Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 7
Man off to Gaol for upsetting Rainbow Serpent (Read 5267 times)

Re: Man off to Gaol for upsetting Rainbow Serpent
Reply #15 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 3:28pm

Shouldn't it be the Creek Serpent?
Doesn't look like a Rainbow to me.

chimera

Armidale
Reply #16 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 3:33pm

No he was always Rainbow, but Goanna got him.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dirawong

Reply #17 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 6:49pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Feb 16th, 2024 at 9:14am:
Jasin = Xavier = ? has been unfrocked as an affectationist Anglophile:

“Gaol” is the British spelling of “jail.” They use that spelling either because they are British or because they like the British spelling, either due to affectation or stylistic preference.

It's where you should be ... telling Bubba whether you're gonna be the mummy or the daddy.

And no matter what you answer you know what's gonna happen to you.

You would be champing at the bit to get in there ...no? Grin

Reply #18 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 7:28pm

Bring Homer Simpson - he'd eat the bloody thing...

Reply #19 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 8:03pm

Why isn't it spelled "jale" as per male, pale, dale, bale, gale,
hale, kale, sale, vale?  Why are goal and gaol pronounced
with a hard and soft 'g'?

The vagaries of the English language apparently?    Tongue

MeisterEckhart

Reply #20 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 9:18pm

AusGeoff wrote on Feb 16th, 2024 at 8:03pm:

I was thinking exactly the same thing!

GA is pronounced with a hard G, except for GAOL. The same goes for GO, GL, GR and GU. GY does give us GYROSCOPE, but.

Reply #21 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 9:42pm

I bet he loses his fight to keep the Bridge.
This is the way it is in Australia.

Reply #22 - Feb 16th, 2024 at 11:50pm

Jasin wrote on Feb 16th, 2024 at 9:42pm:
I bet he loses his fight to keep the Bridge.
This is the way it is in Australia.

It's a causeway - 'cause way out there they don't do bridges... and he'll keep it and the whiners can get stuffed.

Reply #23 - Feb 17th, 2024 at 9:42am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Feb 16th, 2024 at 9:18pm:

I was thinking exactly the same thing!

GA is pronounced with a hard G, except for GAOL. The same goes for GO, GL, GR and GU. GY does give us GYROSCOPE, but.

Gerard Nolst Trenité - The Chaos (1922)
Dearest creature in creation
Studying English pronunciation,
   I will teach you in my verse
   Sounds like corpse, corps, horse and worse.

I will keep you, Susy, busy,
Make your head with heat grow dizzy;
   Tear in eye, your dress you'll tear;
   Queer, fair seer, hear my prayer.

Pray, console your loving poet,
Make my coat look new, dear, sew it!
   Just compare heart, hear and heard,
   Dies and diet, lord and word.

Sword and sward, retain and Britain
(Mind the latter how it's written).
   Made has not the sound of bade,
   Say-said, pay-paid, laid but plaid.

Now I surely will not plague you
With such words as vague and ague,
   But be careful how you speak,
   Say: gush, bush, steak, streak, break, bleak ,

Previous, precious, fuchsia, via
Recipe, pipe, studding-sail, choir;
   Woven, oven, how and low,
   Script, receipt, shoe, poem, toe.

Say, expecting fraud and trickery:
Daughter, laughter and Terpsichore,
   Branch, ranch, measles, topsails, aisles,
   Missiles, similes, reviles.

Wholly, holly, signal, signing,
Same, examining, but mining,
   Scholar, vicar, and cigar,
   Solar, mica, war and far.

From "desire": desirable-admirable from "admire",
Lumber, plumber, bier, but brier,
   Topsham, brougham, renown, but known,
   Knowledge, done, lone, gone, none, tone,

One, anemone, Balmoral,
Kitchen, lichen, laundry, laurel.
   Gertrude, German, wind and wind,
   Beau, kind, kindred, queue, mankind,

Tortoise, turquoise, chamois-leather,
Reading, Reading, heathen, heather.
   This phonetic labyrinth
   Gives moss, gross, brook, brooch, ninth, plinth.

Have you ever yet endeavoured
To pronounce revered and severed,
   Demon, lemon, ghoul, foul, soul,
   Peter, petrol and patrol?

Billet does not end like ballet;
Bouquet, wallet, mallet, chalet.
   Blood and flood are not like food,
   Nor is mould like should and would.

Banquet is not nearly parquet,
Which exactly rhymes with khaki.
   Discount, viscount, load and broad,
   Toward, to forward, to reward,

Ricocheted and crocheting, croquet?
Right! Your pronunciation's OK.
   Rounded, wounded, grieve and sieve,
   Friend and fiend, alive and live.

