Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17
Another COVID-19 wave is coming (Read 13747 times)
Black Orchid

Re: Another COVID-19 wave is coming
Reply #150 - Dec 20th, 2023 at 11:19am

If you are so fearful of Covid, mask up and stay home.  Put a bubble around your house.  This constant promotion of masks and mandates is paranoid behaviour.

Covid has impacted the minds of many, from both the pro and anti vax crowds, in a negative way.

Reply #151 - Dec 20th, 2023 at 1:55pm

Black Orchid wrote on Dec 20th, 2023 at 11:19am:
If you are so fearful of Covid, mask up and stay home.  Put a bubble around your house.  This constant promotion of masks and mandates is paranoid behaviour.

Covid has impacted the minds of many, from both the pro and anti vax crowds, in a negative way.

Ah, yes... the old "stay home while everyone else does whatever they like" argument.

Don't know how many times I've seen and heard that one over the past 4 years but I do know there are a lot of disabled, elderly and immunocompromised people who have hardly left their homes since the start of the pandemic because catching Covid could be fatal for them.

But, no one else cares about that, of course. Even our governments don't care... in fact, I'm absolutely certain that they're happy to see as many elderly and disabled people as possible die from Covid while all they think about is all the money being saved on pensions and health care costs.

Do you have a Twitter account? If you do then perhaps you should let Sam here know how you feel and tell her to stay home forever while everyone else has a good time (a.k.a. you do you).

https://nitter.net/criprights/with_replies

Be sure to let us know if you do because it will be fun to watch.

I must say Sam is a much braver person then I am...

https://nitter.net/criprights/status/1737306717980090631#m

On the plane now. It’s hellishly busy with sneezing and coughing people. I changed masks.

Will be masking at my kid’s house in case I contract covid on this flight. Both the kids I’m staying with are high risk.

There is no way I would set foot on a plane now or for the forseeable future.

And there is also no way this pandemic is ever going to end while airlines are allowed to fly obviously sick people around the country (and around the world). And they don't care because all they do care about is money. Same as everyone else these days.

Reply #152 - Dec 20th, 2023 at 3:39pm

Speaking of being fearful of Covid and wearing masks and taking other precautions... I've posted this before but I believe it deserves repeating.

From the esteemed Dr. David Berger (who I strongly suspect is aquascoot's new hero after he's hopefully realised what a charlatan Dr. John Gerrard is):

https://nitter.net/YouAreLobbyLud/status/1725306297376268546#m

My name is David Berger.
I suffer from EXTREME COVID ANXIETY.

Also, this is me yesterday flying a 1947 flying boat with its original single engine through the mountains of New Zealand. (Yes, that's Aoraki/Mt Cook.)

Scroll down to see why he posted that. Edit: Never mind, here it is:

Prof Deborah Lupton Master of Public Health, PhD
@DALupton
Nov 16
I was looking over a university’s OHS COVID safety guidelines today (not my university, but another Australian one) and they actually had a section on how to help staff dealing with ‘COVID anxiety’ (that is, people still worried about contracting COVID at work) 🤯
« Last Edit: Dec 20th, 2023 at 6:21pm by Carl D »  

Reply #153 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 5:21am

Reply #154 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 8:38am

Yes, isn't it just?

https://nitter.net/LettersfromTim/status/1737465593157349617#m

FREEDUMB is so great

Chronically ill kids, parents with a new life-threatening condition

All wrapped in the promise of another infection to wreck Xmas, kill Grandma and chew thru what’s left of your sick leave

Luckily @AlboMP doesn’t have to worry about things like work

No... no he doesn't.

Also...

https://nitter.net/JustJul77588855/status/1737534608261226629#m

I'll just leave this here

Reply #155 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 12:38pm

I'm sure our useless governments will soon be telling us this is nothing to worry about.

Or, more likely, they won't be saying anything about it at all. Same goes for the media.

Covid deaths surge in Europe as deadly new JN.1 strain sweeps globe

The newest strain of Coronavirus, dubbed JN.1, has seen a huge surge in deaths across the globe, with nearly 1,000 reported in Europe as well as a worrying increase in India

A huge wave of deaths from the latest deadly strain of Coronavirus has been confirmed, as the variant sweeps the globe.

Experts had already expressed fear that there is a mutation in the new JN.1 strain that could make it far more contagious than previous versions. And now the sub-variant of the Pirola strain has spread, with a rise in deaths reported in some countries including a European total of 874 deaths in the seven days up to December 4.

As for Australia? Nah, she'll be right, mate.

