Daylight Saving Refund (Read 2912 times)

Re: Daylight Saving Refund
Reply #45 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 7:58am

Daves2017 wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 10:16pm:
Who and how did they manage to make daylight savings go for six months without a referendum?

It’s horrible, I enjoy it for three months maximum but 6 months is a life changer.

No wonder people are leaving NSW for Qld by the thousands every day!

I would say that they are leaving NSW to get out of Sydney for better job opportunities and living situations.

Reply #46 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:52am

UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:49pm:
Gnads wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 10:20am:
Go to work an hour earlier you morons. 

[highlight]Someone on facebook commented businesses needing to adjust their work hours so that they can be in line with southern states.[/highlight] Read a response stating that they might as well change the school hours, too. Well, duh, that is the whole concept of people wanting daylight saving.

That's a furphy. There are 2 southern states NSW & VIC .....  2 more states and the NT are & have always been on a different time zones to QLD...

Do those differing time zones interfere with QLD businesses doing interstate business with Sth Aust, West Aust & the NT now or in the past???

No it doesn't/hasn't.

How do they deal with doing business overseas? Roll Eyes

Many QLD businesses including local Councils, Tradies & other services change their working hours during the summer months to start an hour earlier.

All the selfish SEQ city centric 9 to 5 businesses & workers need to do is to work 8 to 4  summertime hours ......

and leave the bloody clock alone.

Christ on a bike it's daylight at 4.30 am in summer ... what the hell do they do with all that wasted daylight?

It's also well daylight between 5 and 6.30pm. There's an hour and a half they have anyway now.

Reply #47 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:56am

Sir Eoin O Fada wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 11:41pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:04pm:
Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:41pm:
Sir Eoin O Fada wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm:
Daylight saving time is great, when younger I got to spending more time outdoors with the kids after school,we had more time to get to our favourite rabbit and hare hunting spots, hence more healthymeat on the table.
All in all one of the best things that happen in NSW.

yes - I always like the summer with daylight saving -
you could do plenty of things after work with that extra sunlight.
e.g mow the lawns so your weekend was free.
Go down to to St Kilda - have a nice meal -
a walk along the beach - then watch the sunset.

More time to grow a melanoma?

No, because the hours of sunlight are the same, ...

But people are going out into the sun more.

The hours of sunlight don't change, but people's behaviour does - they get out of the house and into the sunlight when they wouldn't normally.

That increases the risk of skin cancer.

Reply #48 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:07am

BTW Unsub ...when DLS started in 1971 in NSW(so interstate business hasn't been affected for 53 years) it ran from 31st Oct to 27th February - 4 months.

It now goes a full 6 months & 7 days from Oct 1st 2023 to the 7th April 2024.

Why have they tacked an extra 2 months on it?

Climate change?  Grin Grin

Reply #49 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:17am

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:56am:
Sir Eoin O Fada wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 11:41pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:04pm:
Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:41pm:
Sir Eoin O Fada wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm:
Daylight saving time is great, when younger I got to spending more time outdoors with the kids after school,we had more time to get to our favourite rabbit and hare hunting spots, hence more healthymeat on the table.
All in all one of the best things that happen in NSW.

yes - I always like the summer with daylight saving -
you could do plenty of things after work with that extra sunlight.
e.g mow the lawns so your weekend was free.
Go down to to St Kilda - have a nice meal -
a walk along the beach - then watch the sunset.

More time to grow a melanoma?

No, because the hours of sunlight are the same, ...

But people are going out into the sun more.

The hours of sunlight don't change, but people's behaviour does - they get out of the house and into the sunlight when they wouldn't normally.

That increases the risk of skin cancer.

Shouldn't affect the latest generations - they're indoors on the couch/in the bedroom, on their phones, ipads, playstations, Nintendo Wiis etc.

And DLS doesn't help because it has school children & workers outside in the hottest times of the day (school will be coming out a 2pm EST.)

that is if they are actually using it for the intended purpose & taking advantage of that so called "extra" hour of daylight for outside activities as they say they want .. it for/to do.

Phukked if they should be putting clocks ahead an hour so Office Johnnies can play golf.

If you can't play 9 holes in an hour & a half after 5 pm you're not trying.

Daves2017

Reply #50 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:42am

Gnads wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:07am:
BTW Unsub ...when DLS started in 1971 in NSW(so interstate business hasn't been affected for 53 years) it ran from 31st Oct to 27th February - 4 months.

Why and by whom?

I believe ( sometimes) we live in a democracy here?

Where was the referendum or mandate to change what was a perfectly acceptable system to the current one I believe most citizens deplore?

Who is accountable for the extension of day light saving?

After weeks of poor press regarding Albo ( and Scomo) poor management of fuel reserves and desperate for a major distraction.
Federal Police arrest Ben ( war criminal) Smith.
What Amazing timing?

Reply #51 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 12:00pm

Daves2017 wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:42am:

Why and by whom?

I believe ( sometimes) we live in a democracy here?

Where was the referendum or mandate to change what was a perfectly acceptable system to the current one I believe most citizens deplore?

Who is accountable for the extension of day light saving?

The Business Council of Australia?

