Pages: 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 ... 24
Lotto Winner Loses Access To Pension (Read 19676 times)

Re: Lotto Winner Loses Access To Pension
Reply #270 - Dec 31st, 2023 at 7:03pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 6:51pm:
the aged pension is already too generous

young people face crippling rents, hecs debts and cost of living whilst oldies who own their own home have spare cash for pokies and cruises

and now they want to hide cash from centrelink under their bed so they can maximise the parasitism

disgraceful stuff

Not for pensioners that rent.

Reply #271 - Dec 31st, 2023 at 10:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 4:53pm:
Do you live in 1986?

The house belongs to relatives. I live there and pay enough rent to cover expenses. Food is something I can be really frugal about, given that I am just paying for my own groceries.

Reply #272 - Dec 31st, 2023 at 10:39pm

John Smith wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 4:55pm:
He lives in a house his parents own and rent to him discounted. If unsub ever  had to fend for himself he'd struggle

I will have to admit that things are going to be a lot different in the coming years. Mum reminded me of things to come last night, when she asked me to sign as witness to her death insurance claim.

If I ever had to fend for myself, like I have in the last 22 years, not much would change. But, if my folks died in a car crash, it would be such a life-changing experience, I am going to be a completely different person. I would agree that it would be a struggle. But the coming 6 weeks are going to be a struggle, even if my parents won lotto and lived to be 90 years old.

Reply #273 - Dec 31st, 2023 at 10:55pm

young people face crippling rents, hecs debts and cost of living whilst oldies who own their own home have spare cash for pokies and cruises

and now they want to hide cash from centrelink under their bed so they can maximise the parasitism

disgraceful stuff

Aged pension is way too stingy for many who have paid into it for their entire life.

Reply #274 - Dec 31st, 2023 at 11:02pm

disgraceful stuff

hecs debts

Remember when Whitlam made education free - how it should be.

young people face cost of living

Older people also have to pay for their cost of living ?

disgraceful stuff

You don't seem to get much right do you?

Reply #275 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 5:20am

Dnarever wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 10:55pm:

disgraceful stuff

Aged pension is way too stingy for many who have paid into it for their entire life.

incorrect

superannuation is something you pay into your while life that is personally yours

the taxes the boomers paid were used to pay for the services they recieved

looking at government debt, they didnt pay enough

they did a bit too much leaning and not enough lifting

they are the first generation to pass on a lower standard of living to the next

even now they buy SUV's and tow caravans around whilst the government insist young people must embrace expensive renewables. expensive EV's  and live in the rental properties the boomers own thanks to negative gearing

its time to include the family home in the assets test for the pension and for aged care to asset strip those who use its services

the younger generation cannot carry the burden of a bloated entitled older generation who are that selfish

Reply #276 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 5:36am

Aqua - that's nonsense.

Now Centrelink has some type of adversarial system where
we’ll have to fight to get every penny out of the Govt.
They are borrowed pennies too as the Govt has to issue Govt bonds and
the RBA has to print money to pay for them or there would be no money for social security.
Why – they spent all our tax money – it’s gone.

People paid high taxes all their working lives to give other people pensions
and when it's their time to get some of their tax back as a pension
the Govt. uses every excuse to get out of it.

What happened?
The Govts didn't set their tax money aside or invest it to
pay back some day but they spent it all and then
borrowed a trillion dollars more.
The Govts lost your money and now don't want to pay it back -
they can't pay it back – without money printing from the RBA -
they even have to borrow money to pay you.
That causes high inflation too - risking hyperinflation.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #277 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 7:51am

Paying working-life tax is not a personal investment plan for retirement.

Reply #278 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:04am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jan 1st, 2024 at 7:51am:

It is in places like the UK where part of the tax paid each week by every worker goes into a government pension fund so there's plenty of money to pay pensions.

Apparently there was a similar scheme here in Australia until the Menzies Liberal/Country Party Federal government got their greedy little hands on it and spent it all in the 1950's and then it was scrapped.

Fortunately for UK workers their Pension Fund (worth trillions of pounds from what I've heard) has been set up in such a way that greedy politicians cannot get their grubby little hands on it and spend it like what happened to ours.

Reply #279 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:05am

The Govt put our retirement money into consolidated revenue -
they never set aside any money to pay our pensions.

Any private company that did that -
lets say a Building society or pension scheme such as Aussie Super -
would be charged with a criminal offence - their directors would be in jail for life -
for embezzlement of clients money.
The Govt. somehow gets away with embezzlement -
they are the biggest crooks in Australia.

Reply #280 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:24am

Carl D wrote on Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:04am:

It is in places like the UK where part of the tax paid each week by every worker goes into a government pension fund so there's plenty of money to pay pensions.

Apparently there was a similar scheme here in Australia until the Menzies Liberal/Country Party Federal government got their greedy little hands on it and spent it all in the 1950's and then it was scrapped.

Fortunately for UK workers their Pension Fund (worth trillions of pounds from what I've heard) has been set up in such a way that greedy politicians cannot get their grubby little hands on it and spend it like what happened to ours.

Yes - in other countries that money was protected.
No crook in Australia has done even 0.1% of the embezzlement crimes the Govt. has  -
and does it every second -
and then they set up an adversarial system with Centrelink
where you have to fight and beg to get your own money back.

Only one form has 92 questions and goes on for 20 or more pages.
You also need many pages of supporting documentation which is difficult to find.
I wonder if some people end up in court trying to fight Centrelink
to get their own tax money back?

MeisterEckhart

Reply #281 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:35am

Bobby. wrote on Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:24am:
to get their own tax money back

Tax paid is not a personal investment fund.

Reply #282 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:37am

MeisterEckhart wrote on Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:35am:

For me and millions of other people it is.

Reality - the more tax you paid the less pension you'll get.

MeisterEckhart

Reply #283 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:40am

Bobby. wrote on Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:37am:
MeisterEckhart wrote on Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:35am:

For me and millions of other people it is.

Reality - the more tax you paid the less pension you'll get.

Did you contribute to your superannuation fund over the years?

Your employers have contributed on your behalf for decades.

Reply #284 - Jan 1st, 2024 at 8:45am

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 4:49pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 4:47pm:
Jasin wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 4:41pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 31st, 2023 at 4:30pm:
Greggy - give yourself up -
you'll get a much lighter sentence.

Do you think Peccary will be blowing the harmonica while with his 'Bubba', in a prison cell?

The soap - pick it up.     Grin

What's for dinner tonight, Booby?

Just you and JaSin?

Pages: 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 ... 24