Is your r correct in higher?
Keats asserts it rhymes Thalia.
   Hugh, but hug, and hood, but hoot,
   Buoyant, minute, but minute.

Etc, etc, 146 lines, 800 examples.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #24 - Feb 17th, 2024 at 10:18am

Mark Twain can fix the problem of English spelling...

For example, in Year 1 that useless letter "c" would be dropped to be replased either by "k" or "s", and likewise "x" would no longer be part of the alphabet.

The only kase in which "c" would be retained would be the "ch" formation, which will be dealt with later.

Year 2 might reform "w" spelling, so that "which" and "one" would take the same konsonant, wile Year 3 might well abolish "y" replasing it with "i" and iear 4 might fiks the "g/j" anomali wonse and for all.

Jenerally, then, the improvement would kontinue iear bai iear with iear 5 doing awai with useless double konsonants, and iears 6-12 or so modifaiing vowlz and the rimeining voist and unvoist konsonants.

Bai iear 15 or sou, it wud fainali bi posibl tu meik ius ov thi ridandant letez "c", "y" and "x" -- bai now jast a memori in the maindz ov ould doderez -- tu riplais "ch", "sh", and "th" rispektivli.

Fainali, xen, aafte sam 20 iers ov orxogrefkl riform, wi wud hev a lojikl, kohirnt speling in ius xrewawt xe Ingliy-spiking werld.

Reply #25 - Feb 18th, 2024 at 5:57pm

Nothing vague about it ... you were taught English & grammar at school.

Reply #26 - Feb 18th, 2024 at 6:22pm

Never mind the RAINBOW SERPENT ....

how about SPIRIT WHALES & the one Aboriginal sheila that reckons she talks to them?

It gets stupider by the day.

Spirit Whales Hold Up Australia's Most Expensive Energy Project

Aboriginal ‘Dream Time’ has become a nightmare for progress

JAMES MACPHERSON
FEB 1

Work on Australia’s most expensive resources project has been halted because of the danger it poses to Spirit Whales.

Woodside Energy Group has been ordered to halt work on a $16b gas project off the coast of Western Australia that, if completed, will power 8.5 million homes for the next 30 years.

But the Federal Court ordered work to stop after hearing evidence the area was home to mythical whales.

The Spirit Whales, according to Indigenous fables, tell the fish of the sea what to eat, when to mate and where to migrate.

If the gas project was to go ahead, the Spirit Whales would be endangered.

And if the Spirit Whales were killed, none of the creatures of the sea would know what do to.

Short of Aqua Man stepping in to save the day, the planet would be sunk.

How did the Federal Court know all of this?

Raelene Cooper!

Ms Cooper, or as her activist friends like to call her, the Custodian of Whale Dreaming, speaks to the Spirit Whales.

And they speak to her.

Seriously? Grin Grin Grin Grin

This was in evidence presented to the Federal Court.

Apparently the Spirit Whales aren’t thrilled about the Woodside Energy Group’s project which, coincidentally, puts the Spirit Whales and environmentalists on exactly the same page.

Whoever would have imagined? Grin

The Environmental Defenders Office, a group that received $8m in public money to help it oppose projects benefiting the public, brought Cooper’s Spirit Whale baloney to the urgent attention of the Federal Court.

Even Nemo knows that the greenies at the EDO don’t buy the Spirit Whale crap.

But that doesn’t mean they won’t manipulate Indigenous mythology and those who sprout it to stop major projects.

So the case was put to the court of Australia.

“ … but Your Honour, the Spirit Whales!”

And Judge Craig Colvin, whilst not confirming or denying that Spirit Whales existed, ruled that Woodside had a duty to consider “cultural harm” caused by their project.

Now what I think that means is that whilst absolutely no-one believes that Spirit Whales exist, it would be against the law to upset the wild fantasies of a woman who imagines she talks to whales.

Because the woman is Indigenous.

And evidently Indigenous fantasies must be indulged, as a mark of respect.

Woodside argued that they had invested significant time, energy and money liaising closely with Indigenous groups for more than a decade.

And yet this was the first it had heard that Spirit Whales were blowing their lids over the project.

Woodside had done all of the environmental checks and had been given clearance to begin the project.

Not so fast, ruled Judge Colvin.

He ordered Woodside to conduct a more thorough environmental assessment of the project.

In other words, work out terms with the Spirit Whales. Grin Grin

Oh, and Woodside were ordered to pay Ms Cooper’s costs. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes      

Reply #27 - Feb 18th, 2024 at 7:22pm

Gnads wrote on Feb 18th, 2024 at 6:22pm:
Never mind the RAINBOW SERPENT ....

how about SPIRIT WHALES & the one Aboriginal sheila that reckons she talks to them?

