matter how minor.

https://fee.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/12/ok-boomer-7b71823ce9.jpg

none of you would be here and in comfort without Boomers........

Reply #32 - May 23rd, 2025 at 12:13am

John Smith wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 7:02pm:
Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 6:23pm:
NOPE!  It's a simple matter that certain kinds or 'classes' of worker do NOT have entitlement to cost-saving work ways over others.

No cost to travel to work, no cost for childcare, no cost for clothing etc required .... one class of 'worker' gets it - most do not  ...NOPE .... the point is that they are required in the office in order to be instantly available in all ways to handle any issue that arises.

what planet do you live on? many workers already are entitled to 'cost savings work' not necessarily available to others and have been since forever ... are you drunk? Cheesy

An employee works as directed, Smith... back to the office.  No special privileges for them!

Your kind are drunk on stuffing up the economy, the country, the culture and the people who live here... you think it's fun from behind your keyboard in mummy's den.   Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin

Reply #33 - May 24th, 2025 at 5:24am

mothra wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 8:50am:
Carl D wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 8:43am:
mothra wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 8:40am:
I may well be lost in my own fantasies her but what of converting some of that space into residential? A combined effort with both governments helping?

I mean, if we actually want to solve our problems and stuff.

Hi mothra.

Actually, that has been suggested by a few people during the past couple of years and it would be a great idea.

I guess it's another one of those things that was put in the "too hard" basket (and will probably stay there, unfortunately).

Perhaps it will wriggle about in the too hard basket so exuberantly it will be noticed.

Business wil lead this, government will follow. And from what i can tell, business is finding that it makes fiscal sense to have workers operate from home.

I see - so they are now paying less for the same office space etc that echoes as they work?  Now who'd 've thunk that?

Not the NAB, surely??

Reply #34 - May 24th, 2025 at 5:26am

mothra wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 8:15am:
The only thing i can put the outrage over working from home is is petty jealousy. But that is pretty typical of the Boomers on here.

Working from home makes all the sense in the world. One of the best things that came out of lockdown.

So you admit it is a gain for those people, an unwarranted privilege for a few, and contributes unearned earnings to their pockets as well - a hidden pay rise for not having to go to work etc?

I never thought you had that much sense in you.  Cool

Reply #35 - May 24th, 2025 at 5:38am

Why don't we just look into this, hmmmmm?  This'll be good.

https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/australias-welfare/changing-patterns-of-work

" By April 2022, 46% of people had worked from home at least once per week (in the last 4 weeks), the highest level recorded since the pandemic began in March 2020 (ABS 2021a; ABS 2022a"

Repeats:- once a week....

This one's a good laugh: - a did-ums moment:-

"Working from home may affect productivity (that is, the measure of output per unit of labour) of employees in different ways. For example, it may have hindered productivity due to the physical distance between colleagues and challenges in collaborating and exchanging information. On the other hand, many employees have an improved work-life balance due to the elimination of their daily commute and being better rested for work as a result (Productivity Commission 2021)."

WELL!  That's a serious obligation on employers!  Now they get to dictate whether or not you have an "improved life/work balance!" ..'"better rested for work."  But they're not at work!

"Most people in paid employment who had increased the amount of time they spent working from home at the start of the pandemic reported little change in productivity."

Well - they wouldn't, would they - "According to self-reported data from HILDA"?

"One such study conducted a randomised control trial to investigate the effects of hybrid work arrangements on the attrition, job satisfaction and productivity of both managerial and non-managerial knowledge workers. This study found that – despite a drop in productivity being one of the more commonly touted criticisms of working from home – there was no evidence to suggest a substantial positive or negative impact of hybrid working on productivity "

Now that has the finest spin on it!!Let's add a little - "no substantial positive or negative impact" - so it is of no real value to work from home, and has a few shortfalls, such as people not being available at a moment's notice etc and fully focused on their job.

"Mothers who worked at home for 3 days per week and in the workplace for 2 days had a 12% increase in average job satisfaction. This may be related to increased opportunities to undertake both work and family responsibilities"

There you have it - free childcare etc as well... all wrapped up in a nice, smarmy bundle.  Free childcare is not a right - it is a right of children to have proper parenting.... two totally different issues.  Another free ride for the Chosen Ones.

« Last Edit: May 24th, 2025 at 10:04am by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM »  

Reply #36 - May 24th, 2025 at 10:57am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 23rd, 2025 at 12:13am:
John Smith wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 7:02pm:
Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 22nd, 2025 at 6:23pm:
NOPE!  It's a simple matter that certain kinds or 'classes' of worker do NOT have entitlement to cost-saving work ways over others.

No cost to travel to work, no cost for childcare, no cost for clothing etc required .... one class of 'worker' gets it - most do not  ...NOPE .... the point is that they are required in the office in order to be instantly available in all ways to handle any issue that arises.

what planet do you live on? many workers already are entitled to 'cost savings work' not necessarily available to others and have been since forever ... are you drunk? Cheesy

An employee works as directed, Smith... back to the office.  No special privileges for them!

