home window security vs safety screens (Read 3371 times)

Re: home window security vs safety screens
Reply #15 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 9:17pm

I would say a lot of difference.

Reply #16 - Mar 4th, 2025 at 9:26pm

freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 8:59pm:
Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 8:16pm:
freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:14pm:
Some key questions that I am having trouble answering:

If you are out of the house, and you have no other security methods like dogs/cameras/alarms, and you leave the sliding windows open, and they have safety screens on the open windows (but not on the bit that does not open), how much of a deterrent is the safety screen? Is it any better than having nothing, or just fly screen? Is it as good as having the window closed, or would thieves prefer to break in through the safety screen rather than the glass?

How much difference would a security screen make in this scenario?

I cannot really find any good statistics on this.

It depends on what brand of security screen you have.
The ads for Crimsafe look pretty good check them out.

If you're going to have screens on windows best to cover the whole window instead of just the bit that opens.
Crimsafe also double up as fly screens

Fly screens are easy to cut they do nothing for security, crims will break a window if they want to get in.

I would say window closed and locked with Crimsafe brand screens would be well above average for security.

You can also get roller shutters for windows they look like mini garage door which would be good in cyclone/bushfire areas.

EUFY brand cameras are pretty cheap you can talk through your phone to camera with WiFi. They have motion detection save video to cloud etc pretty much instant alert to mobile phone.

RING brand doorbell cameras are also pretty good reasonably priced you can answer the doorbell from your phone so they think someone is home it also takes video of everyone who comes to front door.

Last time i saw stats most break ins were through unlocked doors or windows.
It depends on what type of thief you want to keep out for how much you spend.

I know the spin. The more you spend, the safer you are. I can google 1000 sites telling the same story. What I want to know is, how much difference does it actually make?

It depends on what type of crim you want to keep out

Night crims who are after car keys handbags wallets laptops etc when you're home look for unlocked doors or windows they don't want to make too much noise they will move on to neighbors if too difficult.
Having open window or balcony door open they can climb up to on hot night allows them entry.
A small dog that barks also stops this type as it wakes people up
We have a few videos of this type of crim on my local area FB page.

Crims who target you when nobody is home will break windows or jimmy doors so decent window protection and security doors with multiple locking points usually keeps them out

I know a farmer who had crims use his tractor to knock down house wall and drag gun safe out.

It depends on what type of crim you want to keep out, if it's the night teens in Qld looking for car keys etc shutting windows and locking doors can be sufficient.

Reply #17 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 1:54am

Just leave a window open FD.
Sit there on your chair in the dark with your speargun.

Reply #18 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 8:57am

The ones that intend to break in.

Reply #19 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 9:00am

Are cats critters, FD?

BTW, I literally saw one place where the window flyscreen had a huge hole in it and the window was kept open part of the way. The reason? So the cat could get in and out.

Reply #20 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 9:06am

I leave my house unlocked, my security system is to live in a good suburb.

Reply #21 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 10:03am

freediver wrote on Mar 4th, 2025 at 4:14pm:
I am trying to figure out how much difference security and safety screens make to burglary protection.

Safety screens - typically diamond mesh pattern over fly screen. These seem to be fairly easy to break in through.

Security screens - higher rated, looks like a fly screen made with thicker wire. These are made to a higher standard that presumably cannot be quickly or easily broken through.

Some key questions that I am having trouble answering:

If you are out of the house, and you have no other security methods like dogs/cameras/alarms, and you leave the sliding windows open, and they have safety screens on the open windows (but not on the bit that does not open), how much of a deterrent is the safety screen? Is it any better than having nothing, or just fly screen? Is it as good as having the window closed, or would thieves prefer to break in through the safety screen rather than the glass?

How much difference would a security screen make in this scenario?

I cannot really find any good statistics on this.

If you have security screens, of any manner, and your neighbour doesn't, thieves will usually choose the house without the screens.

If you know how, glass is very easy to break, with no more noise then cracking an egg. But most thieves typically avoid breaking glass as most don't know how to do it silently. Security screens are definitely more difficult to break through then glass.

Captain Nemo

Reply #22 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 10:47am

I worked in an electronic security system company for quite a few years.

One thing is pretty obvious to me: electronic alarm systems / security cameras are useless. Physical barriers are the way to go.

p.s.

I have roller-shutters on all windows / sliding doors but even those can be defeated.

