home window security vs safety screens (Read 3377 times)

home window security vs safety screens
Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:14pm

I am trying to figure out how much difference security and safety screens make to burglary protection.

Safety screens - typically diamond mesh pattern over fly screen. These seem to be fairly easy to break in through.

Security screens - higher rated, looks like a fly screen made with thicker wire. These are made to a higher standard that presumably cannot be quickly or easily broken through.

Some key questions that I am having trouble answering:

If you are out of the house, and you have no other security methods like dogs/cameras/alarms, and you leave the sliding windows open, and they have safety screens on the open windows (but not on the bit that does not open), how much of a deterrent is the safety screen? Is it any better than having nothing, or just fly screen? Is it as good as having the window closed, or would thieves prefer to break in through the safety screen rather than the glass?

How much difference would a security screen make in this scenario?

I cannot really find any good statistics on this.

Re: home window security vs safety screens
Reply #1 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:27pm

Depends how close your neighbours are, I guess.

The thieves probably aren't gonna make a noise and break a window if the neighbours' house is only 2 metres away.

I always used to slide the window open all the way; that way a potential thief would have to break through two sheets of glass rather than just one.

And on the other side is a security screen which is pretty hard to break through.

All said and done though, if you have a tiled roof they'll just remove a few tiles and jump through the ceiling.

Bastards

A tiled roof really is an extraordinarily weak link in home security.

I've always preferred Colorbond.

Reply #2 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:36pm

All said and done though, if you have a tiled roof they'll just remove a few tiles and jump through the ceiling.

How common is that?

I am starting to wonder if the police are deliberately withholding this info so as not to give thieves any ideas.

Reply #3 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:40pm

freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:36pm:

How common is that?

I am starting to wonder if the police are deliberately withholding this info so as not to give thieves any ideas.

Yeah, they probably keep it quiet.

I've seen it happen a few times though.

They did it to my mother's neighbour - took 'em less than 2 minutes to get on the roof, lift a few tiles, and crash through the plasterboard ceiling.

https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/ipswich/thieves-removing-roof-til...

Reply #4 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:44pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:27pm:
Depends how close your neighbours are, I guess.

The thieves probably aren't gonna make a noise and break a window if the neighbours' house is only 2 metres away.

I always used to slide the window open all the way; that way a potential thief would have to break through two sheets of glass rather than just one.

And on the other side is a security screen which is pretty hard to break through.

Bastards

A tiled roof really is an extraordinarily weak link in home security.

I've always preferred Colorbond.

[url]https://goldcoastssecurityscreens.com.au/wp-content/uploads/sites/6/2
024/07/crimsafewindowscreen.jpg[/url]

Just before the breakup between my business partner and myself I visited him at his flat a few times. One day—there was a hole in the ceiling where some thief got in. Wouldn’t have gotten much but it happened!

I have a colorbond roof. Then again, I go away for hours, walking Socks for 5Km say, with my door unlocked.

Reply #5 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:48pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:40pm:

How common is that?

They did it to my mother's neighbour - took 'em less than 2 minutes to get on the roof, lift a few tiles, and crash through the plasterboard ceiling.

https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/ipswich/thieves-removing-roof-til...

I have seen people remove tiles to put whirly birds in. I reckon it was less than two minutes. Just kick the first tile a few times, lift it, then lift the next one over also.

Reply #6 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:57pm

freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:48pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:40pm:

How common is that?

I have seen people remove tiles to put whirly birds in. I reckon it was less than two minutes. Just kick the first tile a few times, lift it, then lift the next one over also.

Yeah.

It's so simple.

And some of these bastards just put on a Hi-Vis vest and the neighbours think it's just a tradie doing a job.

Reply #7 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 5:25pm

Formerly a Queens Pirate, now a Kings Pirate. I know this sort of world well. I've learnt a lot from undercover detectives as well.

Peccary is indeed right. As a kid in the Druitt, through the tiled roof, is the easiest. But I never used the break through the plaster ceiling method. Only morons did that. I always used the foxhole to get down and my rope to get back up, replace the board back in and replaced the tiles back in. Never knew I was there, but I'm sure they wondered where their food in the fridge went.

There are two types of Thieves. 97% are the lazy, stupid easy meat thieves. They are scared of hard work and mostly incompetent if they go for harder acts. If they see something that looks like hard work, they usually are easily deterred. These are the ones that if they see a padlock on the gate, they don't bother to check if the padlock is actually locked.
Two weeks ago a local Security Guard invited me to his house with an amazing sea frontage that costs millions in Sydney, but only $900,000 for him. He asked my advice on his home Security efforts. Like about him getting a 4-digit keypad lock.
I told him to get a 6-digit, because it takes me just an hour to go through the combination to eventually hit the code from either direction. Just like those old bike chain combination locks and briefcases.
But the other Thief, who is of more professional in his.methods. Well, you can't really beat them up to a point. But only very professional entities employ these guys and there's usually a good reason why they got into your house. I've met the best in Australia and well, the trick of it is 'Time'. A good Thief makes the time. A Bad thief tries to rush out of fear and paranoia.