Your kind are drunk on stuffing up the economy, the country, the culture and the people who live here... you think it's fun from behind your keyboard in mummy's den.   Grin  Grin  Grin  Grin

An employee is paid to do the work they are assigned. As long as they do that work proficiently and within acceptable standards, it doesn't matter where or how. Employees are not their to boost your ego whilst you're pretend you're some sort of hero bossing them around.

You need to stop pretending you're a victim in all this. It's not about you. If you feel so strongly about it you can always go and sit at your local centrelink office for 8 hrs a day, 5 days a week to justify your pension

Reply #37 - May 24th, 2025 at 11:50am

Go back on your medications, smith - you have some very strange ideas wandering about in your head.

Reply #38 - May 24th, 2025 at 11:59am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 24th, 2025 at 11:50am:
Go back on your medications, smith - you have some very strange ideas wandering about in your head.

so that's a no, you don't want to 'go to work' for your pension? But you want everyone else to? bugger off with your hypocrisy

Reply #39 - May 24th, 2025 at 1:02pm

Stop making out they're victims for having to go back to work.  It's not a holiday camp.

Great to see someone taking a stand on this and saying 'holiday's over'.

Reply #40 - May 24th, 2025 at 1:33pm

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 24th, 2025 at 1:02pm:
Stop making out they're victims for having to go back to work.  It's not a holiday camp.

I'm not making out anyone's a victim. I haven't even mentioned the workers. It's YOU who is playing the victim, most likely out of jealousy, because some can work from home.

Reply #41 - May 24th, 2025 at 1:50pm

John Smith wrote on May 24th, 2025 at 1:33pm:
Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 24th, 2025 at 1:02pm:

I'm not making out anyone's a victim. I haven't even mentioned the workers. It's YOU who is playing the victim, most likely out of jealousy, because some can work from home.

You always make out these are victims - Abos, gays, people given the TEMPORARY privilege of working from home during a crisis... then when they are expected to Mainstream it - you whine and insult those who sa, time to go back to work, and you carry on like a pork chop in a mosque, trying desperately to shift the blame.

Wake up, Smith.  If you act that way in real life you'd be living on a desert island - nobody would talk to you.  You lot should all go out and stand on a street corner and sell your bill of goods to people walking past... dividie won't go Outback to persuade the Abos to work .... he knows they'd beat the shite out of him ... but you're made of sterner stuff!! Just ask you... as long as you only have to slag off at others, you're a Man!

They can just go back to work as normal - it's not a right to work from home - it's a bludge.

A past gf's daughter worked from home - she was a sales rep.... kind of different, you understand.

You just sit there and get on with your concreting from your mumma's basement there... the clients won't notice you're not there.

Reply #42 - May 24th, 2025 at 2:04pm

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on May 24th, 2025 at 1:50pm:
You always make out these are victims - Abos, gays, people given the TEMPORARY privilege of working from home during a crisis..

I've never made out anyone's a victim. All I do is call out your racism and bigotry. I can understand why that irks you ... it must suck to have to face the fact that you're a bigot and a wanker. 
You're a big boy, either learn to deal with it, or adjust your behaviour ... both are far preferable to pretending to be a victim all the time.

Reply #43 - May 24th, 2025 at 2:36pm

John Smith wrote on May 24th, 2025 at 2:04pm:
You always make out these are victims - Abos, gays, people given the TEMPORARY privilege of working from home during a crisis..

I've never made out anyone's a victim. All I do is call out your racism and bigotry. I can understand why that irks you ... it must suck to have to face the fact that you're a bigot and a wanker. 
You're a big boy, either learn to deal with it, or adjust your behaviour ... both are far preferable to pretending to be a victim all the time.

And yet whenever anyone posts a legitimate complaint about wrongs - you are the first to say they are crying victim, and then you stick to that silliness and use it as a weapon against them every time they speak up about real WRONGS.

Clearly you and many others are so out of touch and have your minds wrapped in cotton wool so much that you simply cannot see the realities in front of you.

I'll try this one on you - which specific group do YOU want to have a dictated RIGHT to more than 50% of seats in Parliament?

MeisterEckhart

Reply #44 - May 24th, 2025 at 2:47pm

people given the TEMPORARY privilege of working from home during a crisis...

Gawd! Thank god you lot are out of power now.

You've become your own grandfathers - the ones who, no doubt, bitched in the 60s about how much 'kids nowadays all need a bloody car to get around... in moi day, we shank's ponyed it, or waited for a bus'.

The fact is, the workforce and demography of the country have changed over the last 50 years when Boomers were all in their youth.

Here in 21st-century Australia, the result of nearly 50 years of encouraging the nation's daughters to achieve higher education and to pursue careers, has meant that women need incentives to sacrifice 10 good years of their youth to child rearing without sacrificing career aspirations.

Being able to work from anywhere goes some way to aiding that end.

Or would you have it that Boomers refusing to die off, thus locking Millennials and Zoomers out of the property market, should also deny them work-life balance?

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 23