Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10
Some alterations to my orchard (Read 8476 times)

Re: Some alterations to my orchard
Reply #90 - Sep 17th, 2024 at 5:13pm

A tip I saw somewhere seems good: to keep fungal spores from infecting leaves and fruit spray the tree with sodium bicarbonate. This keeps the pH on the surface of the leaves too high for the fungal spores to split and grow.

Worth a try—I bought a kilo box of the stuff and when the perry pears are growing leaves and blossoms I will make up a bicarb spray. Less dangerous than copper which can also kill symbiotic fungi in the soil.

Also plant leek and onion around those trees—anti fungal.
« Last Edit: Sep 17th, 2024 at 5:36pm by Jovial Monk »  

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #91 - Sep 17th, 2024 at 5:34pm

There is one “column” in my orchard that I did not get around to treating with gypsum. I will plant it with a green manure crop and some nasturtium.

Today, at Bunnings I got another idea: I bought three bags of Nicola seed potatoes. Will get the guy with the little earth moving machine to dig two trenches and I will plant the seed potatoes in the trenches, the trenches say 20cm deep—that should help to break up the clay soil. Will put some gypsum in there too.

Potato plants create new potatoes at the level the seed potato was planted. Might get some peastraw or similar to cover the seed potatoes with, get some organic matter into the soil.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #92 - Sep 17th, 2024 at 5:41pm

Be cleaning the kitchen, fridge etc tomorrow and make another batch of Seville Orange marmalade. Then spend half a day in the front garden, weed and fertilise the tulip beds, clear around the Japanese maple, Golden Ash and Lilac trees and spread some compost around them, plant three correa plants I bought (encourage honey eaters) and two bushes, windbreak for the eastern drive aka my nursery patch. Then prune and strike cuttings from my lavender plants.

Soon be time to start tomato, chili, eggplant etc seeds going.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #93 - Sep 17th, 2024 at 6:54pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 17th, 2024 at 5:41pm:
Be cleaning the kitchen, fridge etc tomorrow and make another batch of Seville Orange marmalade. Then spend half a day in the front garden, weed and fertilise the tulip beds, clear around the Japanese maple, Golden Ash and Lilac trees and spread some compost around them, plant three correa plants I bought (encourage honey eaters) and two bushes, windbreak for the eastern drive aka my nursery patch. Then prune and strike cuttings from my lavender plants.

Soon be time to start tomato, chili, eggplant etc seeds going.

Well done, that is a lot of good work you are doing

Reply #94 - Sep 17th, 2024 at 7:01pm

LOL I WON’T mention the toll this is all taking on my poor joints!

But be all good when it is done tho!

Some spuds I can sell through the local s/mart and later apples too!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #95 - Sep 17th, 2024 at 7:08pm

I need to mark out where the raspberry canes will go. Also need to plant the currants—red, black, white and gooseberries.

In a couple of years—syrups, jellies, country wines and meads, so much goodness!

In a few months—a huge broadbean harvest—will show the many different ways they can be prepared and preserved! If I get only a paltry harvest I will still be happy thinking of how the plants improved the soil. I must say tho—in Adelaide I would be harvesting beans already while here the plants are only like 20cm high at best! Tassie is NOT Adelaide!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #96 - Sep 19th, 2024 at 12:55pm

Poor Socks! I wanted to go to Bunnnings and stock up the car so left her at home this morning. Poor dear has high separation anxiety tho I have managed to reduce that.

Anyway, off to Bunnings.

Bought two bags of seed Kennebec potatoes—there is a LOT of space in the “columns” between the trees: 4 x 22 = 88sqm. Enough for three trenches 1m apart = 66 linear metres of trench. Plenty of places to plant surplus seed potatoes to start improving and loosening the soil. Toss some manure and/or compost in there as well, anything to get organic material into the soil clay.

Bought five bags of sheep manure. Not just a nitrogen bomb like chicken manure, sheep manure has more phosphorous and potassium than other manures. Been positioning one bag of manure and one of compost by each row in my orchard, todays purchase will mean I have one bag of compost and one of sheep manure by each row in the orchard with some leftover to be used for the tomatoes, eggplant, chilis, capsicum. The sweet corn and rhubarb will get chicken manure—they need the nitrogen.

Each tree will get two shovels of compost and one of sheep manure plus a handful of blood and bone and a teaspoon of potassium sulphate, having cleared the weeds and grass from around the trees first then the organic matter lightly dug in then watered with a seasol solution. Should see them off to a good start!

