4wd drive owners . Please explain? (Read 1503 times)
chimera

Armidale
Re: 4wd drive owners . Please explain?
Reply #15 - May 16th, 2024 at 10:59am

If the speed bump cause that much damage, you should be able to claim from the council.

Reply #16 - May 16th, 2024 at 11:11am

It doesn't damage the car, it's just annoying, and possibly bad for your back.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #17 - May 16th, 2024 at 11:36am

People get back injury trying to park the Monster Truck. The clutch and gear-drive burn out going back and forward to get into the park then to leave it.

Reply #18 - May 16th, 2024 at 12:36pm

my BT 50 is very stiff
wifes pajero sports is very soft
sons hilux is intermediate
daughters bmw bottoms out
other daughters triton is like the pajero

i want to import one of these

the new toyota champ
only 15,000 new

2.5 litre deisel , no turbo, wind up windows, no abs or hight tech bs , manual,

unfortunatley will be going to SE asia and not here as they want to sell us the over engineered over priced rolling heaps of garbage

champ_001.jpg (4 KB | 11 )
champ_001.jpg

Reply #19 - May 16th, 2024 at 1:17pm

Daves2017 wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 12:36am:
I can’t care less what anyone driving but I have a question for owners of large very expensive 4wd (70k to 100k ) bracket.

Why reduce your speed to a crawl when confronted with a very small urban speed bump?

I don’t understand why you have brought the most money can buy in a off-road vehicle but you are unable to tackle a small urban speed bump with out resorting to a snail’s pace?

Why do own a 4wd if a mother of three, fully laden in a car car needs to overtake you  during the two minutes to carefully drive your outback adventurer over a small urban speed bump?

Asking for a friend?

It’s a common occurrence.

The clue is in the name of the bump "speed" Grin

Put there to reduce speed.

The drivers of the expensive 4wd isn't on a dirt road or track ...

they're not in 4wd .... they're driving in a town or city on the bitumen.

Who would be stupid enough to want to put them selves through the roof of the car going over a speed bump just because their vehicle is a 4wd?

You? Roll Eyes

Reply #20 - May 16th, 2024 at 1:20pm

chimera wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 7:39am:
Large vehicles often roll over at speed bumps as the roll-bars prove. Speed bumps indicate cattle are nearby which can damage the bull-bars.  Heavy suspension is a must for Woolworths high grocery prices.

You should write a fiction novel.

What a load of BS.

Speed bumps before cattle grids? Grin

chimera

Armidale
Reply #21 - May 16th, 2024 at 2:13pm

Gnads wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 1:17pm:

They chose to buy 4wd which are for the bush and crossing creeks. 'Oh dear, the bush isn't very smooth here. There's mud in the creek. And it's so...bumpy..'

chimera

Armidale
Reply #22 - May 16th, 2024 at 2:15pm

Gnads wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 1:20pm:
Speed bumps before cattle grids?

Didn't say that. The cattle are wandering around Woolies car park. You can roll the truck when they hit the bull bar.

Reply #23 - May 16th, 2024 at 5:21pm

I can’t care less what anyone driving but I have a question for owners of large very expensive 4wd (70k to 100k ) bracket.

Why reduce your speed to a crawl when confronted with a very small urban speed bump?

I don’t understand why you have brought the most money can buy in a off-road vehicle but you are unable to tackle a small urban speed bump with out resorting to a snail’s pace?

Why do own a 4wd if a mother of three, fully laden in a car car needs to overtake you  during the two minutes to carefully drive your outback adventurer over a small urban speed bump?

Asking for a friend?

Knew a guy who many years ago had a Toyota Sahara, but wouldn't even drive on the grass with it because he 'didn't want to scratch it' .... grass was mowed regularly.

Some people are just born stupid and no amount of education can help them, like Bobby and Frank..

Reply #24 - May 16th, 2024 at 5:34pm

chimera wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 2:13pm:
Gnads wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 1:17pm:

They chose to buy 4wd which are for the bush and crossing creeks. 'Oh dear, the bush isn't very smooth here. There's mud in the creek. And it's so...bumpy..'

You wouldn't have a clue.

Reply #25 - May 16th, 2024 at 5:36pm

chimera wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 2:15pm:
Gnads wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 1:20pm:
Speed bumps before cattle grids?

Didn't say that. The cattle are wandering around Woolies car park. You can roll the truck when they hit the bull bar.

Like I said sit down and write a fiction novel.

The highlight is more BS.

Reply #26 - May 16th, 2024 at 5:42pm

John Smith wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 5:21pm:

Asking for a friend?

Knew a guy who many years ago had a Toyota Sahara, but wouldn't even drive on the grass with it because he 'didn't want to scratch it' .... grass was mowed regularly.

Some people are just born stupid and no amount of education can help them, like Bobby and Frank..

The big landcruiser wagons like the Sahara when it first emerged to the ones today are exceptionally comfortable vehicles to drive on road or off the road.

The choices people make as to how they use or won't use their vehicle is entirely up to them ... they bought it.

Mate just bought got a new Landcruiser GXL ute cab chasis ute .... went for a drive to Bundy with him last week .... even that was a good ride for a basic work style ute .....

it would want to be at $100,000 plus fully fitted.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #27 - May 16th, 2024 at 5:42pm

Agreed, some councils have .3metre deep potholes in city roads and you need 4wd to get home in flooded suburbs with 2m. deep water on highways. Cattle, buffalo, elephants, roll-over landslides at Coles - 4wd will get you home with the corn flakes.

Reply #28 - May 16th, 2024 at 6:10pm

chimera wrote on May 16th, 2024 at 5:42pm:
Agreed, some councils have .3metre deep potholes in city roads and you need 4wd to get home in flooded suburbs with 2m. deep water on highways. Cattle, buffalo, elephants, roll-over landslides at Coles - 4wd will get you home with the corn flakes.

Don't give up your day job.  Roll Eyes

chimera

Armidale
Reply #29 - May 16th, 2024 at 6:24pm

Journal kept by Mr Cox in making a road across the Blue Mountains
11 November 1814 
Completed the road to the beginning of the large mountain. Sent two carts to the second depôt for provisions. Sent three men with the dogs to catch kangaroos three times this week. Brought one home every day. The bullock driver, with 11 bullocks joined me yesterday.
Ordered the bullocks down the mountain to the forest ground. One of them is quite blind. He got into the gully going down, but we got him out to-day safe. Completed the road to the beginning of the large mountain, which we have to descend to the forest ground. Continued to clear away the timber and rubbish through the large rocks, and to the beginning of the bluff end of the mountain. The 4wd motor carriages render excellent service, climbing over speed bumps and granite boulders. Only by 4wd will citizens be able to get across the Mountains, due to stampeding cattle and falling cliffs.