I remember in my teenage years, sneaking into the local quarry kitchen at the old Erskine Park site before it became an Industrial Estate. They couldn't work out who or how their chicken wings, cakes and beers were consumed on and off with a little note left by Santa saying thankyou. They couldn't see any forced break and enter and the door and window locks were updated each time, I saw. They even had a Security guard in a car at night, keep a watch.
But even as a teenie. I still could just casually get in (took 20mins in and 20mins out), munch out, get some nice cold ones down and guess I got another Security guard sacked who for the life of them couldn't see me at just 20m away. Cheesy
I never did get to note them, that I removed the entire window itself, put it aside and put it back in 'securely'.  Grin

Oh the fun and games of it all. I'm sure you remember one of my favourite memories. Of me and a mate living in Kirribilli and after the 3am round of the local cop patrol. We just strolled past the sleeping Security guard and into the Lodge (Keating). But I swear on my mother's knitting, that we were not responsible for that photo of the sleeping guard on the front page of the Daily Telegraph 3 days later.  Shocked Grin

Reply #8 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 5:34pm

Oh yeah, reminds me.

One morning, about 4.00am I am woken by the phone. “Police, your shop was broken into.” Woa! Threw on some clothes, drive to the shop, Mum with me.

Some prick had kicked in the glass in one of my doors (was a double door.)

Cops gave me a “Victims of Crime” booklet and left. Said they had dusted for finger prints but that wasn’t true.

$600 to replace the glass, $50 to find another float tray for our till at 8.00am Saturday. On the way back with the new second hand tray I realised I had no silver float so detoured to the bank, withdrew money for a float, got to my shop just 20 minutes after opening time.

Was a customer there, could see the hole in the glass etc—still cranky because I was a few minutes late!

Cost me maybe $700, thief maybe got $5.00-$10.00 in silver.

Reply #9 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 5:35pm

Oh... btw. FreeDiver. Any deterant against your easy meat thief is always the best deterrent. As for the roof tiles? The best is an inroof sensor that alarms immediately. Of course possums and mice can be a short term problem. But they hate noise pollution too.

Reply #10 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 5:38pm

I can tell you that 75% graded cement under a bank safe is a bugger of a slab to get through... unless you just 'drop the slab' as they say.  Wink

Reply #11 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 7:42pm

I am more interested in whether a thief would prefer to smash a glass window, or force their way through a "safety" screen on an open window. And whether having the window closed would make a difference.

Reply #12 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 8:16pm

freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:14pm:

If you are out of the house, and you have no other security methods like dogs/cameras/alarms, and you leave the sliding windows open, and they have safety screens on the open windows (but not on the bit that does not open), how much of a deterrent is the safety screen? Is it any better than having nothing, or just fly screen? Is it as good as having the window closed, or would thieves prefer to break in through the safety screen rather than the glass?

It depends on what brand of security screen you have.
The ads for Crimsafe look pretty good check them out.

If you're going to have screens on windows best to cover the whole window instead of just the bit that opens.
Crimsafe also double up as fly screens

Fly screens are easy to cut they do nothing for security, crims will break a window if they want to get in.

I would say window closed and locked with Crimsafe brand screens would be well above average for security.

You can also get roller shutters for windows they look like mini garage door which would be good in cyclone/bushfire areas.

EUFY brand cameras are pretty cheap you can talk through your phone to camera with WiFi. They have motion detection save video to cloud etc pretty much instant alert to mobile phone.

RING brand doorbell cameras are also pretty good reasonably priced you can answer the doorbell from your phone so they think someone is home it also takes video of everyone who comes to front door.

Last time i saw stats most break ins were through unlocked doors or windows.
It depends on what type of thief you want to keep out for how much you spend.

Reply #13 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 8:21pm

Reply #14 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 8:59pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 8:16pm:
freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:14pm:

It depends on what brand of security screen you have.
The ads for Crimsafe look pretty good check them out.

If you're going to have screens on windows best to cover the whole window instead of just the bit that opens.
Crimsafe also double up as fly screens

Fly screens are easy to cut they do nothing for security, crims will break a window if they want to get in.

I would say window closed and locked with Crimsafe brand screens would be well above average for security.

You can also get roller shutters for windows they look like mini garage door which would be good in cyclone/bushfire areas.

EUFY brand cameras are pretty cheap you can talk through your phone to camera with WiFi. They have motion detection save video to cloud etc pretty much instant alert to mobile phone.

RING brand doorbell cameras are also pretty good reasonably priced you can answer the doorbell from your phone so they think someone is home it also takes video of everyone who comes to front door.

Last time i saw stats most break ins were through unlocked doors or windows.
It depends on what type of thief you want to keep out for how much you spend.

I know the spin. The more you spend, the safer you are. I can google 1000 sites telling the same story. What I want to know is, how much difference does it actually make?