As far as I can tell I have not lost a single tree over the winter, even the one damaged by those bloody cows that got loose from somewhere. I have had sheep and wallabies (wallabyshit everywhere!) in my backyard—after the chicken coop and run is built fencing is next—high fencing with shade cloth to provide a nice windbreak for vege patch and orchard.
« Last Edit: Sep 19th, 2024 at 1:04pm by Jovial Monk »  

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #97 - Sep 21st, 2024 at 10:37am

Ummm, cleaning up the patch I want to plant my raspberry canes in I had to clean up young branches from the old fruit trees I had had cut down.

No point trying to do anything with them—this is the rootstock sprouting, not the peach or whatever they were so no point trying to strike cuttings. Then I noticed something.

Some of the branches had long thorns with leaves sprouting on the thorns.

I reckon these are sloes, tiny very tart plums mostly used to make sloe gin.

I struck two cuttings using the technique Sprint described. Because it has the thorns it is not a branch sprouted from a rootstock and you wouldn’t graft sloe anyway, not needed, it isn’t a huge tree, more a shrub.

See what happens! Probably wouldn’t eat them but mead and country wine be good, add some zing!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #98 - Sep 22nd, 2024 at 6:55am

A picture of the sloe—the thorn in the picture is exactly like the thorns on the branch sprouted from the stump left when all the trees were cut down (there is a gum tree near one fence I would love to have cut down.)

Be nice if the two cuttings I took strike roots!
« Last Edit: Sep 22nd, 2024 at 7:02am by Jovial Monk »  

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #99 - Sep 22nd, 2024 at 10:43am

Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 22nd, 2024 at 6:55am:
A picture of the sloe—the thorn in the picture is exactly like the thorns on the branch sprouted from the stump left when all the trees were cut down (there is a gum tree near one fence I would love to have cut down.)

Good work, nice pics.
Some names I have never heard of before - sloe !

I did some work on the compost tumblers this morn.
added some newspaper, water and cardboard to one.
That one should be good.

Some soil, paper and phosphorus to another. This one is not so good. Will see what happens

Reply #100 - Sep 22nd, 2024 at 12:14pm

When all the big things are in place—trees, currants, raspberries, blueberries, rhubarb and asparagus will start a vege patch—greens, beans, peas, brassicas, fancy lettuce etc etc. Then I will buy tumbler composters—not a compost heap which attracts mice which attract snakes—black tiger snakes included!

The tumblers create compost quicker than any other composting method.
« Last Edit: Sep 22nd, 2024 at 7:36pm by Jovial Monk »  

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #101 - Sep 22nd, 2024 at 12:21pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 22nd, 2024 at 10:43am:
Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 22nd, 2024 at 6:55am:

Good work, nice pics.
Some names I have never heard of before - sloe !

I did some work on the compost tumblers this morn.
added some newspaper, water and cardboard to one.
That one should be good.

Some soil, paper and phosphorus to another. This one is not so good. Will see what happens

Sloe is a tiny wild plum from Europe. The flesh is just a thin skin over the stone. People used to prick the skin in several places then put them in a big jar and pour gin all over them. After a few months the gin would be decanted and sugar added—sloe gin.

An easier way—put the sloes into the freezer overnight.

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #102 - Sep 22nd, 2024 at 3:13pm

Phew! Dug two holes and planted my Cape Gooseberry and one of my white currants, can dig a smaller hole and plant the white currant I bought this year then the red currants.

Hard work with clay soil—and about 20cm down there is a hard clay layer. In the end I got through it by hammering a star dropper in there then moving it to break up the hard clay.

At the “top of the hill” or the bit of my land between back and side fence that is the highest bit of my land there is a layer of yellow clay. This clay when dry looks exactly like rock. I think the layer I hit where I was working today is the same layer as the one higher up but not yellow because it is covered? Still very hard tho.

Of course I forgot to put some gypsum in the holes—got plenty liquid gypsum so will add some of that to the water in the watering can so be OK.

As I lengthen the row of Ribes sp there is an element of danger: somewhere the buried power line to the garage crosses the line along which I am planting the currants ZZZttt!
« Last Edit: Sep 22nd, 2024 at 3:20pm by Jovial Monk »  

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #103 - Sep 22nd, 2024 at 7:05pm

Tulips in flower:

Tulips_2024.jpeg (238 KB | 12 )
Tulips_2024.jpeg

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #104 - Sep 22nd, 2024 at 7:19pm

Broad beans—plants small but  have flowers:

Topics in the right MRB!

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10