It gets stupider by the day.

Aboriginal ‘Dream Time’ has become a nightmare for progress

JAMES MACPHERSON
FEB 1

Work on Australia’s most expensive resources project has been halted because of the danger it poses to Spirit Whales.

Woodside Energy Group has been ordered to halt work on a $16b gas project off the coast of Western Australia that, if completed, will power 8.5 million homes for the next 30 years.

But the Federal Court ordered work to stop after hearing evidence the area was home to mythical whales.

The Spirit Whales, according to Indigenous fables, tell the fish of the sea what to eat, when to mate and where to migrate.

If the gas project was to go ahead, the Spirit Whales would be endangered.

And if the Spirit Whales were killed, none of the creatures of the sea would know what do to.

Short of Aqua Man stepping in to save the day, the planet would be sunk.

How did the Federal Court know all of this?

Raelene Cooper!

Ms Cooper, or as her activist friends like to call her, the Custodian of Whale Dreaming, speaks to the Spirit Whales.

And they speak to her.

Seriously? Grin Grin Grin Grin

This was in evidence presented to the Federal Court.

Apparently the Spirit Whales aren’t thrilled about the Woodside Energy Group’s project which, coincidentally, puts the Spirit Whales and environmentalists on exactly the same page.

Whoever would have imagined? Grin

The Environmental Defenders Office, a group that received $8m in public money to help it oppose projects benefiting the public, brought Cooper’s Spirit Whale baloney to the urgent attention of the Federal Court.

Even Nemo knows that the greenies at the EDO don’t buy the Spirit Whale crap.

But that doesn’t mean they won’t manipulate Indigenous mythology and those who sprout it to stop major projects.

So the case was put to the court of Australia.

“ … but Your Honour, the Spirit Whales!”

And Judge Craig Colvin, whilst not confirming or denying that Spirit Whales existed, ruled that Woodside had a duty to consider “cultural harm” caused by their project.

Now what I think that means is that whilst absolutely no-one believes that Spirit Whales exist, it would be against the law to upset the wild fantasies of a woman who imagines she talks to whales.

Because the woman is Indigenous.

And evidently Indigenous fantasies must be indulged, as a mark of respect.

Woodside argued that they had invested significant time, energy and money liaising closely with Indigenous groups for more than a decade.

And yet this was the first it had heard that Spirit Whales were blowing their lids over the project.

Woodside had done all of the environmental checks and had been given clearance to begin the project.

Not so fast, ruled Judge Colvin.

He ordered Woodside to conduct a more thorough environmental assessment of the project.

In other words, work out terms with the Spirit Whales. Grin Grin

Oh, and Woodside were ordered to pay Ms Cooper’s costs. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes      

Stone Age susperstition reaches into EVERY aspect of modern life.
And moronic politician, judges, bureocrats - all, no doubt fierce atheists or at least Anglicans - go along with this utter nonsense out of 'respect'.

They respect every kind of banal or evil superstition, from Islam to Hinduism, Sikhism, the Whale Dreaming.
The only think they dread and disrespect is reason.

Reply #28 - Feb 18th, 2024 at 7:46pm

I thought the Blacks only 'own' and have connection to the 'Land'?
Soon they'll be claiming rights to the skies, after the oceans.

Reply #29 - Feb 18th, 2024 at 11:17pm

Jasin wrote on Feb 18th, 2024 at 7:46pm:
I thought the Blacks only 'own' and have connection to the 'Land'?
Soon they'll be claiming rights to the skies, after the oceans.

Nah - they have 'traditional rights' in the land.... meaning they can wander around on public land, camp out in national parks, light a fire when it's allowed, cook a roo, hold a ceremony, catch the fish limit out of season (but they still must put back the female flathead) ...... pretty much what everyone can do other than the roo and the very few fish ...  which they probably replace with Wharte Man's steaks and snags now anyway...

Nothing special about 'traditional ownership' of the land in reality - and no right to veto as Albo promised even with a 'voice'.... no right to lock anything up unless they are given freehold over it, which native title is not.... now you see the lies you are being fed and the wool pulled over your eyes...

One of the demands of the 'voice' was control over land and water and resources - i.e the very staples of life for everyone and a clear grab for royalties or 'rent' ... that is why the voice failed primarily.... and all this secret Voice will fail again...  Tassie headline said that the LNP were in deep trouble down there with an election looming, but Labor was actually worse off... now why would that be?

Poor Fellow - My Country - with a choice like that...

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 7