As John Smith said, if you have some barrier and the neighbors don't, you are somewhat better off.

« Last Edit: Mar 5th, 2025 at 10:55am by Captain Nemo »  

The 2025 election WAS a shocker.

Reply #23 - Mar 5th, 2025 at 4:01pm

freediver wrote on Mar 5th, 2025 at 8:57am:

The ones that intend to break in.

There is a huge variation in ability levels with crims companies that make safes like CMI have different levels of security for this reason.

Do you have something in a garage like car or boat they might want sometimes that can't be stopped so people put GPS trackers in them as a last line of defence. The air tags have recovered lots of stolen stuff as police can be led to where it is.

Modern battery powered cutting tools make short work of metal grills security doors etc the serious crims will use them if you have something they want.

If you have mesh/bars/shutters on windows sliding doors and decent security doors if they come in through roof they will have to carry stuff out they way they came in.
This might be enough to deter those who are looking for electronics cash car keys etc.

Doors with wooden frames aren't that strong the wood frame will fail letting them in. If you have metal door frames it's a lot tougher so any security door should have a metal frame for mounting door.

Lots of videos online in my area with crims wearing hoodies and surgical masks so cameras can't identify them they only let people know someone tried to get in. Those types generally move on if everything is locked.

Doors really need multiple locking points like this one which has pins top middle and bottomwhich makes it near impossible to jimmy.

When i lived in Cairns a few decades ago we didn't have a back door anyone could walk in.This is what we called the good old days

Reply #24 - Mar 7th, 2025 at 10:19pm

Vlad the impaler had a good method to keep the Muslims out.

Reply #25 - Mar 8th, 2025 at 9:29am

If you have the low grade safety screens on the opening side of sliding windows, should you still shut your windows when you leave the house?

Reply #26 - Mar 10th, 2025 at 9:20pm

freediver wrote on Mar 8th, 2025 at 9:29am:
If you have the low grade safety screens on the opening side of sliding windows, should you still shut your windows when you leave the house?

Can you grab the screen with your hands and pull it off the wall?

You could get a window lock from bunnings then lock it open don't make open part big enough for someone to climb in.
Then you have 2 glass panels for them to break with any luck they will leave DNA there.

I had someone break into my car about 10 years ago had a razor blade in ashtray from removing rego label crim cut himself on it looking for change.
He stole my calico shopping bags from glove box left one small drop of blood on console enough for him to be done with DNA evidence.
He also pleaded guilty to breaking into tradies ute same night.
Took about 3 months for DNA if he didn't cut himself he would have got away with it.

Reply #27 - Mar 10th, 2025 at 10:01pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 10th, 2025 at 9:20pm:

You could get a window lock from bunnings then lock it open don't make open part big enough for someone to climb in.
Then you have 2 glass panels for them to break with any luck they will leave DNA there.

I had someone break into my car about 10 years ago had a razor blade in ashtray from removing rego label crim cut himself on it looking for change.
He stole my calico shopping bags from glove box left one small drop of blood on console enough for him to be done with DNA evidence.
Took about 3 months for DNA if he didn't cut himself he would have got away with it.

Wow - you're lucky that the cops caught the culprit.

They never caught anyone from the crimes I had committed against me:
one car theft,
2 burglaries.

Reply #28 - Mar 10th, 2025 at 10:14pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 10th, 2025 at 10:01pm:
Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 10th, 2025 at 9:20pm:

Wow - you're lucky that the cops caught the culprit.

They never caught anyone from the crimes I had committed against me:
one car theft,
2 burglaries.

One small drop of blood is all it took.

DNA evidence is almost impossible to fight he pleaded guilty.

Auto glazier said leaving razor blade in ashtray was a fooking brilliant idea. I didn't plan it put it there and forgot it.

Reply #29 - Mar 10th, 2025 at 10:44pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Mar 10th, 2025 at 10:14pm:
One small drop of blood is all it took.

DNA evidence is almost impossible to fight he pleaded guilty.

Auto glazier said leaving razor blade in ashtray was a fooking brilliant idea. I didn't plan it put it there and forgot it.

ummm - I had the feeling the cops didn't really care.

They asked me if I was insured -
when I said no they sort of looked at me as though to victim blame.

I did have insurance on the car but they recovered it.
The motor blew up 3 days later and I wasn't covered for motor damage -
even though the crooks did it.
The car was left at a wrecking yard for peanut money.

With the burglaries I had no insurance.