Politicians?

re: highlight - May have been acceptable for you Cockroaches & Mexicans but it has never been acceptable in QLD.

It was trialed twice & voted down twice.

It raises it's head every year because of the vast population increase in the self-centred SE corner & that's driven by all the interstate migrants(Cockies & Mexicans) who move here for the lifestyle .... then want to change everything to be like what it was back home.

Want DLS? Shift back to a DLS state.

Reply #52 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 5:41pm

Gnads wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:52am:
All the selfish SEQ city centric 9 to 5 businesses & workers need to do is to work 8 to 4  summertime hours ......

That is basically what was written in the facebook newspaper comment section. Was that you?
There are those out there who won't accept that they must adjust if they want things their way. They would rather drag people along for the unnecessary change.

Reply #53 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 5:44pm

I don't know the reason for the change. I have not had to experience DLS for about 32 years. Maybe it is still warm enough to go swimming after work in April.

Reply #54 - Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:10pm

DAYlight Saving was extended in 1998 to cater for the Sydney Olympics in 2000.  It was deemed a success and so was continued with after the Olympics closed.  Outside of Sydney it caused all sorts of problems, particularly with Microsoft Windows computers.  Microsoft had hard coded the DLS changes into Outlook Client a standalone email client they provided for users who used Exchange.  Their advise was to, "write into the appointment the correct time" instead of relying on Outlook to automatically categorise the appointment.  Useless.  Typical of Micro$oft.  Tsk, tsk, tsk...  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

It seems that I have upset a Moderator and are forbidden from using posting to the general forum now. So much for Freedom of Speech. Tsk, tsk, tsk...   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #55 - Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:00am

As I've said several times in the past... the term "Daylight Saving" should never have been used.

It should have been called by it's proper name: SUMMER TIME.

That way it might have caused a lot less confusion amongst our mostly stupid population and we may have seen a lot less idiocy like:

It makes the curtains fade.
It makes the paint on your house fade/peel.
The cows won't give milk (I've never seen a cow wearing a wristwatch).
Plus a few more that I can't recall right now.

And my all time favourite:

But we have to stay up until 2am to change all the clocks (at the start of SUMMER TIME, 3am when the clocks are changed back at the end of SUMMER TIME).

« Last Edit: Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:05am by Carl D »  

Reply #56 - Apr 10th, 2024 at 7:02am

Gnads wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:52am:
UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:49pm:
Gnads wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 10:20am:
Go to work an hour earlier you morons. 

[highlight]Someone on facebook commented businesses needing to adjust their work hours so that they can be in line with southern states.[/highlight] Read a response stating that they might as well change the school hours, too. Well, duh, that is the whole concept of people wanting daylight saving.

That's a furphy. There are 2 southern states NSW & VIC .....  2 more states and the NT are & have always been on a different time zones to QLD...

Do those differing time zones interfere with QLD businesses doing interstate business with Sth Aust, West Aust & the NT now or in the past???

No it doesn't/hasn't.

How do they deal with doing business overseas? Roll Eyes

Many QLD businesses including local Councils, Tradies & other services change their working hours during the summer months to start an hour earlier.

Christ on a bike it's daylight at 4.30 am in summer ... what the hell do they do with all that wasted daylight?

It's also well daylight between 5 and 6.30pm. There's an hour and a half they have anyway now.

THREE eastern states, don’t forget Tassie!

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #57 - Apr 10th, 2024 at 9:54am

So the only thing people have going for them to justify how great DLS is, is the extra 'time' of daylight in the 'evening' (for its really after the afternoon).

...because they can't be bothered to get up early at the right time and enjoy the sunshine then as well. Lazy bums.

So it strips the Morning People extra daylight, in favour of the Evening People beyond throwing everyone's 'body-clocks' that adapt to the natural occurrence of light and in accordance to the 'seasonal' change of daylight... out of whack.
I feel much better and back in alignment now. When there is just one timing to the natural light timing - sometimes, it gets to the point when I don't need a clock to tell me what time it is. I am in tune with nature and nature's time.
DLS is a gimmick to disrupt that timing and for what? So evening people can have a bit more daylight on their clocks? Roll Eyes It's absurd, pointless, unhealthy and just another example of making a simple thing more complicated than it needs to be, just to appear more sophisticated than it really is.  Tongue

Curse: May all DLS supporters have their vehicle Timing Belts go out of whack! Angry

Reply #58 - Apr 10th, 2024 at 11:19am

Reply #59 - Apr 10th, 2024 at 11:36am

I woke up this morning to the second time this year that the minimums were below 20°C. Two mornings in a row, and a definite need for me to start using the doona. I still have my ceiling fan whirring away at near full speed -- it only had two speeds (fast and stop). But it will be May by the time I stop using the ceiling fan. And it will be mid-May before I close the bedroom window.

I usually have an earlier bedtime during the winter months. I get out of bed later and go to bed later during the summer months. I seem to be able to sleep through the mornings of summer. Perhaps that is the reason why some like daylight saving. They go to bed at midnight (which is then really 11pm) and get up at 8am (which is then really 7am) so that they don't miss out on an hour of daylight.