If we're really unlucky our idiot of a Federal "Health" Minister might do a few more stupid Elvis impersonations (for distraction purposes while people continue to die and be disabled by Covid).

Reply #156 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 1:02pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 21st, 2023 at 12:38pm:
I'm sure our useless governments will soon be telling us this is nothing to worry about.

Or, more likely, they won't be saying anything about it at all. Same goes for the media.

Covid deaths surge in Europe as deadly new JN.1 strain sweeps globe

The newest strain of Coronavirus, dubbed JN.1, has seen a huge surge in deaths across the globe, with nearly 1,000 reported in Europe as well as a worrying increase in India

A huge wave of deaths from the latest deadly strain of Coronavirus has been confirmed, as the variant sweeps the globe.

Experts had already expressed fear that there is a mutation in the new JN.1 strain that could make it far more contagious than previous versions. And now the sub-variant of the Pirola strain has spread, with a rise in deaths reported in some countries including a European total of 874 deaths in the seven days up to December 4.

As for Australia? Nah, she'll be right, mate.

If we're really unlucky our idiot of a Federal "Health" Minister might do a few more stupid Elvis impersonations (for distraction purposes while people continue to die and be disabled by Covid).

carl   how on earth can you call that tiny tiny number a HUGE SURGE  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #157 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 1:43pm

What a perfect time for our governments to stop reporting Covid cases, hospitalsations and deaths... just as JN.1 goes on the rampage.

Sooner or later they will find out that sticking their heads in the sand and pretending Covid no longer exists won't work.

On a related note... and I have mentioned this before but seeing as it's Groundhog Day here all the time I'll say it again.

Now that our governments and business have shown their 'true colours' (letting Covid rip to kill and disable people - especially the elderly - for the economy) I would be really interested in seeing what happened when Scott Morrison announced that Australia was going to (sort of) close the borders in late March 2020.

Hope I'm still around when the documents are 'declassified' but I suspect I won't be.

I would love to see what the reaction from big business and most of the pollies was when the border closure was announced... especially that evil little "fokker" who recently retired as head of Qantas.

I'm betting that every swear word known to man was used that day and I have to say I admire Scott Morrison for 'sticking to his guns' and closing the border.

Mind you, it was undoubtedly done on the assumption that the pandemic would be over in 12 months, 18 at the most. If they'd known the pandemic would still be raging nearly 4 years later I doubt the border would have been closed at all.
« Last Edit: Dec 21st, 2023 at 2:28pm by Carl D »  

Black Orchid

Reply #158 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:02pm

No-one is saying that Covid doesn't exist anymore.  It's here to stay and we need to get on with our lives and live with it.

Look after yourself and allow others to do the same.

Reply #159 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:21pm

Black Orchid wrote on Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:02pm:
No-one is saying that Covid doesn't exist anymore.  It's here to stay and we need to get on with our lives and live with it.

Look after yourself and allow others to do the same.

it amazes me people dont want to take "personal responsibility" for their health.

they certainly want to control their finances and their house. they wouldnt just let their car rust or let their house fill up with termites.

but , when confronted with the fact that their body filling up with sugar and their organs being devestated by visceral fat from processed foods. when they could literally prevent broken hips (amongst commonest cause of nursing home admission in the over 80's), when 15 minutes of jogging 3 x a week could prevent a lot of dementia

they say

f you.

i'll just wait til i'm sick and then i'll call triple 0 and head off to cas (to be ramped) and suffer terribly (whilst being treated by staff who treat you like a nuisance) and then i'll live with a disability for the rest of my life.

the mind boggles.

most people would not let their dog get fat or feed it crap.

but they are soooo happy to eat that rubbish themselves .

and whilst bad diet kills and maims literally 100's of millions.  carl wants us to focus on a world wide surge of a 1000 (and probably all in the very very unhealthy fat old age groups).

its insane

take some personal responsibility carl

its not too late

Reply #160 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:46pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:21pm:

its not too late

lol... that's hilarious when you consider that when I go to Belmont Forum to do some shopping I'm usually one of only about half a dozen people in the entire shopping centre wearing a mask.

it's also quite funny that while a lot of the maskless population are out and about spreading Covid - sometimes knowingly - when I caught it for the first time 3 months ago I made sure I wore a mask (KN95, not a surgical 'baggy blue') when I was out of the house shopping. I also masked inside the house until I tested negative (took 13 days) so I wouldn't reinfect my elderly aunt as unlikely as that would have been. She caught it a few days before she passed it on to me and she would have tested negative first.

I also informed all of my immediate neighbours that I had Covid and I always masked if I went anywhere near them, even if I just went to the letter box.

I would have stayed home altogether if I didn't have to do the shopping (and, no -  I don't want home delivery because I like to see what I'm buying).

How's that for some "personal responsibility"?

Reply #161 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:54pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:46pm:
aquascoot wrote on Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:21pm:

its not too late

lol... that's hilarious when you consider that when I go to Belmont Forum to do some shopping I'm usually one of only about half a dozen people in the entire shopping centre wearing a mask.

it's also quite funny that while a lot of the maskless population are out and about spreading Covid - sometimes knowingly - when I caught it for the first time 3 months ago I made sure I wore a mask (KN95, not a surgical 'baggy blue') when I was out of the house shopping. I also masked inside the house until I tested negative (took 13 days) so I wouldn't reinfect my elderly aunt as unlikely as that would have been. She caught it a few days before she passed it on to me and she would have tested negative first.

I also informed all of my immediate neighbours that I had Covid and I always masked if I went anywhere near them, even if I just went to the letter box.

I would have stayed home altogether if I didn't have to do the shopping (and, no -  I don't want home delivery because I like to see what I'm buying).

How's that for some "personal responsibility"?

carl,

you have ONE DISEASE ITIS.

you need to take responsibility to prevent heart failure, dementia, falls risk, bowel cancer, diabetes.

covid is a tiny tiny risk to your health

honestly, you seem like a guy who has total obsession with , say , wearing a seat belt

you are happy to drive a car with no brakes, bald tyres, whilst drunk at night, with no headlights at 200 kph on a dirt road and then just concntrate on the seat belt.

"how could i be hurt? i'm wearing a seat belt after all" Roll Eyes

covid is just one factor amongst 100 you need to get under control as best you can

this is called "holistic approach" or as i call it "common sense"

Reply #162 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:56pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 21st, 2023 at 3:54pm:
carl,

you have ONE DISEASE ITIS.

you need to take responsibility to prevent heart failure, dementia, falls risk, bowel cancer, diabetes.

covid is a tiny tiny risk to your health

honestly, you seem like a guy who has total obsession with , say , wearing a seat belt

you are happy to drive a car with no brakes, bald tyres, whilst drunk at night, with no headlights at 200 kph on a dirt road and then just concntrate on the seat belt.

"how could i be hurt? i'm wearing a seat belt after all" Roll Eyes

covid is just one factor amongst 100 you need to get under control as best you can

this is called "holistic approach" or as i call it "common sense"

Dear Aqua,
50% of people carry Covid with no symptoms and it may not even show up in a RAT kit test.
I think the latest strains are very weak which is typical of most viruses –
as they mutate they get weaker.
Spanish flu H1N1 still does the rounds every year but it’s much weaker than the original in 1918.

Reply #163 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 4:00pm

Oh, by the way... as far as my health and "personal responsibility" is concerned I went to see my GP on Tuesday and he says my health is great for someone my age (66).

I usually walk a kilometre or two most days of the week.

The only health issue I have (as I mentioned the other day) is that I've been having slight breathing issues the last few weeks, a bit of 'wheeziness' in my breathing and a slight cough first thing in the morning although it hasn't happened this week so far.

My GP said it has probably been caused by Covid and I agree (mild respiratory virus my @ss) and I agree with him.

I'm also making sure that I keep all of this documented because if it doesn't clear up and especially if it gets worse I want to make sure my name is included in the list of plaintiffs when the inevitable class action lawsuits are filed against the government and all those responsible for allowing SARS-CoV-2 to run rampant causing over 23,500 deaths so far plus countless hospitalisations and long Covid cases.

Reply #164 - Dec 21st, 2023 at 6:12pm

Look like some more "personal responsibility" (or more handwashing) might be needed here.

New COVID surge arrives … in time for Christmas

Children and young adults are driving a surge in people presenting to emergency departments with COVID-19 as infection rates continue to climb across NSW in the run-up to the Christmas break.

NSW Health said emergency departments presentations for COVID-19 had continued to increase in the past fortnight, particularly in young children and people aged 17 to 34.

The latest NSW Health data showed 812 COVID-positive people went to emergency departments in the week to December 17, up from 721 and 628 in the previous two weeks.

“Community transmission of COVID-19 in NSW has increased and is at high levels,” a spokeswoman said.

Not just the "oldies" being affected anymore, is it?

And I bet it's the same all across Australia.

Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17